DETAILED ACTION
Restriction/Election Requirement
The Office acknowledges the Applicant’s election of Groups 1 and 4 in the Response filed 08/10/26.
The election reads on Claims 1-20.
Claims 1-20 are pending. No claims have been withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, which the other claims are dependent upon, recites that “the second emission is in a direction of the first electrode” which renders the exact scope of the claim indefinite as it is not clear the exact configuration of the second emission layer if limited to be in “a direction of the first electrode.” The Office has interpreted that the limitation requires the second emission layer to be closer to the first electrode (cathode) relative to the position of the first emission layer for the purpose of this Examination.
Correction is required.
Claims 7-10, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims recite the term “about” which renders that exact recited limitations indefinite. The term “about” is vague and has not been properly defined in the instant Specification.
Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-8, 11, 12, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (KR 10-2013-0047943).
Examiner’s Note: The Office has relied on the Machine English translation of foreign document publication KR 10-2013-0047943 (herein referred to as “Lee et al.”) as the English equivalent. Unless otherwise noted, all figure, page, and paragraph numbers referenced herein refer to numbers found in the Machine English translation.
Lee et al. discloses the following quantum dot light-emitting (display) device comprising the following element:
(Fig. 2) comprising the following layers: substrate (200), anode (110) (second electrode), hole-transporting layer (120), light-emitting layer (130) comprising light-emitting layer comprising a first quantum dot having a hole transport ligand (170) (first emission layer) and a light-emitting layer comprising a second quantum dot having an electron transport ligand (180) (second emission layer), electron-transporting layer (140), and cathode (150) (first electrode) (cathode). Hole transport ligands include aryl amines with hole-transporting ability such as CBP (p-type compound) (comprises Moiety 6) (equivalent to Applicant’s preferred p-type compound; see [0291] of instant national phase publication), while electron transport ligands include heterocyclic compounds with electron-transporting ability comprising atoms such as N (n-type compound) (which comprises lone pairs) ([0039]-[0040]). Quantum dots include compounds such as ZnS and ZnSe ([0038]); the ligands (170c and 180c) surround the quantum dots (170 and 180) (Figs. 3a and 3b). Lee et al. discloses that the cathode comprises metals such as Mg ([0043]). Lee et al. further discloses a thin film transistor formed on substrate comprising a drain electrode that is electrically connected to the anode ([0047]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR 10-2013-0047943) as applied above and in further view of Chisaka (JP 2020-66733).
Lee et al. discloses the light-emitting device of Claim 1 as shown above. Lee et al. discloses that hole transport ligands include aryl amines with hole-transporting ability, while electron transport ligands include heterocyclic compounds with electron-transporting ability comprising atoms such as N ([0039]-[0040]). However, Lee et al. does not explicitly disclose the compounds as recited in the claims.
Chisaka discloses quantum dots (A1 and A2) which are surface-treated with hole-transporting and electron-transporting ligands ([0008]); such quantum dots include ZnS and ZnSe ([0018]). Hole-transporting ligands include those of formulae (1)-(3) ([0029]); an embodiment is disclosed:
(page 13 of Chisaka), while electron-transporting ligands include TPBi (comprising benzimidazole moieties) and the following:
(page 18 of Chisaka). The use of such ligands allows the production of quantum dots with excellent dispersion stability ([0064]). It would have been obvious to incorporate the compounds as disclosed by Chisaka (above) into the light-emitting layer of the light-emitting device as disclosed by Lee et al. (as hole and electron transport ligands, respectively). The motivation is provided by the disclosure of Chisaka, which is also directed to viable charge-transporting ligands for quantum dots in an identical field of invention, the use of which results in quantum dots with excellent dispersion stability.
It is also the position of the Office that the photophysical (and coordination) limitations as recited in the claims would inherently be met by the construction as proposed by the Office (above). Evidence is provided by the fact that the quantum dots comprise materials as preferred by the Applicant (Claim 16), while the ligands as disclosed by Chisaka lie within the low molecular weight range of less than 1,000 and comprising the preferred moieties (Claims 11-14); notice also that both the hole-transporting and electron-transporting ligands as disclosed by Chisaka comprise the chemical groups capable of coordination (-SH and -N=) to the quantum dots (see Applicant’s compounds 100, 200, and SPPO13 (page 37 of the instant national phase publication)).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR 10-2013-0047943) as applied above and in further view of Thompson et al. (US 2004/0048101 A1).
Lee et al. discloses the light-emitting device of Claim 1 as shown
above. Lee et al. discloses that the cathode comprises metals such as Mg; preferably the cathode is reflective to emit light towards the substrate ([0043]). However, Lee et al. does not explicitly disclose any of the materials for the cathode (first electrode) as recited in the claim.
Thompson et al. discloses a light-emitting device comprising cathode (160) (which may be reflective) comprising a bilayer of materials such as ITO (164) and Mg:Ag (162) which is “known to the art” ([0044]). It would have been obvious to utilize such a cathode as disclosed by Thompson et al. for the light-emitting device as disclosed by Lee et al. (as cathode). The motivation is provided by the disclosure of Thompson et al. which is directed to a known and viable cathode material for a light-emitting device, the use of which would result in light reflection and injection of charge into the organic layer, thus rendering the incorporation predictable with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/JAY YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786