DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Feron et al. US 2019/0224614 (hereafter Feron).
Regarding claim 1, Feron teaches a contaminant removal system (Figs 1-3), comprising:
a scrubber (“Absorber” in Figs 1-3) configured to absorb a contaminant (¶16) from an air stream (flue gas in Figs 1-3, air in ¶16) into an ionic liquid sorbent (¶27) in an ionic liquid mixture (stream from absorber to desorber/stripper);
an ionic liquid regeneration assembly (assembly comprising 112, 105, 107 and 109 in Fig 1; 212, 205, heat exchanger in Fig 2; vacuum membrane condenser, desorber, and membrane unit in Fig 3) configured to:
desorb the contaminant from the ionic liquid sorbent (¶18); and
remove liquid water from the ionic liquid mixture (¶95).
Regarding claim 2, Feron teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Feron further teaches wherein the ionic liquid regeneration assembly is configured to remove the liquid water from the ionic liquid mixture using one or more reverse osmosis or nanofiltration (RO/NF) membranes (¶95, where the vacuum membrane is a nanofiltration membrane in order to allow water molecules to pass).
Regarding claim 11, Feron teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Feron further teaches wherein the contaminant is carbon dioxide (¶16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feron as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Henson et al. US 2020/0122084 (hereafter Henson).
Regarding claim 9, Feron teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Feron does not teach a dehumidifier upstream of the scrubber.
Henson teaches an ionic liquid absorber scrubber system (100, ¶19-20) comprising a dehumidifier upstream of the scrubber (¶22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system (Figs 1-3) of Feron by incorporating the dehumidifier upstream of the scrubber (¶22) of Henson in order to remove/dehumidify the incoming stream (Henson ¶22), where the water removal in the membrane separation of Feron teaches that excess water in the system is not desirable.
Regarding claim 12, Feron teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Feron further teaches where the system separates CO2 (¶16).
Feron does not teach a Sabatier system configured to generate hydrocarbons using the desorbed contaminant.
Henson teaches an ionic liquid absorber scrubber system (100, ¶19-20) comprising a Sabatier system configured to generate hydrocarbons using the desorbed contaminant in order to convert the CO2 into water and methane (¶2, ¶21, ¶23, ¶27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system (Figs 1-3) of Feron by incorporating the Satatier system (¶2, ¶21, ¶23, ¶27) of Henson in order to convert the CO2 into water and methane (Henson ¶2, ¶21, ¶23, ¶27).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feron as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Iyer US 9,782,719 (hereafter Iyer).
Regarding claim 10, Feron teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Feron further teaches wherein the liquid is regenerated in a desorber (107 in Fig 1, “Desorber” in Fig 3).
Feron does not teach wherein the ionic liquid regeneration assembly further comprises a vacuum source configured to generate a vacuum to desorb the contaminant from the ionic liquid sorbent.
Iyer teaches where regeneration of an ionic liquid (col 4 line 56 – col 5 line 10) of CO2 is facilitated by a vacuum process (col 10 lines 9-38).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the desorber (107 in Fig 1, “Desorber” in Fig 3) of Feron by incorporating the vacuum process (col 10 lines 9-38) of Iyer in order to facilitate regeneration and CO2 desorption (col 10 lines 9-38).
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a vacuum source in order to generate a vacuum.
The modification would have resulted in wherein the ionic liquid regeneration assembly further comprises a vacuum source configured to generate a vacuum to desorb the contaminant from the ionic liquid sorbent. Liquid water is removed from the ionic liquid via the vacuum membrane condenser.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 3, the closest prior art is Feron US 2019/0224614 which teaches a contaminate removal system with a scrubber, ionic liquid regeneration assembly, and membrane. The prior art does not teach wherein the ionic liquid regeneration assembly comprises two or more RO/NF membranes arranged in series and is configured to return at least a portion of ionic liquid sorbent removed with the liquid water to the ionic liquid mixture.
Claim 4 depends upon claim 3.
Regarding claim 5, the closest prior art is Feron US 2019/0224614 which teaches a contaminate removal system with a scrubber, ionic liquid regeneration assembly which discharges the ionic liquid mixture to the absorber, and membrane. The prior art does not teach the ionic liquid regeneration assembly as claimed including where the assembly discharges the ionic liquid mixture to the stripper.
Claim 6 depends upon claim 5.
Regarding claim 7, the closest prior art is Feron US 2019/0224614 which teaches a contaminate removal system with a scrubber, ionic liquid regeneration assembly which comprises a membrane and a stripper. The prior art does not teach the stripper comprises the membrane and the degasser.
Claim 8 depends upon claim 7.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues in the response filed 2 Jan. 2026 that Feron does not teach all the limitation of claim 1 as detailed in the office action mailed 8 Sep. 2025.
Examiner disagrees and the rejection is withdrawn. However, upon further search and/or consideration a new rejection is presented based in a new interpretation of Feron.
Conclusion
/STEPHEN HOBSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1776