DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on January 12, 2026 has been entered. Claim 13 has been canceled in the present application. Claims 1, 10, 12, and 17 have been amended in the present application. Claims 1-12 and 14-20 are pending in the present application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed November 12, 2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 10, and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Quan et al. (Chinese Patent Publication CN 112731636 – machine translation – hereinafter referred to as “Quan”).
Regarding claim 1, Quan teaches an optical imaging system (Figure 1), comprising:
a first lens group (Figure 1 lens group 100, [0042]) comprising a first lens (Figure 1 lenses 110, [0057]) and a second lens (Figure 1 lenses 120, [0057]) and having negative refractive power ([0042] lens group 100 has negative optical power);
a second lens group (Figure 1 lens group 200, [0042]) comprising a third lens (Figure 1 lens 210, [0057]), a fourth lens (Figure 1 first lens of doublet lens 220 is fourth lens, [0057]), and fifth lens (Figure 1 second lens of doublet lens 220 is fifth lens, [0057]) and having positive refractive power ([0042] lens group 200 has positive optical power); and
a third lens group (Figure 1 lens group 300, [0042]) comprising a sixth lens (Figure 1 lens 310, [0057]) and seventh lens (Figure 1 lens 320, [0057]), and having negative refractive power ([0042] lens group 300 has negative optical power),
wherein the fourth lens has positive refractive power (Table 1 focal length of fourth lens calculated to be 14.97 mm) and the fifth lens has negative refractive power (Table 1 focal length of fifth lens calculated to be -13.81 mm),
wherein the second lens group (lens group 200) and the third lens group (lens group 300) are configured to move in an optical axis direction to adjust a focal length and magnification ([0046] lens groups 200 and 300 move), and the following conditional expression is satisfied,
FNOt ≤ 3.6 (Table 2 FNOt = 2.67),
where FNOt is an F value at a telephoto end of the optical imaging system.
Regarding claim 2, Quan teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Quan further teaches a stop ([0009] aperture stop) disposed between the first lens group and the second lens group ([0010] aperture stop disposed in front of second lens group).
Regarding claim 4, Quan teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Quan further teaches a first lens of the second lens group (Figure 1 lens 210, [0057]) has positive refractive power (Table 1 focal length of lens 210 calculated to be 8.12 mm).
Regarding claim 5, Quan teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Quan further teaches a first lens of the second lens group (Figure 1 lens 210, [0057]) satisfies the following conditional expression, 55 < G2L1 (Table 1 G2L1 = 80-85), where G2L1 is an Abbe number of the first lens of the second lens group.
Regarding claim 6, Quan teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Quan further teaches the following conditional expression is satisfied, fw/ft < 0.7 (Table 2 fw = 9.1 mm, ft = 18.2 mm, fw/ft = 0.5),
where fw is a focal length at a wide-angle end of the optical imaging system, and ft is a focal length at a telephoto end of the optical imaging system.
Regarding claim 7, Quan teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Gong further teaches dtG12/dwG12 < 0.3 (Table 3 dtG12 = 0.14 mm, dwG12 = 6.59 mm, dtG12/dwG12 = 0.02), where dtG12 is a distance between the first lens group and the second lens group at a telephoto end of the optical imaging system, and dwG12 is a distance between the first lens group and the second lens group at a wide-angle end of the optical imaging system.
Regarding claim 8, Quan teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Quan further teaches 1.6 < FOVw/FOVt (Table 2 FOVw = 25.6 x 2 = 51.2°, FOWt = 12.7 x 2 = 25.4°, FOVw/FOVt = 2.02), where FOVw is a field of view at a wide-angle end of the optical imaging system, and FOVt is a field of view at a telephoto end of the optical imaging system.
Claims 10-11, 14-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0333357 – hereinafter referred to as “Shim”).
Regarding claim 10, Shim teaches an optical imaging system (Figure 9A), comprising:
a first lens (Figure 9A lens 110), a second lens (120), a third lens (130), a fourth lens (210) having positive refractive power (Table 10 focal length of lens 210 calculated to be 3.69 mm), a fifth lens (220) having negative refractive power (Table 10 focal length of lens 220 calculated to be -14.14 mm) and a convex image-side surface (Table 10 radius of image-side surface 224 of lens 220 is negative), a sixth lens (310) having negative refractive power (Table 10 focal length of lens 310 calculated to be -821.91 mm), and a seventh lens (320) sequentially disposed from an object side, forming first ([0180] lens group 100), second ([0180] lens group 200), and third lens groups ([0180] lens group 300) sequentially disposed from an object side,
wherein the optical imaging lens system has a total of seven lenses disposed spaced apart along an optical axis (Figure 9A optical system has seven lenses, [0180]),
wherein at least a portion of the first to seventh lenses are formed of a plastic material (Table 10 lenses are made of plastic),
wherein an optical axis distance between the first lens group and the second lens group ([0194]), and an optical axis distance between the second lens group and the third lens group ([0195]) are configured to vary ([0194]-[0195] distance between lens group 100 and lens group 200 varies and distance between lens group 200 and lens group 300 varies).
Regarding claim 11, Shim teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 10. Shim further teaches the first lens group comprises two or three lenses ([0180] lens group 100 has three lenses), and the third lens group comprises two lenses ([0180] lens group 300 has two lenses).
Regarding claim 14, Shim teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 10. Shim further teaches the second lens has refractive power of a sign, opposite to that of at least one of the first lens or the third lens (Table 10 focal length of lens 120 calculated to be 30.88 mm and focal length of lens 130 calculated to be -6.45 mm).
Regarding claim 15, Hua teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 10. Hua further teaches the first, second, and third lens groups sequentially have negative (Table 10 focal length of lens group 100 calculated to be -12.54 mm) , positive (Table 10 focal length of lens group 200 calculated to be 5.01 mm), and negative refractive power (Table 10 focal length of lens group 300 calculated to be -8.07 mm).
Regarding claim 16, Shim teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 10. Shim further teaches FNOt ≤ 3.6 ([0028] f-number is less than 3 in the telephoto), where FNOt is an F value at a telephoto end of the optical imaging system.
Regarding claim 17, Shim teaches an optical imaging system (Figure 9A), comprising:
a first lens (Figure 9A lens 110), a second lens (120), a third lens (130), a fourth lens (210) having positive refractive power (Table 10 focal length of lens 210 calculated to be 3.69 mm), a fifth lens (220) having negative refractive power (Table 10 focal length of lens 220 calculated to be -14.14 mm) and a convex image-side surface (Table 10 radius of image-side surface 224 of lens 220 is negative), a sixth lens (310) having negative refractive power (Table 10 focal length of lens 310 calculated to be -821.91 mm), and a seventh lens (320) sequentially disposed from an object side, forming first ([0180] lens group 100), second ([0180] lens group 200), and third lens groups ([0180] lens group 300) sequentially disposed from an object side,
an optical path convertor ([0219] optical system 1000 has a right angle prism that is an optical path convertor) disposed on an object side of the first lens group ([0219] right angle prism disposed in front of lens group 100),
wherein the first lens (lens 110) has a positive refractive power (Table 10 focal length of lens 110 calculated to be 39.70 mm),
wherein the second lens group (lens group 200) and the third lens group (lens group 300) are configured to move in an optical axis direction to adjust a focal length and magnification (([0194]-[0195] lens group 200 and lens group 300 move), and
wherein the first lens group is fixed ([0026] first lens group is fixed) in an optical axis direction.
Regarding claim 18, Shim teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 17. Shim further teaches at least a portion of the first to seventh lenses are formed of a plastic material (Table 10 lenses are made of plastic).
Regarding claim 20, Shim teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 17. Shim further teaches FNOt ≤ 3.6 ([0028] f-number is less than 3 in the telephoto), where FNOt is an F value at a telephoto end of the optical imaging system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quan (Chinese Patent Publication CN 112731636).
Regarding claim 9, Quan teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Quan further teaches |fG2/fG3| < 0.6 (Claim 1 0.5≤|f2/f3|≤1),where fG2 is a total focal length of the second lens group of the optical imaging system, and fG3 is a total focal length of the third lens group of the optical imaging system. It is a well-established proposition that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP §2144.05(I) first paragraph.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose |fG2/fG3| such that |fG2/fG3| < 0.6 which overlaps the claimed range, since it has been held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP §2144.05(I) first paragraph.
Claims 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shim (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0333357) as applied to claims 10 and 17 above in view of Tomioka (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0379223).
Regarding claim 12, Shim teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 10. Shim fails to teach wherein the lenses included in the second and third lens groups have a specific gravity of 2 g/cm3. However, Tomioka teaches and three lens unit optical system (Figure 1) with lenses having a specific gravity of 2 g/cm3 ([0097] condition expression 15-1 specific gravity of lens is between 0.8 and 2.00 g/cm3). Tomioka further teaches having a low specific gravity of lenses in order to reduce the weight of the optical system ([0097]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second and third lens groups taught by Shim using lenses with a specific gravity of between 0.8 and 2 g/cm3 as taught by Tomioka in order to reduce the weight of the optical system (Tomioka [0097]).
Regarding claim 19, Shim teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 17. Shim fails to teach wherein the lenses included in the second and third lens groups have a specific gravity of 2 g/cm3. However, Tomioka teaches and three lens unit optical system (Figure 1) with lenses having a specific gravity of 2 g/cm3 ([0097] condition expression 15-1 specific gravity of lens is between 0.8 and 2.00 g/cm3). Tomioka further teaches having a low specific gravity of lenses in order to reduce the weight of the optical system ([0097]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second and third lens groups taught by Shim using lenses with a specific gravity of between 0.8 and 2 g/cm3 as taught by Tomioka in order to reduce the weight of the optical system (Tomioka [0097]).
Conclusion
Alex Rickel
Examiner
Art Unit 2872
/A.P.R./ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872