Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments:
a. Regarding the feature (1) of Claim 1, the display medium is specifically defined as an E-paper film comprising electrophoretic substances with charged light-colored pigment particles and a dark-colored medium solution, both accommodated in microcapsules. The Examiner relies on Yamaguchi for disclosing electronic-ink paper; however, Yamaguchi's disclosure is merely generic and lacks the specific electrophoretic microcapsule structure required by the present claim. This specific structure is essential for achieving the low-power consumption necessary for an electronic shelf label (ESL) system, especially when combined with the claimed light-emitting elements used for location indication. As none of the other cited references (Wu, Murai,or 293') provide these structural details, the claimed display module remains non-obvious.
b. Feature (2) of the present application is further distinguished by its unique hardware architecture, wherein a switch circuit is located inside the driving chip to drive light-emitting elements arranged on the system circuit board. The Examiner's reliance on Yamaguchi's backlight unit 14 to reject this feature is misplaced. As illustrated in FIG. 2 of Yamaguchi, the backlight source is situated within a dedicated chassis 14a, not on a control circuit board. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a backlight source is fundamentally different from the claimed indicator LEDs located on the system board. Furthermore, while Murai discusses simplifying manufacturing for backlights, it fails to suggest the integration of a signal-driving switch circuit within a display driver IC to manage external indicators. This specific integration allows for a significant reduction in the system board's size and cost, a synergistic effect that is neither taught nor suggested by the cited combination of Yamaguchi, Wu and Murai.
c. Furthermore, feature (3) of Claim 1 recites that the system circuit board includes multiple light-emitting diodes for emitting different color lights to indicate item locations. The Examiner asserts that using multi-colored LEDs is an obvious adaptation of color display technology or RGB sub-pixel driving as taught in 293'. Applicants respectfully traverse this assertion because the purpose of the colored LEDs in the present application is not to render images or provide backlighting, but to serve as a spatial logical indicator during a picking process. By using different colors, the system can provide distinct visual cues for different pickers or orders at the same location. This functional application in a "picking process" is non-analogous to the image-rendering or aesthetic color-mixing purposes disclosed in Yamaguchi or 293', and therefore would not have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
d. Finally, a critical distinction lies in the automated workflow defined in Claim 1, where the main controller transmits a control signal to the driving chip, which then controls the switch circuit to drive the light-emitting elements to flash during a picking process as specified in feature (4). This established control chain moving from a main controller through a display driving chip to an external LED creates a dynamic state transition from static information display to active location signaling. In contrast, the cited references only disclose light sources that are incidental to the display visibility, such as conventional backlights. There is no teaching in the prior art of a display driver IC that actively manages an external signaling indicator based on a specific picking command. This automated indication workflow provides significant technical advantages in ESL efficiency and power management that are not suggested by the prior art.
4. Examiner’s response:
a. In response to applicant’s argument regarding feature(1), it is respectfully
pointed out to applicant that Yamagichi expressly identifies an electronic-ink paper as the display medium for the ESL device which necessarily places the disclosure within the recognized family of commercially known electrophoretic E-paper technologies. 293’ discloses display media including liquid crystal and OLED ([0210]) and integrated driver/display systems ([0203-0210]), and E-paper is a known alternative display medium in the ESL technology. Where a reference expressly discloses a particular product or material term that in the relevant art customarily denotes a known structural technology, the structural aspects customary to that technology are reasonably regarded as discloses or inherent. See In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255-56, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977) (inherent properties are considered disclosed in the prior art when necessarily present). Further, applicant has not provided evidence that the claimed microcapsule structure is absent from E-paper films known in the art or that such structure imparts an unexpected result. (please see the rejection below as well).
In response to applicant’s argument Applicant’s arguments with respect to
feature (2), it is respectfully pointed out to applicant that Yamaguchi, Wu and Murai are in the same field of display electronics and teach combinations of display driver ICs, system/controllers on a system circuit board, and light sources (LEDs) used in conjunction with displays. Yamaguchi discloses driver circuitry and light sources associated with the display; Wu discloses main controller functions and driver control chips; Murai discloses relocating/arranging light sources and related circuits on circuit boards to simplify manufacturing. The combination of these teachings shows using a main controller on the system board to transmit control signals and a display driver IC that includes switching circuitry to drive LED-type light sources. The placement of a light source on a system circuit board (as taught by Murai) and the inclusion of switching circuitry inside a driver IC (as taught or reasonably suggested by Yamaguchi and Wu) are design choices within the ordinary skill of the art. Rearrangement of components and integrating functions into ICs for reasons of manufacturability and cost reduction are routine and obvious matters of design choice. See MPEP 2144.04 (rearrangement of parts is an obvious matter of design choice); KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007) (affirming obviousness for predictable variations of prior art designs).
The claim limitation does not require a novel, nonroutine structural difference beyond integration and placement. The asserted arrangement (switch circuit in the driving chip electrically connected to light-emitting elements on the system board) thus would have been obvious to a POSITA seeking to reduce component count and manufacturing complexity using the teachings of the applied references. (Please see the rejection below as well).
In response to applicant’s arguments regarding feature (3), it is respectfully
pointed out to applicant that the background field and problem domain of the applied references are display systems and electronic shelf labeling; the use of LED elements for visual signaling or illumination is a recognized solution in this field. The Examiner reasonably finds that multi-colored LEDs are known and commonly used for conveying distinct visual signals (including status, location, or identification). Such use is within the ordinary scope of a POSITA’s knowledge and is within the same field of endeavor and analogous art (MPEP 2141.01(a)). The mere fact that Applicant intends to use differently colored LEDs for a picking workflow does not impart patentability when the hardware and coloration technique are known. The adaptation of multi-colored LEDs to convey distinct information is a predictable application of known LED technology and therefore obvious under KSR. Applicant’s assertion that the LEDs’ purpose is distinct (workflow indication) amounts to an intended-use distinction rather than a structural limitation that is not disclosed in the prior art. An intended use alone does not make a claim non-obvious if the structural elements to achieve that use are taught or suggested. See MPEP 2111.02. (Please see the rejection below as well).
d. In response to applicant’s arguments regarding feature (4), it is respectfully pointed to applicant that Wu explicitly teaches a main controller/display control circuit on a system control
board that sends control signals to driver chips. Yamaguchi teaches driver chips controlling display elements and light sources. Combining these teachings yields the claimed controller → driver IC → actuator (LED) control chain. Programming a controller and configuring a driver to cause LEDs to flash during a particular operational state (e.g., a picking process) is a routine functional programming matter, not a structural innovation. The claimed flashing behavior is an expected outcome of sending appropriate control signals from a controller to a driver; using such control for workflow signaling would have been obvious to a POSITA seeking to enable visual indication for picking operations. Applicant has provided no evidence demonstrating an unexpected technical effect or synergy beyond the predictable result of combining controller signaling with LED actuation. In the absence of such evidence, the mere use of the control chain for a picking process does not render the claim non-obvious. (Please see the rejection below as well).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al., (US 20170332493) (hereinafter Yamaguchi) in view of Wu et al., (hereinafter Wu, US 2022/0108647 and further in view of Murai et al., (hereinafter Murai), US 2013/0092927.
As to claim 1, Yamaguchi discloses and shows in Figs. 1-14, an electronic label
device for an electronic shelf label system, attached to a shelf (known in the art to attach an electronic label device to attach to a shelf) for indicating a location of an item located on the shelf (intended use), the electronic label device comprising: a display module (10) (Fig. 1, paragraph [0037]) comprising a driving substrate and a display medium, wherein the display medium is arranged on the driving substrate (paragraph [0040]), the display medium is an E-paper film, the E-paper film comprises electrophoretic substances comprise a plurality of charged light-colored pigment particles and a dark-colored medium solution, the charged light-colored pigment particles and the dark-colored medium solution are respectively accommodated in a plurality of microcapsules; a driving chip arranged on and electrically connected with the driving substrate, wherein the driving chip controls the display module to display images (Figs. 1-4 and paragraph [0036-0050] teach a driving substrate 11 comprising an electronic-ink paper liquid crystal film, driving chip 21 is electrically connected with the driving substrate and the drives the display to display images; Further, “Electronic ink paper” as understood in ESL industry was widely implemented using electrophoretic microcapsules technology (e.g., E Ink Corporation’s commercial products). The Federal Circuit has held that where a property or structure is inherent in a prior art embodiment, even if not expressly disclosed, it is considered disclosed for purposes of 35 USC 102/103 (see In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252)), and the driving chip comprises a scan driver and/or a data driver of the display module and switch circuit (paragraph [0093]; The driving circuitry typically includes scan drivers (also called gate drivers) and data drivers (also called source drivers) responsible for addressing rows and columns of pixels to display image. Further, ESL display panels conventionally requires scan drivers and data drivers to operate. These drivers are often integrated into one or more driver ICs mounted on or bonded on the display substrate) and a system circuit board electrically connected with the driving substrate and the driving chip (Figs. 1-4 and paragraph [0036-0050] teach a control circuit board 12 electrically connected with the driving substrate 11 and the driving chip to provide external signals), wherein the system circuit board comprises a main controller and a plurality of light-emitting element (Fig. 2, paragraph [0038] teaches that there is a backlight unit includes light sources such as LEDs, organic Els), the driving chip (21) controls the switch circuit based on the control signal, to drive the light-emitting element (implicit based on the fact that the driving chip is electrically connected with the switching circuit) (Fig. 2, paragraphs [0036-0050]. to flash during a picking process for indicating the location of the item
10. Further, even though Yamaguchi teaches using of plurality of light-emitting elements such as LEDs ([0038] and using color filters of different colors ([0042] he does not explicitly discloses wherein that plurality of light-emitting diodes emitting different color lights.
11. However, based on the disclosure of Yamaguchi, it would have at least been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have light-emitting diodes that emits different color light to obtain a color display device. The rationale would have been to use a known method or technique to achieve predictable results.
12. Yamaguchi doesn’t explicitly disclose that the switch circuit located inside the driving chip and electrically connected with the light-emitting elements, wherein the switch circuit is configured to drive the light-emitting elements arranged on the system circuit board and the system circuit board comprises a main controller wherein the main controller transmits a control signal to the driving chip and the light-emitting element being arranged on the system circuit board.
13. However, Wu related to display device and thus from the same field of endeavor teaches a main control chip on the system control board wherein the main controller transmits a control signal to the driving chip. (Figs. 1-2 and paragraph [0012-0015; 0031, 0036-0041, 0050] teach a main control chip or display control circuit 1131 on the system control board 113, a voltage conversion circuit outputting a voltage to the driving substrate or drivers, wherein the voltage conversion circuit is located in the driver control circuit chip or main control chip).
14. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamaguchi by including a main control chip on the system control board wherein the main controller transmits a control signal to the driving chip as suggested by Wu because such driving techniques are very well known and widely used in the display technology in order to drive the display optimally. The rationale would have been to use a known method or technique to achieve predictable results.
15. Still lacking the limitation such as, the switch circuit located inside the driving chip and electrically connected with the light-emitting elements, wherein the switch circuit is configured to drive the light-emitting elements arranged on the system circuit board.
16. Yamaguchi, Wu and Murai are in the same field of display electronics and teach combinations of display driver ICs, system/controllers on a system circuit board, and light sources (LEDs) used in conjunction with displays. Yamagichi discloses driver circuitry and light sources associated with the display. Wu discloses main controller functions and driver control chips. Murai discloses relocating/arranging light sources and related circuits on circuit boards to simplify manufacturing.
17. Therefore, the combination of these teachings show using a main controller on the system board to transmit control signals and a display driver IC that includes switching circuitry to drive LED-type light sources.
18. Further, the placement of a light source on a system circuit board (as taught by Murai) and the inclusion of switching circuitry inside a driver IC (as taught or reasonably suggested by Yamaguchi and Wu) are design choices within the ordinary skill in the art. Rearrangement of components and integrating functions into ICs for reasons of manufacturability and cost reduction are routine and obvious matters of design choice. See MPEP 2144.04.
19. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamaguchi by placing the switch circuit inside the driving chip and electrically connecting with the light-emitting elements, wherein the switch circuit is configured to drive the light-emitting elements arranged on the system circuit board since integrating a switch circuit into a driver IC to control LEDs is a conventional circuit integration step in a display electronics, (as explained above) yielding predictable results (MPE 2143, KSR v. Teleflex).
20. Still lacking the limitation such as, “ to drive the light-emitting elements to flash during a picking process for indicating the location of the item.”
21. Wu explicitly teaches a main controller/display control circuit on a system control board that sends control signals to driver chips. Yamaguchi teaches driver chips controlling display elements and light sources. Combining these teachings yields the claimed controller to driver IC to actuator (LED) control chain. Programming a controller and configuring a driver to cause LEDS to flash during a particular operational state (e.g., a picking process) is a routine functional programming matter, not a structural innovation. The claimed flashing behavior is a result of programming the controller and an expected outcome of sending appropriate control signals from a controller to a driver, using such control for workflow signaling is a routine design choice that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art seeking to enable visual indication for picking operations (MPE 2144.04-obvious to modify prior art to include known functions to achieve predictable results).
22. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to drive the light-emitting elements to flash during a picking process for indicating a location of the item to achieve predictable result.
23. As to claim 7, Yamagichi when modified by Wu and Murai does not explicitly disclose that The electronic label device of claim 1, wherein the driving chip further comprises a register, the control signal comprises at least one instruction, the register stores the at least one instruction, and the driving chip controls the switch circuit based on the at least one instruction stored in the register.
24. However, examiners take official notice that it is common and known in the art for a driving chip further comprises a register, the control signal comprises at least one instruction, the register stores the at least one instruction, and the driving chip controls the switch circuit based on the at least one instruction stored in the register for several advantages such as to obtain a device that provides optimal performance. The rationale would have been to use a known method or technique to achieve predictable results.
25. As to claim 10, Yamaguchi discloses the electronic label device of claim 1, further comprising: a connecting circuit board connected with the system circuit board and the driving substrate, wherein the system circuit board is electrically connected with the driving substrate and the driving chip via the connecting circuit board (Figs. 1-4 and paragraph [0036-0050] teach a connecting circuit board 13, wherein the system circuit board 12 and the driving substrate 11 are connected to opposite sides of the connecting circuit board 13, and the system circuit board 12 is electrically connected to the driving chip 21 and the driving substrate 11 via the connecting circuit board 13). .
26. Claim(s) 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi in view of Wu and Murai as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shinba, US 9,924,065..
27. As to claims 4-6, Yamaguchi when modified by Wu and Murai doesn’t explicitly disclose the electronic label device of claim 1, wherein the switch circuit comprises a resistor and a switch element, a first electrode of the light-emitting element connects to a power source, two ends of the resistor connect to a second electrode of the light-emitting element and a first end of the switch element, respectively, and a second end of the switch element connects to a ground terminal (claim 4) and wherein the driving chip controls a control end of the switch element based on the control signal (claim 5) and wherein the driving chip outputs a PWM signal based on the control signal and transmits the PWM signal to a control end of the switch element (claim 6).
28. However, Shinba related to a lighting control circuit and image forming apparatus and thus from the same field of endeavor.
29. Shinba discloses (col. 3, line 10- col. 6, line 3) and shows in Figs. 1 and 3, a device comprising a switching circuit (11-13, 21-23) that comprises resistors (R11-R13, R21-R23, R31-R33) and switch elements (S11-S13, S21-S23) wherein a first electrode (anode electrode D11-D19, D21-D29, D31-D39) of the light-emitting element connects to scanning lines (col. 3, lines 45-48), two ends of the resistor connect to a second electrode (cathode electrode D11-D19, D21-D29, D31-D39) of the light-emitting element and a first end of the switch element (S21-S23), respectively, and a second end of the switch element connects to a ground terminal wherein the driving chip controls a control end of the switch element based on the control signal. Shinba also discloses that the driving chip driving chip outputs a PWM signal based on the control signal and transmits the PWM signal to a control end of the switch element. (paragraph [0028])
30. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Yamaguchi when modified by Wu and Murai wherein the switch circuit comprises a resistor and a switch element, a first electrode of the light-emitting element connects to a power source, two ends of the resistor connect to a second electrode of the light-emitting element and a first end of the switch element, respectively, and a second end of the switch element connects to a ground terminal and wherein the driving chip controls a control end of the switch element based on the control signal and wherein driving chip outputs a PWM signal based on the control signal and transmits the PWM signal to a control end of the switch element as suggested by Shinba because such driving techniques are very well known and widely used in the display technology in order to drive the display optimally. The rationale would have been to use a known method or technique to achieve predictable results.
31. Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamagiuchi in view of Wu and Mura as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim, US 11,645,971.
32. Yamaguchi when modified by Wu and Murai discloses the electronic label device of claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the system circuit board further comprises an antenna element, the main controller is electrically connected with the antenna element, and the main controller outputs the control signal based on an RF signal received by the antenna element.
33. However, Kim related to light emitting diode package and display apparatus and thus from the same field of endeavor discloses a connecting circuit board connected to one side of the driving substrate; a near field communication antenna (244) electrically connected to the near field communication transceiver circuit (243) of the driving chip (paragraph [0317] discloses a near-field communication unit 243 and an antenna 244 and [0324] discloses near-field radio communication units 241 and 243 include a signal transceiver [0141-0143] and also see, Figs 22, 69).
34. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamaguchi when modified Wu by including the system circuit board further comprises an antenna element, the main controller is electrically connected with the antenna element, and the main controller outputs the control signal based on an RF signal received by the antenna element as suggested by Kim for providing a highly efficient display device.
35. Claim(s) 1, 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 213042293U (hereinafter 293’) (cited in the IDS) or in the alternative 293’ in view of Murai.
36. As to claim 1, 293’ discloses an electronic label device for an electronic shelf label system, attached to a shelf (known in the art to attach an electronic label device to attach to a shelf) for indicating a location of an item located on the shelf (intended use), the electronic label device comprising (293’ discloses integrated display-driver systems and electronic devices incorporating display panels, drivers, controllers (see paragraphs [0203-0210]; Figs. 1-3): a display module (9) comprising a driving substrate and a display medium, wherein the display medium is arranged on the driving substrate (paragraphs [0203-206] (panel 9, display pixel array 91: in-cell/on-cell examples); Fig. 1 and 2 (panel 9/display pixel array 91; chip-on-film/chip-on-glass embodiments); paragraphs [0205-0206] (substrate examples: glass or film; chip-on-glass/film)), the display medium is an E-paper film, the E-paper film comprises electrophoretic substances comprise a plurality of charged light-colored pigment particles and a dark-colored medium solution, the charged light-colored pigment particles and the dark-colored medium solution are respectively accommodated in a plurality of microcapsules; (293’ discloses display media including liquid crystal and OLED ([0210]) and integrated driver/display systems ([0203-0210]), and E-paper is a known alternative display medium in the ESL technology. Commercially available E-paper films (e.g., E Ink) inherently comprise electrophoretic microcapsules containing charged pigment particles suspended in a fluid medium. The Federal Circuit has held that where a property or structure is inherent in a prior art embodiment, even if not expressly disclosed, it is considered disclosed for purposes of 35 USC 102/103 (see In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252)), a driving chip arranged on and electrically connected with the driving substrate, wherein the driving chip controls the display module to display images (single chip driver (FTDI IC arranged on/connected to substrate; control display; Paragraphs [0203-204] [0208-0210] (single-chip component 10/FTDI IC integrates display driver); Figs. 1-2 (single-chip 10 between processing unit and panel; chip-on-film/chip-on glass examples)), and the driving chip comprises a scan driver and/or a data driver of the display module and switch circuit (On-chip scan/gate driver and data driver functionality and on-chip switching/selection circuits; Paragraphs [0203-0204], [0291-0297], [0316-0324] (description of FTDI IC integrating display deriver, gate-on-array related signals; P11/P21 pad groups; selection circuits; Figs 14-16 (chip body with pad groups and internal circuits; Paragraphs [0326-0336] and Figs. 17-19 (selection module SMI on IC switching elements 501, 502; control of on-chip switches)); a system circuit board electrically connected with the driving substrate and the driving chip wherein the system circuit board comprises a main controller and a plurality of light-emitting elements, the light-emitting elements are arranged on the system circuit board and comprises a plurality of light-emitting diodes for emitting different color lights; (computing device 1 includes processing unit 5 and single-chip component 10, connected via the film/FPC; [0215-0222] and Fig. 3 shows the film 100 connected to a flexible printed circuit 150 which provides connection to a processing unit; Also in [0203-0206] teaches a processing unit (controller) external to the chip and electrical connection through FPC); [0326-0336] AND Figs. 17-19 discloses selection modules SM1 (on the IC) and SM2 (on the panel) interconnected by transmission lines LS and show the IC generating control signals to control switch elements (501-504) that connect/disconnect panel lines via IS to the IC. This demonstrates that switches inside the chip are electrically connected through traces/FPC to external circuitry on board/panel; [0326-0036] also describes the single chip element generating control signals (SW1SD, SW1FP, SW2R, SW2G, SW2B, SW2FP etc.) and being controlled by a processing controller; [0203-0206] and Fig. 1 describes processing unit 5 communicating with FTDI IC to control display, touch, fingerprint functions);
37. wherein, the main controller transmits a control signal to the driving chip, and the driving chip (21) controls the switch circuit based on the control signal, to drive the light-emitting element to flash during a pickup process for indicating the location of the item. ([0203-0215]; Figs 1 and 3; processing unit 5 (main controller) communicated with/controls the single-chip device (FTDI IC) to effect display/touch/fingerprint functions; [0326-0336]; Figs. 17-19; IC generates control signals on traces LS between the IC and panel/system. The IC is therefore shown to accept control and in turn control on-chip switches to route power/signals. ].
38. 293’ doesn’t explicitly disclose that the system circuit board comprises a plurality of light-emitting elements , the light emitting element is arranged on the system circuit board, the light-emitting elements are arranged on the system circuit board and comprises a plurality of light-emitting diodes for emitting different color lights; the switch circuit located inside the driving chip and electrically connected with the light-emitting elements, wherein the switch circuit is configured to drive the light-emitting element arranged on the system circuit board and the light-emitting element to flash during a pickup process for indicating the location of the item.
39. 293’ teaches RGB sub-pixels and control signals for red, green and blue channels ([0227-0228]; Fig. 6B). Using multiple LEDs of different colors for indication is analogous to the RGB sub-pixels driving taught by 293’. Further, driving multiple colored LEDs via separate switch circuits is an obvious adaption and thus would have been obvious. The rationale would have been to use a known method or technique to achieve predictable results.
40. Further, 293’ explicitly discloses a photodiode PD as the light detector in fingerprint pixels ([0239-0243]; Fig. 7); 293’ also explicitly teaches electrical interconnections to off-chip components via FPC and traces ([0215], [0221-0223], [0326-0336]; Figs. 3, 17-18). It is routine and obvious for a designer to place an indicator LED on the system circuit board and to drive it using a switch output from the driving chip over the same kind of traces/FPC 293’ uses.
41. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify 293’ by arranging a light-emitting element on the system circuit board and to drive it using a switch output from the driving chip for being an obvious design choice and routine engineering practice for advantages such as reduced wiring complexity and thus reduced cost, compact device and providing visible indicators on the system/main board.
42. In the alternative, Murai from the same field of endeavor teaches display systems having external light sources/backlights and peripheral drivers/power circuits for such light sources (paragraphs [0022-0024], [0031-0039]; Fig. 4). Murai thus teaches providing a light-emitting element external to the pixel semiconductor layer and driving such an external light source with driver circuitry separate from the pixel scan/data circuitry.
43. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of 293’ and Murai. 293’ teaches a driving chip having on-chip switches and provides the physical interconnections (pads, traces, FPC, transmission lines LS) and control flow from an external main controller to the chip for actuating switches to route signals to external circuits ([0215-0223]; [0326-0336]; Figs 3, 17-19). Given 293’s disclosure of on-chip switch outputs connected to external lines and Murai’s disclosure of external light sources and their drivers, it would have been a predictable, routine design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art to place the light-emitting element on the system circuit board (external to the substrate) and to connect that element to the driving chip’s switch outputs (via the taught pads/traces/FPC) and to have the main controller signal the driving chip to actuate those switches to cause the light-emitting to emit light. The combined use of 293’’s switch outputs and external interconnects with Murai’s external light source and driver teachings provides the claimed arrangement in a manner that would have been obvious to try with a reasonable expectation of success. See KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007) (obviousness may be found where the claimed invention is a predictable variation of prior art combining known elements according to known methods). Further combining these teachings is a routine engineering design to provide external visual indicators or backlight control in a display apparatus and therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
44. Still lacking the limitation such as, “ to drive the light-emitting elements to flash during a picking process for indicating the location of the item.”
45. 293’ discloses a main controller (processing unit 5) sending control signals to the driver IC ([0203-0215]); Figs. 1, 3) and the driver IC controlling on-chip switches to route signals externally ([0326-0336]; Figs. 17-19). Programming a controller and configuring a driver to cause LEDS to flash during a particular operational state (e.g., a picking process) is a routine functional programming matter, not a structural innovation. The claimed flashing behavior is a result of programming the controller and an expected outcome of sending appropriate control signals from a controller to a driver, using such control for workflow signaling is a routine design choice that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art seeking to enable visual indication for picking operations (MPE 2144.04-obvious to modify prior art to include known functions to achieve predictable results).
46. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to drive the light-emitting elements to flash during a picking process for indicating a location of the item to achieve predictable result.
47. As to claim 7, 293’ does not explicitly disclose that The electronic label device of claim 1, wherein the driving chip further comprises a register, the control signal comprises at least one instruction, the register stores the at least one instruction, and the driving chip controls the switch circuit based on the at least one instruction stored in the register.
48. However, 293’ teaches that the driving chip (FTD1 IC) includes control circuitry (e.g., fingerprint control circuit 415, touch control circuit 495) that responds to instructions from the main controller ([0316-0324]; Fig. 16). Further, storage of control instructions in registers is inherent in such IC control circuit; Further, the examiner takes official notice that it is common and known in the art for a driving chip further comprises a register, the control signal comprises at least one instruction, the register stores the at least one instruction, and the driving chip controls the switch circuit based on the at least one instruction stored in the register for several advantages such as to obtain a device that provides optimal performance. The rationale would have been to use a known method or technique to achieve predictable results.
49. As to claim 10, 293 teaches interconnection between system board (processing unit), driving substrate, and chip via intermediate boards/cables ([0215-0223]; Fig. 3; Film 100 and flexible printed circuit 150 connecting IC to processing unit. The “connecting circuit board” is analogous to the FPC/film assembly serving as an intermediate electrical connection between control signals and wireless communication capabilities.
50. Claim(s) 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 293’ in view of Shinba, US 9,924,06 or in the alternative 293’ in view of Murai and further in view of Shinba.
51. As to claim 4, the modified device of 293’ do not explicitly disclose the electronic label device of claim 1, wherein the switch circuit comprises a resistor and a switch element, a first electrode of the light-emitting element connects to a power source, two ends of the resistor connect to a second electrode of the light-emitting element and a first end of the switch element, respectively, and a second end of the switch element connects to a ground terminal (claim 4), 293’ teaches switch elements within the on-chip selection circuits and their connection between signal/power lines and ground ([0326-0330]). Further use of resistors in series with a light-emitting element for current limiting is well known standard practice in LED driving circuits.
52. Further, Shinba related to a lighting control circuit and image forming apparatus and thus from the same field of endeavor discloses (col. 3, line 10- col. 6, line 3) and shows in Figs. 1 and 3, a device comprising a switching circuit (11-13, 21-23) that comprises resistors (R11-R13, R21-R23, R31-R33) and switch elements (S11-S13, S21-S23) wherein a first electrode (anode electrode D11-D19, D21-D29, D31-D39) of the light-emitting element connects to scanning lines (col. 3, lines 45-48), two ends of the resistor connect to a second electrode (cathode electrode D11-D19, D21-D29, D31-D39) of the light-emitting element and a first end of the switch element (S21-S23), respectively, and a second end of the switch element connects to a ground terminal.
53. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of 293’ wherein the switch circuit comprises a resistor and a switch element, a first electrode of the light-emitting element connects to a power source, two ends of the resistor connect to a second electrode of the light-emitting element and a first end of the switch element, respectively, and a second end of the switch element connects to a ground terminal as suggested by Shinba because such driving techniques are very well known and widely used in the display technology in order to drive the display optimally. The rationale would have been to use a known method or technique to achieve predictable results.
54. As to claim 5, 293’ disclose that the driving chip generates control signals (SW1SD, SW1FP, SW2R, SW2G, SW2B, SW2FP, SW3FP) TO CONTROL SWITCH ELEMENTS 501-504. The control end of the switch element corresponds to the gate/base/control terminal of the transistor or switch in SM1/SM2, which is actuated based on the control signal from the main controller ([0326-0336]; Figs 17-19).
55. As to claim 6, the modified device of 293’ do not explicitly disclose wherein the driving chip outputs a PWM signal based on the control signal and transmits the PWM signal to a control end of the switch element.
56. However, 293’ discloses outputting periodic control signals to switch elements to drive loads in timed phases (display, touch, fingerprint) ([0239-0243]; [0326-0336]; Fig.8. 57. Further, Shinba discloses that the driving chip driving chip outputs a PWM signal based on the control signal and transmits the PWM signal to a control end of the switch element. (paragraph [0028])
58. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of 293’ wherein driving chip outputs a PWM signal based on the control signal and transmits the PWM signal to a control end of the switch element as suggested by Shinba because generating PWM signal for dimming/modulating an LED via the switch is an obvious extension of the well-known timed/period control signal method. The rationale would have been to use a known method or technique to achieve predictable results.
59. Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 293’ in view of Kim, US 11,645,971 or in the alternative 293’ in view of Murai and further in view of Kim.
60. As to claim 8, even though the modified device of 293’ disclose that the main controller (processing unit 5) is part of a computing device (smartphone, tablet, etc.) with wireless communication capabilities ([0207]), 293’ does not explicitly disclose wherein the system circuit board further comprises an antenna element, the main controller is electrically connected with the antenna element, and the main controller outputs the control signal based on an RF signal received by the antenna element.
61. However, adding an antenna element to receive RF signals and using those to generate control signals is an obvious integration of known wireless communication modules into the system board of 293’. Further, Kim related to light emitting diode package and display apparatus and thus from the same field of endeavor discloses a connecting circuit board connected to one side of the driving substrate; a near field communication antenna (244) electrically connected to the near field communication transceiver circuit (243) of the driving chip (paragraph [0317] discloses a near-field communication unit 243 and an antenna 244 and [0324] discloses near-field radio communication units 241 and 243 include a signal transceiver [0141-0143] and also see, Figs 22, 69).
62. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify 293’ by including the system circuit board further comprising an antenna element, the main controller is electrically connected with the antenna element, and the main controller outputs the control signal based on an RF signal received by the antenna element as suggested by Kim for providing a highly efficient display device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
There are several prior arts cited but not relied upon discloses known E-paper film and electronic shelf label system.
/TARIFUR R CHOWDHURY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877