DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
3. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed subject matter “the container having an ergonomic shape that fits in a palm of a human hand and the container rests in the palm” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 13-14, 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Donoghue 4,971,226 in view of Lowry 6,705,492 and Shepherd 2001/0032864.
Donoghue discloses a doser (col. 2, ll. 38-41), which comprises a container (2) having a neck (5), the container having an ergonomic shape as seen in Figure 2, wherein the neck enables access to an internal cavity of the container and the container is configured to be filled with a liquid through the neck as seen in Figures 2-3 and (col. 3, ll. 26-30); and a reservoir (6) coupled with the neck of the container, wherein the reservoir comprises a spout (14) that is coupled with a fill tube (8), wherein the fill tube guides liquid stored in the container to the spout as seen in Figure 3, wherein when pressure applies to the container, a precise dose of liquid fills the reservoir (col. 7, ll. 20-49); wherein when pressure releases from the container, the liquid in the reservoir drains back into the container leaving the precise dose of liquid in the reservoir (col. 7, ll. 20-49), a cap (col. 7, ll. 1-5), the neck comprises locking means (4). Donoghue lacks that the ergonomic shape of the container fits in a palm of a human hand and the internal cavity having a sloped bottom portion that converges on a single area. Lowry teaches the use of a container (120) having an ergonomic shape that fits and/or rests in a palm of a human hand for squeezing of the container as seen in Figures 5 and 6. Shepherd teaches the use of a container (110) with an internal cavity and the internal cavity having a sloped bottom portion (170) that converges on a single area (166), the single is slightly wider than the fill tube as seen in Figure 2; the container is shaped with a lower portion that is bulbous at least one view, wherein a width of the lower portion in a front view is greater that the width of the lower portion in a side view as seen in Figure 3.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the application to utilize the teaching of Lowry onto Donoghue’s doser by modifying the doser to have an ergonomically designed, in order to allow the doser be grabbed for squeezing as taught by Lowry in (col. 3, ll. 53-61).
Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the application to modify the bottom portion of the internal cavity of Donoghue and Lowry to be sloped and converged to a single area as taught by Shepherd, in order to allow the contents of the container to be fully emptied.
7. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Donoghue 4,971,226 in view of Lowry 6,705,492 and Shepherd 2001/0032864 as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Harper 7,004,354
Donoghue- Lowry-Shepherd in combination, have taught all the features of the claimed invention except that the precise dose of liquid is 1 milliliter. Harper teaches the use of transferring a precise dose wherein the precise dose of liquid is 1 milliliter (col. 10, ll. 4-8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the application to utilize Harper’s teaching onto the dosing of Donoghue, Lowry and Shepherd by transferring a predetermined amount of fluid, in order to transfer a predetermined amount of fluid into the reservoir depending on a user’s needs.
8. Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Donoghue 4,971,226 in view of Lowry 6,705,492 and Shepherd 2001/0032864 as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Zaytoun 2006/0213912
Donoghue- Lowry-Shepherd have taught all the features of the claimed invention except that the neck comprises notches that enable pressure based childproofing. Zaytoun teaches the use of a container with a notch which forms between element 210 and 222 and a cap (300) with at least one protrusion (310) for a childproof (col. 1, para. [0017]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the application to substitute locking means of Donoghue, Lowry and Shepherd with Zaytoun’s locking mechanism as taught in Figures 4-4b, in order to provide a child proof lock-and-release mechanism.
9. Claims 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Donoghue 4,971,226 in view of Lowry 6,705,492 and Shepherd 2001/0032864 as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Carter et al. 9,004,292.
Donoghue- Lowry-Shepherd, in combination, have taught all the features of the claimed invention except that the reservoir and container are formed from high density polyethylene and are formed from polyethylene terephthalate. Carter et al. teach the use of a container (100) and its components can be made of any suitable material (col. 6, ll. 10-43).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the application to utilize the teaching of Carter et al. onto the reservoir and container of Donoghue, Lowry and Shepherd, in order to provide a doser and container made of a strong and break resistant material.
Response to Arguments
10. Applicants’ arguments with respect to claim(s) 13-15,17-24 have been considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
/FREDERICK C NICOLAS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754