Priority
Applicants claim priority to PCT application and NL application. None of the priority documents have been received by the office.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 10-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tangelder (US 2012/0135169).
With respect to claims 1-4, 6, 7, 10, 12 and 20, Tangelder discloses composition comprising one or more base flours, plasticizers and a polymer (claim 1). The polymer is biodegradable polymer such as PGA, PBAT, PBS, PHBV, PCL, PBSA, PHB and the like (claim 8).
Flour utilized in Tangelder is made from seeds, grass and roots flour which includes plants used to make cereal such as triticale seeds, oats, corn, rice, barley [0067].
Plasticizers include low molecular weight polyols and sugars, oligosaccharides, esters of carboxylic acids and the like [0076], wherein low molecular weight polyols are solid at room temperatures with melting point above 70oC.
Basic formulation comprises polymers in amount of 1-90 wt.%, 10-90 wt.% of one or more flours, 2.5-30 wt.% of plasticizers [0079], 0-20 wt.% of fillers. More preferred content of flours is 40-97.5 wt.%. More preferred content of polymer is 2.5-60 wt.%.
With respect to claim 5 and 21, Tangelder teaches that one or more of the flour can be utilized as such combination is clearly envisaged and chosen from the list disclosed. Additionally, content of additional flours reciting “up to 100% by weight” does not recite lower limit as such content can also be zero.
With respect to claim 11, filler can be selected from silica, aluminosilicates (mica or clays such as montmorillonite, smectite and hectorite), natural fibers such as pecan fibers and talc [0077].
With respect to claim 13, Tangelder discloses use of additives such as pigments, odorants (fragrances) and antioxidants [0078].
With respect to claim 14-18, the base formulation if first dried at a temperature of 0-60oC [0088]. The composition is obtained by blending one or more polymers with the previously dried base (dried base being the intermediate step). Compounding is performed using multiple screw extruders (shearing forces) at a temperature range of 100-180oC [0092]. The composition is molded into an article using various molding processes such as injection molding, compression molding, blow molding, thermoforming, heat welding and the like [0092]. As mention in rejection of instant claim 1 and 7, plasticizer has melting point of more than 70oC and during process the plasticizer will also melt, because Tangelder teaches melt blending.
With respect to claim 19, Tangelder discloses first making pellets or granulates [0095] which are then utilized to make bioplastic articles such as packaging containers [0106] which are used for short time and disposed. Organic waste bags, biodegradable mulch foils, foil packaging (all read on single serve packaging) [0107].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tangelder (US 2012/0135169) in view of Wang (US 8,283,006).
Discussion of Tangelder from paragraph 1 of this office action is incorporated here by references.
As it was mentioned in paragraph 1, Tangelder discloses plasticizers polyols which are low molecular weight polyhydric alcohols, sugars, saccharides and esters of carboxylic acid [0076]. Tangelder clearly says that plasticizers used there in are understood to mean compounds that aid formability or shape ability of the mixtures. Tangelder also clearly states that plasticizers listed are examples, and therefore plasticizers are not limited to only those listed. Tangelder does not prohibit or does not exclude using other plasticizers which are functional equivalents of those listed.
Wang discloses composition comprising biopolymers and starches that also utilizes plasticizers. Starting col. 4, line 22 Wang not only teaches the same plasticizers as Tangelder but also functional equivalents such as sorbitol and xylitol which are generically called sugars in Tangelder.
In the light of the above disclosure it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time instant invention was filled to utilize sorbitol and/or xylitol of Wang in the teachings of Tangelder because sorbitol and xylitol are sugars clearly envisaged by Tangelder.
USPQ 423, 426 (CCPA 1971).Selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports prima facie obviousness. Sinclair & Carroll Co vs. Interchemical Corp. 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Correspondence
/KATARZYNA I KOLB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767 August 7, 2025