DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Andreasson (US 3359837).
Regarding claim 1, Andreasson discloses a mini cutting bit comprising a shank 20 and a cutting part 24, which is connected to an end of the shank, having a first spiral portion 38, a first chip removal flute 28 and a first chip breaking flute 50. The first chip removal flute is parallel to the first spiral portion, the first chip breaking flute is formed on a top of the first spiral portion and a width of the first chip breaking flute is smaller than that of the top of the first spiral portion (see e.g. Fig. 5). The cutting part has a first end and a second end, the second end (broadly 32) is connected to the shank while the first end is opposite to the second end and is located at an axial central position of the cutting part. An end of the first chip breaking flute extends into the first end and a width of the first chip breaking flute gradually decreases toward the first end (see e.g. Fig. 2). The first end of the cutting part is a pointed end, such that a width of the first end is equal to zero, whereby the width of the first chip breaking flute gradually decreases to zero as the first chip breaking flute extends to the first end (see e.g. Figs. 2-4).
Regarding claim 2, Andreasson discloses the cutting part further having a second spiral portion 40, a second chip removal flute 26 and a second chip breaking flute 52. The second spiral portion is parallel to the first spiral portion, the first and second chip removal flutes are formed between the first and second spiral portions respectively, the second chip breaking flute is formed on a top of the second spiral portion and a width of the second chip breaking flute is smaller than that of the top of the second spiral portion (see e.g. Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 3, Andreasson discloses the first end being a free end, the first chip breaking flute extending between the first end and the second end.
Regarding claim 4, Andreasson discloses the first chip breaking flute having two side edges, and the top of the first spiral portion having two side edges. The side edges of the top of the first spiral portion are kept a first distance from the side edges of the first chip breaking flute.
Regarding claim 5, Andreasson discloses the first end being a free end, the second chip breaking flute extending between the first end and the second end.
Regarding claim 6, Andreasson discloses the second chip breaking flute having two side edges, and the top of the second spiral portion having two side edges. The side edges of the top of the second spiral portion are kept a second distance from the side edges of the second chip breaking flute.
Regarding claim 8, Andreasson discloses the first chip breaking flute being a U-shaped flute (see e.g. Fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andreasson (US 3359837) in view of Kaneko et al. (JP 61100306, hereinafter ‘Kaneko’).
Regarding claim 7, Andreasson discloses the first chip breaking flute having two inward-tapering sides, but does not disclose a small-radiused bottom which would broadly equate to the claimed ‘V-shaped’ flute.
Kaneko discloses a similar drill, wherein the first chip breaking flute 12 is a V-shaped flute (see e.g. Figs. 3-4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to shrink the radius of the bottom of the chip breaking flute of Andreasson to be much smaller, thereby making the flute V-shaped, as taught by Kaneko, depending on the desired chip breaking and removing properties of the flutes. See also MPEP 2144.04, IV, B.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Brightman (US 1320985) discloses elements of or similar to the instant invention.
/Alan Snyder/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722