DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 12/04/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group I, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/04/2025.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “gripper mechanism” in claim 1; “imaging device” in claim 4; and “conveying unit” in claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites in line 8 “selectively moving” the gripper mechanism. However, it is unclear how exactly this gripper mechanism is being “selectively” moved. In what sense? What causes this gripper mechanism to be “selectively” moved? Further clarification is needed.
Claim 1 recites in line 10, the phrase “a storage cell associated with” the target cell location. However, it is unclear how exactly this storage cell is being associated with the target cell location. Associated how? In what sense? Further clarification is needed.
Claim 1 recites in line 11 “a set of key products”, however it is unclear what exactly these “set of key products” are. Further clarification is needed.
Claim 1 recites in line 13 “the key product package”, which has insufficient antecedent basis as no, “key product package” has been previously introduced on the claim. Further clarification is needed.
Claim 2 recites in lines 2-3 “key products”, however it is unclear what exactly these “key products” are. Further clarification is needed.
Claim 2 recites in line 7 “key product packaging of a first format”. However, it is unclear what are the metes and bounds of “a first format”. How is this format determined? Format in what sense? Further clarification is needed.
Claim 2 recites in line 8 “key product packaging of a second format”. However, it is unclear what are the metes and bounds of “a second format”. How is this format determined? Format in what sense? Further clarification is needed.
Claim 2 recites in lines 9-10 “a first dimension set corresponding to the first format”. However, it is unclear what the metes and bounds of this “first dimension set” are. Dimensions of what? Width? Height? Depth? Dimensions of a cell? Of the key product? Of the key product packaging? Additionally, it is unclear how exactly this “first dimension set” is corresponding to “the first format”. Corresponding in what sense? Further clarification is needed.
Claim 2 recites in lines 10-11 “a second dimension set corresponding to the second format”. However, it is unclear what the metes and bounds of this “second dimension set” are. Dimensions of what? Width? Height? Depth? Dimensions of a cell? Of the key product? Of the key product packaging? Additionally, it is unclear how exactly this “second dimension set” is corresponding to “the second format”. Corresponding in what sense? Further clarification is needed.
Claim 4 recites in lines 2, 3, 4 and 6 “a master key”. However, it is unclear if all of these “master key(s)” are the same or different from one another. Furthermore, it is unclear if the “master key” of line 6 which is “identified as a flip-key type key” is a different one or not. Additionally, because it is unclear if this “flip-key type key” is different than the other “master keys” set forth in lines 2-4, it is also unclear if the “retractable key slot” is only adapted to receive this flip-key type key blade or if all other “master keys” are also capable of being used within the retractable key slot. The claim is unclear and confusing. Further clarification is needed.
Claim 4 recites in line 2 the phrase “configured to cut blank keys based on a master key”. However, it is unclear what exactly this key cutter “bases” the cutting of blank keys. Based on, in what sense. Further clarification is needed.
Claim 4 recites in lines 4 and 6, the phrase “associated with” a master key. However, it is unclear how exactly this is being associated with. Associated how? In what sense? Further clarification is needed.
Claim 4 recites in line 5 the phrase “a retractable key slot adapted to be positioned”. However, it is unclear if the retractable key slot is actually being position or not. Further clarification is needed.
Claim 4 recites in line 6 “master key identified as a flip-key type key”. It is unclear how exactly this master key is identified as “a flip-key type key”? What will happen if there is no “flip-key type key” identified? Is the retractable slot needed or not? Further clarification is needed.
Claim 5 recites in line 3 “the master key”. However, since claim 4, from which claim 5 directly depends on, sets forth a plurality of “master key”(s), it is unclear to which of these “master key”(s), the “master key” of claim 5 is referring to. Further clarification is needed.
Claim 6 recites in line 3 “a key product”. However, it is unclear what exactly does “a key product” entails. What is the difference between “a key blank” and a “key product”? “a master key” and a “key product”; a “flip-key type key” and a “key product”, etc. Further clarification is needed.
Claim 6 recites in line 4 “transported products”, however it is unclear what exactly these “transported products” are. Transported from where? Further clarification is needed.
Claim 6 recites in line 5 “a set of bins”, however since claim 6 already sets forth in line 4 that there are one or more bins, it is unclear if this set of “bins” is part of the one or more bins or not. Further clarification is needed.
Claim 6 recites in line 7 “products determined to be non-deliverable”, however it is unclear what exactly these “products” are. How they are being determined to be non-deliverable? Further clarification is needed.
Claim 6 recites in line 8 “key products”, however it is unclear what exactly these “key products” are. Further clarification is needed.
Claim 6 recites in lines 9-10 “combined transaction”. However, it is unclear what exactly determines a combined transaction? Combined transaction, of what? Further clarification is needed.
Claim 7 recites in lines 4-5 “a first format having a first set of dimensions and configured to accommodate a first set of key products”. However, it is unclear what are the metes and bounds of “a first format”. How is this format determined? Format in what sense? Further clarification is needed. It is also unclear what the metes and bounds of this “first set of dimensions” are. Dimensions of what? Width? Height? Depth? Dimensions of the first package? Of the first format? Additionally, it is unclear how exactly this “first set of dimensions” is determined? Furthermore, it is unclear what exactly these “key products” are. Further clarification is needed.
Claim 7 recites in lines 6-7 “a second format having a second set of dimensions and configured to accommodate a second set of key products”. However, it is unclear what are the metes and bounds of “a second format”. How is this format determined? Format in what sense? Further clarification is needed. It is also unclear what the metes and bounds of this “second set of dimensions” are. Dimensions of what? Width? Height? Depth? Dimensions of the second package? Of the second format? Additionally, it is unclear how exactly this “second set of dimensions” is determined? Furthermore, it is unclear what exactly these “key products” are. Further clarification is needed.
Claim 7 recites in each of lines 12 and 13, “the package”. However, since there is a first package and a second package, it is unclear to which of these packages, the “package” of line 12 and the “package” of line 13 is referring to. Further clarification is needed.
Claim 7 recites in each of lines 14 and 16 the phrase “closely match”. However, the metes and bounds of “closely match” are not clearly defined. Further clarification is needed.
Claim 7 recites in each of lines 15 and 16 the phrase “two dimensions”. However, the metes and bounds of what exactly these “two dimensions” are, is unclear. Further clarification is needed.
Claim 8 recites in line 2 “the blade access”. However, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the blade access” since no blade access has been previously introduced in either claims 7 or 1, from which claim 8 depends on. Further clarification is needed.
Claim 8 recites in lines 2-3 “a first and second package”. However, since claim 7, from which claim 8 directly depends on, already introduces “a first package” and “a second package” on each of lines 4 and 6 of claim 7, respectively, it is unclear if these “first and second package” of claim 8 are in addition to the ones already set forth in claim 7 or not. Further clarification is needed.
Claim 8 recites in line 4, “the package”. However, since there is a first package and a second package, already set forth in claim 7 from which claim 8 depends on, and there is a first and second package also set forth in line 3 of claim 8, it is unclear to which of these packages, the “package” of line 4 of claim 8 is referring to. Further clarification is needed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mueller et al. US 9,468,982 (hereafter—Mueller--).
In regards to claim 1, Mueller discloses a key cutting machine for making duplicate keys, the key cutting machine comprising: a key product retrieval system (Figure 2) comprising: a gripper mechanism (28, 128) comprising a set of jaw members (92, 130) for receiving a key blade, an actuator for causing the pair of jaw members to reposition relative to one another between an open and a closed position, a key blade positioner (96, or in Figure 7 refer to any of the pins that position the key blade) adapted to position a key blade received by the jaw members in a desired orientation; at least one motor or actuator for selectively moving the gripper mechanism along a two-dimensional axis (e.g. x and y directions along 17 and 21 as in Figure 2) to a target cell location along a key storage matrix (8) to pick a target key product known to be stored in a storage cell associated with the target cell location; a set of key products (key blanks) stored in a set of storage cells (12, see Figure 3) of the key storage matrix (8), the set of key products comprising packaging (14) characterized by at least a portion of a key blade of a key product extending outward from the key product package and accessible by the gripper mechanism (see Figure 7).
In regards to claim 2, Mueller discloses the key cutting machine of claim 1, Mueller also discloses a key storage matrix (8) comprising a mapped system of storage cells (12) for storing key products; each storage cell adapted to contain a single packaged key product for accessing by the key product retrieval system; wherein the storage matrix (8) comprises a first set of storage cells (12) configured to receive key product packaging (14) of a first format and a second set of storage cells (12) configured to receive key product packaging (14) of a second format different than the first format, the first set of storage cells having a first dimension set corresponding to the first format, and a second set of storage cells having a second dimension set corresponding to the second format (see Figure 7 and Figure 10).
In regards to claim 3, Mueller discloses the key cutting machine of claim 1, Mueller also discloses the retrieval system further comprises a first track oriented along a horizontal axis (along 17) and a second track oriented along a vertical axis (along 21) and wherein the storage cells are mapped to points along the horizontal axis and vertical axis.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NICOLE N RAMOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722