DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-8 are objected to because of the following informalities. Appropriate correction is required.
In claim 1, line 11, the word – in – should be inserted after the phrase “the placing”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 9, line 10, the phrase “the first assembly” lacks antecedent basis. In line 10, the phrase “the second assembly” lacks antecedent basis. In line 11, the phrase “the sensor” lacks antecedent basis and is vague. Please clarify.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
Claims 1, 4-6 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0134079 (Nee).
With regards to claim 1, Nee discloses a calibration environment for vehicle sensor calibration comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-18, a method comprising obtaining an assembly 180 (e.g. sensor system; paragraph [0038]; Figure 1) such that the assembly including a plurality of assembly sensors 104,106 including at least a first assembly sensor 104 (e.g. camera sensor system; paragraph [0038]) and a second assembly sensor 106 (e.g. LIDAR sensor system or RADAR sensor system; paragraph [0038]); calibrating the first assembly sensor 104 (e.g. calibrated at manufacturer; paragraph [0003]); calibrating the second assembly sensor 106 (e.g. calibrated at manufacturer; paragraph [0003]); calibrating the first assembly sensor 104 and the second assembly sensor 106 together such that calibrating the first assembly sensor and second assembly sensor together includes placing the assembly 180 in at least a first pose (e.g. calibrated at manufacturer at initial orientation position before rotation of turntable; paragraphs [0005],[0036],[0095],[0096]; Figure 6) relative to a plurality of calibration targets 200A,200 (e.g. sensor calibration targets; paragraphs [0057],[0070],[0097]; Figures 2A,2D,6) where the plurality of calibration targets including a first calibration target 200A (e.g. camera calibration target; paragraphs [0057],[0090]) and a second calibration target 220 (e.g. RADAR calibration target; paragraphs [0070],[0097]); the placing the assembly 180 in at least the first pose relative to the plurality of calibration targets includes calibrating the first assembly sensor 104 using the first calibration target 200A and calibrating the second assembly sensor 106 using the second calibration target 220 (e.g. paragraphs [0095] to [0097]); coupling the assembly 502 to a vehicle 102 (e.g. autonomous vehicle; paragraphs [0038],[0095]; Figures 1,6); calibrating the plurality of assembly sensors 104,106 after coupling the assembly 180 on the vehicle 102 such that the calibrating the plurality of assembly sensors after coupling the assembly to the vehicle includes causing the vehicle to move (e.g. rotate to different orientation positions on the turntable; Figure 6) relative to the plurality of calibration targets 200a,220 and using the plurality of assembly sensors to make measurements using the plurality of calibration targets (e.g. paragraphs [0095] to [0097]; Figure 6). (See, paragraphs [0033] to [0219]).
With regards to claim 4, Nee further discloses calibrating the first assembly sensor 104 includes performing a first intrinsic calibration (e.g. paragraphs [0013],[0077],[0080]); calibrating the first assembly sensor and the second assembly sensor together includes performing a first extrinsic calibration (e.g. paragraphs [0014],[0015],[0077],[0080]).
With regards to claim 5, Nee further discloses the plurality of sensors 104,106 includes at least one camera (e.g. camera sensor system; paragraph [0038]), at least one lidar (e.g. LIDAR sensor systems; paragraph [0038]), at least one radar (e.g. RADAR sensor system; paragraph [0038]), and at least one inertial measurement unit (e.g. IMU; paragraph [0038]).
With regards to claim 6, Nee further discloses the first sensor 104 is the at least one camera (e.g. paragraph [0038]); the second sensor 106 is one selected from a group including at least one lidar and at least one radar (e.g. paragraph [0038]).
With regards to claims 9-12, Bradley et al. further discloses a computer-readable non-transitory storage medium (e.g. paragraphs [0211],[0214]) where these non-transitory storage computer- readable media claims are commensurate in scope with the above method claims 1,3,4 and are rejected for the same reasons as set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 7-8 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0134079 (Nee) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0075057 (Jones, II et al.).
With regards to claim 2, Nee does not disclose positioning the sensor pod assembly on a robotic apparatus such that the robotic apparatus is configured to place the assembly in at least the first pose, and removing the sensor pod assembly from the robotic apparatus before coupling the assembly on the vehicle.
Jones, II et al. discloses an universal sensor assembly for autonomous vehicle comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-11, an autonomous vehicle 100; an assembly 104,302 (e.g. universal sensor assembly; paragraph [0032]) including a plurality of assembly sensor 108,110 including a first assembly sensor 108 (e.g. LiDAR sensors; paragraph [0032]) and a second assembly sensor 110 (e.g. camera sensors; paragraph [0032]); calibrating the first assembly sensor, the second assembly sensor, the first assembly sensor and the second assembly sensor together such that calibrating the first assembly sensor and second assembly sensor together includes placing the assembly in at least a first pose relative to a plurality of calibration targets (e.g. paragraph [0032]); positioning the sensor pod assembly 302 on a robotic apparatus 402,406 (e.g. gantry crane with crane arm; paragraph [0042]; Figure 4) such that the robotic apparatus is configured to place the assembly 302 in at least the first pose, and removing the sensor pod assembly from the robotic apparatus before coupling the assembly on the vehicle (e.g. paragraphs [0042],[0043],[0045]; Figure 4). (See, paragraphs [0015] to [0101]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have readily recognize the advantages and desirability of employing positioning the sensor pod assembly on a robotic apparatus such that the robotic apparatus is configured to place the assembly in at least the first pose, and removing the sensor pod assembly from the robotic apparatus before coupling the assembly on the vehicle as suggested by Jones, II et al. to the system of Nee to have the ability to calibrate with respect to the vehicle while being suspended in open air and to ensure an unoccluded sweeping 360 degrees FOV and sensor coverage is achieved for all vehicle when the assembly is coupled to the vehicle. (See, paragraph [0045] of Jones, II et al.).
With regards to claim 3, Nee further discloses calibrating the first assembly sensor 104 includes placing the assembly 180 in at least a second pose (e.g. turntable rotates at an interval to a second pose; paragraph [0095]; Figure 6) relative to the plurality of calibration targets 200A,220 such that calibrating the second assembly sensor 106 includes placing the assembly 180 in at least a third pose relative (e g. (e.g. turntable rotates at another interval to a third pose; paragraph [0095]; Figure 6) to the plurality of calibration targets. (See, paragraphs [0095] to [0097]).
With regards to claim 7, Jones, II et al., modifying Nee, further discloses obtaining a first body-mounted sensor such that the first body-mounted sensor being separate from the assembly; calibrating the first body-mounted sensor such that calibrating the first body-mounted sensor together includes placing the first body-mounted sensor in at least one pose relative to the plurality of calibration targets; mounting the first body-mounted sensor on the vehicle after calibrating the first body-mounted sensor such that calibrating the plurality of assembly sensors after coupling the assembly on the vehicle includes calibrating at least one assembly sensor of the plurality of assembly sensors with the first body-mounted sensor (e.g. paragraphs [0031] to [0032] indicate different variations and embodiments for the arrangements of the sensors).
With regards to claim 8, Jones, II et al., modifying Nee, further discloses the first body-mounted sensor is one selected from a group including at least one lidar, at least one radar, and at least one camera (e.g. paragraphs [0031] to [0032]).
With regards to claims 13-20, the claims are directed to apparatus claims and are commensurate in scope with the above method claims 1-6 and are rejected for the same reasons as set forth above. Also, Jones, II et al. further discloses a calibration server arrangement 404 (e.g. central processing unit along with other control system; paragraph [0042],[0043]) while Nee further discloses a turntable 405 (e.g. turntable; paragraphs [0090],[0095]).
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection and/or because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HELEN C KWOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855