DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to Applicants amendment filed 11/04/2025 which has been entered. Claims 1, 11 and 16 have been amended. No Claims have been cancelled. No Claims have been added. Claims 1-20 are still pending in this application, with Claims 1, 11 and 16 being independent.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wallis (2014/0355520 A1) in view of Mehta et al (10,021,738 B1).
As per Claim 1, Wallis teaches a call method performed by a first call session control function (CSCF) device, the method comprising: receiving a first communication message comprising a first call signaling, an originating party or a terminating party of the first call signaling is a roaming-in user equipment, and the first communication message is received by the first CSCF in a roaming-in area of the roaming-in user equipment of the first CSCF device (Figure 5 – References 82 and 84; Page 3, Paragraphs [0025] and [0026]).
(In paragraph [0025], Wallis describes a call initiated by a mobile subscriber initiating a call in a visited public land mobile network [VPLMN] – i.e. roaming-in user equipment in a roaming network. As indicated in Figure 5, a user equipment sends a SIP INVITE requested to a visited proxy call session control function [P-CSCF] which verifies the user identity and forwards the request to an inbound roaming I/S-CSCF)
Wallis also teaches enabling, based on the first communication message, the first call signaling to be routed to an application server (AS) in the roaming area of the roaming-in user equipment (Page 3, Paragraph [0025]). Wallis teach does not teach the AS in the roaming area is capable of providing a value-added-to-call service for the user equipment and the user equipment is in a home area of the first CSCF device.
However, Mehta teaches the AS in the roaming area is capable of providing a value-added-to-call service for a user equipment and the user equipment is in a home area of the first CSCF device (Figure 4; Column 5, Lines 30-51). (Note: In Column 5, Lines 30-51; Mehta describes providing SMS messaging and data roaming services which the Examiner is considering as reading on the recited providing a value-added-to-call service for a user equipment in a home area of the first CSCF device)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Wallis with the method taught by Mehta to reduce the need for value-added services to traverse multiple networks enabling network elements present with the same network to deliver the subscribed to service thereby reducing the likelihood of quality-of-service issues [e.g. excessive video buffering].
As per Claim 11, the combination of Wallis and Mehta teaches a method as described in Claim 1. Wallis also teaches a first application server (Figure 1 – Reference 23; Page 2, Paragraphs [0014] and [0020]). (Note: Claim 11 differs from Claim 1 in that instead of being performed by the CSCF, the method is being performed by the Application Server in response to the messaging received from the CSCF)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Wallis with the method taught by Mehta to reduce the need for value-added services to traverse multiple networks enabling network elements present with the same network to deliver the subscribed to service thereby reducing the likelihood of quality-of-service issues [e.g. excessive video buffering].
As per Claim 16, the combination of Wallis and Mehta teaches a call method as described in Claims 1 and 11. Wallis also teaches an application server (Figure 1 – Reference 23; Page 2, Paragraphs [0014] and [0020]). (Note: Claim 16 differs from Claim 11 in that instead of being performed by the CSCF, the method is being performed by the Application Server in response to the messaging received from the CSCF; and that multiple application servers are being utilized which would be obvious to do in a large coverage area [i.e. national telecommunication service provider – ex. T-mobile])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Wallis with the method taught by Mehta to reduce the need for value-added services to traverse multiple networks enabling network elements present with the same network to deliver the subscribed to service thereby reducing the likelihood of quality-of-service issues [e.g. excessive video buffering].
Claim(s) 2-4, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wallis (2014/0355520 A1) in view of Mehta et al (10,021,738 B1) as applied to Claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Lindholm et al (2014/0254491 A1).
As per Claims 2 and 12, the combination of Wallis and Mehta teaches the method according to Claim 1; nut does not teach determining, based on the first communication message, that the originating party or the terminating party of the first call signaling is the roaming-in user equipment of the first CSCF device; and enabling the first call signaling to be routed to the AS in the roaming area.
However, Lindholm teaches determining, based on the first communication message, that the originating party or the terminating party of the first call signaling is the roaming-in user equipment of the first CSCF device (Figure 7a – Reference 702; Page 6, Paragraph [0072]); and enabling the first call signaling to be routed to the AS in the roaming area (Figure 7a – Reference 707; Page 6, Paragraph [0077]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Wallis and Mehta with the method taught by Lindholm to reduce data traffic latency by directly connecting the roaming device to a local application server thereby enabling faster access to services content or edge computing resources specific to the region in which the roaming subscriber is located.
As per Claims 3 and 13, the combination of Wallis, Mehta and Lindholm teaches wherein the enabling the first call signaling to be routed to the AS in the roaming area comprises: sending a second communication message to a second CSCF device in the home area of the first CSCF device or the AS in the roaming area, wherein the second communication message comprises the first call signaling and a first indication information, the first indication information indicating that the originating party or the terminating party of the first call signaling is the roaming-in user equipment of the first CSCF device (Figure 6 – References 609 and 612; Page 6, Paragraph [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Wallis and Mehta with the method taught by Lindholm to reduce data traffic latency by directly connecting the roaming device to a local application server thereby enabling faster access to services content or edge computing resources specific to the region in which the roaming subscriber is located.
As per Claim 4, the combination of Wallis, Mehta and Lindholm teaches wherein the first indication information further indicates the first call signaling or second call signaling of a call service corresponding to the first call signaling to be routed to the AS in the roaming area of the roaming-in user equipment as described in Claims 1 and 3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Wallis and Mehta with the method taught by Lindholm to reduce data traffic latency by directly connecting the roaming device to a local application server thereby enabling faster access to services content or edge computing resources specific to the region in which the roaming subscriber is located.
Claim(s) 5-10, 14, 15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wallis (2014/0355520 A1) in view of Mehta et al (10,021,738 B1), and further in view of Lindholm et al (2014/0254491 A1) as applied to Claims 3, 11 and 16 above, and further in view of Kelley et al (2007/0280453 A1).
As per Claim 5, the combination of Wallis, Mehta and Lindholm teaches the method according to Claim 3; but does not teach storing a correspondence between the first indication information and the call service corresponding to the first call signaling or a correspondence between the first indication information and a communication session corresponding to the first call signaling.
However, Kelley teaches storing a correspondence between the first indication information and the call service corresponding to the first call signaling or a correspondence between the first indication information and a communication session corresponding to the first call signaling (Page 1, Paragraphs [0006] – [0008]).
(Note: In paragraphs [0006] – [0008], Kelley describes utilizing a field within the header of a session initiation protocol [SIP] message [e.g. SIP INVITE] to convey access information to a network. Kelley indicates that access information may include among other things roaming status, call quality, quality of service, battery life, signal strength, mobility or handoff indicator, etc.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Wallis, Mehta and Lindholm with the method taught by Kelley to leverage session border controllers [SBCs] to add roaming indicators as a parameter in SIP contact headers which allows the SBC to distinguish user locations and apply appropriate routing and resource management.
As per Claim 6, the combination of Wallis, Mehta, Lindholm and Kelley teaches wherein the determining, based on the first communication message, that the originating party or the terminating party of the first call signaling is roaming-in user equipment of the first CSCF device comprises: determining, based on a "from" header field or an P-Asserted-Identity header field in the first communication message, that the originating party of the first call signaling is roaming-in user equipment of the first CSCF device; or determining, based on a "to" header field in the first communication message, that the terminating party of the first call signaling is a roaming-in user equipment of the first CSCF device as described in Claims 2 and 5.
(Note: In paragraph [0008], Kelley describes identifying a profile associated with roaming condition based on a trigger and adjusting a delivery of media in accordance with the profile. Use of a SIP INVITE message teaches the use of “from” and “to” header fields as well as the use of a P-Asserted-Identity header field. The use of a roaming header field is also taught as described in Claim 5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Wallis, Mehta and Lindholm with the method taught by Kelley to leverage session border controllers [SBCs] to add roaming indicators as a parameter in SIP contact headers which allows the SBC to distinguish user locations and apply appropriate routing and resource management.
As per Claims 7 and 14, the combination of Wallis, Mehta, Lindholm and Kelley teaches receiving a third communication message sent by the AS in the roaming area, wherein the third communication message comprises the first call signaling, the first indication information, and second indication information, wherein the second indication information indicates that the AS in the roaming area is to provide a value-added-to-call service for the roaming-in user equipment, or wherein the second indication information indicates that the AS in the roaming area has provided a value-added-to-call service for the roaming-in user equipment; and sending a fourth communication message to a third CSCF device in a home area of the roaming-in user equipment, wherein the fourth communication message comprises the first call signaling, the first indication information and the second indication information.
(Note: Call signaling message flow is shown in Figure 6 of Lindholm. The delivery of a value-added-to-call service is taught by Mehta as described above. The modified SIP INVITE message including the routing flag filed is taught by Kelley and making an adjustment to transmitted media [i.e. value-added-to-call service] is performed in accordance with an identified profile of features and behaviors associated with the identified trigger [i.e. roaming condition])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Wallis, Mehta and Lindholm with the method taught by Kelley to leverage session border controllers [SBCs] to add roaming indicators as a parameter in SIP contact headers which allows the SBC to distinguish user locations and apply appropriate routing and resource management.
As per Claims 8 and 15, the combination of Wallis, Mehta, Lindholm and Kelley teaches wherein the method further comprises: receiving a fifth communication message from the third CSCF device, wherein the fifth communication message comprises the first indication information and third indication information, wherein the third indication information indicates that an AS in the home area of the roaming-in user equipment is to provide a value-added-to-call service for the roaming-in user equipment; and sending a sixth communication message to the AS in the roaming area based on the first indication information, wherein the sixth message comprises the first indication information and the third indication information as described in Claim 7.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Wallis, Mehta and Lindholm with the method taught by Kelley to leverage session border controllers [SBCs] to add roaming indicators as a parameter in SIP contact headers which allows the SBC to distinguish user locations and apply appropriate routing and resource management.
As per Claim 9, the combination of Wallis, Mehta, Lindholm and Kelley teaches wherein the method further comprises: receiving a fifth communication message from the third CSCF device, wherein the fifth communication message comprises the first indication information and the second indication information; and sending a sixth communication message to the AS in the roaming area based on the first indication information, wherein the sixth message comprises the first indication information and the second indication information as described in Claim 7.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Wallis, Mehta and Lindholm with the method taught by Kelley to leverage session border controllers [SBCs] to add roaming indicators as a parameter in SIP contact headers which allows the SBC to distinguish user locations and apply appropriate routing and resource management.
As per Claim 10, the combination of Wallis, Mehta, Lindholm and Kelley teaches determining that the roaming-in user equipment is capable of using the value-added-to-call service provided by the AS in the home area of the first CSCF device. (Note: Call signaling message flow is shown in Figure 6 of Lindholm. The delivery of a value-added-to-call service is taught by Mehta as described above. The modified SIP INVITE message including the routing flag filed is taught by Kelley and making an adjustment to transmitted media [i.e. value-added-to-call service] is performed in accordance with an identified profile of features and behaviors associated with the identified trigger [i.e. roaming condition])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Wallis, Mehta and Lindholm with the method taught by Kelley to leverage session border controllers [SBCs] to add roaming indicators as a parameter in SIP contact headers which allows the SBC to distinguish user locations and apply appropriate routing and resource management.
As per Claim 17, the combination of Wallis, Mehta, Lindholm and Kelley teaches wherein the seventh communication message further comprises a first indication information, the first indication information indicating the originating party or the terminating party of the first call signaling is a roaming-in user equipment of a first CSCF device, wherein the first CSCF device is in the roaming area of the home user equipment. (Note: The first indication information is a SIP INVITE message which is taught as described above. In paragraphs [0006] – [0008], Kelley describes the use of a roaming field present in the header of a SIP INVITE message)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Wallis, Mehta and Lindholm with the method taught by Kelley to leverage session border controllers [SBCs] to add roaming indicators as a parameter in SIP contact headers which allows the SBC to distinguish user locations and apply appropriate routing and resource management.
As per Claim 18, the combination of Wallis, Mehta, Lindholm and Kelley teaches wherein the first indication information further indicating the first call signaling or the second call signaling of the call service corresponding to the first call signaling to be routed to the AS in the roaming area of the home user equipment as described in Claim 16 and 17.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Wallis, Mehta and Lindholm with the method taught by Kelley to leverage session border controllers [SBCs] to add roaming indicators as a parameter in SIP contact headers which allows the SBC to distinguish user locations and apply appropriate routing and resource management.
As per Claim 19, the combination of Wallis, Mehta, Lindholm and Kelley teaches wherein the enabling, based on the seventh communication message, the first call signaling or the second call signaling of the call service corresponding to the first call signaling to be routed to the first AS comprises: sending an eighth communication message to the third CSCF device in response to the seventh communication message, the eighth communication message comprising the first call signaling, the first indication information, and a third indication information, the third indication information indicating the second AS is to provide the value-added-to-call service for the roaming-in user equipment as described in Claim 16 and 17.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Wallis, Mehta and Lindholm with the method taught by Kelley to leverage session border controllers [SBCs] to add roaming indicators as a parameter in SIP contact headers which allows the SBC to distinguish user locations and apply appropriate routing and resource management.
As per Claim 20, the combination of Wallis, Mehta, Lindholm and Kelley teaches wherein the enabling, based on the seventh communication message, the first call signaling or the second call signaling of the call service corresponding to the first call signaling to be routed to the first AS comprises: sending an eighth communication message to the third CSCF device in response to the seventh communication message, the eighth communication message comprising the first call signaling and the first indication information as described in Claim 16 and 17.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Wallis, Mehta and Lindholm with the method taught by Kelley to leverage session border controllers [SBCs] to add roaming indicators as a parameter in SIP contact headers which allows the SBC to distinguish user locations and apply appropriate routing and resource management.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Abtin et al (2015/0156221 A1), Keller et al (2012/0177193 A1), Bollapalli et al (2017/0251028 A1), Tobita et al (2009/0011697 A1), Du et al (2011/0217977 A1), Dubesset et al (9,794,769 B2), Badar et al (2021/0176634 A1), Witzel et al (2010/0272096 A1) and Mahdi (2006/0280169 A1). Each of these describes systems and methods to provide supplementary communication services to roaming devices in a wireless communication system.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KHARYE POPE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2693
/KHARYE POPE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693