DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by O’Neal (8,141,980) in view of Ogasawara (9,340,027) and Ogasawara et al. (2016/0347093).
Regarding claim 1, O’Neal teaches a recording device configured to perform
Borderless recording for forming an image up to an edge of a medium, the recording device comprising:
an ejecting head (fig. 2, item 202) configured to eject ink onto the medium (fig. 5, item 402);
a first ink absorber (fig. 1, item 112), during the borderless recording, disposed at a position facing the ejecting head and configured to absorb waste ink (col. 3, lines 55-64), of the ink, ejected to a position beyond the edge (see fig. 5);
a platen (figs. 9, 11, item 108) configured to support the first ink absorber (see fig. 11), and support the medium during the borderless recording (see fig. 9);
a first waste ink tray (fig. 11, item 722) including a first discharge port (fig. 11, item 1102) configured to discharge the waste ink (see fig. 11), the first waste ink tray being configured to receive the waste ink flowing out from the first ink absorber (see fig. 11); and
a discharge mechanism (fig. 11, item 1104) configured to discharge, from the first discharge port, the waste ink received by the first waste ink tray (see fig. 11), wherein
the first waste ink tray includes a plurality of inclined regions (fig. 11, note that there are any number of inclined regions, a first inclined region of the plurality of inclined regions has a first inclination direction towards the first discharge port and a second inclination direction towards another of the plurality of inclined regions (see fig. 11, note that either of the inclines could be said to have the first inclination, and the other of the inclines could be said to face the first), and
the first ink absorber comprises an absorber body (fig. 7, top portion of item 112) and an elongate contact portion (fig. 11, bottom portion of absorbent 112) extending from the absorber body to pass from the opening to hang
O’Neal does not teach wherein the first inclined region comprising a plurality of grooves formed in the first inclination direction and extending in a first inclination direction of the first inclined region. Ogasawara teaches this (Ogasawara, see fig. 5, Note grooves 32 in inclined regions 33). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to add the grooves disclosed by Ogasawara to the inclined regions disclosed by O’Neal because doing so would help facilitate the smooth transport of waste liquid toward the discharge port.
O’Neal in view of Ogasawara ‘027 does not teach wherein the first ink absorber comprises an opening. Ogasawara ‘093 teaches this (Ogasawara ‘093, fig. 7, Note that absorber 35 has openings for suction recesses 17). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the openings disclosed by Ogasawara ‘093 to the device disclosed by O’Neal in view of Ogasawara ‘027 because doing so would allow for the addition of suction openings, which would allow for conveyance of the medium flatly, thereby improving the printed product.
.
Regarding claim 2, O’Neal in view of Ogasawara ‘027 and Ogasawara ‘093 teaches the recording device according to claim 1, comprising a transport unit (O’Neal, fig. 9, item 104) configured to transport the medium in a transport direction (O’Neal, fig. 9, direction along rollers), wherein
the first waste ink tray includes, as the plurality of inclined regions, a first inclined surface inclined in the transport direction and a second inclined surface inclined in a width direction intersecting the transport direction (O’Neal, fig. 9, item 104).
Regarding claim 4, O’Neal in view of Ogasawara ‘027 and Ogasawara ‘093 teaches the recording device according to claim 1, wherein the discharge mechanism includes a waste ink storage unit (O’Neal, col. 7, lines 12-20) configured to store the waste ink, and a first tube (O’Neal, fig. 11, item 1104) coupling the first discharge port and the waste ink storage unit (O’Neal, fig. 11).
Regarding claim 5, O’Neal in view of Ogasawara ‘027 and Ogasawara ‘093 teaches the recording device according to claim 4, wherein the discharge mechanism includes a pump (fig. 9, item 59) configured to accelerate a flow of the waste ink from the first discharge port to the waste ink storage unit via the first tube (O,Neal, [0033]).
Regarding claim 8, O’Neal in view of Ogasawara ‘027 and Ogasawara ‘093 teaches the recording device according to claim 2, wherein a width of the first waste ink tray when viewed from the transport direction is narrower than a width of the first ink absorber when viewed from the transport direction (O’Neal, see fig. 11).
Regarding claim 9, O’Neal in view of Ogasawara ‘027 and Ogasawara ‘093 teaches the recording device according to claim 1, comprising a second ink absorber provided around the first waste ink tray when viewed from an ejection direction of the ink (O’Neal, see fig. 11).
Claim(s) 6 and 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Neal in view of Ogasawara ‘027 and Ogasawara ‘093 as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Takahashi (6,802,591).
Regarding claim 6, O’Neal in view of Ogasawara ‘027 and Ogasawara ‘093 teaches the recording device according to claim 5. O’Neal in view of Ogasawara ‘027 and Ogasawara ‘093 does not teach wherein
the ejecting head is configured to eject the ink onto the medium while reciprocating, the ejecting head being located at a home position during non-recording,
a second waste ink tray configured to receive the ink ejected from the ejecting head as waste ink is provided at the home position (see fig. 3),
the second waste ink tray includes a second discharge port,
the discharge mechanism includes a second tube coupling the second discharge port and the waste ink storage unit, and
the pump also has a role of accelerating a flow of the waste ink from the second discharge port to the waste ink storage unit via the second tube. Takahashi teaches a capping member with a second waste ink tray at a home position, wherein the capping member has a pump and a second tube (Takahashi, col. 8, lines 58-67). It would have been obvious to add a suction cap in a home position, as disclosed by Takahashi, to the device disclosed by O’Neal in view of Ogasawara ‘027 and Ogasawara ‘093 because doing so would allow for prevention of ink drying and maintenance suction at the home position during a non-printing mode. Upon addition of the cap of Takahashi to the device of O’Neal in view of Ogasawara ‘027 and Ogasawara ‘093, it would have been obvious to use the same pump and the same waste ink storage unit to transport and store all waste ink deposited in the device.
Regarding claim 10, O’Neal in view of Ogasawara ‘027 and Ogasawara ‘093 teaches the recording device according to claim 1. O’Neal in view of Ogasawara ‘027 and Ogasawara ‘093 does not teach an electrode plate including an electrode terminal coupled to a wiring line, the electrode plate being provided at a position between the platen and the first ink absorber, and a third ink absorber provided along the wiring line. Takahashi teaches this (Takahashi, see figs. 11, 12, Note electrode 120 along wiring line, and not that any portion of absorber can be said to be a third absorber provided along the wiring line). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to add the electrode plate disclosed by Takahashi to the device disclosed by O’Neal in view of Ogasawara ‘027 and Ogasawara ‘093 because doing so would allow for attraction of ink mist toward the absorbent, thereby preventing unwanted deposition of mist on the print medium.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot in light of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
/ALEJANDRO VALENCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853