DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status
Claims 26-27 are pending. Claim 27 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species. Therefore, Claim 26 is under examination.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant elected without traverse Group 1 (compounds) and
as the elected compound in the reply filed on 10/26/2023.
Therefore, Claim 26 is presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Rejection Maintained
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 2016/0326126 A1) in view of Jornada et al. (Molecules. 2016 Jan; 21(1): 42. Published online 2015 Dec 29. doi: 10.3390/molecules21010042).
Claimed Invention
The claims are drawn to a pharmaceutical composition suitable for intravenous injection, the pharmaceutical composition comprising a liquid carrier and an effective amount of a compounds of formula I
such as
.
Prior art
Yang teaches compounds of formula (I)
, wherein EDG is an electron donor group, EWG is electron withdrawing group; and WSG is a water-soluble group. See 0004-0005. An example taught by Yang is Compound 1 identified in Figure 1.
See Fig. 1B; see also 0939. The water-soluble group (WSG) of the compound is represented by the tail containing the polyethylene glycol group:
“In some compounds of Formula I, WSG is polyethylene glycol, polypropylene glycol, co-polymer of polyethylene glycol and polypropylene glycol, or alkoxy derivatives thereof.
In some compounds of Formula I, WSG is
”
See 0020.
The disclosure provides novel compounds that are employed in the detection, diagnosis, treatment, and monitoring of diseases or conditions associated with protein aggregation or protein misfolding. See 0228. The compositions may be employed via intravenous administration using pharmaceutically acceptable liquid carriers See 0539, 0566, and 0588.
While Yang teaches compounds including Compound 1 can be used in pharmaceutical compositions that may further comprising a liquid carrier and may be suitable for intravenous administration, Compound 1 differs from the claimed compound because reference Compound 1 has a methoxy (-OCH3) group within the water-soluble group at the right end of the reference structure instead of
such as
at the right end of the claimed structure:
vs
.
However, it was already known that phosphate groups are added to pharmaceutical compounds to increase the water solubility of same. For example, Jornada teaches phosphate ester compounds are relatively stable when free in metabolic surroundings and that combining a phosphate with a drug (phosphate-prodrug approach) has been successfully used to enhance the solubility and availability of the drug. See p. 17, section ‘8. Phosphate Prodrugs’, first par. Several examples are provided by Jornada demonstrating increased solubility of pharmaceutical compounds using the addition of a phosphate group to the pharmaceutical compounds. See section ‘8. Phosphate Prodrugs’ at pp. 17-20. One example, in Figure 25 shows that the addition of a phosphate to a pharmaceutical agent increased the solubility of the agent by >700-fold and another at >1600-fold. See Figure 25. Another example shows that the addition of phosphate to a pharmaceutical agent increased the solubility by >50,000 fold. See Figure 26. Increasing solubility enables formulation of injectable solutions. See p. 25, 1st full para.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to incorporate a phosphate group in the water-soluble group of a compound of formula (I) such as Compound 1 because Yang exemplifies
as a compound of Formula 1 wherein the water-soluble group includes polyethylene glycol or alkoxy derivatives thereof such as including the structure
while Jornada teaches that phosphate can be added to pharmaceutical compounds in order to enhance water solubility. The artisan would have added the phosphate group to Compound 1 to arrive at the instant compound in order to enhance the water solubility of the compound. The artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success that the addition of a phosphate group at the end of the water-soluble group would impart its water solubility enhancing effects given that the prior art recognized that phosphate ester added to the pharmaceutical compounds increases their water solubility.
The suggested compound
meets the limitations of Claims 26.
Response to arguments
Applicant argues that the phosphate group is not cleaved in the body which is unexpected. This is not persuasive because there is no evidence that it is unexpected.
Applicant states that the present invention is directed to a pharmaceutical composition suitable for intravenous injection comprising a liquid carrier and an effective amount of a compound represented by the instant formula
. Applicant further states that although Jornada discloses phosphate-containing compounds, Jornada concerns forming phosphate prodrugs for the oral delivery of poorly soluble drugs. Thus, Applicant argues that a POSA would recognize the significance of intestinal alkaline phosphatases in the context of phosphate prodrugs and would consider this approach suitable for orally administered drugs. Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but have not been found persuasive because the Jornada reference is not as limiting as suggested by Applicant’s argument. For instance, Jornada teaches increasing solubility enables formulation of injectable solutions. See p. 25, 1st full para. Jornada further teaches to “overcome the poor solubility in water of SNS-314 (78), an aurora kinase inhibitor, a prodrug was designed with several moieties attached to the parent drug, such as acyl-oxymethylene, amine-containing acyl-oxymethylene and phosphate group. Prodrug 79, a phosphate-ester derivative, was 335-fold more water soluble than the parent drug (Figure 30). Moreover, although the acyl-oxymethylene derivatives showed increased solubility (8–20-fold), they were much less effective than the phosphate-ester prodrug [108].” In support of this, Jornada references Oslob et al. (“Water-soluble prodrugs of an Aurora kinase inhibitor.” Bioorg. Med. Chem. Lett. 2009;19:1409–1412. doi: 10.1016/j.bmcl.2009.01.043 - attached) which teaches the phosphate ester prodrug was more effective than the drug in intravenous administration. Oslob studied the effectiveness of Compound 1,
, as compared to prodrugs thereof:
.
Oslob described the prodrugs having improved aqueous solubility profiles. In particular, phosphonooxymethyl-derived prodrug 2g has significantly enhanced solubility and is converted to the biologically active parent (1) following iv, i.e., intravenous, as well as po, i.e., oral, administration to rodents. See Oslob at abstract; see also Figure 1 at p. 1409 and Figure 2 at p. 1410. Thus, Jornada is not limited to the use of phosphate esters for oral administration only. As such, the POSA would have understood that phosphate ester prodrug can be used to increase solubility of the drug as disclosed by Jornada including for intravenous use. Given that Yang and Jornada teach intravenous administration, there is no need for the references to explain how the technologies described can be modified to avoid oral administration as argued by Applicant in the paragraph bridging pages 5 and 6 of the remarks.
Applicant further makes unsubstantiated conclusory statements about calcium in the body binding to phosphate leading to reduced amounts of free calcium. This is not persuasive because the record does not support the position that the occurrence of this alleged phenomenon would dissuade one from making an intravenous formulation of the phosphate ester prodrug instantly claimed.
Double Patenting
Rejection maintained
Response to arguments against ODP rejections
Applicant relies on the above arguments to assert that the double patenting rejections should be removed. However, for the reasons set forth above, the rejections are maintained.
A. Claim 26 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 10,005,745 (“reference” or “Yang”– specification published in 2016 and is available as prior art) in view of Jornada et al (cited above).
Claimed Invention
The claims are drawn to a pharmaceutical composition suitable for intravenous injection, the pharmaceutical composition comprising a liquid carrier and an effective amount of a compounds of formula I
such as
.
Reference art
The reference claims are drawn to compounds of formula (Ic)
(see reference Claim 1) and pharmaceutical compositions containing them and liquid carriers such as DMSO, ethanol, aqueous phosphate buffer, and others (see Claim 19). EDG is defined as an electron donor group (see reference col. 1), EWG as an electron withdrawing group (see reference col. 3), and WSG as a water-soluble group (see reference col. 3). An example taught by the reference is Compound 1 identified in Figure 1.
See Fig. 1B; see also col. 299. The water-soluble group (WSG) of the compound is represented by the tail containing the polyethylene glycol group:
“In some compounds of Formula I, WSG is polyethylene glycol, polypropylene glycol, co-polymer of polyethylene glycol and polypropylene glycol, or alkoxy derivatives thereof.
In some compounds of Formula I, WSG is
”
See col. 4.
The disclosure provides novel compounds that are employed in the detection, diagnosis, treatment, and monitoring of diseases or conditions associated with protein aggregation or protein misfolding. See col. 43. The compositions may be employed via intravenous administration using pharmaceutically acceptable liquid carriers. See col. 43, particularly the paragraph starting at line 23; see also col. 203, line 39, 43; see also col. 213, line 40.
While the Yang reference claims compounds including Compound 1 can be used in pharmaceutical compositions that may further comprising a liquid carrier and may be suitable for intravenous administration, the Yang reference Compound 1 differs from the claimed compound because Compound 1 has a methoxy group instead of Formula I wherein R1 is
, wherein X = O and R11 = H, in the claimed compound within the water-soluble group:
vs
.
However, it was already known that phosphate groups are added to pharmaceutical compounds to increase the water solubility of same. For example, Jornada teaches phosphate ester compounds are relatively stable when free in metabolic surroundings and that combining a phosphate with a drug (phosphate-prodrug approach) has been successfully used to enhance the solubility and availability of the drug. See p. 17, section ‘8. Phosphate Prodrugs’, first par. Several examples are provided by Jornada demonstrating increased solubility of pharmaceutical compounds using the addition of a phosphate group to the pharmaceutical compounds. See section ‘8. Phosphate Prodrugs’ at pp. 17-20. One example, in Figure 25 shows that the addition of a phosphate to a pharmaceutical agent increased the solubility of the agent by >700-fold and another at >1600-fold. See Figure 25. Another example shows that the addition of phosphate to a pharmaceutical agent increased the solubility by >50,000 fold. See Figure 26. Increasing solubility enables formulation of injectable solutions. See p. 25, 1st full para.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to incorporate a phosphate group in the water-soluble group of a compound of formula (I) such as Compound 1 to form the compound
because the reference exemplifies
as a compound of Formula 1 wherein the water-soluble group includes polyethylene glycol or alkoxy derivatives thereof such as including the structure
while Jornada teaches that phosphate can be added to pharmaceutical compounds in order to enhance water solubility. The artisan would have added the phosphate group to Compound 1 to arrive at the instant compound in order to enhance the water solubility of the compound. The artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success that the addition of a phosphate group at the end of the water-soluble group would impart its water solubility enhancing effects given that the reference art recognized that phosphate ester added to the pharmaceutical compounds increases their water solubility.
The Compound
meets the limitations of Claims 26.
B. Claim 26 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 10,370,345 in view of Yang et al. (US 2016/0326126 A1) and Jornada et al (cited above).
Claimed Invention
The claims are drawn to a pharmaceutical composition suitable for intravenous injection, the pharmaceutical composition comprising a liquid carrier and an effective amount of a compounds of formula I
such as
.
Reference art
The reference claims are drawn to methods of using compounds of formula (Ic)
to monitor response to a treatment of a patient having a disease or condition characterized by amyloid deposit in a body part or a body area of the patient, comprising: (i) forming a detectable complex in the body part or the body area following the treatment by contacting an effective amount of a compound of Formula Ic with the amyloid deposit; and (ii) detecting the detectable complex, wherein a decrease of detectable complex as compared to before the treatment indicates that the patient is responsive to the treatment. See reference Claim 1. An example of the compound is
wherein n is an integer from 2 to 10. See Claim 12. Claim 18 specifically identifies
. See Claim 18.
The reference compound differs from the claimed compound because the reference claims do not teach a liquid carrier in the pharmaceutical suitable for intravenous use and the reference compound has a methoxy group instead of Formula I wherein R1 is
, wherein X = O and R11 = H, in the claimed compound within the water-soluble group:
vs
.
The compound is similar to the compounds disclosed by Yang and have similar utility. Yang teaches compounds of formula (I)
, wherein EDG is an electron donor group, EWG is electron withdrawing group; and WSG is a water-soluble group. See 0004-0005. An example taught by Yang is Compound 1 identified in Figure 1.
See Fig. 1B; see also 0939.
The water-soluble group (WSG) of the compound is represented by the tail containing the polyethylene glycol group:
“In some compounds of Formula I, WSG is polyethylene glycol, polypropylene glycol, co-polymer of polyethylene glycol and polypropylene glycol, or alkoxy derivatives thereof.
In some compounds of Formula I, WSG is
”
See 0020.
The disclosure provides novel compounds that are employed in the detection, diagnosis, treatment, and monitoring of diseases or conditions associated with protein aggregation or protein misfolding. See 0228. The compositions may be employed via intravenous administration using pharmaceutically acceptable liquid carriers See 0539, 0566, and 0588.
It was already known that phosphate groups are added to pharmaceutical compounds to increase the water solubility of same. For example, Jornada teaches phosphate ester compounds are relatively stable when free in metabolic surroundings and that combining a phosphate with a drug (phosphate-prodrug approach) has been successfully used to enhance the solubility and availability of the drug. See p. 17, section ‘8. Phosphate Prodrugs’, first par. Several examples are provided by Jornada demonstrating increased solubility of pharmaceutical compounds using the addition of a phosphate group to the pharmaceutical compounds. See section ‘8. Phosphate Prodrugs’ at pp. 17-20. One example, in Figure 25 shows that the addition of a phosphate to a pharmaceutical agent increased the solubility of the agent by >700-fold and another at >1600-fold. See Figure 25. Another example shows that the addition of phosphate to a pharmaceutical agent increased the solubility by >50,000 fold. See Figure 26. Increasing solubility enables formulation of injectable solutions. See p. 25, 1st full para.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to incorporate a phosphate group in the water-soluble group of a reference compound such as
to form the instant compound
because the reference discloses
which is similar to the compounds of Yang having similar utility and wherein Yang teaches the water-soluble group includes polyethylene glycol or alkoxy derivatives thereof such as including the structure
while Jornada teaches that phosphate can be added to pharmaceutical compounds in order to enhance water solubility. The artisan would have added the phosphate group to reference compound to arrive at the instant compound in order to enhance the water solubility of the reference compound. The artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success that the addition of a phosphate group at the end of the water-soluble group would impart its water solubility enhancing effects given that the reference art recognized that phosphate ester added to the pharmaceutical compounds increases their water solubility.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to incorporate the suggested compound in an formulation with a liquid carrier for intravenous employment because Yang teaches that the reference compound is one of several structurally similar compound that can be combined with a liquid carrier and employed intravenously. The artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success that the suggested compound can be combined with a liquid to provide an intravenous formulation.
The Compound
meets the limitations of Claims 26.
C. Claim 26 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,934,264 (“reference”) in view of Yang et al. (US 2016/0326126 A1) and Jornada et al (cited above).
Claimed Invention
The claims are drawn to a pharmaceutical composition suitable for intravenous injection, the pharmaceutical composition comprising a liquid carrier and an effective amount of a compounds of formula I
such as
.
Reference art
The reference claims are drawn to compounds of formula Ic and the methods of using compounds of formula (Ic)
to detect amyloid or amyloid like protein and monitor response to a treatment of a patient having a disease or condition characterized by amyloid deposit in a body part or a body area of the patient. The reference claims teach pharmaceutical compositions containing the compounds and liquid carriers such as DMSO, ethanol, aqueous phosphate buffer, and others (see Claim 11). The methods comprising contacting an effective amount of a compound of Formula Ic with the amyloid deposit and detecting the detectable complex. See reference Claims 1, 18 and 19. Claim 18 specifically identifies
. See Claim 18.
The reference compound differs from the claimed compound because the reference claims do not teach a liquid carrier in the pharmaceutical suitable for intravenous use and the reference compound has a methoxy group instead of Formula I wherein R1 is
, wherein X = O and R11 = H, in the claimed compound within the water-soluble group:
vs
.
The compound is similar to the compounds disclosed by Yang and have similar utility. Yang teaches compounds of formula (I)
, wherein EDG is an electron donor group, EWG is electron withdrawing group; and WSG is a water-soluble group. See 0004-0005. An example taught by Yang is Compound 1 identified in Figure 1.
See Fig. 1B; see also 0939.
The water-soluble group (WSG) of the compound is represented by the tail containing the polyethylene glycol group:
“In some compounds of Formula I, WSG is polyethylene glycol, polypropylene glycol, co-polymer of polyethylene glycol and polypropylene glycol, or alkoxy derivatives thereof.
In some compounds of Formula I, WSG is
”
See 0020.
The disclosure provides novel compounds that are employed in the detection, diagnosis, treatment, and monitoring of diseases or conditions associated with protein aggregation or protein misfolding. See 0228. The compositions may be employed via intravenous administration using pharmaceutically acceptable liquid carriers See 0539, 0566, and 0588.
It was already known that phosphate groups are added to pharmaceutical compounds to increase the water solubility of same. For example, Jornada teaches phosphate ester compounds are relatively stable when free in metabolic surroundings and that combining a phosphate with a drug (phosphate-prodrug approach) has been successfully used to enhance the solubility and availability of the drug. See p. 17, section ‘8. Phosphate Prodrugs’, first par. Several examples are provided by Jornada demonstrating increased solubility of pharmaceutical compounds using the addition of a phosphate group to the pharmaceutical compounds. See section ‘8. Phosphate Prodrugs’ at pp. 17-20. One example, in Figure 25 shows that the addition of a phosphate to a pharmaceutical agent increased the solubility of the agent by >700-fold and another at >1600-fold. See Figure 25. Another example shows that the addition of phosphate to a pharmaceutical agent increased the solubility by >50,000 fold. See Figure 26. Increasing solubility enables formulation of injectable solutions. See p. 25, 1st full para.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to incorporate a phosphate group in the water-soluble group of a reference compound such as
to form the instant compound
because the reference discloses
which is similar to the compounds of Yang having similar utility and wherein Yang teaches the water-soluble group includes polyethylene glycol or alkoxy derivatives thereof such as including the structure
while Jornada teaches that phosphate can be added to pharmaceutical compounds in order to enhance water solubility. The artisan would have added the phosphate group to reference compound to arrive at the instant compound in order to enhance the water solubility of the reference compound. The artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success that the addition of a phosphate group at the end of the water-soluble group would impart its water solubility enhancing effects given that the reference art recognized that phosphate ester added to the pharmaceutical compounds increases their water solubility.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to incorporate the suggested compound in an formulation with a liquid carrier for intravenous employment because Yang teaches that the reference compound is one of several structurally similar compound that can be combined with a liquid carrier and employed intravenously. The artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success that the suggested compound can be combined with a liquid to provide an intravenous formulation.
The Compound
meets the limitations of Claims 26.
D. Claim 26 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,718,596 (“reference”) in view of Yang et al. (US 2016/0326126 A1) and Jornada et al (cited above).
Claimed Invention
The claims are drawn to a pharmaceutical composition suitable for intravenous injection, the pharmaceutical composition comprising a liquid carrier and an effective amount of a compounds of formula I
such as
.
Reference art
The reference claims are drawn to compounds of formula Ie
. See Claim 1. The utility of the compounds include detection of amyloid or amyloid like proteins. They are designed to exhibit enhanced fluorescence emission upon associating with amyloid or amyloid like proteins as compared to unbound compound. The compounds are included in pharmaceutical compositions containing a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (see Claim 20) and are useful in methods for treating diseases associated with amyloid or amyloid like proteins. See abstract.
Claim 1 defines the R84 as H and EWG as -CN. Claim 2 defines Ar as
. Claim 3 defines EDG as
. Claim 8 specifically identifies the WSG portion as
. See Claim 8. This reads on the compound
.
The reference compound differs from the claimed compound because the reference claims do not teach a liquid carrier in the pharmaceutical suitable for intravenous use and the reference compound has a methoxy group instead of Formula I wherein R1 is
, wherein X = O and R11 = H, in the claimed compound within the water-soluble group:
vs
.
The compound is similar to the compounds disclosed by Yang and have similar utility. Yang teaches compounds of formula (I)
, wherein EDG is an electron donor group, EWG is electron withdrawing group; and WSG is a water-soluble group. See 0004-0005. An example taught by Yang is Compound 1 identified in Figure 1.
See Fig. 1B; see also 0939.
The water-soluble group (WSG) of the compound is represented by the tail containing the polyethylene glycol group:
“In some compounds of Formula I, WSG is polyethylene glycol, polypropylene glycol, co-polymer of polyethylene glycol and polypropylene glycol, or alkoxy derivatives thereof.
In some compounds of Formula I, WSG is
”
See 0020.
The disclosure provides novel compounds that are employed in the detection, diagnosis, treatment, and monitoring of diseases or conditions associated with protein aggregation or protein misfolding. See 0228. The compositions may be employed via intravenous administration using pharmaceutically acceptable liquid carriers See 0539, 0566, and 0588.
It was already known that phosphate groups are added to pharmaceutical compounds to increase the water solubility of same. For example, Jornada teaches phosphate ester compounds are relatively stable when free in metabolic surroundings and that combining a phosphate with a drug (phosphate-prodrug approach) has been successfully used to enhance the solubility and availability of the drug. See p. 17, section ‘8. Phosphate Prodrugs’, first par. Several examples are provided by Jornada demonstrating increased solubility of pharmaceutical compounds using the addition of a phosphate group to the pharmaceutical compounds. See section ‘8. Phosphate Prodrugs’ at pp. 17-20. One example, in Figure 25 shows that the addition of a phosphate to a pharmaceutical agent increased the solubility of the agent by >700-fold and another at >1600-fold. See Figure 25. Another example shows that the addition of phosphate to a pharmaceutical agent increased the solubility by >50,000 fold. See Figure 26. Increasing solubility enables formulation of injectable solutions. See p. 25, 1st full para.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to incorporate a phosphate group in the water-soluble group of a reference compound such as
to form the instant compound
because the reference discloses
which is similar to the compounds of Yang having similar utility and wherein Yang teaches the water-soluble group includes polyethylene glycol or alkoxy derivatives thereof such as including the structure
while Jornada teaches that phosphate can be added to pharmaceutical compounds in order to enhance water solubility. The artisan would have added the phosphate group to reference compound to arrive at the instant compound in order to enhance the water solubility of the reference compound. The artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success that the addition of a phosphate group at the end of the water-soluble group would impart its water solubility enhancing effects given that the reference art recognized that phosphate ester added to the pharmaceutical compounds increases their water solubility.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to incorporate the suggested compound in an formulation with a liquid carrier for intravenous employment because Yang teaches that the reference compound is one of several structurally similar compound that can be combined with a liquid carrier and employed intravenously. The artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success that the suggested compound can be combined with a liquid to provide an intravenous formulation.
The Compound
meets the limitations of Claims 26.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/CHRIS E SIMMONS/ Examiner, Art Unit 1629
/JAMES H ALSTRUM-ACEVEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1622