DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 3/11/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-5 remain pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, line 13, “and, and” should be “, and” to delete repeated word.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sighinolfi (US 20180361621 A1) in view of Buttrick (US 6467385 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Sighinolfi teaches a guiding device (using the embodiment of Figure 7 for detail, while using the overall view in Figure 1) of a large-format manual cutters, cutter for cutting a large format part, comprising:
a longitudinal extruded aluminium guide (paragraph 0150) comprising: a top surface (top surface of 23’, see Figure 8), a bottom surface (top surface of 24’, see Figure 7), and hollow chambers (26’) located between the top surface and the bottom surface and separated by reinforcing ribs (21’ and 22’, see Figure 8);
wherein an intermediate recessed portion (space between 231’, see Figure 7) of the top surface covers the entire length of the longitudinal extruded aluminium guide and is delimited by a base (23’ see Figure 7) and by facing lateral surfaces (the two 231’ with potion of 20’) which form longitudinal rails (see Figure 7) for movement of rollers of a cutter provided with a cutting tool connected to the longitudinal extruded aluminium guide (see Figure 7);
wherein two lateral portions (231’ with portion of 20’) are located on either side of the intermediate recessed portion (see Figure 7);
wherein the bottom surface of the longitudinal extruded aluminum guide has a first vertical support one the part to be cut in only a first side (right in Figure 7), a first vertical support (25’ on the right, see Figure 7), on a second side of the bottom surface, a distance from a marking aera of the cutting tool, a longitudinal recess is provided (See Figure 7),
wherein the longitudinal recess is adjacent to one side of the intermediate recess portion (see Figure 7),
a longitudinal recess (recess between 241’) adjacent to the intermediate recess portion (see Figure 7);
wherein lever suction cups (41”) are received in the longitudinal recess to provide a second vertical support for supporting (see Figure 7) and securing the longitudinal extruded aluminium guide on the part to be cut (see Figure 7);
wherein the longitudinal rails are arranged between the first vertical support and the longitudinal recess receiving the lever suction cups (as the claim does not require the entire part of the longitudinal rails, between the entire the first vertical support and the lever suction cups, examiner notes the both rails includes a section that is between the bottom end of first vertical support and the top end of the groups of suction cups, the rails are between top end of lever on the group of suction cups and the bottom of the vertical support hitting the floor, see Figure 7).
Sighinolfi fails to teach a second side of the bottom surface, furthest from a marking aera of the cutting tool.
Buttrick teaches a guiding device including a second side of the bottom surface, furthest from a marking aera of the cutting tool (see Figure 3), wherein the second side has a row of suction cup, wherein the longitudinal rail is arranged between the first vertical support (54) and the longitudinal recess receiving the lever suction cups (44 on the right in Figure 3), wherein the longitudinal recess is adjacent to one side of the intermediate recess portion (recess for rail 32, see Figure 3), a longitudinal recess (mount recess for 44) adjacent to the intermediate recess portion (see Figure 3);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Sighinolfi to change the location of the support and suction cup arrangement, as taught by Buttrick. Since the courts have held that a rearrangement of parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) MEPE 2144.04 VI. C.
Regarding claim 2, modified Sighinolfi further teaches the guiding device further comprises slots on the second side of the guide (slot for 43’, see Figure 7 of Sighinolfi), that are longitudinally aligned and in correspondence with the vertical median plane of the longitudinal recess for receiving the lever suction cups (see Figures 1 and 7), in which rods are housed and configure to move (see Figure 1 and 7), coupled to levers (42’), for driving and locking the lever suction cups, arranged above the guide (see Figure 7 of Sighinolfi).
Regarding claim 3, modified Sighinolfi further teaches the first support means of the guide on the part to be cut comprise at least one bottom appendage (242’) provided with a longitudinal lip (25’/241’), made of elastomer or non-slip material, for securing the lever suction cups (paragraph 0025, see Figure 8 of Sighinolfi).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sighinolfi (US 20180361621 A1) in view of Buttrick (US 6467385 B1) and in further view of Malacheski (US 4224854) and Schuman (US 3396713).
Regarding claim 4, Sighinolfi further teaches the body of the guide is made up of one piece (see Figure 1 of Sighinolfi).
Sighinolfi fails to teach the body of the guide is made up of removable guide segments which comprise at their opposite ends: respective longitudinal holes, adjacent to the first side and to the second side, in which coupling pins are housed; and elements for securing the removable guide segments in a coupling position.
Malacheski teaches a guide device including the body of the guide is made up of removable guide segments (25a, b, see Figure 5), securing means in a coupling position (70 and 71, see Figure 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Sighinolfi to add additional removable guide segments to the one piece guide of Sighinolfi, as taught by Malacheski, in order to increase the guide length of the cutting tool if desired by the end user (col. 3 lines 29-39 of Malacheski).
Schuman teaches segments connected, which comprise at their opposite ends: respective longitudinal holes (holes for pin 37), close to the first side and to the second side, in which coupling pins are housed (pin 37, see Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of modified Sighinolfi to add the pins and holes system in to the guide segments (as modified by Malacheski), as taught by Schuman, in order to better align the guide segments (col. 3 lines 57- col. 4 line 14 of Schuman).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sighinolfi (US 20180361621 A1) in view of Buttrick (US 6467385 B1) and in further view of Malacheski (US 4224854) and Schuman (US 3396713) and in further view of Marston (US 935608).
Regarding claim 5, modified Sighinolfi teaches all elements of the current invention as set forth in claim 4 above.
Modified Sighinolfi fails to teach the elements for securing the removable guide segments comprise a hook and a lever lock, couplable to the hook, secured on the base of the intermediate recessed portion (111) of the top surface of the longitudinal extruded aluminium guide.
Marston teaches segments connected by securing means (assembly in Figure 3), wherein the securing means comprise a hook (16) and a lever lock (lever on 17), couplable to said hook (See Figures 2-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of modified Sighinolfi to change the fastener system (70 and 71, as modified by Malacheski) into the hook and lever system, as taught by Marston. As one of ordinary skill in the art understand that the hook and lever system is better for faster connect and disconnect of the segments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that Sighinolfi fails to teach “a first vertical support in only one side”. the examiner disagrees and notes that since the claim required “comprising”, the right 25” next to cutter 333’ of Sighinofi meets the limitation, as for 25’ on the left side in Figure 7 of Sighinofi can be considered as third/fourth vertical support.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/LIANG DONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3724 12/12/2025