DETAILED ACTION
This is a first action on the merits, in response to the claims received 03/30/2023. Claims 11-16,21-26 are pending for prosecution below.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS)(s) file on have been considered by the examiner. An initialed copy is attached herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11,14-16,21,24-25, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kast et al, (Kast), (USNO.2004/0267332).
As for claim 11, Kast discloses and shows in Figs. 1 and 5 a method of forming an implantable medical device comprising: mounting a secondary coil (ref’s rechargeable neuro stimulator) in a drop-in coil (via apparatus assembly; Fig.5b) channel defined within a first side of an insulating frame (ref’s hermetic seal), wherein the secondary coil is configured to electrically couple to a rechargeable power source of the implantable device and configured to inductively couple with a primary coil (ref’s primary recharging coil) of an external charging device to transcutaneously (via patient skin) charge the rechargeable power source; electrically coupling a first and a second wire end of the secondary coil to respective first ends of a pair of electrical connectors (closed circuit with coupled); and electrically coupling respective second ends of the electrical connectors to a circuit board (ref’s electronics) of the implantable medical device (par.[0024-0025,0032]),
As for claim 14, Kast discloses and shows in Figs. 1 and 5 positioning the electrical connectors within respective receiving channels defined in a
second side of the insulating frame
As for claim 15, Kast discloses and shows in Fig. 5 partially surrounding the insulating frame within a first and a second encapsulating sleeve; and
welding the first and second encapsulating sleeves along a seam, wherein the insulating frame defines a protective barrier (via hermetic seal) positioned between the seam and the secondary coil (par.[0032])
As for claim 16, Kast discloses and shows the first and the second encapsulating sleeve comprise titanium (par.[0026]).
As for claim 21, Kast and shows in Figs. 1 and 5 method of forming an implantable medical device comprising: causing a secondary coil (ref’s rechargeable neuro stimulator) to be mounted in a drop-in coil (via apparatus assembly; Fig.5b) channel defined within a first side of an insulating frame (ref’s hermetic seal), wherein the secondary coil is configured to electrically couple to a rechargeable power source of the implantable device and configured to inductively couple with a primary coil (ref’s primary recharging coil) of an external charging device to transcutaneously (via patient skin) charge the rechargeable power source; causing a first and a second wire end of the secondary coil to be electrically coupled to respective first ends of a pair of electrical connectors; and causing respective second ends of the electrical connectors to be coupled to a circuit board (ref’s electronics) of the implantable medical device (par.[0024-0025,0032]).
As for claim 24, Kast discloses and shows in Figs. 1 and 5 positioning the electrical connectors within respective receiving channels defined in a
second side of the insulating frame
As for claim 25, Kast discloses and shows in Fig. 5 causing the insulating frame to be partially surrounded within a first and a second
encapsulating sleeve; and causing the first and second encapsulating sleeves to be welded along a seam, wherein the insulating frame defines a protective barrier positioned between the seam and the secondary coil (par.[0032]).
As for claim 26, Kast discloses and shows the first and the second encapsulating sleeve comprise titanium (par.[0026]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kast in view of Chen, (USNO.2008/0027500).
As for claim 22, Kast discloses all limitations, but differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose causing an insulated wire to be wrapped on a mandrel, separate and distinct from the insulating frame, to form the secondary coil
Chen discloses causing an insulated wire (via ref’s multi-filament copper) to be wrapped on a mandrel, separate and distinct from the insulating frame, to form the secondary coil (par.[0035])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have modified the teachings of Kast by using causing an insulated wire to be wrapped on a mandrel, separate and distinct from the insulating frame, to form the secondary coil for advantages such as providing the ability to improve coil quality and formation (par.[0035]), as taught by Chen.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13 and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 13: heating or exposing the secondary coil to a solvent to bind an insulating layer of the wire together so the secondary coil defines a loop sized by the mandrel, wherein the loop is the same size as the drop-in coil channel, in combination with the remaining limitations of independent claims.
Claim 23: the secondary coil to be heated or exposed to a solvent to bind an insulating layer of the wire together so the secondary coil defines a loop sized by the mandrel, wherein the loop is the same size as the drop-in coil channel, in combination with the remaining limitations of independent claims.
Contact Information
/ARUN C WILLIAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859