DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The examiner acknowledges receipt of amendments/arguments filed 6/23/25. The arguments set forth are addressed herein below. Claims 1-17 and 20-22 remain pending, Claims 18-19 are canceled, Claims 21-22 are newly added, and Claims 1, 11, and 20 are currently amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-17 and 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeon (WO 2020/226229 A1)(please refer to Patent Translation WO 2020/226229 A1 found at https://translationportal.epo.org/emtp/translate/?ACTION=description-retrieval&COUNTRY=WO&ENGINE=google&FORMAT=docdb&KIND=A1&LOCALE=en_EP&NUMBER=2020226229&OPS=ops.epo.org/3.2&SRCLANG=ko&TRGLANG=en , and attached herein as a PDF) in view of Takahashi (US 2015/0011318).
Claims 1, 11, and 20: Jeon discloses a system comprising: at least one physical processor; and physical memory (non-transitory computer-readable medium)(¶ 116, 123-127, 165-166) comprising computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one physical processor (¶ 116, 124-127, 165, 167), cause the at least one physical processor to perform acts (computer-implemented method) (¶ 116, 124-127, 165) comprising: in response to a detected selection of a video game via a first screen device (250), converting a second screen device (151) to a game controller with a first control layout (Figs. 9a-10c, 13a-c, ¶ 342-353, 396-401); receiving, from the second screen device and via the first control layout, one or more control inputs associated with the video game displayed on the first screen device (Figs. 11a-d, 12a-d, ¶ 355-389, 390-395); detecting a trigger event associated with the video game that necessitates a second control layout for the second screen device; and causing the second screen device to replace the first control layout with the second control layout in response to the trigger event (Figs. 12a-d, ¶ 390-395).
Jeon teaches the above, but lacks the suggesting the at least one processor and, physical memory/non-transitory computer-readable medium having computer-executable instructions, being incorporated in a server, that, when executed by the at least one physical processor perform above the processes or method via the server communicatively coupled to the first screen device and the second device. Jeon at least teaches that the first and second communication devices can be in communication with an external server (¶ 117, 123, 129-130, 135). Takahashi discloses a server, communicatively coupled to a first screen and a second screen device, having at least one physical processor and physical memory/non-transitory computer readable medium (Fig. 4, ¶ 61-67) comprising computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one physical processor performs processes or a method pertaining to to game play and/or game control layouts (Abstract, ¶ 40-41, 45, 61-67, 81-54, 89-108, 113-120, 148-149, emphasis on ¶ 104-108, 113-120). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method, system, and/or medium as it pertains to processes or steps of gaming and/or control of Jeon such that it is performed via a server in communication with the first screen device and the second screen device because such a modification would have yielded predictable results, namely, a means of providing game play and/or game controls via a first and second display screen device in which at least Jeon is intended. Such a modification provides a control system that allows a variety of types or forms of games by use of a plurality of communication terminals (Takahashi - ¶ 6).
Claims 2 and 12: Jeon discloses wherein the first screen device is physically separate from the second screen device (Figs. 2a, 9a-10c ¶ 83, 342-353).
Claims 3 and 13: Jeon discloses wherein receiving, from the second screen device and via the first control layout, the one or more control inputs associated with the video game displayed on the first screen device comprises receiving one or more of tap touch gesture inputs, press-and-hold touch gesture inputs, press-and-slide touch gesture inputs, multi-finger touch gesture inputs, variable pressure touch gesture inputs, sound inputs, or gyroscopic inputs (Figs. 11a-d, 12-d, ¶ 355-389, 390-395).
Claims 4 and 14: Jeon discloses wherein detecting the trigger event associated with the video game that necessitates the second control layout for the second screen device comprises: determining a type associated with the trigger event; and determining that the type of trigger event necessitates a control layout that is different from the first control layout. For example, dragging and selecting a different type of control layout (processor checks for the selection type) results in display of a control layout that is different from the first control layout (Figs. 12a-d, ¶ 390-395).
Claims 5 and 15: Jeon discloses wherein detecting the trigger event associated with the video game that necessitates the second control layout for the second screen device comprises detecting at least one of: a predetermined point in the video game, a predetermined level in the video game, a predetermined character in the video game, a predetermined object in the video game, a preference request associated with a user of the second screen device, or an accessibility selection received via the first control layout (Figs. 12a-d, ¶ 390-395).
Claim 6: Jeon discloses wherein detecting the trigger event associated with the video game that necessitates the second control layout for the second screen device comprises detecting an interaction with a specific video game control within the first control layout (Figs. 12a-d, ¶ 390-395).
Claims 7 and 16: Jeon discloses, further comprising, in response to detecting the trigger event, generating the second control layout for the second screen device based on the trigger event (Figs. 12a-d, ¶ 390-395).
Claims 8 and 17: Jeon discloses wherein generating the second control layout for the second screen device based on the trigger event comprises: determining, based on the video game (Figs. 12a-d, ¶ 338-339, 390-395), one or more video game controls correlated with the trigger event (Figs. 12a-d, ¶ 338-339, 390-395, a determination is made in regards to what control layouts (game pads) and corresponding one or more video game controls are available for the specific game played upon selection of icon 1211); and assembling the one or more video game controls into the second control layout (Figs. 12a-d illustrates assembled one or more video game controls with corresponding layouts, ¶ 390-395).
Claim 9: Jeon discloses wherein causing the second screen device to replace the first control layout with the second control layout comprises: generating display instructions comprising instructions for removing the first control layout from the second screen device and instructions for displaying the one or more video game controls in the second control layout; and providing the display instructions to the second screen device (Figs. 12a-d, ¶ 390-395).
Claim 10: Jeon discloses the acts comprising receiving, during ongoing game play of the video game and via the second control layout on the second screen device, additional control inputs associated with the video game displayed on the first screen device; detecting an additional trigger event associated with the video game that necessitates the first control layout for the second screen device; and causing the second screen device to replace the second control layout with the first control layout (Figs. 12a-d, ¶ 390-395). In reference to Fig. 12d menu 1210 remains available during game play; thereof, a player could select icon 1211 and change the second control layout back the first control layout (Figs. 12a-d, ¶ 390-395).
Claim 21: Jeon discloses wherein the first screen device (250) comprises a television (see above, ¶ 3, 18, 236, as best understood given it’s broadest reasonable interpretation a television is any device that display video or games for multimedia or entertainment purposes) and the second screen device (151) comprises a smartphone (¶ 45, 63).
Claim 22: Jeon in view of Takahashi teaches wherein initiating, by the server, the video game for display on the first screen device (Jeon - Figs. 9a-10c, 13a-c, ¶ 342-353, 396-401, Takahashi – see above, ¶ 104-108, 113-120). Jeon teaches the initiating of the video game for display on the first screen device, wherein via the modification of Jeon with Takahashi results in the process being done via the server.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-17 and 20-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The examiner relies upon at least the prior art of Takahashi (US 2015/001318) to teach limitations pertaining to at least the server.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Please see PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRAMAR HARPER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715