Status of Claims
Currently claims 1-6 and 8-21 are pending, claim 7 has been cancelled, claims 1, 5, and 17-19 are amended.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
restoring means in claim 1
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rouillon (U.S. 2015/0260139).
With respect to claim 1, Rouillon discloses an atomizing nozzle arrangement (figure 4) comprising a housing (32) having an inlet (at 38 into 48), a valve seat (56), a valve element interacting with the valve seat (50), a restoring means acting on the valve element (spring 70), and an orifice (figure 1, the hole at the left side of the housing to the left of 22), wherein the valve element cooperates with a guidance element (guidance element can be that of 72 and 76, or just that of 76) which is arranged in a bore of the housing and extends between the valve element and the restoring means (as shown in figure 4), wherein a surface of the guidance element facing the bore and extending along an entire length of the guidance element is without any abrupt steps (76 by itself has no abrupt steps, 72 and 76 together has a rounded corner connecting to each other, which is not being taken as an abrupt step but a rounded corner), and wherein the restoring means pushes the guidance element against the valve element such that the valve element is pushed against the valve seat (76 pushes against 50, paragraphs 0046 and 0062), and wherein the guidance element has a cross section at an end adjacent the valve element which is smaller than or equal to a corresponding cross section of the valve element (see figure 5).
With respect to claim 2, Rouillon discloses the guidance element is surrounded by a gap (gap about 76/72), the gap extending between an inner wall of the bore and the guidance element and having a flow area (flow about 72/76), the gap being empty except for the flow (as shown in figure 4).
With respect to claim 3, Rouillon discloses the flow area between the guidance element and the inner wall of the bore is largest at the end of the guidance element adjacent the valve element (as shown in figure 4).
With respect to claim 4, Rouillon discloses the flow area is smallest at a position which is located in a halve of the guidance element remote from the valve element (as shown in figure 4).
With respect to claim 5 and 17-19, Rouillon discloses the cross section of the guidance element monotonically increases in a direction away from the valve element along the entire length of the guidance element (as shown in figure 4 and 5, taking 76 as the guidance element it always increases away from the valve element).
With respect to claim 6, Rouillon discloses the valve element, and the guidance element contact each other releasably (see figures 4 and 5).
With respect to claim 12, Rouillon discloses a first housing part (32) and a second housing part (34), wherein the second housing part comprises an outer thread in engagement with an inner thread in the first housing part (paragraph 0042), wherein the second housing part (34) comprises an inlet channel (adjacent 38) connected to the inlet and the valve seat is formed at an inner end of the inlet channel (see figure 4).
With respect to claim 13, Rouillon discloses a cone (at the bottom of 22, being between 22 and the noted orifice, see figure 1, understood that the base of the pressure limiter is not being modified and has the disclosed structure in figure 1) element is arranged in the housing between the guidance element and the orifice (see figure 1) wherein the restoring means are arranged between the cone element and the guidance element (as seen in figure 1).
With respect to claim 14, Rouillon discloses the restoring means are arranged in a recess in the guidance element and/or in a recess in the cone element (being within a recess in 72, see figure 4).
With respect to claim 15, Rouillon discloses the restoring means are in form of a spring of a metal or plastic material or in form of an elastomer body (being a spring that is an elastomer body that acts as a spring, well understood being made of metal or plastic).
With respect to claim 16, Rouillon discloses the flow area is smallest at a position which is located in a halve of the guidance element remote from the valve element (see figure 4).
With respect to claim 20, Rouillon discloses the combined surfaces of the guidance element and the valve element are configured to provide a non-turbulent flow of a liquid in a direction away from the valve seat (being configured as disclosed in figure 4).
Claim(s)1, 8-9, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Looney (U.S. 4,531,542).
With respect to claim 1, Looney discloses an atomizing nozzle arrangement (figure 1) comprising a housing (42/36) having an inlet (at 26), a valve seat (within 36), a valve element (48) interacting with the valve seat (sea of 36), a restoring means acting on the valve element (66) and an orifice (16), wherein the valve element cooperates with a guidance element (64) which is arranged in a bore of the housing and extends between the valve element and the restoring means (as shown in figure 1), wherein a surface of the guidance element facing the bore and extending along an entire length of the guidance element is without any abrupt steps (64 has no steps), wherein the restoring means pushes the guidance element against the valve element such that the valve element is pushed against the valve seat (as 48 is within the system, loosely, column 3 rows 10-20, when the valve is closed, the 66 pushes 64 against ), and wherein the guidance element has a cross section at an end adjacent the valve element which is smaller than or equal to a corresponding cross section of the valve element (as shown in figure 1).
With respect to claim 8, Looney discloses the valve element comprises at least on a side facing the valve seat a symmetrically curved surface (as shown in figure 1, where the curved surface of 36 matches that of 48)).
With respect to claim 9, Chang discloses the valve element comprises a spherical surface, at least in an area facing the valve seat (as shown in figure 1).
With respect to claim 21, Looney discloses an atomizing nozzle arrangement (figure 1) comprising a housing (42/36) having an inlet (at 26), a valve seat (within 36), a valve element interacting with the valve seat (48), a restoring means acting on the valve element (66) and an orifice (16), wherein the valve element cooperates with a guidance element (64) which is arranged in a bore of the housing and extends between the valve element and the restoring means (as shown in figure 1), wherein a surface of the guidance element facing the bore and extending along an entire length of the guidance element is without any abrupt steps (64 has no steps), wherein the valve element and the guidance element contact each other releasably (as 48 is within the system, loosely, column 3 rows 10-20), and wherein the guidance element has a cross section at an end adjacent the valve element which is smaller than or equal to a corresponding cross section of the valve element (as shown in figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rouillon.
With respect to claim 10, Rouillon discloses the valve element is made of a material (being made of something) but fails to disclose an elastically deformable material. The examiner notes that all material have some level of elastic deformation. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a material that has elastically deformable properties, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. MPEP 2144.07.
With respect to claim 11, Rouillon discloses the valve seat comprises a conical or curved form (figure 6).
Response to Arguments/Amendments
The Amendment filed (06/26/2026) has been entered. Currently claims 1-6 and 8-21 are pending, claim 7 has been cancelled, claims 1, 5, and 17-19 are amended. Applicants’ amendments to the claims have overcome each and every rejection previously set forth in the Office Action dated (03/30/2026).
Applicants’ arguments, see Applicants Arguments, filed 06/26/2026, with respect to the previous rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the above rejections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH A GREENLUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752