DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 02/18/2026 has been entered and fully considered. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 13-20 are non-elected. Claims 1-12 are elected for prosecution.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group 2, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/18/2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ODERMATT ET AL (Z-Profile of Styrene Acrylate and Urea Formaldehyde Resin in Foils, measured by Py-GC/MS).
For claim 1, ODERMATT teaches a method of validating impregnation of paper sections in a direction parallel to the paper and throughout the Z direction [p.277]. ODERMATT also teaches multiple sheet (A and B) are sectioned into multiple parts (series) [p. 280]. This teaches the limitation of “method of preparing paper, the method comprising the steps of: applying a paper additive to a first sheet of paper using an initial production technique; sectioning the first sheet of paper into a first section and a second section, wherein the first sheet of paper has a top surface defined in an X-Y plane, wherein a Z axis is perpendicular to the X-Y plane, and wherein the first section and the second section are defined at different positions along the Z axis”. ODERMATT teaches the method can be used to track and control the distribution of paper additive to make repeatable quality [p. 280-281 Reproduction and Conclusions]. This teaches the limitation of “measuring a paper additive concentration in the first section and in the second section; and adjusting the initial production technique to a subsequent production technique to influence a paper additive concentration profile along the Z axis”.
For claim 2, ODERMATT teaches the method of claim 1, as above. ODERMATT teaches the addition of material to a second paper with the same method [p.280]. This teaches the limitation of “further comprising: applying the paper additive to a second sheet of paper using the initial production technique, where the same initial production technique is used for the first sheet of paper and the second sheet of paper; and measuring a selected paper property of the second sheet of paper, wherein the paper additive influences the selected paper property”.
For claim 4, ODERMATT teaches the method of claim 1, as above. ODERMATT teaches the use of a microtome to divide the sheet perpendicular to the Z axis [p. 278 Paper sectioning]. This teaches the limitation of “further comprising: attaching the first sheet of paper to a microtome, wherein the microtome is configured to slice the first sheet of paper perpendicular to the Z axis”.
For claim 7, ODERMATT teaches the method of claim 1, as above. ODERMATT teaches the impregnation of Urea Formaldehyde [Summary]. The examiner notes urea formaldehyde has nitrogen content. ODERMATT detects and measures the content of the additive. This teaches the limitation of “wherein the paper additive comprises nitrogen, wherein measuring the paper additive concentration comprises measuring a nitrogen concentration in the first section, and determining the paper additive concentration in the first section based on the nitrogen concentration of the first section and a percentage of a paper additive molecular weight from nitrogen”.
For claim 8, ODERMATT teaches the method of claim 7, as above. ODERMATT teaches the use of filament pyrolyzing system for measurement [p. 279]. This teaches the limitation of “wherein the nitrogen concentration is measured using pyro- chemiluminescence”.
For claim 9, ODERMATT teaches the method of claim 7, as above. ODERMATT teaches the use of a calibration method prior to testing with different amounts of additive and different additives that uses the same pyrolysis system as the normal testing [p. 279]. ODERMATT further compares this calibration (paper A) to other sheets (B) [Fig 4]. This teaches the limitation of “wherein measuring the paper additive concentration further comprises: producing a reference sheet of paper using a reference production technique, wherein the reference production technique is the same as the initial production technique with the exception that the reference production technique is free of a paper additive addition step, such that the reference sheet of paper is free of the paper additive; measuring the nitrogen concentration in the reference sheet of paper; determining a paper additive induced nitrogen concentration in the first section by reducing the nitrogen concentration measured in the first section to account for the nitrogen concentration measured in the reference sheet of paper; and determining the paper additive concentration based on the paper additive induced nitrogen concentration in the first section”.
For claim 10, ODERMATT teaches the method of claim 1, as above. ODERMATT teaches reproducing the application and measurement (sheets A through H) [p.280-281 Reproducibility]. This teaches the limitation of “further comprising: repeating the method of claim 1, with the exception of applying the paper additive to a subsequent sheet of paper using the subsequent production technique, wherein the paper additive concentration is measured in the subsequent sheet of paper; and comparing the first sheet of paper to the subsequent sheet of paper to inform adjustments to an improved paper production technique”.
For claim 11, ODERMATT teaches the method of claim 1, as above. ODERMATT teaches the creation of twenty sections using the microtome [p. 278]. This teaches the limitation of “wherein: sectioning the first sheet of paper comprises sectioning the first sheet of paper into more than two sections”.
For claim 12, ODERMATT teaches the method of claim 1, as above. ODERMATT teaches additives are impregnated into the sheet [Summary] and shows examples where the urea formaldehyde is present on both outer surfaces of the sheet [Fig 2]. This teaches the limitation of “wherein: applying the paper additive to the first sheet of paper comprises applying the paper additive to a surface of the first sheet of paper”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ODERMATT ET AL (Z-Profile of Styrene Acrylate and Urea Formaldehyde Resin in Foils, measured by Py-GC/MS) in view of SIQUEIRA ET AL (Polyamidoamine Epichlorohydrin-based Papers: Mechanisms of Wet Strength Development and Paper Repulping).
For claim 3, ODERMATT teaches the method of claim 2, as above. ODERMATT teaches the impregnation of styrene acrylate and urea formaldehyde [Summary]. SIQUEIRA teaches urea formaldehyde is a strengthening agent in papermaking [p. 7]. SIQUEIRA teaches wet strength agents also retain strength when dry [p. 7]. This teaches the limitation of “wherein the selected paper property is strength, and wherein the paper additive is a paper strength additive”. It would be obvious to one skilled in the arts to use the urea formaldehyde of SIQUEIRA in the method of ODERMATT as a paper strength additive. One would be motivated based on the retained strength of Urea formaldehyde as taught by SIQUEIRA.
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ODERMATT ET AL (Z-Profile of Styrene Acrylate and Urea Formaldehyde Resin in Foils, measured by Py-GC/MS) in view of VICAR (US 20080041069 A1).
For claim 5, ODERMATT teaches the method of claim 4, as above. ODERMATT teaches the use of a microtome to divide the sheet perpendicular to the Z axis [p. 278 Paper sectioning]. ODERMATT does not specify the style of microtome used. VICAR teaches a method for using a microtome [abstract]. VICAR further teaches the microtome used is a cryostat microtome that uses fluid to cool the system and the material tested [0022]. This teaches the limitation of “wherein the microtome is a cryostat microtome, and wherein attaching the first sheet of paper to the cryostat microtome comprises freezing an attachment fluid positioned between the cryostat microtome and the first sheet of paper”. VICAR teaches the advantage of providing a separate cooling fluid supply to each of the cooling chamber and the sample cooling means is that the temperature of the chamber and the sample cooling means can be controlled independently [0024]. It would be obvious to one skilled in the arts to use the cooling liquid of VICAR in the method of ODERMATT. One would be motivated based on the improved control as taught by VICAR.
For claim 6, ODERMATT and VICAR teach the method of claim 5, as above. VICAR teaches a freezing plate is used to cool the sample (tissue) [0009 and 0028]. This teaches the limitation of “wherein the attachment fluid comprises a tissue freezing medium”.
Conclusion
/S.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/Abbas Rashid/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1748