DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: the optical element in claim 3 (disclosed as a lens or mirror element).
Claim Rejections — 35 USC § 102
Claims 1–4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Karlsen et al. (US Pub. 2014/0263208).
Claim 1: Karlsen discloses a device for generating a laser line on a work plane, the device comprising:
a first laser light source (204) configured to generate a first raw laser beam,
a second laser light source (208) configured to generate a second raw laser beam, and
an optical arrangement (205, 210) configured to:
transport the first raw laser beam along a first beam path (206), and reshape the first raw laser beam along a first optical axis to form a first illumination beam with a first caustic and a first beam profile (¶ 24, “line beam”), and
transport the second raw laser beam along a second beam path (210), and reshape the second raw laser beam along a second optical axis to form a second illumination beam with a second caustic and a second beam profile (¶ 24, “line beam”),
wherein the first illumination beam and the second illumination beam are directed with overlap on the work plane (¶ 29, “beams can be shaped to . . . partially overlap”) and define a joint illumination direction (206 and 210 effectively define a joint illumination direction), the first beam profile and the second beam profile each having a long axis with a long-axis beam width and a short axis with a short-axis beam width perpendicular to the joint illumination direction (these features are necessary and inherent from the “line beam” in ¶ 24), and the first beam profile and the second beam profile jointly forming the laser line on the work plane (clearly evident from the overlapping mentioned in ¶ 29), and
wherein the optical arrangement is configured to position the first caustic and the second caustic offset from one another in the illumination direction (¶ 30 explains that the beam focus can be adjusted, where an adjustment of the beam focus necessarily affects the position of the caustic in the illumination direction; further, ¶ 29 explains that “beam parameters can be independently adjusted for each of the beams,” where the beam focus (and, thereby, the caustic) of each beam may be different).
Claim 2: Karlsen discloses that the optical arrangement comprises a first beam transformer (762A in the analogous embodiment shown in fig. 7B) in the first beam path and a second beam transformer (762B) in the second beam path, the first beam transformer configured to reshape the first raw laser beam in order to generate the first beam profile (necessary and inherent given its function as a line beam optic), the second beam transformer configured to reshape the second raw laser beam in order to generate the second beam profile (ibid.), wherein the first optical axis and the second optical axis define a joint system axis (¶ 40 explains that “the beams can overlap”) and the first beam transformer and the second beam transformer are arranged offset relative to one another along the joint system axis (to effectuate the different beam focuses discussed for claim 1, these transformers would necessarily be offset relative to one another).
Claim 3: Karlsen discloses that the optical arrangement comprises at least one beam transformer (762 in fig. 7B) configured to reshape the first raw laser beam and/or the second raw laser beam in order to generate the first beam profile and/or the second beam profile (necessary and inherent given their function as line beam optics), and wherein the optical arrangement further comprises, in the second beam path, an optical element configured to offset the second caustic relative to the first caustic (an optical element would be necessary and inherent for performing the beam focus control discussed for claim 1).
Claim 4: Karlsen discloses that the first caustic defines a process window with a process window length in the illumination direction (a process window is defined by how the laser (including the caustic) is intended to be used, and is arbitrarily definable), and wherein the first caustic and the second caustic are offset in the illumination direction by a defined distance that is less than 1.5 times the process window length and greater than 0.5 times the process window length (as the process window, and its length, are arbitrarily definable, Karlsen’s mere caustic adjustment control is sufficient to read on the claim).
Claim 9: Karlsen discloses that the optical arrangement superposes the first beam profile and the second beam profile along the respective long axis and along the respective short axis (this necessarily and inherently results from the differently adjusted beam focus positions discussed in claim 1).
Claim Rejections — 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karlsen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lissotschenko et al. (DE 102008027229 A1).
Karlsen is silent regarding that the optical arrangement focuses the first beam profile and the second beam profile onto the work plane, wherein neither the first beam path nor the second beam path has a determined stop.
However, line beam optics without stops are known in the art, as for example shown in Lissotschenko, which discloses an (detailed) apparatus for production of a laser with a linear intensity distribution, without a stop.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to construct the optical arrangement of Karlsen to be without a determined stop, as suggested by Lissotschenko, to reduce wasted laser energy.
Comment: A “determined stop” is understandable in the art as something like a “field stop” or an “aperture stop.”
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5–7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5, Burghardt et al. (DE 102018200078 A1) discloses a similar LLO apparatus with a telescope arrangement with a refractive power with respect to the short axis, but it does not disclose illuminating the lens over more than 50% of the effective diameter.
Regarding claim 6, Burghardt et al. (DE 102018200078 A1) discloses an intermediate image in a single beam path. However, unlike other elements, Burghardt does not teach that this intermediate image moves, and therefore, the reference does not render obvious the idea of offsetting first and second intermediate images.
Regarding claim 7, Beck et al. (DE 102018115126 A1) discloses the use of a rotated beam transformer, but does not disclose first and second beam transformers, particularly where one is rotated relative to the other.
Conclusion
/JOHN J NORTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761