DETAILED ACTION
Response for Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-12) in the reply filed on 03/11/2026is acknowledged. Non-elected Group II (claims 13-18) and Group III (claims 19-20).
The applicant’s argued: “…This traversal is on the grounds that the Office Action does not set forth a serious search burden amongst each Group…”.
The examiner’s response: the applicant’s argument is not persuasive, because there would be a search burden. The apparatus claims 1 and 13 would require searching at least in class F24C7/083 or F24C15/103, but the method claim 19 would require searching at least class B60N3/16. Additionally, claims 1 and 13 would require searching for the claimed structure while claim 19 would require searching for the claimed steps and the respective search terms and strategies would be different for the apparatus and method. Furthermore, the apparatus as claimed in claim 1 would require searching different strategies with respect to the electric vehicle as claimed in claim 13.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 8, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Washington et al. (US 20150173480 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Washington discloses
An apparatus (appliance 1, fig.1), comprising:
a heating surface (second inner face 6, fig.4) configured to electrically couple with a power source (electrical cable 16, fig.4);
a configurable surface (first inner face 5, fig.4); and
a hinge (hinge 17, fig.4) coupled with the heating surface (second inner face 6) and the configurable surface (first inner face 5).
Regarding claim 2, Washington discloses
the hinge (hinge 17, fig.4) configured to fold the heating surface (second inner face 6, fig.4) with the configurable surface (first inner face 5, fig.4).
Regarding claim 8, Washington discloses
the heating surface (second inner face 6, fig.4) including: a heating element (heating element 9, fig.5) configured to heat at least a portion of the heating surface (second inner face 6); an input device (temperature control, Par.0072) configured to adjust an amount of heat produced by the heating element (heating element 9); and the input device (temperature control) including an optical indicator (temperature control inherently has an indicator), the optical indicator (indicator) configured to provide an indication of a temperature of the heating surface (second inner face 6).
Regarding claim 10, Washington discloses
the heating surface (second inner face 6, fig.4) produces heat by at least one of induction heat, conduction heat, convection heat or radiant heat [Par.0070 cited: “…heating element 9 is a resistive heating element…”].
Regarding claim 12, Washington discloses
a first configuration (appliance 1, fig.1, is opened position), wherein the heating surface (second inner face 6, fig.4) is accessible with the apparatus (appliance 1, fig.1) in the first configuration (opened position); and a second configuration (appliance 1, fig.1, is closed position), wherein the apparatus (appliance 1, fig.1) is placed in the second configuration (closed position) responsive to the hinge (hinge 17, fig.4) folding the heating surface (second inner face 6) with the configurable surface (first inner face 5); and the apparatus (appliance 1) configured to stow in a vehicle with the apparatus (appliance 1) in the second configuration (closed position) [appliance 1, fig.1, can be stowed in the vehicle].
Claims 1-9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Roise et al. (US 11648880 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Roise discloses
An apparatus (grill 101, fig.4), comprising:
a heating surface (grate 170, fig.8) configured to electrically couple with a power source [Col.1, lines 52-55 cited: “…system includes a battery pack for electrically powering the cooking device and/or receiving power from the vehicle electrical system…”];
a configurable surface (bottom surface of cover 120, fig.8); and
a hinge (hinge brackets 157a, 157b, 157c, fig.8) coupled with the heating surface (grate 170) and the configurable surface (bottom surface of cover 120).
Regarding claim 2, Roise discloses
the hinge (hinge brackets 157a, 157b, 157c, fig.8) configured to fold the heating surface (grate 170, fig.8) with the configurable surface (bottom surface of cover 120, fig.8).
Regarding claim 3, Roise discloses
the power source including a battery (battery of pickup truck, fig.3) of an electric vehicle (pickup truck, fig.3); a cooking module (housing of grill 101, fig.8) configured to couple with the electric vehicle (pickup truck) and the cooking module (housing of grill 101) configured to decouple from the electric vehicle (pickup truck), and the cooking module (housing of grill 101) configured to electrically couple with the battery (battery of pickup truck) of the electric vehicle (pickup truck) and the cooking module (housing of grill 101) configured to electrically decouple from the battery (battery of pickup truck) of the electric vehicle (pickup truck); the cooking module (housing of grill 101) configured to house at least one of the heating surface (grate 170, fig.8) or the configurable surface (bottom surface of cover 120, fig.8); and the heating surface (grate 170) configured to operate with the cooking module (housing of grill 101) decoupled from the electric vehicle (pickup truck).
Regarding claim 4, Roise discloses
a handle (handle 121, fig.8), coupled with the heating surface (grate 170, fig.8) [handle 121, fig.8, indirectly coupled to the grate 170], the handle (handle 121) configured to adjust from a stowed position disposed within the heating surface (grate 170, fig.8) to a deployed position disposed external to the heating surface (grate 170); and the handle (handle 121) configured to hold an object.
Regarding claim 5, Roise discloses
a supporting module (support flange 116, fig.8) configured to rest on a door of an electric vehicle (intended use); and the supporting module (support flange 116) configured to support at least a portion of the apparatus (barbeque grill 101, fig.8).
Regarding claim 6, Roise discloses
a latch configured to couple the heating surface (grate 170, fig.8) with the configurable surface (bottom surface of cover 120, fig.8) responsive to the hinge (hinge brackets 157a, 157b, 157c, fig.8) folding the heating surface (grate 170) with the configurable surface (bottom surface of cover 120).
Regarding claim 7, Roise discloses
a compartment (grill body 140, fig.9) configured to store a component (burners 180, 181, 182, fig.9); and the compartment including a railing (hinge bar 156, fig.9), the railing (hinge bar 156) configured to adjust the compartment (grill body 140) from a first position (closed position) to a second position (opened position), wherein the compartment (grill body 140) is disposed beneath the configurable surface (bottom surface of cover 120, fig.8) with the compartment (grill body 140) in the first position (closed position) and wherein at least a portion of the compartment (grill body 140) extends beyond the configurable surface (bottom surface of cover 120) with the compartment (grill body 140) in the second position (opened position); wherein the component (burners 180, 181, 182) is accessible with the compartment (grill body 140) in the second position (opened position).
Regarding claim 8, Roise discloses
the heating surface (grate 170, fig.8) including: a heating element (burners 180, 181, 182, fig.9) configured to heat at least a portion of the heating surface (grate 170); an input device (burner controls 151, 152, 153, fig.5) configured to adjust an amount of heat produced by the heating element (burners 180, 181, 182); and the input device (burner controls 151, 152, 153) including an optical indicator [burner controls 151, 152, 153, has indicators, fig.5], the optical indicator (indicators) configured to provide an indication of a temperature of the heating surface (grate 170).
Regarding claim 9, Roise discloses
a hook (docking plate 110, fig.5), the hook (docking plate 110) configured to couple the apparatus (barbeque grill 101, fig.8) with an electric vehicle responsive to the hook (docking plate 110) engaging with a latch of the electric vehicle (intended use); and the latch disposed within a door of the electric vehicle (intended use).
Regarding claim 12, Roise discloses
a first configuration (barbeque grill 101, fig.8, opened position), wherein the heating surface (grate 170, fig.8) is accessible with the apparatus (barbeque grill 101) in the first configuration (opened position); and a second configuration (barbeque grill 101, fig.8, closed position), wherein the apparatus (barbeque grill 101) is placed in the second configuration (closed position) responsive to the hinge (hinge brackets 157a, 157b, 157c, fig.8) folding the heating surface (grate 170) with the configurable surface (bottom surface of cover 120); and the apparatus (barbeque grill 101) configured to stow in a vehicle with the apparatus (barbeque grill 101) in the second configuration (closed position).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roise et al. (US 11648880 B1) in view of Jung et al. (US 20210068582 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Roise discloses substantially all the features as set forth above but does not disclose the heating surface produces heat by at least one of induction heat, conduction heat, convection heat or radiant heat.
Jung discloses an apparatus (cooking device 100, fig.1) comprising: heating surface (heating surface of cooker 150, fig.2) produces heat by at least one of induction heat, conduction heat, convection heat or radiant heat [Par.0067 cited: “…cooker 150 may be a heating device for baking a food material, a steamer used in the cooking process of the food material, or the like…”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filling date of the invention to replace burners of Roise, by including induction heat, conduction heat, convection heat or radiant heat, as taught by Jung, in order to provide an automatic electrical heating.
Regarding claim 11, Roise discloses substantially all the features as set forth above but does not disclose a data processing system, the data processing system comprising at least one processor, coupled with memory.
Jung discloses an apparatus (cooking device 100, fig.1) comprising: a data processing system (processor 130, memory 140, fig.2), the data processing system (processor 130, memory 140), comprising at least one processor (processor 130), coupled with memory (memory 140).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filling date of the invention to modify an apparatus of Roise, by including a data processing system, the data processing system comprising at least one processor, coupled with memory, as taught by Jung, in order detect, via a graphical user interface, an indication to adjust a temperature of the heating surface; and adjust, responsive to the indication, the temperature of the heating surface
Conclusion
/PHUONG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761
04/05/2026