DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonde et al. (US 2022/0390580) in view of Haggai et al. (US 2022/0116711).
Regarding claim 1, Bonde teaches a method for delivering isochronous data of wireless communications devices, the method comprising:
receiving first data of an isochronous data stream from a first wireless communications device (Paragraph [0014]…….receiving, at the second device via the Bluetooth connection, data comprising the audio. The Bluetooth connection can be a Broadcast Isochronous Stream) having a first presentation delay, by a second wireless communications device having a second presentation delay (Paragraph [0038]…… The audio apparatus then transmits the captured audio back to the locating device as data via the Bluetooth connection. The locating device calculates a time delay (first presentation delay or time delay) from the transmission of the audio to the reception of the data including the audio over the Bluetooth connection………the audio apparatus can perform a similar calculation (second presentation delay or time delay) based on its reception of both the audio and the data including the audio via the Bluetooth); and
presenting the first data (Paragraph [0014]…….receiving, at the second device via the Bluetooth connection, data comprising the audio) by the first wireless communications device and the second wireless communications device at a time after transmission of the first data in a second isochronous data stream by the second wireless communications device (Paragraph [0038]…… The audio apparatus then transmits the captured audio back to the locating device as data via the Bluetooth connection. The locating device calculates a time delay (first presentation delay or time delay) from the transmission of the audio to the reception of the data including the audio over the Bluetooth connection………the audio apparatus can perform a similar calculation (second presentation delay or time delay) based on its reception of both the audio and the data including the audio via the Bluetooth), the time being based on the first presentation delay and the second presentation delay (Paragraph [0038]…... The locating device calculates a time delay (first presentation delay or time delay) from the transmission of the audio to the reception of the data including the audio over the Bluetooth connection………the audio apparatus can perform a similar calculation (second presentation delay or time delay) based on its reception of both the audio and the data including the audio via the Bluetooth), but does not specifically teach relay network.
However, related art, Haggai teaches relay network (Paragraph 0036…… the BT AP 1027 may be a broadcaster and may relay audio streaming received from the service provider via the AP(s) 1005. The BT AP 1027 may broadcast the audio protocol data units (PDUs) for the streaming service via broadcast isochronous stream (BIS) events). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Haggai’s teaching about relay network with Bonde’s invention in order to rebroadcast audio stream to other audio devices.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Bonde and Haggai teach all the claimed elements in claim 1. In addition, Bonde teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the first data is audio data (Paragraphs [0005, 0014-0015, 0058, and 0076]), the first data is presented by a speaker (Paragraphs 0055-0056), and the isochronous data stream is a broadcast isochronous stream of a Bluetooth Low Energy communications interface (Paragraphs [0005 and 0057]).
Regarding claim 23, Bonde teaches a network of wireless communications devices, the network comprising: a first wireless communications device comprising: a storage element (Paragraphs [0025, 0039, 0082]); and
a processor configured to execute instructions stored in the storage element (Paragraphs [0025, 0039, 0082]), wherein the first wireless communications device has a first presentation delay (Paragraph [0038]…… The audio apparatus then transmits the captured audio back to the locating device as data via the Bluetooth connection. The locating device calculates a time delay (first presentation delay or time delay) from the transmission of the audio to the reception of the data including the audio over the Bluetooth connection, and wherein the instructions are executable by the processor to cause the first wireless communications device to receive first data of an isochronous data stream from a second wireless communications device (Paragraph [0014]…….receiving, at the second device via the Bluetooth connection, data comprising the audio. The Bluetooth connection can be a Broadcast Isochronous Stream) having a second presentation delay(Paragraph [0038]…… The audio apparatus then transmits the captured audio back to the locating device as data via the Bluetooth connection. The locating device calculates a time delay (first presentation delay or time delay) from the transmission of the audio to the reception of the data including the audio over the Bluetooth connection………the audio apparatus can perform a similar calculation (second presentation delay or time delay) based on its reception of both the audio and the data including the audio via the Bluetooth), and
to present the first data (Paragraph [0014]…….receiving, at the second device via the Bluetooth connection, data comprising the audio) at a time after transmission of the first data in a second isochronous data stream by the first wireless communications device, the time being based on the first presentation delay and the second presentation delay, wherein the second wireless communications device is configured to present the first data at the time after transmission of the first data in the second isochronous data stream by the first wireless communications device (Paragraph [0038]…… The audio apparatus then transmits the captured audio back to the locating device as data via the Bluetooth connection. The locating device calculates a time delay (first presentation delay or time delay) from the transmission of the audio to the reception of the data including the audio over the Bluetooth connection………the audio apparatus can perform a similar calculation (second presentation delay or time delay) based on its reception of both the audio and the data including the audio via the Bluetooth), but does not specifically teach relay network.
However, related art, Haggai teaches relay network (Paragraph 0036…… the BT AP 1027 may be a broadcaster and may relay audio streaming received from the service provider via the AP(s) 1005. The BT AP 1027 may broadcast the audio protocol data units (PDUs) for the streaming service via broadcast isochronous stream (BIS) events). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Haggai’s teaching about relay network with Bonde’s invention in order to rebroadcast audio stream to other audio devices.
Claims 2 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonde et al. (US 2022/0390580) in view of Haggai et al. (US 2022/0116711), and further in view of IDE (US 2021/0274047).
Regarding claims 2 and 24, the combination of Bonde and Haggai fail to teach the method as recited in claim 1, further comprising: updating the first presentation delay of the first wireless communications device to generate an updated first presentation delay based on the second presentation delay.
However, in related art, IDE teaches the method as recited in claim 1, further comprising: updating the first presentation delay of the first wireless communications device to generate an updated first presentation delay based on the second presentation delay (Claims 5 and 6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use IDE’s teaching about updating the first presentation delay of the first wireless communications device to generate an updated first presentation delay based on the second presentation delay with Bonde’s and Haggai’s invention in order to accurately transmit data stream to other device with minimum delay.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonde et al. (US 2022/0390580) in view of Haggai et al. (US 2022/0116711) in view of IDE (US 2021/0274047), and further in view of Shim (US 2007/0242702).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Bonde, Haggai, and IDE fail to teach the method as recited in claim 2, further comprising: further updating the updated first presentation delay to generate a further updated presentation delay based on a third presentation delay of a third wireless communications device in the relay network.
However, in related art, Shim teaches the method as recited in claim 2, further comprising: further updating the updated first presentation delay to generate a further updated presentation delay based on a third presentation delay of a third wireless communications device in the relay network (Claim 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Shim’s teaching about updating the updated first presentation delay to generate a further updated presentation delay based on a third presentation delay of a third wireless communications device in the relay network with Bonde’s. Haggai’s, and IDE’s invention in order to transmit data stream to other device with minimum delay.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonde et al. (US 2022/0390580) in view of Haggai et al. (US 2022/0116711), and further in view of Hu et al. (US 2021/0235317).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Bonde and Haggai fail to teach the method as recited in claim 1 further comprising: indicating the second presentation delay to the first wireless communications device in an advertising packet sent by the second wireless communications device.
However, in related art, Hu teaches the method as recited in claim 1 further comprising: indicating the second presentation delay to the first wireless communications device in an advertising packet sent by the second wireless communications device (Claim 6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Hu’s teaching about indicating the second presentation delay to the first wireless communications device in an advertising packet sent by the second wireless communications device with Bonde’s and Haggai’s invention in order to determines a delay from the second communications device to the first communications device based on the first moment and a second moment, where the second moment is a moment at which the first communications device receives the data unit (See Hu, abstract).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Bonde and Haggai fail to teach the method as recited in claim 1, further comprising: indicating the second presentation delay in a packet sent by the second wireless communications device to the first wireless communications device.
However, in related art, Hu teaches the method as recited in claim 1, further comprising: indicating the second presentation delay in a packet sent by the second wireless communications device to the first wireless communications device (Claim 6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Hu’s teaching about indicating the second presentation delay in a packet sent by the second wireless communications device to the first wireless communications device with Bonde’s and Haggai’s invention in order to determines a delay from the second communications device to the first communications device based on the first moment and a second moment, where the second moment is a moment at which the first communications device receives the data unit (See Hu, abstract).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5, 6, 21-22, and 25-29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 3, the prior art of record fails to teach the method as recited in claim 2 wherein the updated first presentation delay is greater than or equal to a sum of a transmit delay for each wireless communications device in the relay network and the first data is presented by each wireless communications device in the relay network after transmission of the first data by a last wireless communications device in the relay network.
Regarding claim 5, the prior art of record fails to teach the method as recited in claim 4, further comprising: receiving second data of the isochronous data stream by the second wireless communications device from the first wireless communications device; transmitting the second data in the second isochronous data stream by the second wireless communications device; receiving the second data by the third wireless communications device from the second wireless communications device; and presenting the second data by each wireless communications device of the relay network at a second time after transmission of the second data by the third wireless communications device.
Regarding claim 6, the prior art of record fails to teach the method as recited in claim 4 further comprising: indicating the third presentation delay by the third wireless communications device to the second wireless communications device; and indicating the third presentation delay by the second wireless communications device to the first wireless communications device.
Regarding claim 21, the prior art of record fails to teach the method as recited in claim 2 wherein the updated first presentation delay is greater than or equal to a sum of a transmit delay for each wireless communications device in the relay network and the first data is presented by at least one wireless communications device in the relay network after transmission of the first data by a last wireless communications device in the relay network.
Regarding claim 25, the prior art of record fails to teach the relay network as recited in claim 24 wherein an updated second presentation delay is greater than or equal to a sum of a transmit delay for each wireless communications device in the relay network and the first data is presented by at least one wireless communications device in the relay network after transmission of the first data by a last wireless communications device in the relay network.
Regarding claim 27, the prior art of record fails to teach the relay network as recited in claim 23, further comprising: the second wireless communications device comprising: a second storage element; and a second processor configured to execute second instructions stored in the storage element, wherein the second instructions are executable by the processor to cause the second wireless communications device to: receive second data of the isochronous data stream by the second wireless communications device from the first wireless communications device; transmit the second data in the second isochronous data stream by the second wireless communications device; and present the second data by each wireless communications device of the relay network at a second time after transmission of the second data by a third wireless communications device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Russell et al. (US Patent #12,632,213), Abreu et al. (US Patent #12,250,654), Chuo et al. (US 2024/0155711), Lan et al. (US 2023/0126759), Kamarainen et al. (US 2023/0110357), Bai et al. (US 2022/0239419), Sonobe (US 2022/0159591), Teranishi et al. (US 2022/0103242), Yan (US Patent #11,240,586), Huang (US 2021/0337248), Andreoli-Fang et al. (US Patent #11,006,324), Krantz et al. (US Patent #7,953,118), Horiuchi et al. (US 2009/0061767), Takaoka et al. (US Patent #6,338,243), and Hyatt (US Patent #5,459,846).
/DOMINIC E REGO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648 Tel 571-272-8132