DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 – 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites: “sending feedback data to the first controller message…” Applicant is advised to change this to “sending feedback data to the first controller .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the modified uniform price message". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 3, 10 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Johnson et al. US 10,298,016 (hereinafter Johnson).
Regarding claim 1, Johnson teaches: a method, comprising:
determining a power reference (Fig. 1 - - overall power request);
sending a first message from a first controller to each of a plurality of second controllers based on the power reference (Fig. 1, Fig. 2, C6, L21-28 - - provide reference power command to DERs; DER controllers are 2nd controllers; the DER aggregation management system is a first controller), each of the plurality of second controllers configured to control a plurality of associated distributed energy resources (DERs) (Fig. 1 - - DERs);
modifying energy usage of the associated DERs by each of the plurality of second controllers based on the first message (C9, L33-35 - - DER controller controls DER, thus adjust energy usage; C10, L14-16 - - each DER adjust its power output to bring its actual power output to its reference power output);
sending feedback data to the first controller message based on the modified energy usage of the associated DERs by each of the plurality of second controllers (Fig. 1, C6, L 29-35 - - provides DER status to the DER aggregation management system);
aggregating the feedback data by the first controller (C7, L20-21 - - current aggregation of DERs);
comparing the aggregated feedback data to the power reference (Fig. 1, C7, L1-25 - - generate delta DERs reference signal 61; “the error in overall power output between the current aggregation of DERs and the overall reference power”); and
sending a second message from the first controller to each of the plurality of second controllers based on the comparison of the aggregated feedback data to the power reference (C8, L10-22 - - calculate the power adjustment signal at a prescribed time interval, thus a second message is sent at the next time interval).
Regarding claim 2, Johnson teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Johnson further teaches: further modifying energy usage of the associated DERs by each of the plurality of second controllers based on the second message (C8, L10-22 - - calculate the power adjustment signal at a prescribed time interval; C10, L14-16 - - each DER adjust its power output to bring its actual power output to its reference power output).
Regarding claim 3, Johnson teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Johnson further teaches: the first message is based on an energy price (C7, L18 - - generation prices).
Regarding claim 10, Johnson teaches: a system, comprising:
a first controller configured to:
determine a power reference (Fig. 1 - - overall reference power is a power reference; the DER aggregation management system is a first controller);
send a first message to each of a plurality of second controllers based on the power reference, each of the plurality of second controllers configured to control a plurality of associated distributed energy resources (DERs) (Fig. 1, Fig. 2, C6, L21-28 - - provide reference power command to DERs; DER controllers are 2nd controllers);
receive feedback data from each of the plurality of second controllers based on modified energy usage of the associated DERs based on the first message (C9, L33-35 - - DER controller controls DER, thus adjust energy usage; C10, L14-16 - - each DER adjust its power output to bring its actual power output to its reference power output; Fig. 1, C6, L 29-35 - - provides DER status to the DER aggregation management system);
aggregate the received feedback data (C7, L20-21 - - current aggregation of DERs);
compare the aggregated feedback data to the power reference (Fig. 1, C7, L1-25 - - generate delta DERs reference signal 61; “the error in overall power output between the current aggregation of DERs and the overall reference power”); and
send a second message to each of the plurality of second controllers based on the comparison of the aggregated feedback data to the power reference (C8, L10-22 - - calculate the power adjustment signal at a prescribed time interval, thus a second message is sent at the next time interval)..
Regarding claim 11, Johnson teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Johnson further teaches: each of the second controllers is associated with a respective dwelling (C4, L45-47 - - DERs over a geographically diverse area).
Regarding claim 12, Johnson teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Johnson further teaches: the DERs include at least one of an air conditioner, a heat pump, an electric vehicle charger, a solar energy panel, an energy storage device, and electric water heater (C5, L4 - - photovoltaic system).
Regarding claim 13, Johnson teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Johnson further teaches: the first controller is configured to determine the first message based on energy price (C7, L18 - - generation prices).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 – 7, 14 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al. US 10,298,016 (hereinafter Johnson) in view of Lian et al. US 2019/0020220 (hereinafter Lian).
Regarding claim 4, Johnson teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But Johnson does not explicitly teach:
the feedback data does not include individual DER feedback data.
However, Lian teaches:
the feedback data does not include individual DER feedback data (Fig. 8, Fig. 9, [0058] - - the aggregated utility function representing BMS is the feedback data, this function does not include individual DER data).
Johnson and Lian are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to energy control system.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by Johnson, and incorporating not including individual DER feedback, as taught by Lian.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to improve grid reliability, as suggested by Lian ([0006]).
Regarding claim 5, Johnson teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But Johnson does not explicitly teach:
the feedback data includes net energy consumption data for the associated DERs.
However, Lian teaches:
the feedback data includes net energy consumption data for the associated DERs ([0064] - - net real power injections; [0091] - - each resource submit a utility function to an aggregator).
Johnson and Lian are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to energy control system.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by Johnson, and incorporating net energy consumption, as taught by Lian.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to improve grid reliability, as suggested by Lian ([0006]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Johnson and Lian teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Lian further teaches: aggregating the feedback data includes adding the energy consumption data sent from each of the second controllers ([0091] - - aggregated utility function).
Johnson and Lian are combinable for the same rationale as set forth.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Johnson and Lian teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Johnson further teaches: the power reference is a power threshold signal Pthres_ctr, the aggregated feedback data is an aggregated power feedback signal P_ag, and wherein the method further comprises:
determining an error signal ΔPag based on the difference between the power threshold signal Pthres_ctr and the aggregated power feedback signal P_ag (Fig. 1, C7, L1-25 - - “the error in overall power output between the current aggregation of DERs and the overall reference power”; the overall reference power maps Pthres_ctr).
Regarding claim 14, Johnson teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But Johnson does not explicitly teach:
a database accessible by the first controller, the database storing historical power consumption data related to the DERs and energy price data, wherein the first controller is configured to determine a load-to-price correlation factor based on the stored historical power consumption data and the energy price data.
However, Lian teaches:
a database accessible by the first controller, the database storing historical power consumption data related to the DERs and energy price data, wherein the first controller is configured to determine a load-to-price correlation factor based on the stored historical power consumption data and the energy price data ([0088] - - an aggregated utility function for an energy network or sub-network can be determined that relates energy produced or consumed to energy price).
Johnson and Lian are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to energy control system.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above system, as taught by Johnson, and incorporating relating energy consumed to energy price, as taught by Lian.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to improve grid reliability, as suggested by Lian ([0006]).
Regarding claim 15, Johnson teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But Johnson does not explicitly teach:
a database accessible by the second controller, the database storing historical power consumption data related to the DERs associated with the second controller, wherein the second controller is configured to determine a price-to-load correlation factor based on the stored historical power consumption data and the energy price data.
However, Lian teaches:
a database accessible by the second controller, the database storing historical power consumption data related to the DERs associated with the second controller, wherein the second controller is configured to determine a price-to-load correlation factor based on the stored historical power consumption data and the energy price data ([0049] - - at the resource level, the utility function relates an amount of energy consumed by a resource base on energy price).
Johnson and Lian are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to energy control system.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above system, as taught by Johnson, and incorporating a price-to-load correlation, as taught by Lian.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to improve grid reliability, as suggested by Lian ([0006]).
Regarding claim 16, Johnson teaches: a system, comprising:
a plurality of edge controllers, each of the plurality of edge controllers associated with a respective dwelling (Fig. 1, Fig. 2, C6, L21-28 - - DER controllers are 2nd controllers);
each of the plurality of edge controllers configured to receive a uniform power adjustment message from a central controller (Fig. 1, Fig. 2, C6, L21-28 - - provide reference power command to DERs; the DER aggregation management system is a central controller);
each of the plurality of edge controllers configured to modify energy usage of a plurality of associated distributed energy resources (DERs) based on the uniform power adjustment message (C9, L33-35 - - DER controller controls DER, thus adjust energy usage; C10, L14-16 - - each DER adjust its power output to bring its actual power output to its reference power output); and
each of the plurality of edge controllers configured to send feedback data to the central controller based on the modified energy usage of the plurality of DERs (Fig. 1, C6, L 29-35 - - provides DER status to the DER aggregation management system).
But Johnson does not explicitly teach:
each of the plurality of edge controllers associated with a respective dwelling receiving power from a utility;
each of the plurality of edge controllers configured to modify energy usage.
However, Lian teaches:
each of the plurality of edge controllers associated with a respective dwelling receiving power from a utility (Fig. 9 - - residential house);
each of the plurality of edge controllers configured to modify energy usage ([0068] - - local controller controls the power consumption).
Johnson and Lian are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to energy control system.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by Johnson, and incorporating dwelling receiving power, as taught by Lian.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to improve grid reliability, as suggested by Lian ([0006]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Johnson and Lian teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Lian further teaches: a uniform power adjustment message is based on historical edge level power consumption and energy price data. ([0065] - - the coordinator sends the optimal dispatch signals; [0068], [0079] - - the dispatch signals are generated by solving an optimization problem based on energy consumption; energy price).
Johnson and Lian are combinable for the same rationale as set forth.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Johnson and Lian teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Johnson further teaches: the uniform power adjustment message is based on a central power reference received by the central controller (Fig. 2, C9, L48-52 - - overall reference power is a central power reference; the auxiliary controller outputs an overall DER aggregation control signal; the overall DER aggregation control signal is uniform power adjustment message), and wherein each of the edge controllers is configured to determine a respective edge level power threshold based on the central power reference and the historical edge level power consumption and the energy price data (Fig. 2, C9, L52-67 - - the output of summation node 270C is a respective edge level power threshold; it is based on the overall DER aggregation control signal; C7, L18 - - the ΔDERs reference signal is based on generation prices;).
Lian further teaches determine a respective edge level power threshold based on the historical edge level power consumption ([0068] - - energy consumption).
Johnson and Lian are combinable for the same rationale as set forth.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Johnson and Lian teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Johnson further teaches: the central controller is configured to aggregate the feedback data from each of the plurality of edge controllers (C7, L20-21 - - current aggregation of DERs).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Johnson and Lian teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Johnson further teaches: the central controller is configured to modify the uniform power adjustment message based on the aggregated feedback data from each of the plurality of edge controllers, and wherein each of the plurality of edge controllers is configured to receive the modified uniform price message from the central controller (Fig. 2, Fig. 3, C9, L36-65 - - the auxiliary controller processes the overall power output error and outputs an overall DER aggregation control signal; overall DER aggregation control signal is uniform power adjustment message; the overall power output error is aggregated feedback data).
Conclusion
/YUHUI R PAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116