DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 14, 16 & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nishihara (JP2015060690A, see Machine Translation for citations) (Provided in Applicant’s IDS filed on March 21st, 2023).
Regarding Claim 1, Nishihara discloses a battery pack ([008]), comprising a cover plate (casing-70 comprises a cover plate, Fig. 15, [0064]), a cell module (battery cells, [009]), a first resin layer (laminate sheet-13 formed of resin material, [0029]), and a battery pack housing (case-70 acts as housing, [0056]); wherein the cell module is accommodated inside the battery pack housing and fastening by the first resin layer to the battery pack housing (battery cells are sealed through laminate sheets, [0032], [0045], [0072]), the cover plate is fastened to the battery pack housing (Fig. 15 shows cover plate is fastened to housing);
The cell module comprises a plurality of cells stacked in a first direction (battery stack formed from battery cells, [0027]), each cell comprises an electrode assembly, a cell housing configured to accommodate the electrode assembly, and tab electrically connected to the electrode assembly (battery cell-10 has electrode assembly, and tabs, [0020], [0028], case-30 acts as cell housing, [0036]);
The cell housing comprises a sealing portion (sealing area, [009], [0032], [0037]), and the tab extends out of the cell housing for the sealing portion in a second direction (positive electrode tab-11p and negative electrode tab-11n extend out of cell housing, Fig. 8);
A first monitoring member is disposed between sealing portions of adjacent cells, the first monitoring member is connected to the cell module and is configured to monitor a temperature of the tab of adjacent cells (temperature detection element-55, [0019], Fig. 10, [0058]); and
A first limiting member is disposed between the sealing portions of the adjacent cells, and the first limiting member is configured to limit the first monitoring member (notch-53 acts as first limiting member, [0060]).
Regarding Claim 2, Nishihara discloses the limitations as set forth above. Nishihara further discloses wherein the first limiting member is provide with a limiting hole, the first monitoring member is disposed inside the limiting hole (notch-53 has slit shape that contains first monitoring member, [0060]).
Regarding Claim 14, Nishihara discloses the limitations as set forth above. Nishihara further discloses wherein the first resin layer is partially injected into the limiting hole, the first limiting member and the first monitoring member fasten by the first resin layer (the notch that forms the first limiting hole is formed into the insulating sheet acting as first resin layer, Fig. 10, [0058]).
Regarding Claim 16, Nishihara discloses the limitations as set forth above. Nishihara further discloses wherein the surface of the first limiting member is provided with an insulating material (notch-53 acting as first limiting member is formed into is in contact with insulating sheet-50, [0058]).
Regarding Claim 18, Nishihara discloses the limitations as set forth above. Nishihara further discloses wherein the limiting hole is provided with an opening, the opening is opposite to one of the sealing portions adjacent to the cell (notch-53 has opening that is opposite the sealing portions of adjacent cells, Fig. 10, notch-53, [0060]).
Regarding Claim 20, Nishihara discloses the limitations as set forth above. Nishihara further discloses an electric device of the battery of claim 1 (see claim 1 above, [0087]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishihara (JP2015060690A, see Machine Translation for citations)
Regarding Claim 15, Nishihara does not directly disclose wherein the first resin layer is a potting adhesive. However, Nishihara discloses wherein the resin can be a heat-sealable resin layer such as modified polyolefin ([0029]), which the examiner notes meet the limitation of being a potting adhesive.
Claim(s) 3-7, 11-13, 17 & 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishihara (JP2015060690A, see Machine Translation for citations) in view of Yuan (CN212366143, see Machine Translation for citations) (Provided in Applicant’s IDS filed on March 31st, 2023).
Regarding Claim 3, Nishihara discloses the limitations as set forth above. Nishihara does not directly disclose wherein the cell module comprises an adapting assembly, wherein the adapting assembly comprises an adapting plate, the adapting plate is disposed at an end of each cell, and the adapting plate is provided with at least one first through hole, when viewed in a direction opposite to the second direction, one of the at least one first through hole at least partially overlaps the limiting hole, and an end of the first monitoring member extends out of the first through hole, the first monitoring member is connected to the adapting plate.
Yuan discloses wherein the cell module comprises an adapting assembly (bracket acts as adapting assembly, [0076]), wherein the adapting assembly comprises an adapting plate, the adapting plate is disposed at an end of each cell, and the adapting plate is provided with at least one first through hole (fixing plate-31 acts as adapting plate with through holes provided by the grooves-311, [0090]). Yuan teaches that this structure provides improved safety of the battery ([0098]).
The examiner notes that the fixing plate of Yuan is disposed on the side of the battery cell stack (Fig. 3), where the stack tab structure is extending outward towards the fixing plate. Therefore, since the limiting hole and first monitoring member of Nishihara are disposed on the side where the tabs extend from the battery stack of Nishihara, it is the examiner’s position that the combination of Nishihara in view of Yuan would provide wherein when viewed in a direction opposite to the second direction, one of the at least one first through hole at least partially overlaps the limiting hole, and an end of the first monitoring member extends out of the first through hole, the first monitoring member is connected to the adapting plate.
Therefore it would be obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to modify Nishihara with the teachings of Yuan to have wherein the cell module comprises an adapting assembly, wherein the adapting assembly comprises an adapting plate, the adapting plate is disposed at an end of each cell, and the adapting plate is provided with at least one first through hole, when viewed in a direction opposite to the second direction, one of the at least one first through hole at least partially overlaps the limiting hole, and an end of the first monitoring member extends out of the first through hole, the first monitoring member is connected to the adapting plate. This modified structure would yield the expected result of improved safety of the battery.
Regarding Claim 4, Nishihara in view of Yuan discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Nishihara does not directly disclose wherein the adapting assembly comprises an adapting member, the adapting member is disposed on the adapting plate, and the adapting member comprises a first adapting member and a second adapting member; and the first adapting member being connected to one tab of one cell, and the second adapting member being connected to another tab of another cell.
Yuan discloses a first adapting member (second connecting member-42 acts as first adapting member) and a second adapting member (first connecting member-41 acts as second adapting member), wherein the first adapting member is connected to one tab of one cell ([0097]), and the second adapting member is connected to another tab of another cell ([0097]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Nishihara with the teachings of Yuan to have wherein the adapting assembly comprises an adapting member, the adapting member is disposed on the adapting plate, and the adapting member comprises a first adapting member and a second adapting member; and the first adapting member being connected to one tab of one cell, and the second adapting member being connected to another tab of another cell. This modified structure would yield the expected result of improved safety of the battery.
Regarding Claim 5, Nishihara in view of Yuan discloses the limitations as set forth above. Nishihara does not directly disclose wherein the adapting assembly comprises a first insulating member, the first insulating member disposed between the second adapting member and the adapting plate.
Yuan discloses wherein the adapting assembly comprises a first insulating member, the first insulating member disposed between the second adapting member and the adapting plate (isolation sheet-50 acts as insulating member, Fig. 3, [0099]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Nishihara with the teachings of Yuan to have wherein the adapting assembly comprises a first insulating member, the first insulating member disposed between the second adapting member and the adapting plate. This modified structure would yield the expected result of improved safety of the battery.
Regarding Claim 6, Nishihara in view of Yuan discloses the limitations as set forth above. Nishihara discloses wherein the cells comprises a first cell and a second cell disposed adjacent to teach other (battery cells-10, Fig. 10), the first cell comprises a first cell housing and a first tab (positive electrode tab-11p, case-30), the first tab extending out of the first cell housing the second direction (Fig. 10), and the second cell comprises a second cell housing and a second tab (negative electrode tba-11n, case-30), the second tab extending out of the second cell housing in the second direction (Fig. 10).
Nishihara does not directly disclose wherein the adapting assembly comprises a conductive sheet, the conductive sheet is disposed on a surface of the adapting plate facing away from the cells; and the adapting plate is provided with a second through hole and a third through hole, the second through hole and the third through hole are located on two sides of the conductive sheet, the first tab extends through the second through hole and is connected to a surface of the conductive sheet facing away from the adapting plate, and the second tab extends through the third through hole and is connected to a surface of the first tab facing away from the conductive sheet.
Yuan discloses wherein the adapting assembly comprises a conductive sheet, the conductive sheet is disposed on a surface of the adapting plate facing away from the cells (first connecting piece-41 has a conductive along with portion connecting to tab, Fig. 3, [0097]); and the adapting plate is provided with a second through hole and a third through hole, the second through hole and the third through hole are located on two sides of the conductive sheet (grooves on fixing plate-31 act as through holes, Fig. 3), the first tab extends through the second through hole and is connected to a surface of the conductive sheet facing away from the adapting plate, and the second tab extends through the third through hole and is connected to a surface of the first tab facing away from the conductive sheet (tabs extend through holes, Fig. 5, [0097]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nishihara with the teachings of Yuan to have wherein the adapting assembly comprises a conductive sheet, the conductive sheet is disposed on a surface of the adapting plate facing away from the cells; and the adapting plate is provided with a second through hole and a third through hole, the second through hole and the third through hole are located on two sides of the conductive sheet, the first tab extends through the second through hole and is connected to a surface of the conductive sheet facing away from the adapting plate, and the second tab extends through the third through hole and is connected to a surface of the first tab facing away from the conductive sheet. This modified structure would yield the expected result of improved safety of the battery.
Regarding Claim 7, Nishihara in view of Yuan discloses the limitations as set forth above. Nishihara does not directly disclose wherein the adapting plate is provided with a heat dissipation hole.
Yuan discloses a heat dissipation structure that forms a hole (safety area-411 is disposed on fixing plate-31, has function of prevent the bracket from being affected by high temperature rises, [0099]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nishihara with the teachings of Yuan to have wherein the adapting plate is provided with a heat dissipation hole. This modified structure would yield the expected result of improved safety of the battery.
Regarding Claim 11, Nishihara discloses the limitations as set forth above. Nishihara discloses a first monitoring member including a detecting portion and a connecting portion (temperature detection element-55, detection element, [0019]).
Nishihara does not directly disclose the connecting portion includes a wire, the wire is soldered to the adapting plate.
Nishihara in view of Yuan discloses an adapting plate. Nishihara further discloses wherein the circuit board has conductive wires that can connect to the temperature detection element ([0077], [0079]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Nishihara with the teachings of Yuan to have wherein the connecting portion includes a wire, the wire is soldered to the adapting plate. This modified structure would yield the expected result of improved safety of the battery.
Regarding Claim 12, Nishihara in view of Yuan discloses the limitations as set forth above. Nishihara further discloses wherein the detecting portion is in contact and connected with the sealing portion of the cell (temperature detection element/heat sink-57a/57b placed at sealing portion, Fig. 11C, [0064]).
Regarding Claim 13, Nishihara in view of Yuan discloses the limitations as set forth above. Nishihara further discloses wherein the detecting portion is in contact and connected with the top seal surface of the cell (temperature detection element/heat sink-57a/57b placed at top of cell seal, Fig. 11C, [0064]).
Regarding Claim 17, Nishihara discloses the limitations as set forth above. Nishihara does not directly disclose wherein the first limiting member is foam.
Yuan discloses wherein the adapting assembly comprises a conductive sheet, the conductive sheet is disposed on a surface of the adapting plate facing away from the cells (first connecting piece-41 has a conductive along with portion connecting to tab, Fig. 3, [0097]); and the adapting plate is provided with a second through hole and a third through hole, the second through hole and the third through hole are located on two sides of the conductive sheet (grooves on fixing plate-31 act as through holes, Fig. 3), the first tab extends through the second through hole and is connected to a surface of the conductive sheet facing away from the adapting plate, and the second tab extends through the third through hole and is connected to a surface of the first tab facing away from the conductive sheet (tabs extend through holes, Fig. 5, [0097]).
Yuan discloses wherein the spacers that are placed between the cells can be foam ([0109]).
The examiner notes that since the material of the first limiting member of Nishihara is formed form the spacer material, that by modifying Nishihara’s spacer with foam, that the first limiting member would be foam.
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nishihara with the teachings of Yuan to have wherein the first limiting member is foam. This modified structure would yield the expected result of improved safety of the battery.
Regarding Claim 19, Nishihara in view Yuan discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Nishi does not directly disclose wherein the first adapting member includes a first connecting portion, the first connecting portion is configured to be connected to an external component.
Yuan discloses a first adapting member (second connecting member-42 acts as first adapting member) and a second adapting member (first connecting member-41 acts as second adapting member), wherein the first adapting member is connected to one tab of one cell ([0097]), and the second adapting member is connected to another tab of another cell ([0097]). Yuan further discloses wherein the second connecting member is connected to the tab portion ([0097]). The examiner notes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the portion of the first adapting member that connects to the external tab acts as the first connecting portion.
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nishihara with the teachings of Yuan to have wherein the first adapting member includes a first connecting portion, the first connecting portion is configured to be connected to an external component. This modified structure would yield the expected result of improved safety of the battery.
9. Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishihara (JP2015060690A, see Machine Translation for citations) in view of Seo (US20220006148).
Regarding Claim 8, Nishihara discloses the limitations as set forth above. Nishihara further discloses comprising a second insulating member and a second monitoring member, one side of the second insulating member is disposed on a surface of the ell, the surface of the cell being a surface towards the cover plate; the second monitoring member is disposed on one side of the cover plate, the one side of the cover late being a side towards the cells (insulating sheet-50 acts as second insulting member, where any one of the temperature detection elements-55 can be the second monitoring member, [0058], insulating sheet provided between two adjacent battery cells, [0018]);and
Nishihara does not directly disclose wherein the second monitoring member comprises a first monitoring portion, a second monitoring portion, and a guide plate one side of the first monitoring portion is fastened to the cover plate, another side of the first monitoring portion is connected to one side of the guide plate, another side of the guide plate is connected to one side of the second monitoring region, and another side of the second monitoring portion is attached to another side of the second insulating member.
Seo discloses a battery pressure detection apparatus that is placed on a pouch type battery ([0021]). Seo further discloses wherein the battery pressure detection apparatus can be used to measure swelling of the battery ([0021]). Seo further discloses wherein the pressure detection device in include a first monitoring portion, a second monitoring portion, and a guide plate (upper adhesive layer-140 acts as first monitoring portion, elastic layer-130 acts as guide plate, lower adhesive layer-140 acts as second monitoring portion, [0022]). Seo teaches that these structures provide improved filtering of swelling due to generation of gas ([0046]).
The examiner notes that a pressure sensor that measures the swelling of the battery due to charging and discharging performs the same function as a temperature monitor that measures the temperature of the battery to monitor swelling. Therefore Seo’s pressure sensor is analogous to temperature detection element of Nishihara.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nishihara with the teachings of Seo to have wherein the second monitoring member comprises a first monitoring portion, a second monitoring portion, and a guide plate one side of the first monitoring portion is fastened to the cover plate, another side of the first monitoring portion is connected to one side of the guide plate, another side of the guide plate is connected to one side of the second monitoring region, and another side of the second monitoring portion is attached to another side of the second insulating member. This modification would yield the expected result of improved swelling due to gas generation.
Regarding Claim 9, Nishihara in view of Seo discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Nishihara does not directly disclose wherein the second monitoring member further comprises a bonding region, wherein the bonding region is configured to connect the first monitoring portion and the second monitoring portion, a gap is formed between the first monitoring portion and the second monitoring portion.
Seo discloses wherein the first monitoring portions include adhesive layers ([0022]) which act as define bonding regions.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nishihara with the teachings of Seo to have wherein the second monitoring member further comprises a bonding region, wherein the bonding region is configured to connect the first monitoring portion and the second monitoring portion, a gap is formed between the first monitoring portion and the second monitoring portion. This modification would yield the expected result of improved swelling due to gas generation.
Regarding Claim 10, Nishihara in view of Seo discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Nishihara discloses a circuit board, wherein the circuit board is diposed on a surface of the cover plate facing away from the cell module (circuit board, [0023], Fig. 14); the cover plate is provided with a fourth through hole (through holes-33, Frame-31).
Nishihara does not directly disclose wherein the guide plate is provided with a connection end, wherein the connection end extends through the fourth through hole and out of the cover plate and it connected to the circuit board.
The examiner notes that Nishihara modified by Seo provides the guide plate structure. Nishihara discloses wherein the temperature sensor element is connected to the circuit board ([0079]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nishihara with the teachings of Seo to have wherein the connection end extends through the fourth through hole and out of the cover plate and it connected to the circuit board.
Conclusion
/ANKITH R SRIPATHI/ Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728