DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/11/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s only arguments are directed to the newly claimed packaging tension. Claiming the properties of known materials is not grounds for patentability. See MPEP 2112 I. Douke discloses that polypropylene is present in 50-100 mol% and polyethylene is present in 50-100 mol% which are the same materials and ranges present in the instant specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation “the packing layer comprising…a first packaging layer” in lines 5-6, and the claim also recites “the folded packaging layer including two first packaging layers” in lines 11-12 which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. Claims 2-12 depend on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Douke (US 2015/0372263 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Douke discloses an apparatus comprising: a packaging bag body comprising a sealing edge to form a case shape (paragraph 320), where the sealing edge forms a top and side edges (see Figure 3); wherein the packaging bag body comprises a base material (protection) layer 1; a metal layer 3, and a sealant (packaging) layer 4 stacked in sequence (see Figure 1 and paragraph 70), wherein the melting point of the sealant layer 4 is 90-245 °C (paragraph 117), and wherein the packaging layer 4 is on the inside and closest to the battery (see Figure 3). The limitations pertaining to the folding step are considered product-by-process limitations. Product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. See MPEP 2113 I. It is the Office’s position that the claimed structure is taught by Douke since the two first packaging layers of the folded packaging layer are connected to each other to form the top sealing edge and the side sealing edges as seen in Figure 3. It should also be noted that the USC 112 rejection above obfuscates the limitation of the two first packaging layers. Further, the claimed “packaging tension” is considered a property of the material and structure—material and structure that are met by Douke. Something which is old does not become patentable upon the discovery of a new property. See MPEP 2112 I. Douke discloses that polypropylene is present in 50-100 mol% and polyethylene is present in 50-100 mol% which are the same materials and ranges present in the instant specification.
Regarding claims 2-4, Douke discloses that the sealant layer comprises random (atactic) propylene and ethylene (paragraph 106).
Regarding claims 5, 9, and 10, Douke discloses that the sealant layer 4 comprises a first sealant layer 4a and a second sealant layer 4b (paragraph 201). Douke discloses that all the layers are comprised of two layers as shown in the Figures. Douke discloses that the melting point of the second sealant layer 4b is higher than 130 °C (paragraph 218). Douke discloses four sealant layers (paragraph 221).
Regarding claim 6, Douke discloses that the second sealant layer 4b comprises polypropylene (paragraph 212).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Douke discloses that the first and second sealant layers are adjacent and in contact (paragraph 127). Since either layer can be considered the first or second, either order is possible.
Regarding claim 11, Douke discloses that the sealant layer is 12-120 microns (paragraph 121).
Regarding claim 12, Douke discloses an adhesive (binding) layer between the sealant layer and metal layers (paragraph 71).
Regarding claim 13, Douke discloses an apparatus comprising: a battery enclosed in a bag (paragraph 391), the bag comprising a base material (protection) layer 1; a metal layer 3, and a sealant (packaging) layer 4 stacked in sequence (see Figure 1 and paragraph 70), where the sealing edge forms a top and side edges (see Figure 3); wherein the melting point of the sealant layer 4 is 90-245 °C (paragraph 117). The claimed “packaging tension” is considered a property of the material and structure—material and structure that are met by Douke. Something which is old does not become patentable upon the discovery of a new property. See MPEP 2112 I. Douke discloses that polypropylene is present in 50-100 mol% and polyethylene is present in 50-100 mol% which are the same materials and ranges present in the instant specification.
Regarding claim 14, Douke discloses that the battery is sealed in the packaging (paragraph 58). It is the Office’s position that the apparatus would have the same properties because it is the same claimed materials. See MPEP 2112 I.
Regarding claim 15, Douke discloses an electric car (paragraph 2).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IMRAN AKRAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725