/CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897 DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, Species 1 in the reply filed on 03/13/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-7 and 13-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Invention II, Species 2-4, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/12/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation " the first opening" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appear that claim 5 should actually be dependent on claim on claim 4, not on claim 1.
Claim 12 recites the limitation " the first opening" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appear that claim 12 should actually be dependent on claim on claim 11, not on claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 - 4 and 8 - 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wen et al. [CN 111554715 A], “Wen” in view of Tu [WO 2022/246906 A1]. (Examiner note: machine translation CN 111554715 A and US PUB [US 2024/0016029 A1] are used for easier referencing).
Regarding claim 1, Wen discloses a display panel (as shown in Fig. 1, abstract), comprising:
an array substrate (10 and abstract);
an anode layer (121 and 13), positioned on the array substrate (as shown), wherein the anode layer comprises a reflective layer (121);
the reflector layer (121 – page 4 the first electrode is a light reflecting anode ) has a plurality of reflective surfaces on one side of the reflector layer facing away from the array substrate (as shown); and two adjacent reflective surfaces are intersected (as shown); and
a light-emitting layer (123, page 4 light emitting layer), positioned on one side of the anode layer first electrode layer facing away from the array substrate (as shown).
Wen does not explicitly disclose the anode layer also includes a first electrode layer positioned sequentially along a direction away from the array substrate such that the light-emitting layer is positioned on one side of the first electrode layer facing away from the array substrate.
However, having a plurality of layers for an anode layer is well-known in the semiconductor art. Tu discloses a display panel (Fig. 8, abstract), comprising: an array substrate (¶[0105] and 101); an anode layer (23, 21 and 22), positioned on the array substrate (as shown), wherein the anode layer comprises a reflective layer (21, ¶[0054] and ¶[0070]) and a first electrode layer (22, ¶[0052]) positioned sequentially along a direction away from the array substrate (as shown); the reflector layer has a plurality of reflective surfaces on one side of the reflector layer facing away from the array substrate; and two adjacent reflective surfaces are intersected (as shown); and a light-emitting layer (302, ¶[0109]), positioned on one side of the first electrode layer facing away from the array substrate (as shown). The second conductive layer (22) is a light-transmitting conductive layer (¶[0052]) and aids in the light extraction efficiency of the display panel is improved (¶[0055]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a second conductive layer as a part of the anode structure as taught in Tu in the device of Wen such that the anode layer also includes a first electrode layer positioned sequentially along a direction away from the array substrate such that the light-emitting layer is positioned on one side of the first electrode layer facing away from the array substrate because such a modification will aid in the light extraction efficiency of the display panel is improved (¶[0055] of Tu).
Regarding claim 2, Wen as modified disclose claim 1, Wen further discloses the anode layer (Fig. 1, (121/13) further comprises: a second electrode layer (13 and page 5 teaches the material of the position-occupying protrusion 13 may also be a conductive material), positioned between the reflective layer (121) and the array substrate (10).
Regarding claim 3, Wen as modified disclose claim 2, Wen further discloses the second electrode layer (Fig. 1, 13) comprises a first opening (as shown) on one side of the second electrode layer facing away from the array substrate (10), and the reflective layer (121) is partially located (as shown) within the first opening so that the reflective layer has a concave area corresponding to the first opening on one side of the reflective layer facing away from the array substrate (10) – See Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 4, Wen as modified disclose claim 3, Wen further discloses the first opening extends along a thickness direction of the second electrode layer and runs through the second electrode layer (as shown in Fig. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 8, Wen discloses a display device (as shown in Fig. 1, abstract) comprising a display panel, the display panel (abstract and Fig. 1) comprising:
an array substrate (10, abstract);
an anode layer (121 and 13), positioned on the array substrate (10), wherein the anode layer comprises a reflective layer (121 – page 4 the first electrode is a light reflecting anode);
the reflector layer (121) has a plurality of reflective surfaces (as shown) on one side of the reflector layer facing away from the array substrate (10); and
two adjacent reflective surfaces are intersected (as shown in Fig. 1); and
a light-emitting layer (123, page 4 teaches light emitting layer) positioned on one side of the anode layer facing away (as shown) from the array substrate (10).
Wen does not explicitly disclose the anode layer also includes a first electrode layer positioned sequentially along a direction away from the array substrate such that the light-emitting layer is positioned on one side of the first electrode layer facing away from the array substrate.
However, having a plurality of layers for an anode layer is well-known in the semiconductor art. Tu discloses a display panel (Fig. 8, abstract), comprising: an array substrate (¶[0105] and 101); an anode layer (23, 21 and 22), positioned on the array substrate (as shown), wherein the anode layer comprises a reflective layer (21, ¶[0054] and ¶[0070]) and a first electrode layer (22, ¶[0052]) positioned sequentially along a direction away from the array substrate (as shown); the reflector layer has a plurality of reflective surfaces on one side of the reflector layer facing away from the array substrate; and two adjacent reflective surfaces are intersected (as shown); and a light-emitting layer (302, ¶[0109]), positioned on one side of the first electrode layer facing away from the array substrate (as shown). The second conductive layer (22) is a light-transmitting conductive layer (¶[0052]) and aids in the light extraction efficiency of the display panel is improved (¶[0055]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a second conductive layer as a part of the anode structure as taught in Tu in the device of Wen such that the anode layer also includes a first electrode layer positioned sequentially along a direction away from the array substrate such that the light-emitting layer is positioned on one side of the first electrode layer facing away from the array substrate because such a modification will aid in the light extraction efficiency of the display panel is improved (¶[0055] of Tu).
Regarding claim 9, Wen as modified disclose claim 8, Wen further discloses the anode layer (Fig. 1, (121/13) further comprises: a second electrode layer (13 and page 5 teaches the material of the position-occupying protrusion 13 may also be a conductive material), positioned between the reflective layer (121) and the array substrate (10).
Regarding claim 10, Wen as modified disclose claim 9, Wen further discloses the second electrode layer (Fig. 1, 13) comprises a first opening on one side of the second electrode layer facing away from the array substrate (as shown), and the reflective layer (121) is partially located within the first opening so that the reflective layer has a concave area corresponding to the first opening (as shown) on one side of the reflective layer facing away from the array substrate (10).
Regarding claim 11, Wen as modified disclose claim 10, Wen further discloses the first opening extends along a thickness direction of the second electrode layer (Fig. 1, 13) and runs through the second electrode layer (as shown).
Claims 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wen et al. [CN 111554715 A], “Wen” in view of Tu [WO 2022/246906 A1] as applied to claims 1 and 8, and further in view of Lee et al. [US 2022/0123078 A1], “Lee”. (Examiner note: machine translation CN 111554715 A and US PUB [US 2024/0016029 A1] are used for easier referencing).
Regarding claim 5, Wen as modified discloses claim 1, Wen further discloses a side wall of the first opening and a side of the second electrode facing the array substrate form an angle of 90 degrees (see Fig. 1 of Wen). Wen does not disclose a side wall of the first opening and a side of the second electrode facing the array substrate form an angle between 5 degrees to 80 degrees.
However, Lee discloses an pattern electrode structure (Fig. 4, PE) can be formed with an angle in order to improve the emission efficiency (¶[0085] of Lee).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to before the effective filing date of the invention to optimize the shape of the electrode structure as taught in Lee in the device of Wen as modified such that a side wall of the first opening and a side of the second electrode facing the array substrate form an angle between 5 degrees to 80 degrees because such a modification would improve the emission efficiency (¶[0085] of Lee). Future, it has been held that adjusting the shape of an article involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). See MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 12, Wen as modified discloses claim 8, Wen further discloses a side wall of the first opening and a side of the second electrode facing the array substrate form an angle of 90 degrees (see Fig. 1 of Wen). Wen does not disclose a side wall of the first opening and a side of the second electrode facing the array substrate form an angle between 5 degrees to 80 degrees.
However, Lee discloses an pattern electrode structure (Fig. 4, PE) can be formed with an angle in order to improve the emission efficiency (¶[0085] of Lee).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to before the effective filing date of the invention to optimize the shape of the electrode structure as taught in Lee in the device of Wen as modified such that a side wall of the first opening and a side of the second electrode facing the array substrate form an angle between 5 degrees to 80 degrees because such a modification would improve the emission efficiency (¶[0085] of Lee). Future, it has been held that adjusting the shape of an article involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). See MPEP 2144.04.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen et al. [US 2023/0030283 A1] discloses the organic light emitting diode includes: a base; a micro-nano structure layer on a side of the base; a first electrode on a side of the micro-nano structure layer away from the base; an electroluminescence layer on a side of the first electrode away from the micro-nano structure layer; and a second electrode on a side of the electroluminescence layer away from the first electrode.
PRIYA M. RAMPERSAUD
Examiner
Art Unit 2897
/PRIYA M RAMPERSAUD/Examiner, Art Unit 2897