DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Vogg et al. (US 4,583,896).
The Vogg et al. reference discloses a latch apparatus for securing cargo to the floor of an aircraft comprising a hook 10, a lever 19 and a link 22, as claimed.
In regard to claim 2, see hook point (proximate reference numeral 17 in Fig. 2), lever point (proximate reference numeral 19 in Fig. 2), lever rotation point 15 and an imaginary axis (unnumbered) between the hook point and lever point, as claimed.
In regard to claim 3, see spring 18.
In regard to claims 4 and 8, the housing is defined by the floor of the aircraft (proximate reference plane 31 in Fig. 3) which the latch apparatus is mounted below in Fig. 3.
In regard to claim 6, see slight bend proximate reference numeral 32 in Fig. 2.
In regard to claim 7, the first and second positions are shown in Figs. 2 and 3.
In regard to claims 11-16, the method as claimed would be inherent during normal use and operation of the latch apparatus (supra).
In regard to claims 17 and 20, the vehicle would be the associated aircraft (not shown).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 7, 9-12 and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nockels (US 2,961,262).
The Nockels reference discloses a latch apparatus for tailgate C of a bed box (proximate reference letter B in Fig. 1) of a vehicle comprising a hook 22, a lever 30 and a link 33, as claimed.
In regard to claim 2, see hook point (proximate reference numeral 25 in Fig. 2), lever point (proximate reference numeral 30 in Fig. 2), lever rotation point 27 and an imaginary axis (unnumbered) between the hook point and lever point, as claimed.
In regard to claim 7, the first and second positions are shown in Figs. 2 and 4.
In regard to claims 11, 12, 15 and 16, the method as claimed would be inherent during normal use and operation of the latch apparatus (supra).
In regard to claim 18, the latch apparatus is most certainly disposed adjacent the top of the sidewall of the bed box (see Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, 13, 14, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nockels (US 2,961,262) in view of Herrmann et al. (US 2,134,823).
The Nockels reference discloses a latch apparatus for a vehicle (supra), but fails to disclose a compliant member or spring as claimed. Attention is directed to the Herrmann et al. reference which discloses another latch apparatus for a vehicle that utilizes known springs 20,24 (i.e. compliant members) to urge or aid in movement of the latch apparatus to and from a latched position. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Nockels latch apparatus to utilize a compliant member or spring in view of the teachings of the Herrmann et al. reference to urge or aid in movement of latch apparatus the to and from a latched position.
In regard to claims 13 and 14, the method as claimed would be inherent during normal use and operation of the modified latch apparatus, as claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The McNeilly, Saroka, Mosley et al. and Baldwin et al. references pertain to various latch mechanisms with similarities to that of Applicant’s.
/STEVEN O DOUGLAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612