Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 16, line 13, there should be some punctuation between “an electric quantity of the battery pack” and “a light emitting portion”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 9-11, 15, 16 and 21, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hofstetter (DE202020105705) in view of Zhao (JP2021-014122) and Feldmann et al. (U.S. Publication 2006/0220612), herein referred to as Feldmann.
In regards to claim 1, Hofstetter discloses a table cutting device (table saw 14), comprising: a workbench (support surface 16) on which a workpiece is placed; a cutting assembly (saw blade 28) capable of performing a cutting operation on the workpiece; a drive assembly (motor 32) comprising a motor and driving the cutting assembly to move; a power supply connection assembly (accumulator unit 34) for connecting a battery pack (batteries 36,36), wherein the battery pack supplies an energy source to the table cutting device (table saw); and a display assembly capable of displaying an electric quantity of the battery pack comprising a light-emitting portion and a functioning portion separate from the battery pack wherein the light emitting portion is turned on by an activation of the functioning portion to display an electric quantity information of the battery pack
and the light-emitting portion illuminates for several seconds and then turns off so that the electric quantity information disappears;
and a switch assembly (on/off switch 42), the switch assembly controls an operation of the drive assembly and the cutting assembly (activation/ deactivation),
wherein, when the battery pack (36) is mounted to the table cutting device, a distance between the display assembly and the battery pack is greater than or equal to 5 mm.
Hofstetter discloses the claimed invention except for the display assembly as highlighted above. Attention is further directed to the Zhao work station. Zhao discloses in the figures that the work station is a planar, but that the battery packs can be used on many other work stations, among them:
“electric drills, electric screwdrivers, electric wrenches, electric grinders, electric circular saws, electric reciprocating saws, electric jigsaws, electric hammers, electric cutters, electric chainsaws, electric planers, electric nail guns, electric hedge trimmers, electric lawn clippers, electric lawn mowers, electric brush cutters, electric blowers, electric cleaners, and the like” (paragraph [0043]).
Zhao also discloses the use of a display unit 19 that displays the remaining battery life of the battery packs (paragraph [0025]).
“Further, the main housing 100 is provided with a main switch 71 and a lever switch 72. By turning on the main switch 71, electric power is supplied to the lever switch 72 among the electric circuits from the battery pack 60 attached to the battery pack mounting unit 50 to the motor 15 described later. By keeping the main switch 71 in the ON state and turning the lever switch 72 in the ON state, electric power is supplied to the motor 15, the motor 15 starts rotating, and the automatic plane plate 1 can cut the member CM to be cut. It becomes a driving state.”
Zhao also discloses the use of a switch 71 that functions to supply the power from the battery packs to the motor. As Zhao and Hofstetter are both directed to powering cutting tools with detachable batteries, and as shown by Zhao to use a display unit with the batteries to convey to the operator the remaining battery life of the batteries, it would have been obvious to one having ordain skill in the art at the time of the invention to have incorporated a display on the Hofstetter table saw for the same benefit of relaying to the operator the remaining battery life such that the operator was apprised of when the batteries were getting low and would need replaced or recharged.
The modified device of Zhao still does not disclose the use of a functioning portion for turning on the light-emitting portion such that the light emitting portion illuminates for several seconds and then turns off so that the electric quantity information disappears.
Attention is further directed to the Feldmann power tool. Feldman is considered analogous art in that it is also concerned with detecting battery life on a power tool of a removable power supply. Feldmann also discloses the use of a power indicator 24 with an illumination mechanism 90 that comprises three light emitting diodes (LEDs). Wherein the LEDs and illumination mechanism are not on the battery but on the handle and housing portion of the tool. Feldman sets forth that “[i]n operation, to determine the power level of the power source 18, the user presses the button 92 when information concerning power level of the power source 18 is needed. When the button 92 is pressed, the LEDs 90 illuminate to indicate whether the power source 18 is fully charged, charged at some intermediate power level, or experiencing a low charge level. Other embodiments may not utilize a button 92 to indicate power and power indication may be constant, if desired, or intermittent depending upon whether the power tool 10 is in operation” paragraph [0050-0051]). Thereby Feldmann establishes that it is known to incorporate a push button with a battery power indicator that when pressed illuminates the indicator in an either constant or intermittent fashion to let the operator know the remaining life of the battery. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have provided a battery life indicator on the Hofstetter table saw that incorporated a separate operating switch as at least demonstrated by Feldmann and Zhao for providing intermediate and/or constant illumination to the LEDs, thereby providing the operational information of the battery life to the user of the table saw as needed or desired.
In regards to claim 2, the modified device of Hofstetter discloses a front portion (side surface 25), wherein the front portion comprises at least a support plate (25; fig. 1), and a scale rail (slotted rail on 25, identical to applicants) capable of displaying a height of the cutting assembly is disposed on the support plate.
In regards to claim 9, the modified device of Hofstetter discloses wherein the light-emitting portion conveys electric quantity information of the battery pack by emitting light (“The remaining capacity gauge 191 has three LED lamps arranged in a row in the left-right direction.; Zhao paragraph [0025]])
In regards to claim 10, the modified device of Hofstetter discloses wherein the function portion (button 92 Feldmann) capable of controlling the light-emitting portion to be turned on or off.
In regards to claim 11, the modified device of Hofstetter discloses wherein a distance between the light-emitting portion and the function portion is greater than or equal to 50 mm (~2inches; see Zhao Fig. 3).
In regards to claim 15, the modified device of Hofstetter discloses wherein the power supply connection assembly (34) comprises a battery pack connection portion (fig. 1a) for being coupled to the battery pack (36), the battery pack connection portion comprises a connection opening for the battery pack (24) to be inserted into and the connection opening facing downward (e.g. per Figs 1a; 2a).
In regards to claim 16, the modified device of Hofstetter discloses cutting system, comprising: a table cutting device (table saw); and a battery pack (36) for supplying power to the table cutting device; wherein the table cutting device comprises: a workbench (top surface) on which a workpiece is capable of being placed; a cutting assembly (saw blade) capable of performing a cutting operation on the workpiece; a drive assembly (motor for driving saw blade, not shown) comprising a motor and driving the cutting assembly to move; and a power supply connection assembly (34) for connecting the battery pack (36);
a switch assembly (on/off switch 42), the switch assembly controls an operation of the drive assembly and the cutting assembly;
wherein the table cutting device is detachably connected to the battery pack (36) and the battery pack (36) is detachably connected to the table cutting device (table saw) and the table cutting device further comprises a display assembly (as modified by Zhao and Feldmann ) capable of displaying an electric quantity of the battery pack, a light emitting portion (the three LED lamps of the remaining capacity gauge Zhao 191 / 24 Feldmann ) capable of displaying the electric quantity of the battery pack and a function portion (switch 71 Zhao ./ 92 Feldmann) separate from the battery pack for a user to operate and the light emitting portion could be turned on by an activation of the function portion;
the light emitting portion (the three LED lamps of the remaining capacity gauge Zhao 191 / 90 Feldmann) illuminates for several seconds and then turns off so that the electric quality of the of the battery pack disappears.
In regards to claim 21, the modified device of Hofstetter discloses wherein the function portion is a key or a button (switch 71 Zhao / 92 Feldmann ).
Claims 3-6, 8 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hofstetter (DE202020105705) in view of Zhao (JP2021-014122), Feldmann et al. (U.S. Publication 2006/0220612), herein referred to as Feldmann and in further view of Brown (CN102039615)
The modified device of Hostetter does not disclose the particular location of the display assembly on the table cutting device, however, as demonstrated by Zhao the batteries and display assembly are situated apart from each other. Moreover, Hostetter discloses that the battery is located on many surfaces of the tools. Per Figure 1, the battery is shown on the side of the table saw and per figures 2a-2d, the battery is located on the bottom side, bottom back or side of the tile saw. Thereby Hostetter disclose many locations for the battery. Attention is also directed to the Brown table saw, wherein Brown discloses that a battery power supply and switch 103/104 can be mounted on the front plate of the table saw near the adjustment hand wheel 36. As many different locations have been demonstrated in the prior art for locating the batteries and the display, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have selected a location on the Hofstetter table saw that was easily accessible and visible to the user for mounting the batteries and/or display as shown by Zhao and Brown.
In regards to claims 3, 18 and 20, the modified device of Hofstetter discloses wherein the display assembly is located on the front portion of the table cutting device (as at least modified by Brown).
In regards to claim 4 and 19 the modified device of Hofstetter discloses wherein the display assembly is disposed on the support plate (as at least modified by Brown).
In regards to claim 5, the modified device of Hofstetter discloses a right portion, wherein the right portion connects the front portion to a rear portion opposite to the front portion, and the display assembly is located on the right portion of the table cutting device (e.g. as modified, next to the batteries as shown in Hofstetter Fig. 1)
In regards to claim 6, the modified device of Hofstetter discloses an upper portion, wherein the upper portion comprises at least an upper surface of the workbench and, when the workbench is parallel to a horizontal plane, a height of the display assembly (as modified by Zhao and Brown) in a vertical direction is lower than or equal to a height of the upper surface in the vertical direction.
In regards to claim 8, the modified device of Hofstetter discloses wherein the display assembly (as modified by Zhao and Brown) is disposed on the power supply connection assembly.
In regards to claim 17, the modified device of Hofstetter discloses wherein the display assembly is located at a front portion of the table cutting device (as at least modified by Brown), the front portion comprises at least a support plate (25; fig. 1), and a scale rail (slotted rail on 25, identical to applicants / 12 Brown) capable of displaying a height of the cutting assembly is disposed on the support plate (e.g. 18 Brown).
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hofstetter (DE202020105705) in view of Zhao (JP2021-014122), Feldmann et al. (U.S. Publication 2006/0220612), herein referred to as Feldmann and in further view of Takano et al. (U.S. Publication 2014/0130645), herein referred to as Takano. The modified device of Hofstetter discloses wherein the light-emitting portion is capable of conveying failure information of the battery pack:
(“The remaining capacity gauge 191 has three LED lamps arranged in a row in the left-right direction.; Zhao paragraph [0025]])
but does not disclose that it is through flashing.
Attention is further directed to the Takano table saw. Takano discloses a means of adjusting the inclination angle of the saw blade and that a notification section 26
“displays a driving state of the motor 5, the inclination angle, and the like in a digital manner, or displays them by blinking or lighting of LED, or the like. Alternatively, the notifying section 26 notifies a driving state of the motor 5, the inclination angle, and the like by buzzer, massage, and the like. Further, the notifying section 26 performs display or notification of an abnormal state described later when the abnormal state occurred. Paragraph [0026]).
Takano thereby sets forth that it is known to light or alternatively blink LED’s to convey warnings or states of information concerning the table saw. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the LEDs of Hosteter to blink rather than be lit, especially when the batteries are fairly depleted to get the attention of the user before the batteries are spent.
In regards to claim 13, the modified device of Hofstetter discloses wherein the light-emitting portion is capable of conveying different types of failure information of the battery pack through a speed of flashing (as modified by Takano).
In regards to claim 14, the modified device of Hofstetter discloses wherein the light-emitting portion comprises a plurality of indicator bars (191; Zhao paragraph [0025]), and different numbers of indicator bars flash so that the light-emitting portion is capable of conveying different types of failure information of the battery pack (as modified by Takano)
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hofstetter (DE202020105705) in view of Zhao (JP2021-014122), Feldmann et al. (U.S. Publication 2006/0220612), herein referred to as Feldmann and in further view of Brown (CN102039615).
In regards to claim 7, the modified device of Hofstetter discloses the claimed invention except wherein the display assembly is embedded in the upper surface of the workbench. Attention is also directed to the Brown table saw, wherein Brown discloses that a battery power supply and switch 103/104 can be mounted on the front plate of the table saw near the adjustment hand wheel 36. Brown also discloses that an index line indicator line for indicating the saw blade cutting position can be recessed in the table surface. This conveys to the operator, the saw blade’s inclined angle. While Brown is demonstrating an alternative indicator that is not directed to the battery recessed with the table surface, Brown does demonstrate that it is known to utilize the table surface for providing information about the saw to the user. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have also set the modified display of Hofstetter in the table surface for providing information to the user concerning the battery life of the table saw.
Claims 1, 6, 8-9, 16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breitenbach (DE102019218584) and Feldmann et al. (U.S. Publication 2006/0220612), herein referred to as Feldmann.
In regards to claim 1, Breitenbach discloses a table cutting device (table saw 10), comprising: a workbench (top surface near the blade) on which a workpiece is placed; a cutting assembly (saw blade) capable of performing a cutting operation on the workpiece; a drive assembly (motor; not shown) comprising a motor and driving the cutting assembly to move; a power supply connection assembly (battery interface 14) for connecting a battery pack (replaceable battery packs 24), wherein the battery pack supplies an energy source to the table cutting device (table saw); and a display assembly (46) capable of displaying an electric quantity of the battery pack
(“Furthermore, the combination interface 16 provides a display 46 which serves as an indicator for the currently active voltage class. In its simplest form, the indicator 46 can be designed as a linearly displaceable projection which is mechanically firmly connected to the locking mechanism 42. It is also conceivable to design the display 46 electronically as an LED display, an LC display or the like, wherein the respective active voltage class can be detected via a reed contact, a microswitch or the like.(paragraph [0035[).
comprising a light emitting portion (LED display) and a function portion separate from the battery pack wherein the light emitting portion (LED) is turned on by an activation of the function portion to display an electric quantity information of the battery pack;
and the light emitting portion illuminates for several seconds and then turns off so that the electric quantity information disappears;
and a switch assembly (power switch, not shown) the switch assembly controls an operation of the drive assembly and the cutting assembly,
wherein, when the battery pack (24) is mounted to the table cutting device, a distance between the display assembly and the battery pack is greater than or equal to 5 mm (~ 0.2 inches; see Fig. 5a/5b).
Breitenbach discloses the claimed invention except for the highlighted limitations concerning the display assembly having a function portion. Attention is further directed to the Feldmann power tool. Feldman is considered analogous art in that it is also concerned with detecting battery life on a power tool of a removable power supply. Feldmann also discloses the use of a power indicator 24 with an illumination mechanism 90 that comprises three light emitting diodes (LEDs). Wherein the LEDs and illumination mechanism are not on the battery but on the handle and housing portion of the tool. Feldman sets forth that “[i]n operation, to determine the power level of the power source 18, the user presses the button 92 when information concerning power level of the power source 18 is needed. When the button 92 is pressed, the LEDs 90 illuminate to indicate whether the power source 18 is fully charged, charged at some intermediate power level, or experiencing a low charge level. Other embodiments may not utilize a button 92 to indicate power and power indication may be constant, if desired, or intermittent depending upon whether the power tool 10 is in operation” paragraph [0050-0051]). Thereby Feldmann establishes that it is known to incorporate a push button with a battery power indicator that when pressed illuminates the indicator in an either constant or intermittent fashion to let the operator know the remaining life of the battery. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have provided a battery life indicator on the Breitenbach table saw that incorporated a separate operating switch as at least demonstrated by Feldmann and for providing intermediate and/or constant illumination to the LEDs, thereby providing the operational information of the battery life to the user of the table saw as needed or desired.
In regards to claim 6, the modified device of Breitenbach discloses an upper portion, wherein the upper portion comprises at least an upper surface of the workbench and, when the workbench is parallel to a horizontal plane, a height of the display assembly in a vertical direction is lower than or equal to a height of the upper surface in the vertical direction (the display and battery are mounted to the side of the table saw; per Figs 1a=1c, beneath the top surface of the table).
In regards to claim 8, the modified device of Breitenbach discloses wherein the display assembly (46) is disposed on the power supply connection assembly (see Fig. 5a).
In regards to claim 9, the modified device of Breitenbach discloses wherein the display assembly (46) comprises a light-emitting portion and the light-emitting portion conveys electric quantity information of the battery pack by emitting light (“LED display for the voltage; paragraph [0035])
In regards to claim 16, the modified device of Breitenbach discloses cutting system, comprising: a table cutting device (table saw);
and a battery pack (24) for supplying power to the table cutting device;
wherein the table cutting device comprises: a workbench (top surface) on which a workpiece is capable of being placed;
a cutting assembly (saw blade) capable of performing a cutting operation on the workpiece;
a drive assembly (motor for driving saw blade, not shown) comprising a motor and driving the cutting assembly to move;
a power supply connection assembly (battery interface 14) for connecting the battery pack (24);
a switch assembly (power on/off switch; not shown), the switch assembly controls an operation of the drive assembly and the cutting assembly
wherein the table cutting device is detachably connected to the battery pack (24) and the battery pack is detachably connected to the table cutting device, the table cutting device further comprises a display assembly (46) capable of displaying an electric quantity of the battery pack; a light emitting portion (LEDS 90 Feldmann as modified) capable of displaying the electric quantity of the battery pack (24) and
a function portion (button 92 Feldmann as modified) separate from the battery pack (24) for a user to operate and the light emitting portion could be turned on by an activation of the function portion (92 Feldmann as modified), the light emitting portion illuminates for several seconds and then turns off so that the electric quantity of the battery pack disappears.
(“[i]n operation, to determine the power level of the power source 18, the user presses the button 92 when information concerning power level of the power source 18 is needed. When the button 92 is pressed, the LEDs 90 illuminate to indicate whether the power source 18 is fully charged, charged at some intermediate power level, or experiencing a low charge level. Other embodiments may not utilize a button 92 to indicate power and power indication may be constant, if desired, or intermittent depending upon whether the power tool 10 is in operation” Feldmann paragraph [0050-0051]).
In regards to claim 18, the modified device of Breitenbach discloses a table cutting device (table saw), comprising: a workbench assembly comprising a workbench (top table / surface) on which a workpiece is capable of being placed;
a cutting assembly (saw blade) capable of performing a cutting operation on the workpiece;
a drive assembly (motor; not shown) comprising a motor and driving the cutting assembly to move;
a power supply connection assembly (battery interface 14) for connecting a battery pack, wherein the battery pack supplies an energy source to the table cutting device; and
a display assembly (46; fig. 5a/b ;90 Feldmann) capable of displaying an electric quantity of the battery pack (“LED display for the voltage; paragraph [0035]) ; see paragraphs 0050-0051 of Feldmann);
The display assembly light emitting portion is turned on by an activation of a function portion (either the power switch /92 Feldmann) by a user, and the function portion is located outside of the battery pack;
the light emitting portion illuminates for several seconds and then turns off so that the electric quantity of the battery pack disappears.
(“[i]n operation, to determine the power level of the power source 18, the user presses the button 92 when information concerning power level of the power source 18 is needed. When the button 92 is pressed, the LEDs 90 illuminate to indicate whether the power source 18 is fully charged, charged at some intermediate power level, or experiencing a low charge level. Other embodiments may not utilize a button 92 to indicate power and power indication may be constant, if desired, or intermittent depending upon whether the power tool 10 is in operation” Feldmann paragraph [0050-0051]).
a switch assembly (power on/off switch; not shown), the switch assembly controls an operation of the drive assembly and the cutting assembly
wherein the display assembly light emitting portion (46 /90 Feldmann) is disposed on any structure within a standing region that is a region enclosed from an edge of the cutting assembly to an edge of the table cutting device (fig. 1).
In regards to claim 19, the modified device of Breitenbach discloses a support plate (base plate 48) disposed below the workbench, wherein the display assembly (46) is disposed on the support plate (48).
In regards to claim 20, he modified device of Breitenbach discloses wherein the display assembly (46) is disposed in a portion of the workbench assembly located in the standing region (see Figs. 5a/b).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breitenbach (DE102019218584) and Feldmann et al. (U.S. Publication 2006/0220612), herein referred to as Feldmann. In regards to claim 15, the modified device of Breitenbach discloses wherein the power supply connection assembly (14) comprises a battery pack connection portion (receptacles 18,22) for being coupled to the battery pack (24), the battery pack connection portion comprises a connection opening (E) for the battery pack (24) to be inserted into. Breitenbach does not disclose that the connection opening faces downward, rather Breitenbach discloses that the opening faces either to the left/right or upwardly, as shown in Figures 8 and 9. As the difference between Breitenbach and the claimed invention is the orientation of the opening and receptacles to face downwardly rather than upwardly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have rotated the connection, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892
/LAURA M LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724 ff