The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 04/07/2026 in which claims 1-2, 9, 11-16, 18-19, 21 are pending, claims 1, 2, 11, 16, and 18 are currently amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites, “wherein the display assembly is disposed on any structure within a standing region is a region enclosed from an edge of the cutting assembly to an edge of the table cutting device…a ratio of a projection area of the standing region on the placement plane to a projection area of the table cutting device is less than or equal to 30%”. The metes and bounds of the claimed “standing region” are unclear. Although the claims say that the “standing region is a region enclosed from an edge of the cutting assembly to an edge of the table cutting device”, the claim fails to identify which edge of the cutting assembly and which edge of the table cutting device define the standing region. Both the cutting assembly and table cutting device include multiple edges, and the clam provides no objective criteria for determining the particular edges that form the boundaries of the standing region.
Further, the claim recites that the standing region is disposed on the front side of the table cutting device and that ratio of a projection area of the standing region of the table cutting device is less than or equal to 30%, but the claim does not define the extent of the standing region beyond the table cutting device. Thus, even if the front side of the device is known, the claim does not provide objective boundaries for determining when the depth of the standing region begins or ends. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the claimed “standing region” and therefore the claim is indefinite. Although the speciation illustrates an example standing region, limitations appearing only in the specification cannot supply missing claim boundaries where the claim language itself fails to define the scope of the claimed region with reasonable certainty. Because the boundaries of the standing region area unclear, if cannot be determined with reasonable certainty what structures are “within the standing region.”
Additionally, the preamble to claim 18 is to “A table cutting device”. It is unclear how the recited standing region, which appears to be an area external to the table cutting device, is bounded and incorporated into the claimed table cutting device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 9-10, 15, 16, 18 and 21, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hofstetter (DE202020105705) in view of Feldmann et al. (U.S. Publication 2006/0220612) and Takano (U.S. Publication 2014/0130645).
In regards to claim 1, Hofstetter discloses a table cutting device (table saw 14), comprising: a workbench (support surface 16) on which a workpiece is placed; a cutting member (saw blade 28) rotatable about a first axis (center axis of blade) and capable of performing a cutting operation on the workpiece; a drive assembly (motor 32) comprising a motor and driving the cutting assembly to move; a power supply connection assembly (accumulator unit 34) for connecting a battery pack (batteries 36,36), wherein the battery pack supplies an energy source to the table cutting device (table saw); and a display assembly capable of displaying an electric quantity of the battery pack comprising a light-emitting portion and a functioning portion separate from the battery pack wherein the light emitting portion is turned on by an activation of the functioning portion to display an electric quantity information of the battery pack;
and a switch assembly (on/off switch 42), that is different that the function portion, the switch assembly controls an operation of the drive assembly and the cutting member (power for activation/ deactivation),
and an adjustment mechanism comprising an operation member and a scale rail (annotated below), and the adjustment mechanism adjusts a cutting depth of the cutting member, the scale rail is an arc shaped opening formed on a support plate (side surface 25) of the table cutting device and the operation member (annotated below) extends through the arc-shaped opening;
wherein the display assembly is located at the bottom right side of the support plate and wherein, when the battery pack (36) is mounted to the table cutting device, a distance between the display assembly and the battery pack is greater than or equal to 5 mm.
Hofstetter discloses the claimed invention except for the display assembly as highlighted above. Attention is further directed to the Feldmann power tool that utilizes a battery for powering the tool as well as a power indicator 24 that utilizes a display of several LEDs (90) and a separate activation mechanism or function portion (button 92) to indicate the life of the battery. The user presses button 92 to illuminate the LEDs when information about the battery is requested from the user (see paragraphs [0051-0053]. Feldmann sets forth that the battery and power indicator can be utilizes on a number of power tools among them a circular saw, drill router or polisher (paragraph [0030]). As Feldmann and Hofstetter are both directed to powering cutting tools with detachable batteries, and as shown by Feldmann to use a display unit with the batteries to convey to the operator the remaining battery life of the batteries, it would have been obvious to one having ordain skill in the art at the time of the invention to have incorporated a display on the Hofstetter table saw for the same benefit of relaying to the operator the remaining battery life such that the operator was apprised of when the batteries were getting low and would need replaced or recharged.
The modified device of Hofstetter does not set forth the location of the display assembly as being on the bottom right side of the support plate and to the extent that it can be argued that the adjustment mechanism and scale rail as indicated above may not be adjusting a cutting depth, attention is further directed to the Takano reference. Takano demonstrates a table saw possessing a notifying section 26 for performing notification of a driving state in the lower right corner of the front support plate of the main body section 20. “[[T]he notifying section 26 notifies a driving state of the motor 5, the inclination angle, and the like by buzzer, massage, and the like. Further, the notifying section 26 performs display or notification of an abnormal state described later when the abnormal state occurred. Further, a gauge housing section 31 housing a gauge therein is provided on a side face of the main body section 20.” Paragraph [0041]. As Takano demonstrates the lower right portion of the front support plate is an easily viewable and accessible location for providing information concerning the state of the table saw, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have located the LED display and function portion/ button of Feldmann on the lower front face of the Hofstetter table saw to display information concerning the battery life.
Additionally, Takano demonstrates a curved rail in the front support plate of the base section that has a handle 28 that extends through the rail. “By rotating the handle 28 in one direction of left and right directions, the projection amount of the rim saw blade 6 from the upper face of the table section 21 can be adjusted.” Thereby, Takano also discloses that the center handle is provided to adjust the height of the saw blade. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the handle of Hofstetter to be utilized to adjust the height of the saw blade above the table surface, if not already capable as demonstrated by Takano to allow the user to adjust the height of the blade relative to the height of the workpiece, thereby decreasing risk of injury to the user or breakage of the blade.
In regards to claim 2, the modified device of Hofstetter discloses a front portion (side surface 25), wherein the front portion comprises at least a support plate (25; fig. 1), and a scale rail (slotted rail on 25, identical to applicants) capable of displaying a height of the cutting assembly is disposed on the support plate.
In regards to claim 9, the modified device of Hofstetter discloses wherein the light-emitting portion conveys electric quantity information of the battery pack by emitting light (“illumination mechanism 90 Feldmann LEDS; paragraph [0050] )
In regards to claim 15, the modified device of Hofstetter discloses wherein the power supply connection assembly (34) comprises a battery pack connection portion (fig. 1a) for being coupled to the battery pack (36), the battery pack connection portion comprises a connection opening for the battery pack (24) to be inserted into and the connection opening facing downward (e.g. per Figs 1a; 2a).
In regards to claim 16, the modified device of Hofstetter discloses cutting system, comprising: a table cutting device (table saw); and a battery pack (36) for supplying power to the table cutting device; wherein the table cutting device comprises: a workbench (top surface) on which a workpiece is capable of being placed; a cutting assembly (saw blade) capable of performing a cutting operation on the workpiece; a drive assembly (motor for driving saw blade, not shown) comprising a motor and driving the cutting assembly to move; and a power supply connection assembly (34) for connecting the battery pack (36);
a switch assembly (on/off switch 42), the switch assembly controls an operation of the drive assembly and the cutting assembly;
a support assembly supporting the workbench assembly and comprising a plurality of support rods (18,20) and a support plate (25) disposed on a front portion of the table cutting device and the support plate (25) connected to the plurality of the support rods (18,20);
wherein the table cutting device is detachably connected to the battery pack (36) and the battery pack (36) is detachably connected to the table cutting device (table saw) and the table cutting device further comprises a display assembly (as modified by Takano and Feldmann ) located at the bottom right side of the support assembly and capable of displaying an electric quantity of the battery pack (36), the display assembly comprising a light emitting portion (the three LED lamps 24/90 Feldmann ) capable of displaying the electric quantity of the battery pack and a function portion (button 92 Feldmann) separate from the battery pack for a user to operate and the light emitting portion (90 Feldmann) could be turned on by an activation of the function portion (92 Feldmann).
In regards to claim 18, the modified device of Hofstetter discloses a table cutting device (10), comprising: a workbench assembly (14) comprising a workbench having a working plane (16) on which a workpiece is capable of being placed; a cutting assembly (26) capable of performing a cutting operation on the workpiece; a drive assembly comprising a motor (32) and driving the cutting assembly to move; a power supply connection assembly for connecting a battery pack (36), wherein the battery pack supplies an energy source to the table cutting device; a display assembly light-emitting portion capable (90; as modified by Feldmann) of displaying an electric quantity of the battery pack; and a switch assembly (42), the switch assembly controls an operation of the drive assembly and the cutting assembly; wherein the display assembly (90 Feldmann) ls disposed on any structure within a standing region that is a region enclosed from an edge of the cutting assembly to an edge of the table cutting device (as modified by Takano on the front plate) , the standing region is disposed on a front side of the table cutting device, and, when the table cutting device is disposed in a placement plane parallel to the working plane of the workbench, a ratio of a projection area of the standing region on the placement plane to a projection area of the table cutting device on the placement plane is less than or equal to 30% (the standing region is undefined and not part of the table cutting device).
In regards to claim 21, the modified device of Hofstetter discloses wherein the function portion is a key or a button (switch 71 Zhao).
Claims 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hofstetter (DE202020105705) in view of Feldmann et al. (U.S. Publication 2006/0220612) and Takano (U.S. Publication 2014/0130645).
In regards to claim 11 and 19 the modified device of Hofstetter discloses the claimed invention but is silent as to the distance between the light-emitting portion (90 Feldmann) and the function portion (92 Feldmann) being greater than or equal to 50 mm (~2inches). Feldman teaches that “, a mechanical power level indicator or other types or configurations of power level indicating devices may be utilized without departing from the claimed example” paragraph [0050]), thereby indicating the relative arrangement and configuration can be varied. Takano further teaches locating a notifying section on the lower front of the table saw. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to position the light emitting portion on the front side of the table saw of Hofstetter and separate the light emitting portion from the function portion by a distance of at least 50 mm in order to provide a visible indication at a location readily observable by a user while maintaining the activation function at a convenient operating location and provide flexibility in component placement and arrangement on the front side of the table saw. The particular distance between the light emitting portion and the function portion constitutes a matter of design choice a showing that the claimed subject matter achieves an unexpected result or performs a function different from that taught by the prior art.
Claims 12-14, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hofstetter (DE202020105705) in view of Feldmann et al. (U.S. Publication 2006/0220612) and Takano (U.S. Publication 2014/0130645).
In regards to claims 12 and 13, the modified device of Hostetter sets forth that various LED combinations can be utilized to indicate battery failure, but does not positively set forth that the failure is conveyed by flashing. “Any combination of a battery charge activation mechanism 92 and illumination mechanism 90 may be used for this purpose, the example control panel 14 not being limited to the number of LEDs depicted or the type of power indicator depicted. Instead of using three individual LEDs, a single indicator could be used that emits a different color depending on the charge level. A bar-type scale could be used where a portion of the bar lights up based upon the charge level. Alternatively, a mechanical power level indicator or other types or configurations of power level indicating devices may be utilized without departing from the claimed example.” (see Feldmann paragraph [0050])
Takano also sets forth that “The notifying section 26 displays a driving state of the motor 5, the inclination angle, and the like in a digital manner, or displays them by blinking or lighting of LED, or the like. Alternatively, the notifying section 26 notifies a driving state of the motor 5, the inclination angle, and the like by buzzer, massage, and the like. Further, the notifying section 26 performs display or notification of an abnormal state described later when the abnormal state occurred.” paragraph [0041]). Thereby Takano discloses that it is known to use LEDs to convey information by the use of lighting of blinking the LEDs. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have set forth the modified display of Hofstetter to possess a blinking function for conveying information that would alert and grab the attention of the user to indicate various potential problems with the table saw or battery functions.
In regards to claim 14, the modified device of Hofstetter discloses wherein the light-emitting portion comprises a plurality of indicator bars (Feldmann 90), and different numbers of indicator bars flash SO that the light-emitting portion is capable of conveying different types of failure information of the battery pack (as modified by Takano)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 9, 11-16, 18-19, 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA M LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724