DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim status in the amendment received on 2/23/2026:
Claims 1, 12, 16 and 21-22 have been amended.
Claims 1-2, 4-16 and 18-22 are pending.
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s amendments have been considered and in response to the amendments:
The previous 101 rejections have been withdrawn.
The previous claim objections have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that the prior art does not teach or suggest the feature of cyclic interconnection in which multiple switches within a single VRG Participate in different cyclic connections. However, the examiner respectfully traverses.
For example, Froese teaches in fig. 6, a cyclic connection for multiple switches 606, 604 and 602, within a single VRG “Group 1”, and each separate group teaches different cyclic connection, for example other groups connected to group 1, please also see paragraph [0160].
With respect to the argument that there is no motivation to combine the references, the examiner respectively traverses. Both references (Duan and Froese) are related to the topic of dragonfly network topology. So, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, based on both references, combining/modifying the references is at least a matter of design choice and the combination still in the field of dragonfly network topology.
In this case, incorporating cyclic connection within an VRG group (taught by Froese) and selecting a non-minimal path (also taught by Froese) it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art because the combination will result in higher availability within each VRG and more path choices when the shortest path is not available.
Therefor, the prior art rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4-16 and 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 1,
The claim recites the limitations “the same switch” and “the same switches”, in lines 4 and 13, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitation in the claim.
The claim further recites the limitation “the switch”, in lines 13 and 17, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitation in the claim.
As to claims 12, 16, 21 and 22, the claims are also rejected under 112(b) for reciting similar issue, as applicable, to claim 1 above.
As to the claim(s) that are dependent on claim(s) 1, 12 or 16, the dependent claim(s) are also rejected under 112(b) for the same reason of their base claim(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-16 and 18-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duan (Pub. No.: US 20230208915 A1) in view of Froese (Pub. No.: US 20220166705 A1).
As to claim 1, Duan teaches a method of routing in a multi-computer network comprising a plurality of multi- switch virtual router groups ('VRGs') interconnected by only cyclic connections among the VRGs, wherein a cyclic connection is formed by connecting one switch from each VRG in a cyclic set of VRGs to the same switch in every other VRG in the cyclic set and wherein each switch in the cyclic set is connected in an all-to-all configuration, and wherein every VRG in the network has at least one cyclic connection with every other VRG in the network (fig. 1, and paragraph [005]), and wherein each VRG has a plurality of switches (fig. 3, 102), and wherein each switch comprises a switch core and a plurality of ports configured to receive and transmit packets (paragraph [0055]),
the method comprising: sending packets from a source VRG in the cyclic set to a destination VRG (paragraph [0056]).
Duan does not explicitly teach VRG switches residing in different cyclic connections, sending packets via a selected non-minimal path between a source VRG and a destination VRG based on telemetry data.
However, in the same field of endeavor (computer networks) Froese teaches each VRG has a plurality of switches residing in different cyclic connections (in fig. 6 the switches are connected in a cyclic connection, each separate group teaches a respective different cyclic connection) and wherein each switch comprises a switch core and a plurality of ports configured to receive and transmit packets (fig. 2);
selecting a non-minimal path between a source VRG and a destination VRG in a cyclic set that passes through only one switch in a pass-through VRG in the cyclic set (paragraph [0165], “…Global non-minimal routes take an indirect path through a root switch in an intermediate group. These paths require two global hops, one from the source group to an intermediate group, and one from the intermediate group to the destination group…”) including selecting the non-minimal path in dependence of only two-hop telemetry data provided to the switch in the source VRG connected to the same switches in the other VRGs of the cyclic set (paragraph [0160], “…Group load values, as noted above, can be exchanged across global links, and as shown, group_load values are transmitted from/received by each of switches 602, 604, and 606 from other groups/switches in the switch fabric…”, load values teaches telemetry data); and
sending packets from the source VRG in the cyclic set to the destination VRG through the one switch in the pass-through VRG, wherein the one switch in the pass-through VRG is the switch connected to the same switches in each of the VRGs of the cyclic set forming the cyclic connection (paragraph [0165], “…Global non-minimal routes take an indirect path through a root switch in an intermediate group…”).
Based on Duan in view of Froese, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate VRG switches residing in different cyclic connections, sending packets via a selected non-minimal path between a source VRG and a destination VRG based on telemetry data (taught by Froese) with communications between VRGs (taught by Duan) in order to improve local connections and performance by using alternate non-minimal routes to the destination and work around congestion in the network as motivated by Froese (paragraph [0165]).
As to claim 2, Froese further teaches wherein selecting a non-minimal path between a source VRG and a destination VRG in a cyclic set that passes through only one switch in a pass-through VRG in the cyclic set further comprises selecting, in dependence upon the telemetry data, a non-minimal path with the least congestion to destination VRG (paragraphs [0040] and [0165]). The limitations of claim 2 are rejected in view of the analysis of claim 1 above, and the rationale to combine, as discussed in claim 1, applies here as well.
As to claim 4, Froese further teaches wherein selecting a non-minimal path between a source VRG and a destination VRG in a cyclic set that passes through only one switch in a pass-through VRG in the cyclic set further comprises reducing computational complexity and memory usage in selecting the non-minimal path (paragraphs [0040] and [0165]). The limitations of claim 4 are rejected in view of the analysis of claim 1 above, and the rationale to combine, as discussed in claim 1, applies here as well.
As to claim 5, Froese further teaches wherein selecting a non-minimal path between a source VRG and a destination VRG in a cyclic set that passes through only one switch in a pass-through VRG in the cyclic set further comprises reducing telemetry data propagation delay in selecting the non-minimal path (paragraphs [0040] and [0165]). The limitations of claim 5 are rejected in view of the analysis of claim 1 above, and the rationale to combine, as discussed in claim 1, applies here as well.
As to claim 6, Froese further teaches wherein selecting a non-minimal path between a source VRG and a destination VRG in a cyclic set that passes through only one switch in a pass-through VRG in the cyclic set reduces packet latency (paragraphs [0040] and [0165]). The limitations of claim 6 are rejected in view of the analysis of claim 1 above, and the rationale to combine, as discussed in claim 1, applies here as well.
As to claim 7, Froese further teaches wherein selecting a non-minimal path between a source VRG and a destination VRG in a cyclic set that passes through only one switch in a pass-through VRG in the cyclic set reduces path length variation (paragraphs [0040] and [0165]). The limitations of claim 7 are rejected in view of the analysis of claim 1 above, and the rationale to combine, as discussed in claim 1, applies here as well.
As to claim 8, Froese further teaches wherein sending packets from the source VRG in the cyclic set to the destination VRG through the one switch in the pass-through VRG further comprises avoiding hops on additional local links in the pass-through VRG (paragraphs [0040] and [0165]). The limitations of claim 8 are rejected in view of the analysis of claim 1 above, and the rationale to combine, as discussed in claim 1, applies here as well.
As to claim 9, Froese further teaches wherein avoiding hops on additional local links in the pass- through VRG further comprises reducing interference from other packet traffic (paragraphs [0040] and [0165]). The limitations of claim 9 are rejected in view of the analysis of claim 1 above, and the rationale to combine, as discussed in claim 1, applies here as well.
As to claim 10, Duan teaches wherein each VRG in the cyclic set has a plurality of switches with an all-to-all connection configuration (fig. 1).
As to claim 11, Duan teaches wherein each VRG in the cyclic set has a plurality of switches arranged as a two-tier fat tree (fig. 1 and paragraph [0114]).
As to claim 12, Duan teaches a multi-computer interconnection network, the network comprising:
multi-switch virtual router groups ('VRGs') interconnected to form a cyclic connection among the VRGs, wherein each switch comprises a switch core and a plurality of ports configured to receive and transmit packets (paragraph [0055]);
wherein a cyclic connection is formed by connecting one switch from each VRG in a cyclic set of VRGs to the same switch in every other VRG in the cyclic set (fig. 1); and wherein every VRG in the network has at least one cyclic connection with every other VRG in the network (fig. 1 and paragraph [0055]); and wherein each VRG has a plurality of switches (fig. 3, 102).
Duan does not explicitly teach VRG switches residing in different cyclic connections.
However, in the same field of endeavor (computer networks) Froese teaches each VRG has a plurality of switches residing in different cyclic connections (in fig. 6 the switches are connected in a cyclic connection, each separate group teaches a respective different cyclic connection) wherein each switch comprises a switch core and a plurality of ports configured to receive and transmit packets (fig. 2);
Based on Duan in view of Froese, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate VRG switches residing in different cyclic connections (taught by Froese) with communications between VRGs (taught by Duan) in order to improve local connections and performance as motivated by Froese (paragraph [0165]).
As to claim 13, Duan teaches wherein each switch maintains telemetry data at least two- hops downstream from the switch (paragraph [0056]).
As to claim 14, Duan teaches wherein each VRG in the cyclic set has a plurality of switches with an all-to-all connection configuration (paragraph [0056] and fig. 1).
As to claim 15, Duan teaches wherein each VRG in the cyclic set has a plurality of switches arranged as a two-tier fat tree (paragraph [0102] and fig. 1).
As to claim 16, Duan further teaches a system of routing in a multi-computer network comprising a plurality of multi- switch virtual router groups ('VRGs') interconnected to form a plurality of cyclic connections among the VRGs (fig. 1). Therefore, the limitations of claim 16 are substantially similar or broader in scope to claim 1. Please refer to claim 1 above.
As to claim 18, Froese further teaches further configured for avoiding hops on additional local links in the pass-through VRG (paragraphs [0040] and [0165]). The limitations of claim 18 are rejected in view of the analysis of claim 16 above, and the rationale to combine, as discussed in claim 1, applies here as well.
As to claim 19, Duan teaches wherein each VRG in the cyclic set has a plurality of switches with an all-to-all connection configuration (fig. 1).
As to claim 20, Duan teaches wherein each VRG in the cyclic set has a plurality of switches arranged as a two-tier fat tree (fig. 1 and paragraph [0102]).
As to claim 21, Duan teaches a system of routing in a multi-computer network comprising a plurality of multi- switch virtual router groups ('VRGs') interconnected to form a plurality of cyclic connections among the VRGs, wherein a cyclic connection is formed by at least three links connecting three switches in an all-to-all configuration and wherein each of the at least three switches resides in a different VRG and wherein every VRG in the network has at least one cyclic connection with every other VRG in the network (fig. 1, and paragraph [005]) , and wherein each VRG has a plurality of switches (fig. 3, 102), and wherein each switch comprises a switch core and a plurality of ports configured to receive and transmit packets (paragraph [0055]), the system configured for:
sending packets from a source VRG in the cyclic set to a destination VRG (paragraph [0056]).
Duan does not explicitly teach VRG switches residing in different cyclic connections, sending packets via a selected non-minimal path between a source VRG and a destination VRG based on telemetry data.
However, in the same field of endeavor (computer networks) Froese teaches each VRG has a plurality of switches residing in different cyclic connections (in fig. 6 the switches are connected in a cyclic connection, each separate group teaches a respective different cyclic connection) and wherein each switch comprises a switch core and a plurality of ports configured to receive and transmit packets (fig. 2);
selecting, in dependence upon two-hop telemetry data (paragraph [0160], “…Group load values, as noted above, can be exchanged across global links, and as shown, group_load values are transmitted from/received by each of switches 602, 604, and 606 from other groups/switches in the switch fabric…”, load values teaches telemetry data), a non-minimal path between a source VRG and a destination VRG in a cyclic set that passes through only one switch in a pass-through VRG in the cyclic set (paragraph [0165]); and sending packets from the source VRG in the cyclic set to the destination VRG through the one switch in the pass-through VRG, wherein the one switch in the pass-through VRG is the switch connected to the same switches in each of the VRGs of the cyclic set forming the cyclic connection (paragraph [0165], “…Global non-minimal routes take an indirect path through a root switch in an intermediate group…”).
Based on Duan in view of Froese, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate VRG switches residing in different cyclic connections, sending packets via a selected non-minimal path between a source VRG and a destination VRG based on telemetry data (taught by Froese) with communications between VRGs (taught by Duan) in order to improve local connections and performance by using alternate non-minimal routes to the destination and work around congestion in the network as motivated by Froese (paragraph [0165]).
As to claim 22, Duan teaches A method of routing in a multi-computer network comprising a plurality of multi- switch virtual router groups ('VRGs') interconnected by only cyclic connections among the VRGs, wherein a cyclic connection comprises a set of global links connecting a set of VRGs such that traffic amongst the VRGs may pass through any VRG of the set without the use of local links, and wherein every VRG in the network has at least one cyclic connection with every other VRG in the network (fig. 1, and paragraph [005]), and wherein each VRG has a plurality of switches (fig 3, 102), and wherein each switch comprises a switch core and a plurality of ports configured to receive and transmit packets (paragraph [0055]), the method comprising: sending packets from a source VRG in the cyclic set to a destination VRG (paragraph [0056]).
Duan does not explicitly teach VRG switches residing in different cyclic connections and sending packets based on a selected non-minimal path between a source VRG and a destination VRG.
However, in the same field of endeavor (computer networks) Froese teaches each VRG has a plurality of switches residing in different cyclic connections (in fig. 6 the switches are connected in a cyclic connection, each separate group teaches a respective different cyclic connection), and wherein each switch comprises a switch core and a plurality of ports configured to receive and transmit packets (fig. 2);
selecting a non-minimal path between a source VRG and a destination VRG in a cyclic set that passes through only one switch in a pass-through VRG in the cyclic set (paragraph [0165]); and sending packets from the source VRG in the cyclic set to the destination VRG through the one switch in the pass-through VRG, wherein the one switch in the pass-through VRG is the switch connected to the same switches in each of the VRGs of the cyclic set forming the cyclic connection (paragraph [0165], “…Global non-minimal routes take an indirect path through a root switch in an intermediate group…”).
Based on Duan in view of Froese, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate VRG switches residing in different cyclic connections and sending packets based on a selected non-minimal path between a source VRG and a destination VRG (taught by Froese) with communications between VRGs (taught by Duan) in order to improve local connections and performance by using alternate non-minimal routes to the destination and work around congestion in the network as motivated by Froese (paragraph [0165]).
Conclusion
/Abdulkader M Alriyashi/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447 5/29/2026