Detailed Action
Status of Claims
This is the first office action on the merits. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and addressed below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/31/2023 & 07/30/2024 has being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed towards an abstract idea.
Step 1 of the USPTO’s eligibility analysis entails considering whether the claimed subject matter falls within the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter identified by 35 U.S.C. 101: Process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.
Claims 1, 7-8, 14, 20 are directed to a method (process) and a system (machine or manufacture), respectively. As such, the claims are directed to statutory categories of invention.
If the claim recites a statutory category of invention, the claim requires further analysis in Step 2A. Step 2A of the 2019 Revised Patent SUBJECT Matter Eligibility Guidance is a two-prong inquiry. In Prong One, examiners evaluate whether the claim recites a judicial exception
The claim(s) recite(s) abstract limitations including:
Claim 1: performing…a reservoir simulation based on a reservoir model of the field; determining…the new well drilling schedule comprises…; generating…a first sweet spot map for drilling the first new well…; generating…a first well trajectory…; generating…a first simulation result of the reservoir simulation
Claim 7: determining…the new well drilling schedule comprises drilling a second new well…; generating…a second sweet spot map…; generating….a second well trajectory….; generating…a second simulation result….
Claim 8: a reservoir simulation is performed…based on a reservoir model of the field; generating…a first sweet spot map for drilling the first new well…; generating…a first well trajectory; a first simulation result…is generated based at least on the first well trajectory
Claim 14: performing…a reservoir simulation…; determining…the new well drilling schedule comprises drilling…; generating….a first sweet spot map…; generating…a first well trajectory...; generating…a first simulation result…;
Claim 20: determining…that the new well drilling schedule comprises…; generating…a second sweet spot map…; generating….a second well trajectory….; generating…a second simulation result….
These limitations, as drafted, are abstract mental processes that, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitations in the mind, or by a human using pen and paper, and therefore recite mental processes. More specifically, nothing in the claim element precludes the aforementioned steps from practically being performed in the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper. The mere recitation of generic computing elements and/or sensors does not take the claim out of the mental process grouping. Thus the claim recites an abstract idea.
If the claim recites a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea enumerated in Section I of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon), the claim requires further analysis in Prong Two. In Prong Two, examiners evaluate whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception.
Claims 1, 7-8, 14, 20 recites the additional element of:
Claim 1:
A first new well which merely links said method to a particular technical environment or field of use;
Obtaining a field development plan of the field, the field development plan comprising a new well drilling schedule for a multi-year duration; a sequence of simulation time steps corresponding to a sequence of time points in the multi-year duration which are considered an insignificant extra solution activity;
Based on the first sweet spot map; based at least on the first well trajectory…;Drilling based at least on the first simulation result and at the first time point of the multi-year duration, the first new well according to the first well trajectory in the field amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception.
Claim 7:
Based on the second sweet spot map, based at least on the second well trajectory…; Drilling, based at least on the second simulation result and at the second time point of the multi-year duration, the second new well according to the second well trajectory in the field amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception.
Claim 8:
A computer processor; memory… are recited at a high level of generality and amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception.
Obtaining a field development plan of the field, the field development plan comprising a new well drilling schedule for a multi-year duration; a sequence of simulation time steps corresponding to a sequence of time points in the multi-year duration which are considered an insignificant extra solution activity;
Drilling…the first new well at a first time point corresponding to a first simulation time step of the sequence of simulation time steps; based on the first sweet spot map; the first new well is drilled, based at least on the first simulation result… amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception.
Claim 14:
A wellsite, a reservoir simulator, a well design and placement analyzer which merely links said method to a particular technical environment or field of use;
Obtaining a field development plan of the field, the field development plan comprising a new well drilling schedule for a multi-year duration; a sequence of simulation time steps corresponding to a sequence of time points in the multi-year duration which are considered an insignificant extra solution activity;
Drilling…the first new well at a first time point corresponding to a first simulation time step of the sequence of simulation time steps; the first new well is drilled, based at least on the first simulation result… amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception.
Claim 20:
Based on the first sweet spot map; based on at least the first well trajectory…; Drilling, based at least on the first simulation result and the first time point of the multi-year duration, the second new well according to the second well trajectory in the field amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception.
If the additional elements do not integrate the exception into a practical application, then the claim is directed to the recited judicial exception, and requires further analysis under Step 2B to determine whether they provide an inventive concept (i.e., whether the additional elements amount to significantly more than the exception itself).
Claim 1:
With respect, A first new well merely link the method to a particular environment or field of use. As they merely confine the use of the abstract idea to a particular technical field of use they fail to add an invention concept to the claim. These limitations represent mere token acquiescence to limiting the reach of the claim (see Flook and MPEP 2106.5(h)).
As discussed above, Obtaining a field development plan of the field, the field development plan comprising a new well drilling schedule for a multi-year duration; a sequence of simulation time steps corresponding to a sequence of time points in the multi-year duration step is considered an insignificant extra-solution activity as the limitations do not amount to more than mere data gathering. Given the generality of the data acquisition, and the type of data collected, these limitations do not contain significantly more to provide a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(g)) As noted in Electric Power Group, selecting information, based on types of information and availability of information for collection, analysis, and display is considered insignificant extra solution activity (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Additionally, the Symantec, TLI, OIP Techs. And buySAFE court decisions cited in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that mere receiving or transmitting data over a network is considered insignificant extra solution activity
Regarding the recited process in the Based on the first sweet spot map; based at least on the first well trajectory…;Drilling, based at least on the first simulation result and at the first time point of the multi-year duration, the first new well according to the first well trajectory in the field which are considered an insignificant extra solution activity is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to any possible outcome being considered an appropriate action which is a form of insignificant extra-solution action and does not explicitly disclose an appropriate action in the operation of the wellbore (e.g., a practical application). As such, the foregoing additional element does not amount to more than a recitation of the words “apply it”.
Claim 7:
Regarding the recited process in the Based on the second sweet spot map, based at least on the second well trajectory…; Drilling, based at least on the second simulation result and at the second time point of the multi-year duration, the second new well according to the second well trajectory in the field which are considered an insignificant extra solution activity is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to any possible outcome being considered an appropriate action which is a form of insignificant extra-solution action and does not explicitly disclose an appropriate action in the operation of the wellbore (e.g., a practical application). As such, the foregoing additional element does not amount to more than a recitation of the words “apply it”.
Claim 8:
With respect A computer processor; memory… this element is recited at a high level of generality such amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Additionally, the specification fails to disclose that these elements are anything other than a generic database. (see MPEP2106.05(f)).
As discussed above, Obtaining a field development plan of the field, the field development plan comprising a new well drilling schedule for a multi-year duration; a sequence of simulation time steps corresponding to a sequence of time points in the multi-year duration step is considered an insignificant extra-solution activity as the limitations do not amount to more than mere data gathering. Given the generality of the data acquisition, and the type of data collected, these limitations do not contain significantly more to provide a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(g)) As noted in Electric Power Group, selecting information, based on types of information and availability of information for collection, analysis, and display is considered insignificant extra solution activity (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Additionally, the Symantec, TLI, OIP Techs. And buySAFE court decisions cited in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that mere receiving or transmitting data over a network is considered insignificant extra solution activity
Regarding the recited process in the Drilling…the first new well at a first time point corresponding to a first simulation time step of the sequence of simulation time steps; based on the first sweet spot map; the first new well is drilled, based at least on the first simulation result… which are considered an insignificant extra solution activity is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to any possible outcome being considered an appropriate action which is a form of insignificant extra-solution action and does not explicitly disclose an appropriate action in the operation of the wellbore (e.g., a practical application). As such, the foregoing additional element does not amount to more than a recitation of the words “apply it”.
Claim 14:
With respect, A wellsite, a reservoir simulator, a well design and placement analyzer merely link the method to a particular environment or field of use. As they merely confine the use of the abstract idea to a particular technical field of use they fail to add an invention concept to the claim. These limitations represent mere token acquiescence to limiting the reach of the claim (see Flook and MPEP 2106.5(h)).
Furthermore, with respect to a reservoir simulator, a well design and placement analyzer these elements are recited at a high level of generality such amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Additionally, the specification fails to disclose that these elements are anything other than a generic database. (see MPEP2106.05(f)).
As discussed above, Obtaining a field development plan of the field, the field development plan comprising a new well drilling schedule for a multi-year duration; a sequence of simulation time steps corresponding to a sequence of time points in the multi-year duration step is considered an insignificant extra-solution activity as the limitations do not amount to more than mere data gathering. Given the generality of the data acquisition, and the type of data collected, these limitations do not contain significantly more to provide a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(g)) As noted in Electric Power Group, selecting information, based on types of information and availability of information for collection, analysis, and display is considered insignificant extra solution activity (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Additionally, the Symantec, TLI, OIP Techs. And buySAFE court decisions cited in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that mere receiving or transmitting data over a network is considered insignificant extra solution activity
Regarding the recited process in the Drilling…the first new well at a first time point corresponding to a first simulation time step of the sequence of simulation time steps; the first new well is drilled, based at least on the first simulation result… which are considered an insignificant extra solution activity is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to any possible outcome being considered an appropriate action which is a form of insignificant extra-solution action and does not explicitly disclose an appropriate action in the operation of the wellbore (e.g., a practical application). As such, the foregoing additional element does not amount to more than a recitation of the words “apply it”.
Claim 20:
Regarding the recited process in the Based on the second sweet spot map, based at least on the second well trajectory…; Drilling, based at least on the second simulation result and at the second time point of the multi-year duration, the second new well according to the second well trajectory in the field which are considered an insignificant extra solution activity is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to any possible outcome being considered an appropriate action which is a form of insignificant extra-solution action and does not explicitly disclose an appropriate action in the operation of the wellbore (e.g., a practical application). As such, the foregoing additional element does not amount to more than a recitation of the words “apply it”.
Therefore, the claim does not provide an inventive concept (significantly more than the abstract idea). The claim is ineligible.
Thus, even when viewed as an ordered combination, nothing in the claims add significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea.
The various metrics of claims 1-6, 9-13, 16-19 merely narrow the recitation of the specific variables and data limitations are insufficient as “merely selecting information, by content or source, for collection, analysis, and display does nothing significant to differentiate a process from ordinary mental processes, whose implicit exclusion from §101 undergirds the information-based category of abstract ideas," (See Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1355 (Fed. Cir. 2016)).
Additionally, the various metrics of claims 1-6, 9-13, 16-19 characterize the measuring and acquiring of the data and apply the data of the previously recited abstract idea limitations (e.g. further characterizing the data manipulation)
Similar to claim 1, 8, 15 this recitation does not provide a practical application of the abstract idea, and is not significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-11, 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mustapha (US Pub No 20240110469 PCT filing 02/7/2022 PCT/US2022/070550).
Mustapha discloses in claim 1. A method to perform drilling operations in a field, comprising:
obtaining a field development plan of the field, the field development plan comprising a new well drilling schedule for a multi-year duration (Mustapha [0098]-[0101] & [0118] disclose the use of field development and optimization of well placement for reservoir predictions);
performing, through a sequence of simulation time-steps corresponding to a sequence of time points in the multi-year duration (Mustapha [0068] time series data), a reservoir simulation based on a reservoir model of the field (Mustapha [0004] [0102] A reservoir model is used as an input to develop a reservoir simulation with time series predictions of production data);
determining, during a first simulation time-step of the reservoir simulation, that the new well drilling schedule comprises drilling a first new well at a first time point corresponding to the first simulation time-step (Mustapha [0004] [0102] A reservoir model is used as an input to develop a reservoir simulation with time series predictions of production data by adding infill wells and the impact on the reservoir production);
generating, in response to said determining, a first sweet spot map for drilling the first new well (Mustapha [0100] generating a reservoir opportunity index map from the simulation), the first sweet spot map excludes a first plurality of existing well locations in the reservoir model at the first simulation time-step (Mustapha [0100] generating a reservoir opportunity index map from the simulation [0101] maps can utilize some and/or all wells in the current field);
generating, based on the first sweet spot map, a first well trajectory of the first new well for adding to the reservoir model (Mustapha [0114] well trajectory design is implemented within the simulation for production purposes);
generating, based at least on the first well trajectory of the first new well added to the reservoir model, a first simulation result of the reservoir simulation (Mustapha [0114] well trajectory design is implemented within the simulation for production purposes and simulated with the candidate well to forecast production);
and drilling, based at least on the first simulation result and at the first time point of the multi-year duration, the first new well according to the first well trajectory in the field (Mustapha Fig 10; [0109] flowchart for drilling a well based on the model and simulation results for location and design).
Mustapha discloses in claim 2. The method of claim 1, wherein generating the first sweet spot map is further in response to a request specified in the new well drilling schedule to optimize well placement of the first new well (Mustapha Fig 10; 1018 ranking candidate wells based on production or performance forecasts).
Mustapha discloses in claim 3. The method of claim 1, wherein generating the first sweet spot map for drilling the first new well is based on a reservoir opportunity index (Mustapha [0100] generating a reservoir opportunity index map from the simulation).
Mustapha discloses in claim 4. The method of claim 1, wherein generating the first well trajectory of the first new well comprises: generating, using a pre-determined clustering algorithm (Mustapha [0090] statistical clustering used in machine learning for the simulation [0114] well trajectory design is implemented within the simulation for production purposes and simulated with the candidate well to forecast production), a plurality of clusters of the first sweet spot map (Mustapha Fig 8; 808 [0094] [0096] [0098] clustering techniques used to train the model to develop the reservoir map and then fed into well placement selection); and generating a plurality of well paths from the plurality of clusters, wherein the first well trajectory is generated based on the plurality of well paths (Mustapha Fig 8; 808 [0094] [0096] [0098] clustering techniques used to train the model to develop the reservoir map and then fed into well placement selection [0114] well trajectory design is implemented within the simulation for production purposes and simulated with the candidate well to forecast production).
Mustapha discloses in claim 7. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
further determining, during a second simulation time-step of the reservoir simulation subsequent to the first simulation time-step (Mustapha [0068] time series data), that the new well drilling schedule comprises drilling a second new well at a second time point corresponding to the second simulation time-step (Mustapha [0004] [0102] A reservoir model is used as an input to develop a reservoir simulation with time series predictions of production data);
generating, in response to said further determining, a second sweet spot map for drilling the second new well (Mustapha [0100] generating a reservoir opportunity index map from the simulation), the second sweet spot map excludes a second plurality of existing well locations in the reservoir model at the second simulation time-step (Mustapha [0100] generating a reservoir opportunity index map from the simulation [0101] maps can utilize some and/or all wells in the current field), the second plurality of existing well locations comprise the first well trajectory of the first new well (Mustapha [0114] well trajectory design is implemented within the simulation for production purposes and simulated with the candidate well to forecast production);
generating, based on the second sweet spot map, a second well trajectory of the second new well for adding to the reservoir model (Mustapha [0114] well trajectory design is implemented within the simulation for production purposes);
generating, based at least on the second well trajectory of the second new well added to the reservoir model, a second simulation result of the reservoir simulation (Mustapha [0114] well trajectory design is implemented within the simulation for production purposes and simulated with the candidate well to forecast production);
and drilling, based at least on the second simulation result and at the second time point of the multi-year duration, the second new well according to the second well trajectory in the field (Mustapha Fig 10; [0109] flowchart for drilling a well based on the model and simulation results for location and design).
Mustapha discloses in claim 8. A well design and placement analyzer to facilitate drilling operations in a field, comprising:
a computer processor (Mustapha Fig 11; 904); and
memory storing instructions (Mustapha Fig 11; 906), when executed by the computer processor comprising functionality for:
obtaining a field development plan of the field, the field development plan comprising a new well drilling schedule for a multi-year duration (Mustapha [0098]-[0101] & [0118] disclose the use of field development and optimization of well placement for reservoir predictions);
wherein a reservoir simulation is performed through a sequence of simulation time-steps corresponding to a sequence of time points in the multi-year duration based on a reservoir model of the field (Mustapha [0004] [0102] A reservoir model is used as an input to develop a reservoir simulation with time series predictions of production data),
and wherein the new well drilling schedule comprises drilling a first new well at a first time point corresponding to a first simulation time-step of the sequence of simulation time-steps (Mustapha Fig 10; [0109] flowchart for drilling a well based on the model and simulation results for location and design);
generating, during the first simulation time-step, a first sweet spot map for drilling the first new well (Mustapha [0100] generating a reservoir opportunity index map from the simulation), the first sweet spot map excludes a first plurality of existing well locations in the reservoir model at the first simulation time-step (Mustapha [0100] generating a reservoir opportunity index map from the simulation [0101] maps can utilize some and/or all wells in the current field); and
generating, based on the first sweet spot map, a first well trajectory of the first new well for adding to the reservoir model (Mustapha [0114] well trajectory design is implemented within the simulation for production purposes), wherein a first simulation result of the reservoir simulation is generated based at least on the first well trajectory of the first new well added to the reservoir model (Mustapha [0114] well trajectory design is implemented within the simulation for production purposes and simulated with the candidate well to forecast production); and
wherein the first new well is drilled, based at least on the first simulation result and at the first time point of the multi-year duration, according to the first well trajectory in the field (Mustapha Fig 10; [0109] flowchart for drilling a well based on the model and simulation results for location and design).
Mustapha discloses in claim 9. The well design and placement analyzer of claim 8, wherein generating the first sweet spot map is further in response to a request specified in the new well drilling schedule to optimize well placement of the first new well (Mustapha Fig 10; 1018 ranking candidate wells based on production or performance forecasts).
Mustapha discloses in claim 10. The well design and placement analyzer of claim 8, wherein generating the first sweet spot map for drilling the first new well is based on a reservoir opportunity index (Mustapha [0100] generating a reservoir opportunity index map from the simulation).
Mustapha discloses in claim 11. The well design and placement analyzer of claim 8, wherein generating the first well trajectory of the first new well comprises: generating, using a pre-determined clustering algorithm (Mustapha [0090] statistical clustering used in machine learning for the simulation [0114] well trajectory design is implemented within the simulation for production purposes and simulated with the candidate well to forecast production), a plurality of clusters of the first sweet spot map (Mustapha Fig 8; 808 [0094] [0096] [0098] clustering techniques used to train the model to develop the reservoir map and then fed into well placement selection); and generating a plurality of well paths from the plurality of clusters, wherein the first well trajectory is generated based on the plurality of well paths (Mustapha Fig 8; 808 [0094] [0096] [0098] clustering techniques used to train the model to develop the reservoir map and then fed into well placement selection [0114] well trajectory design is implemented within the simulation for production purposes and simulated with the candidate well to forecast production).
Mustapha discloses in claim 14. A system comprising:
a wellsite (Mustapha Fig 3a; 302) for performing drilling operations in a field (Mustapha Fig 3a; [0057] wellsites for operations);
a reservoir simulator (See Below) comprising the functionality for:
obtaining a field development plan of the field, the field development plan comprising a new well drilling schedule for a multi-year duration (Mustapha [0098]-[0101] & [0118] disclose the use of field development and optimization of well placement for reservoir predictions);
performing, through a sequence of simulation time-steps corresponding to a sequence of time points in the multi-year duration (Mustapha [0068] time series data), a reservoir simulation based on a reservoir model of the field (Mustapha [0004] [0102] A reservoir model is used as an input to develop a reservoir simulation with time series predictions of production data); and
determining, during a first simulation time-step of the reservoir simulation, that the new well drilling schedule comprises drilling a first new well at a first time point corresponding to the first simulation time-step (Mustapha [0004] [0102] A reservoir model is used as an input to develop a reservoir simulation with time series predictions of production data by adding infill wells and the impact on the reservoir production); and
a well design and placement analyzer (See below) comprising the functionality for:
generating, in response to said determining, a first sweet spot map for drilling the first new well (Mustapha [0100] generating a reservoir opportunity index map from the simulation), the first sweet spot map excludes a first plurality of existing well locations in the reservoir model at the first simulation time-step (Mustapha [0100] generating a reservoir opportunity index map from the simulation [0101] maps can utilize some and/or all wells in the current field); and
generating, based on the first sweet spot map, a first well trajectory of the first new well for adding to the reservoir model (Mustapha [0114] well trajectory design is implemented within the simulation for production purposes),
wherein the reservoir simulator further comprising the functionality for generating, based at least on the first well trajectory of the first new well added to the reservoir model, a first simulation result of the reservoir simulation (Mustapha [0114] well trajectory design is implemented within the simulation for production purposes and simulated with the candidate well to forecast production), and
wherein the first new well is drilled, based at least on the first simulation result and at the first time point of the multi-year duration, at the wellsite according to the first well trajectory (Mustapha Fig 10; [0109] flowchart for drilling a well based on the model and simulation results for location and design).
Mustapha discloses in claim 15. The system of claim 14, wherein generating the first sweet spot map is further in response to a request specified in the new well drilling schedule to optimize well placement of the first new well.
Mustapha discloses in claim 16. The system of claim 14, wherein generating the first sweet spot map for drilling the first new well is based on a reservoir opportunity index (Mustapha Fig 10; 1018 ranking candidate wells based on production or performance forecasts).
Mustapha discloses in claim 17. The system of claim 14, wherein generating the first well trajectory of the first new well comprises: generating, using a pre-determined clustering algorithm (Mustapha [0090] statistical clustering used in machine learning for the simulation [0114] well trajectory design is implemented within the simulation for production purposes and simulated with the candidate well to forecast production), a plurality of clusters of the first sweet spot map (Mustapha Fig 8; 808 [0094] [0096] [0098] clustering techniques used to train the model to develop the reservoir map and then fed into well placement selection); and generating a plurality of well paths from the plurality of clusters, wherein the first well trajectory is generated based on the plurality of well paths (Mustapha Fig 8; 808 [0094] [0096] [0098] clustering techniques used to train the model to develop the reservoir map and then fed into well placement selection [0114] well trajectory design is implemented within the simulation for production purposes and simulated with the candidate well to forecast production).
Mustapha discloses in claim 20. The system of claim 14, wherein the reservoir simulator further comprises the functionality for further determining, during a second simulation time-step of the reservoir simulation subsequent to the first simulation time-step (Mustapha [0068] time series data), that the new well drilling schedule comprises drilling a second new well at a second time point corresponding to the second simulation time-step (Mustapha [0004] [0102] A reservoir model is used as an input to develop a reservoir simulation with time series predictions of production data);
generating, in response to said further determining, a second sweet spot map for drilling the second new well (Mustapha [0100] generating a reservoir opportunity index map from the simulation), the second sweet spot map excludes a second plurality of existing well locations in the reservoir model at the second simulation time-step (Mustapha [0100] generating a reservoir opportunity index map from the simulation [0101] maps can utilize some and/or all wells in the current field), the second plurality of existing well locations comprise the first well trajectory of the first new well (Mustapha [0114] well trajectory design is implemented within the simulation for production purposes and simulated with the candidate well to forecast production);
generating, based on the second sweet spot map, a second well trajectory of the second new well for adding to the reservoir model (Mustapha [0114] well trajectory design is implemented within the simulation for production purposes);
generating, based at least on the second well trajectory of the second new well added to the reservoir model, a second simulation result of the reservoir simulation (Mustapha [0114] well trajectory design is implemented within the simulation for production purposes and simulated with the candidate well to forecast production);
and drilling, based at least on the second simulation result and at the second time point of the multi-year duration, the second new well according to the second well trajectory in the field (Mustapha Fig 10; [0109] flowchart for drilling a well based on the model and simulation results for location and design).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 12, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mustapha as applied to claims 4, 11, 17 above, and further in view of Ramey (US Pub No 20220083873).
Mustapha discloses in claim 5. The method of claim 4, Mustapha discloses the statistical methodology of clustering and regression (Mustapha Fig 8; 808 [0090] [0094] [0096] [0098] clustering techniques used to train the model to develop the reservoir map and then fed into well placement selection) and generating a plurality of well paths from the plurality of clusters, wherein the first well trajectory is generated based on the plurality of well paths (Mustapha Fig 8; 808 [0094] [0096] [0098] clustering techniques used to train the model to develop the reservoir map and then fed into well placement selection [0114] well trajectory design is implemented within the simulation for production purposes and simulated with the candidate well to forecast production).
However, Mustapha does not disclose utilizing a pre-determined regression algorithm to each of the clusters for generating the plurality of well paths.
However, Ramey teaches: applying a pre-determined regression algorithm to each of the plurality of clusters to generate a regression line segment (Ramey [0040] [0158] [0165] auto regression applied to time series data to generate linear extrapolation can be used in combination with other statistical techniques);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mustapha to include a pre-determined regression algorithm as taught by Ramey for the purpose of determining which input features have the most significant impact on the well output characteristics (Ramey [0040])
Mustapha discloses in claim 12. The well design and placement analyzer of claim 11, Mustapha discloses the statistical methodology of clustering and regression (Mustapha Fig 8; 808 [0090] [0094] [0096] [0098] clustering techniques used to train the model to develop the reservoir map and then fed into well placement selection) and generating a plurality of well paths from the plurality of clusters, wherein the first well trajectory is generated based on the plurality of well paths (Mustapha Fig 8; 808 [0094] [0096] [0098] clustering techniques used to train the model to develop the reservoir map and then fed into well placement selection [0114] well trajectory design is implemented within the simulation for production purposes and simulated with the candidate well to forecast production).
However, Mustapha does not disclose utilizing a pre-determined regression algorithm to each of the clusters for generating the plurality of well paths.
However, Ramey teaches: applying a pre-determined regression algorithm to each of the plurality of clusters to generate a regression line segment (Ramey [0040] [0158] [0165] auto regression applied to time series data to generate linear extrapolation can be used in combination with other statistical techniques);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mustapha to include a pre-determined regression algorithm as taught by Ramey for the purpose of determining which input features have the most significant impact on the well output characteristics (Ramey [0040])
Mustapha discloses in claim 18. The system of claim 17, Mustapha discloses the statistical methodology of clustering and regression (Mustapha Fig 8; 808 [0090] [0094] [0096] [0098] clustering techniques used to train the model to develop the reservoir map and then fed into well placement selection) and generating a plurality of well paths from the plurality of clusters, wherein the first well trajectory is generated based on the plurality of well paths (Mustapha Fig 8; 808 [0094] [0096] [0098] clustering techniques used to train the model to develop the reservoir map and then fed into well placement selection [0114] well trajectory design is implemented within the simulation for production purposes and simulated with the candidate well to forecast production).
However, Mustapha does not disclose utilizing a pre-determined regression algorithm to each of the clusters for generating the plurality of well paths.
However, Ramey teaches: applying a pre-determined regression algorithm to each of the plurality of clusters to generate a regression line segment (Ramey [0040] [0158] [0165] auto regression applied to time series data to generate linear extrapolation can be used in combination with other statistical techniques);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mustapha to include a pre-determined regression algorithm as taught by Ramey for the purpose of determining which input features have the most significant impact on the well output characteristics (Ramey [0040])
Claim(s) 6, 13, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mustapha et al as applied to claims 5, 12, 18 above, and further in view of Mukhtarov (US Pub No 20210382194).
Mustapha et al discloses in claim 6. The method of claim 5, wherein the pre-determined regression algorithm comprises autoregressive technique (Ramey [0040]) however, Mustapha in view of Ramey does not disclose the use of Orthogonal distance regression.
However, Mukhtarov teaches: Orthogonal Distance Regression (ODR) algorithm (Mukhtarov [0029] ODR helps define the idealized perfectly linear well trajectory).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mustapha et al to include orthongonal distance regression as taught by Mukhtarov for the purpose of defining a linear well trajectory ([0029])
Mustapha et al discloses in claim 13. The well design and placement analyzer of claim 12, wherein the pre-determined regression algorithm comprises autoregressive technique (Ramey [0040]) however, Mustapha in view of Ramey does not disclose the use of Orthogonal distance regression.
However, Mukhtarov teaches: Orthogonal Distance Regression (ODR) algorithm (Mukhtarov [0029] ODR helps define the idealized perfectly linear well trajectory).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mustapha et al to include orthongonal distance regression as taught by Mukhtarov for the purpose of defining a linear well trajectory ([0029])
Mustapha et al discloses in claim 19. The system of claim 18, wherein the pre-determined regression algorithm comprises autoregressive technique (Ramey [0040]) however, Mustapha in view of Ramey does not disclose the use of Orthogonal distance regression.
However, Mukhtarov teaches: Orthogonal Distance Regression (ODR) algorithm (Mukhtarov [0029] ODR helps define the idealized perfectly linear well trajectory).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mustapha et al to include orthongonal distance regression as taught by Mukhtarov for the purpose of defining a linear well trajectory ([0029])
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS D WLODARSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3672
/Nicole Coy/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3672