Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5,7-8,10,12-14,16,22-23,33,35,41-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by XUE et al (US 20220095369 A1) hereinafter as XUE in view of Shin et al (US 20230180342 A1) hereinafter as Shin.
Regarding claim(s) 1,7,41,42, XUE discloses a user device, UE, for a wireless communication network comprising: at least one antenna or at least one antenna array having a plurality of antenna elements; a signal processor; and a transceiver (See Fig(s). 4B with UEs having antenna for communications, See Fig(s). 7 with UE processor 702, and transceiver 710),
wherein the UE is to communicate with one or more network entities of the wireless communication network, like a base station or another UE (See Fig(s). 1, with UE 115c communicating with base station 105d and 115d),
wherein the UE is to receive from a network entity a transmission, the transmission including a control region, like a Physical Sidelink Control Channel, PSCCH, and a data region, like a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel, PSSCH (See Fig(s). 2, block 210, See ¶ 28, the PSCCH may carry sidelink control information (SCI) and the PSSCH may carry sidelink data (e.g., user data)…. See ¶ 60, slots 210 illustrates the slot as including a control region 212 and a data region 214. In general, the control region 212 may carry control channels (e.g., PDCCH, PSCCH, etc.), and the data region 214 may carry data channels (e.g., PDSCH, PUSCH, PSSCH, etc.);
wherein the transmission includes a first control message, like a 1s-stage SCI, in the control region, and a second control message, like a 2nd-stage SCI, in the data region (See Fig(s). 2 block 210, See ¶ 28, the SCI may include two stages of control information, the first control information SCI-1, carried over PSCCH, including occupancy and/or reservation information understood by receiving UEs and the second control information SCI-2, carried over PSSCH, including control information for targeted receives (i.e., receives that are to receive the data being transmitted via PSSCH).
XUE fails to disclose wherein the second control message " associated with inter-UE coordination information included in at least a part of the data region of the transmission, and wherein the inter-UE coordination information provide assistance in a form of a set of resources to be available or non-available for use by the UE.
Shin discloses wherein the second control message " associated with inter-UE coordination information included in at least a part of the data region of the transmission, and wherein the inter-UE coordination information provide assistance in a form of a set of resources to be available or non-available for use by the UE (See Fig(s). 8A, 10, See ¶ 296-297 . FIG. 10 shows a case in which UE-B receives resource allocation information from UE-A through inter-UE coordination. In the disclosure, time and frequency resource allocation information provided by UE-A to UE-B is called resource selection assistance information (RSAI)… UE coordination is performed within the data region See ¶ 60, In particular, discontinuous reception (DRX) between UEs may be considered in sidelink communication. Applying the DRX can minimize the power consumption of UE and thereby increase battery efficiency. Specifically, the power consumed in a reception process of UE in a sidelink may be subdivided into SCI1 and SCI2.)
The use of inter-UE coordination with information assistance regarding resource availability minimizes power consumption of UEs and thereby increase battery efficiency.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Shin within XUE, by incorporating the use of inter-UE coordination with information assistance regarding resource availability minimizing power consumption of UEs and thereby increasing battery efficiency.
Regarding claim(s) 2, Shin discloses wherein the inter-UE coordination information comprises control information useful to the UE, the inter-UE coordination information being transmitted in the data region, and being different from any payload to be transmitted in the data region (See Fig(s). 10, See ¶ 296-297,303 According to FIG. 10, UE-B may request the RSAI from UE-A. The RSAI request may be made through SCI,). Reasons for combining same as claim 1.
Regarding claim(s) 3, Shin discloses wherein the first control message includes a parameter indicating a format of the second control message present in the data region, the parameter indicating that the second control message includes the inter-UE coordination information and occupies all of the resources allocated in the data region of the transmission, and responsive to the parameter, the UE is not to expect receiving any payload data in the data region but the only inter-UE coordination information, like an assistance information message, AIM (See Fig(s). 10, See ¶ 92, 296-297,303 According to FIG. 10, UE-B may request the RSAI from UE-A. The RSAI request may be made through SCI, further the use of DRX is variable See ¶ 9-11 where no payload may be transmitted between UEs). Reasons for combining same as claim 1.
.
Regarding claim(s) 4, 33, XUE discloses wherein the first control message includes a parameter indicating the second control message format present in the data region, the parameter indicating that the second control message is associated with control data included in at least a part of the data region of the transmission, See ¶ 28, the SCI may include two stages of control information, the first control information SCI-1, carried over PSCCH, including occupancy and/or reservation information understood by receiving UEs and the second control information SCI-2, carried over PSSCH, including control information for targeted receives…further See ¶ 89,118,147, for contention window to obtain access to reserved resources),
the second control message includes information to be used for decoding the control data present in the data region (See ¶ 86), and responsive to the parameter, the UE is not to expect receiving any payload data in some or all of the data region but the control data, like an AIM, and is to use the information from the second control message for decoding the control data present in the data region(See ¶ 30).
Xue while fails to disclose second control message for decoding information to be used for decoding the inter-UE coordination information present in the data region.
Shin discloses wherein the second control message second control message for decoding information to be used for decoding the inter-UE coordination information present in the data region, (See Fig(s). 8A, 10, See ¶ 296-297 . FIG. 10 shows a case in which UE-B receives resource allocation information from UE-A through inter-UE coordination. In the disclosure, time and frequency resource allocation information provided by UE-A to UE-B is called resource selection assistance information (RSAI)… UE coordination is performed within the data region See ¶ 60, In particular, discontinuous reception (DRX) between UEs may be considered in sidelink communication. Applying the DRX can minimize the power consumption of UE and thereby increase battery efficiency. Specifically, the power consumed in a reception process of UE in a sidelink may be subdivided into SCI1 and SCI2.). Reasons for combining same as claim 1.
Regarding claim(s) 5,16,23, Xue discloses wherein the second control message includes one or more destination identifications, IDs, indicating one or more UEs to which the inter-Ue coordination information in the data region of the transmission is directed, or one or more group IDs indicating one or more groups of UEs to which the control data in the data region of the transmission is directed (See ¶ 62, groupcast communication.. See ¶ 84 with SL UE identifiers), and the UE is to decode the control data from the data region of the transmission in case the second control message includes a destination ID that matches an ID of the UE or a group ID of a group of which the UE is a member (See ¶ 84, 86, after the reservation of the PSSCH transmission resource for use by the first SL UE to transmit the first TB transmission to the second SL UE (e.g., via control messages such as but not limited to SCI messages, etc.), the second SL UE may attempt to decode the first TB transmission.).
Shin discloses wherein the second control message second control message for decoding information to be used for decoding the inter-UE coordination information (See Fig(s). 8A, 10, See ¶ 296-297 . FIG. 10 shows a case in which UE-B receives resource allocation information from UE-A through inter-UE coordination. In the disclosure, time and frequency resource allocation information provided by UE-A to UE-B is called resource selection assistance information (RSAI)… UE coordination is performed within the data region See ¶ 60, In particular, discontinuous reception (DRX) between UEs may be considered in sidelink communication. Applying the DRX can minimize the power consumption of UE and thereby increase battery efficiency. Specifically, the power consumed in a reception process of UE in a sidelink may be subdivided into SCI1 and SCI2.). Reasons for combining same as claim 1.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XUE et al (US 20220095369 A1) hereinafter as XUE in view of Shin et al (US 20230180342 A1) hereinafter as Shin further in view of Mallick et al (USP 12156211 B2) hereinafter as 12156211 B2.
Regarding claim(s) 6, Mallick discloses wherein the first control message includes a portion of a destination ID or a group ID (See ¶ 93,113, the first information comprises at least a portion of a destination identifier, and the at least a portion of the destination identifier is used by the second sidelink device to determine the request for feedback.) , and the UE is to determine the transmission to be relevant to the UE from the decoded first control message when the portion of the destination ID or the group ID is associated with an ID of the UE (See Fig(s). 4, relevant based on signaling for feedback from second UE to first UE see block 404).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Mallick within XUE, for the second UE to determine a request for feedback by the first UE.
Regarding claim(s) 8, Xue discloses wherein the first control message includes a parameter pointing to the second control message, and wherein the second control message includes a parameter pointing to one of the at least one further second control message (See Fig(s). 6, See ¶ 79,83, 91).
Regarding claim(s) 10, Shin discloses wherein the second control message includes inter-UE coordination information and occupies some of the resources allocated in the data region of the transmission (See Fig(s). 8A, 10, See ¶ 296-297 . FIG. 10 shows a case in which UE-B receives resource allocation information from UE-A through inter-UE coordination. In the disclosure, time and frequency resource allocation information provided by UE-A to UE-B is called resource selection assistance information (RSAI)… UE coordination is performed within the data region See ¶ 60, In particular, discontinuous reception (DRX) between UEs may be considered in sidelink communication. Applying the DRX can minimize the power consumption of UE and thereby increase battery efficiency. Specifically, the power consumed in a reception process of UE in a sidelink may be subdivided into SCI1 and SCI2.) Reasons for combining same as claim 1.
Regarding claim(s) 12, XUE discloses wherein the first control message " indicates a number of second control messages in the transmission associated with the first control message, and/or " includes a multi-second control message format indicator indicating the presence of and/or the formats of the second control messages (See ¶ 77, an enhanced DCI including the DCI 3-0 format message to the second SL UE 406a . . . 406n to reserve the PSSCH for use by the first SL UE 404a . . . 404n to transmit a TB to the second SL UE 406a . . . 406n, i.e., to provide the second SL UE 406a . . . 406n information related to the time-frequency resources of the PSSCH) .
Regarding claim(s) 13, XUE discloses wherein the transmission comprises one or more MAC elements, like a MAC PDU or a MAC header, indicating one or more UEs or one or more groups of UEs to which the control data in the data region of the transmission is directed, and the UE is to decode from the data region of the transmission the control data indicated by the MAC header to be directed to the UE (See ¶ 66, the MAC addresses of the sender and receiver, along with other control information like the frame type, sequence number, and QoS control.).
Xue fails to disclose inter-UE coordination information
Shin disclose inter-UE coordination information (See Fig(s). 8A, 10, See ¶ 296-297 . FIG. 10 shows a case in which UE-B receives resource allocation information from UE-A through inter-UE coordination. In the disclosure, time and frequency resource allocation information provided by UE-A to UE-B is called resource selection assistance information (RSAI)… UE coordination is performed within the data region See ¶ 60). Reasons for combining same as claim 1.
Regarding claim(s) 14, XUE discloses wherein the CRC of the second control message and/or a further second control message is scrambled with one or more destination identifications, IDs, indicating one or more UEs to which the control data in the data region of the transmission is directed, or one or more group IDs indicating one or more groups of UEs to which the control data in the data region of the transmission is directed, and/or the UE is to blindly decode the data region to obtain control data from the data region of the transmission that is relevant for the UE (See ¶ 84-86, transmission of scrambled DMRS).
Xue fails to disclose inter-UE coordination information
Shin disclose inter-UE coordination information (See Fig(s). 8A, 10, See ¶ 296-297 . FIG. 10 shows a case in which UE-B receives resource allocation information from UE-A through inter-UE coordination. In the disclosure, time and frequency resource allocation information provided by UE-A to UE-B is called resource selection assistance information (RSAI)… UE coordination is performed within the data region See ¶ 60). Reasons for combining same as claim 1.
Regarding claim(s) 22, XUE discloses wherein the second control message and/or a further second control message use one or more first aggregation levels being different from a second aggregation level used by a second control message, the one or more first aggregation levels being the same or different dependent on the nature of the control messages or the channel conditions between the source network entity sending the transmission and the UE (See ¶ 33,151, A node accessing channels of unlicensed bands for smaller time granularity (e.g., μs-level) using LBE-based LBT procedures may, however, cause other nodes that access channels for larger time granularities (e.g., 1 ms level) to starve for channel access, as the latter nodes may be in inferior position to access the channels compared to the former nodes.).
Regarding claim(s) 35, XUE discloses a plurality of user devices, UEs, configured for a sidelink communication using, for example resources from a set of sidelink resources of the wireless communication system, wherein the plurality of UEs comprises one or more UEs of wherein the plurality of UEs comprises one or more UEs of wherein the plurality of UEs comprises one or more of the further UEs (See Fig(s). 1, with plurality of UEs 115i-115k).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8,10,12-14,16,22-23,33,35,41-42 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejections are necessitated by Applicants amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAJ JAIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411