DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/09/2026 have been fully and are persuasive. The previous office action has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chandrasekaran et al. (USPGPub 2017/0255915).
As per claim 1, Chandrasekaran teaches a method comprising:
receiving, by a computing device, from a user device located at a premises and via a router located at the premises, (Chandrasekaran, see paragraph [0027], payment processing system the beacon device code and/or the random nonce broadcasted by the beacon device (Note: the beacon device is the router here)) a first message requesting access to a service, wherein the first message comprises an identifier associated with the user device (Chandrasekaran, see paragraph [0027], transmits to the payment processing system a request for user payment account data associated with user computing devices currently at the merchant system location)
sending, to the router, a second message comprising a code and an instruction to transmit the code at the premises (Chandrasekaran, see paragraph [0027], The payment processing system periodically configures a merchant beacon code and/or a random nonce at appropriate time intervals for the merchant beacon device and transmits the beacon code and/or random nonce to the merchant beacon device at the appropriate time intervals)
receiving, by the computing device, from the user device and via the router, a third message comprising the code (Chandrasekaran, see, paragraph [0036], The payment processing system receives the merchant beacon device code, the user account identifier, and the current logged location data from the user computing device via a network) and
determining, based on receiving the third message comprising the code, that the user device is located at the premises (Chandrasekaran, see, paragraph [0036] The payment processing system maintains a database that associates received user account identifiers associated with user computing devices with associated received merchant beacon device codes, and received current logged location data. For example, for each transmission of data received from a user computing device associated with a particular user account identifier, the payment processing system associates the received merchant beacon device code and received current logged location data with the particular user account identifier in the database (The payment system here determines the user is located at the location)).
As per claim 2, Chandrasekaran teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first message further comprises an obfuscated network address associated with the router, and wherein the method further comprises: based on determining that the obfuscated network address is not associated with a user account, (Chandrasekaran, see paragraph [0175], For example, the payment information may be obfuscated, occluded, or truncated. For example, the merchant POS device 130 may only receive abbreviated payment information sufficient for a user 101 to identify a payment account via the user interface 135.) determining user account information associated with the identifier associated with the user device; determining, based on the user account information associated with the identifier, a known network address associated with the router; and sending the second message to the router based on the known network address of the router (Chandrasekaran, see, paragraph [0176] In block 1020, the merchant point of sale device 130 displays accounts of the selected user 101. In an example, the merchant POS device 130 does not display complete account information of the user 101 on the user interface 135. For example, for a credit card account, the merch credit card, last four digits of the credit card number, and the expiration date) ant POS device user interface 135 may display only the name associated with the
As per claim 3, Chandrasekaran teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the obfuscated network address is obfuscated by a relay server or a VPN device. (Chandrasekaran, see paragraph [0175], For example, the payment information may be obfuscated, occluded, or truncated. For example, the merchant POS device 130 may only receive abbreviated payment information sufficient for a user 101 to identify a payment account via the user interface 135. Also see VPN in paragraph [0050])
As per claim 4, Chandrasekaran teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the code comprises at least one of: a random secret code, a token, a numeric code, an alpha-numeric code, or a key. (Chandrasekaran, see paragraph [0033], generate an encrypted nonce to transmit to the merchant beacon device using an encryption key shared between the payment processing system and the point of sale device associated with the merchant beacon device).
As per claim 5, Chandrasekaran teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the determining the user account information associated with the identifier comprises: sending, by the computing device and to an account database, the identifier; and receiving, by the computing device and from the account database, the user account information (Chandrasekaran, see paragraph [0006], at a time after transmitting the first user account information, a request for second user account information, said request comprising the service computing device identifier and a second user account identifier; and in response to determining that the received service computing device identifier is designated as an approved service computing device identifier, transmit, to the service computing device, the second user account information).
As per claim 6, Chandrasekaran teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the determining the known network address associated with the router comprises: sending, by the computing device, to a service provider gateway, the user account information; receiving, by the computing device, from the service provider gateway, the known network address of the router associated with the user account information. (Chandrasekaran, see paragraph [0006], at a time after transmitting the first user account information, a request for second user account information, said request comprising the service computing device identifier and a second user account identifier; and in response to determining that the received service computing device identifier is designated as an approved service computing device identifier, transmit, to the service computing device, the second user account information).
As per claim 7, Chandrasekaran teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the determining that the user device is located at the premises comprises determining that the code in the third message matches the code in the second message. (Chandrasekaran, see paragraph [0038], the payment processing system identifies user account identifiers associated with user computing devices from which the matching beacon device code has been received and having location data within a threshold proximity to an expected location of the merchant beacon device)
As per claim 8, Chandrasekaran teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the known network address of the router comprises an internet protocol (IP) address. (Chandrasekaran, see paragraph [0037], … a username and password associated with the merchant point of sale device, an IP address associated with the merchant point of sale device, the merchant beacon device code and/or a decrypted random nonce)
As per claim 9, Chandrasekaran teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising causing, by the computing device and based on determining that the user device is located at the premises, sending of requested content to the user device. (Chandrasekaran, see, paragraph [0036] The payment processing system maintains a database that associates received user account identifiers associated with user computing devices with associated received merchant beacon device codes, and received current logged location data. For example, for each transmission of data received from a user computing device associated with a particular user account identifier, the payment processing system associates the received merchant beacon device code and received current logged location data with the particular user account identifier in the database (The payment system here determines the user is located at the location)).
As per claim 10,
[Rejection rational for claim 1 is applicable].
As per claim 11, Chandrasekaran teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the code is transmitted by one of: a broadcast transmission; or a multicast transmission. (Chandrasekaran, see paragraph [0037], nonce broadcasted by the merchant beacon device)
As per claim 12, Chandrasekaran teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the code comprises a random secret code (Chandrasekaran, see paragraph [0008], …the random nonce broadcasted by the beacon device at the first system location. For example, the beacon device suffers a power outage and is unable to broadcast the beacon device code and/or the random nonce at the first system location)
As per claim 13, Chandrasekaran teaches the method of claim 10, further comprising: based on sending the third message comprising the code, receiving requested content from the computing device; and sending the requested content to the user device. (Chandrasekaran, see, paragraph [0036] The payment processing system maintains a database that associates received user account identifiers associated with user computing devices with associated received merchant beacon device codes, and received current logged location data. For example, for each transmission of data received from a user computing device associated with a particular user account identifier, the payment processing system associates the received merchant beacon device code and received current logged location data with the particular user account identifier in the database (The payment system here determines the user is located at the location)).
As per claim 14, Chandrasekaran teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the known network address of the router comprises an internet protocol (IP) address. (Chandrasekaran, see paragraph [0037], … a username and password associated with the merchant point of sale device, an IP address associated with the merchant point of sale device, the merchant beacon device code and/or a decrypted random nonce)
As per claim 15, Chandrasekaran teaches the method of claim 10, further comprising causing, based on sending the first message, the router to listen for the second message. (Chandrasekaran, see paragraph [0054], listens for radio signals from the merchant beacon device 120 and/or the merchant point of sale device 130)
As per claim 16, Chandrasekaran teaches a method comprising:
receiving, by a computing device, from a user device located at a premises and via a router located at the premises, (Chandrasekaran, see paragraph [0027], payment processing system the beacon device code and/or the random nonce broadcasted by the beacon device (Note: the beacon device is the router here)) a first message requesting access to a service, wherein the first message comprises an identifier associated with the user device; (Chandrasekaran, see paragraph [0027], transmits to the payment processing system a request for user payment account data associated with user computing devices currently at the merchant system location)
sending, to the router, a second message comprising a code and an instruction to transmit the code at the premises; (Chandrasekaran, see paragraph [0027], The payment processing system periodically configures a merchant beacon code and/or a random nonce at appropriate time intervals for the merchant beacon device and transmits the beacon code and/or random nonce to the merchant beacon device at the appropriate time intervals)
determining, based on a failure to receive, from the user device and via the router, a third message comprising the code, that the user device is not located at the premises. (Chandrasekaran, see paragraph [0170], If only a single user 101 account is identified, … If the picture doesn't match, then the merchant POS device 130 operator may cancel the transaction, notify the user 101 of the discrepancy).
As per claim 17, Chandrasekaran teaches the method of claim 16, wherein the code comprises a random secret code. (Chandrasekaran, see paragraph [0008], …the random nonce broadcasted by the beacon device at the first system location. For example, the beacon device suffers a power outage and is unable to broadcast the beacon device code and/or the random nonce at the first system location)
As per claim 18, Chandrasekaran teaches the method of claim 16, further comprising: sending, by the computing device and to an account database, the identifier associated with the user device; and receiving, by the computing device and from the account database, user account information. (Chandrasekaran, see, paragraph [0036], The payment processing system receives the merchant beacon device code, the user account identifier, and the current logged location data from the user computing device via a network)
As per claim 19, Chandrasekaran teaches the method of claim 18, further comprising: sending, by the computing device, to a service provider gateway, the user account information; receiving, by the computing device, from the service provider gateway, a known network address of the router associated with the user account information; and sending the second message to the router using the known network address of the router. (Chandrasekaran, see paragraph [0006], at a time after transmitting the first user account information, a request for second user account information, said request comprising the service computing device identifier and a second user account identifier; and in response to determining that the received service computing device identifier is designated as an approved service computing device identifier, transmit, to the service computing device, the second user account information).
As per claim 20, Chandrasekaran teaches the method of claim 15, wherein determining that the user device is not located at the premises comprises determining that a third message comprising the code was not received within a predetermined amount of time. (Chandrasekaran, see paragraph [0028], [0029] the payment processing system deletes a particular listing in the hardware identifier whitelist when a threshold period of time after the time associated with the current timestamp associated with the listing passes).
Conclusion
/HERMON ASRES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2449