DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 3, 6-18, 20-21, 23, 26-31, 34-45, 47-51, and 53-89 are cancelled.
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 19, 22, 24-25, 32-33, 46, 52, and 90-97 are pending.
Claim 1-2, 4-5, 19, 22, 24-25, 32-33, 46, 52, and 90-97 are pending.
Upon further consideration, the claims are no longer considered free of the prior art (see 103 below).
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 19, 22, 24-25, 32-33, 46, 52, and 90-97 are rejected.
Claim Objections
Claim 33 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 33 recites “The method of claim 32:” which should read “The method of claim 32,” to improve consistency of the claim structure across the claim set. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 52 and 97 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a natural phenomenon without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) “A seed, protein, or oil composition or a plant product produced from the plant or plant part of claim 1, or produced from a population of plants or plant parts comprising the plant or plant part of claim 1” (claim 52); and “The seed, protein, or oil composition or the plant product of claim 52, wherein the plant product is feed” (claim 97). The claims encompass many products that would be identical to those found in nature. For example, the claims encompass any protein produced from the plant or plant part such as, e.g. glycinin, which would be structurally identical to a naturally occurring glycinin found in wild soybean (Glycine soja). This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims are drawn to a product, and no additional elements or limitations are required that would make the product structurally different from that of a naturally occurring product.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 19, 22, 24, 32-33, 46, 52, and 90-97 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takagi (Takagi, K., Nishizawa, K., Hirose, A., Kita, A., & Ishimoto, M. (2011). Manipulation of saponin biosynthesis by RNA interference-mediated silencing of β-amyrin synthase gene expression in soybean. Plant cell reports, 30(10), 1835-1846.), Arora (Arora, L., & Narula, A. (2017). Gene editing and crop improvement using CRISPR-Cas9 system. Frontiers in plant science, 8, 1932.), Hassan (Hassan, M. M., Zhang, Y., Yuan, G., De, K., Chen, J. G., Muchero, W., ... & Yang, X. (2021). Construct design for CRISPR/Cas-based genome editing in plants. Trends in Plant Science, 26(11), 1133-1152.), and GenBank Accession No. NM_001249662.2 (Glycine max beta-amyrin synthase (AMS1), mRNA, published online 04/29/2021).
Regarding claims 1 and 22, Takagi teaches transforming soybean plants with RNAi vectors targeting GmBAS1 that silence GmBAS1 expression and reduce saponin content in soybean plants (title, abstract) (i.e. a plant or plant part comprising decreased beta-amyrin synthase (BAS) activity compared to a control plant or plant part). Takagi teaches some transgenic lines produced seeds with hypocotyls and cotyledons almost devoid of saponins which includes at least βg, βa, and αg as compared to controls (abstract and Fig. 6) (i.e. wherein the level or activity of a BAS protein is reduced and wherein the total saponin content or DDMP saponin content is reduced by at least 75% in the plant or plant part as compared to a control plant or plant part without said mutation).
Regarding claim 2, Takagi teaches with regard to the food industry, saponins are considered unwanted components of soybean seed and are the main cause of an undesirable taste (p. 1836, ¶1). Because Takagi teaches saponin is the main cause of undesirable taste and also teaches some transgenic lines produced seeds almost devoid of saponins compared to controls, the plant or plant part is interpreted to comprise improved flavor characteristics compared to a control plant or plant part.
Regarding claims 19 and 46, Takagi teaches multiple of the GmBAS1 targeted RNAi soybean lines had decreased saponin content (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 32, Takagi teaches transforming soybean plants with the RNAi construct and regenerating the plants (p. 1837, section titled Soybean transformation).
Regarding claim 52, Takagi teaches saponin content in RNAi plants produced from T1 and T3 seeds that had decreased saponin content (Fig. 6a-b). Thus, Takagi teaches a seed produced from the plant or plant part of claim 1.
Regarding claim 90, Takagi teaches the plant is soybean (title, abstract) (i.e. a legume).
Regarding claims 92 and 95, Takagi teaches the lowest observed saponin content was in the line named a6-1, which had nearly undetectable peaks for saponin content in hypocotyls and cotyledons compared to controls that had 2.86 mg/g and about 37 mg/g (Fig. 5, p. 1841 ¶1) determined by LC-MS/MS. The line was determined to have which had 0.5% total saponin content in cotyledons compared to the control (Fig. 6), and therefore the plant or plant part is interpreted to have approximately 0.0143 mg/g total saponin content in cotyledons.
Regarding claim 93, Takagi teaches transforming embryos with the RNAi construct and regenerating plant from the embryos (p. 1837, section titled Soybean transformation) (i.e. introducing a genetic mutation that decreases BAS activity into a plant cell, and regenerating said plant or plant part from said plant cell).
Regarding claim 96, Takagi teaches the T3 seed also had decreased saponin content, and is therefore interpreted to comprises the RNAi construct reducing BAS activity.
Regarding claim 97, Because Takagi teaches seeds produced from the plant or plant part of claim 1, and the seeds are plant products and soybean seeds are consumable and consumed by humans and animals, the seeds of claim 52 are also interpreted to be a plant product that is feed.
However, Takagi does not explicitly teach:
wherein said plant or plant part comprises a non-natural genetic mutation that decreases the BAS activity, wherein the non-natural mutation is located at least partially in a nucleic acid region of exon 2, 4, or 7 of a Glycine max BAS1 gene, and wherein an expression level of said mutated Glycine max BAS1 gene is reduced compared to a corresponding Glycine max BAS1 gene without said mutation, or level or activity of a BAS protein encoded by said mutated Glycine max BAS1 gene is reduced compared to a BAS protein encoded by a corresponding Glycine max BAS1 gene without said mutation (remaining limitations of claim 1). This is because Takagi uses RNAi-mediated gene silencing to reduce expression rather than introducing a mutation into the gene.
wherein the mutation comprises a deletion of about 4-78 nucleotides at least partially in the nucleic acid region of exon 7 of the Glycine max BAS1 gene, a substitution in the nucleic acid region of exon 4 of the Glycine max BAS1 gene, or a substitution in the nucleic acid region of exon 2 of the Glycine max BAS1 gene (claim 4)
The method of claim 22, further comprising (a) introducing editing reagents or a nucleic acid construct encoding said editing reagents into said plant, plant part, or plant cell, or (b) contacting the plant or plant part with a mutagen, thereby introducing said mutation into said plant or plant part (claim 32)
The method of claim 32 (a) wherein said editing reagents comprise at least one nuclease and one or more guide RNAs (gRNAs), wherein the nuclease cleaves a target site in a genome of said plant, plant part, or plant cell, and said mutation is introduced at said cleaved target site, or (b) wherein the mutagen is ethyl methanesulfonate (EMS) or N-ethyl-N-nitrosourea (ENU) (claim 33)
wherein said plant or plant part is a seed (claim 92). This is because Takagi does not test the saponin content of the physical seed itself (just cotyledons and hypocotyl from seed).
The method of claim 33, wherein the at least one nuclease comprises a CRISPR nuclease, or the one or more gRNAs (a) comprise a nucleic acid sequence complementary to a region of a genomic DNA sequence comprising said at least one native BAS gene or regulatory region thereof in said plant or plant part, (b) bind a nucleic acid region corresponding to exon 7 of at least one BAS gene, or (c) comprise a nucleic acid sequence encoded by (i) a nucleic acid sequence that shares at least 80% sequence identity with the nucleic acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 12 or (ii) a nucleic acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 12.
Regarding the remaining limitations of claims 1 and 22, in analogous art, Arora teaches CRISPR is a function alternative to RNAi to reduce/ eliminate gene expression, and CRISPR has replaced the RNA interference (RNAi) gene silencing technology for efficient and precise gene knockdown (p. 14). In other analogous art, Hassan teaches about CRISPR/Cas-base genome editing in plants (title), and efficient genome editing has been achieved in many dicot and monocot species using diverse CRISPR-Cas systems for fundamental research and crop improvement and the application of CRISPR-Cas technology in plants has been increased dramatically over the past few years (p. 1133). Hassan specifically teaches designing gRNAs to target exons, especially early exons, for generating knockouts/ loss of function via indels, and many software tools are available to help users design effective gRNAs (p. 1133, 1138, and Fig. 1). In other analogous art, GenBank Accession No. NM_001249662.2 teaches a Glycine max beta-amyrin synthase gene that also annotates all the 15 exons, which includes exons 2, 4, and 7 of the gene.
Regarding claims 4 and 24, Hassan teaches methods and editing reagents necessary to produce mutations including deletions of 1-80 nucleotides, which encompasses deletion of 4-78 nucleotides (Fig. 1E).
Regarding claim 32, Hassan also teaches most frequently, CRISPR reagents are delivered into plants via a construct harboring a Cas gene and at least one gRNA along with the components required for their expression (e.g., promoter, terminator) through Agrobacterium-mediated transformation or particle bombardment (i.e. introducing a nucleic acid construct encoding editing reagents into said plant, plant part, or plant cell) (p. 1134).
Regarding claim 33, Hassan teaches the Cas nuclease and at least one gRNA cleave a target site in a plant genome and can introduce mutations (wherein said editing reagents comprise at least one nuclease and one or more guide RNAs (gRNAs), wherein the nuclease cleaves a target site in a genome of said plant, plant part, or plant cell, and said mutation is introduced at said cleaved target site) (title, p. 1133-1134).
Regarding claim 94, Hassan teaches the nuclease is Cas (i.e. a CRISPR nuclease) (title, Fig. 1E, Table 1, whole document).
It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of as taught by Takagi to include the limitations of Arora, Hassan, and GenBank Accession No. NM_001249662.2 to arrive at the instantly claimed method with a reasonable expectation of success because Takagi teaches reducing beta amyrin synthase and saponin content in soybean plants via RNAi-mediated gene silencing, Arora teaches CRISPR has replaced the RNA interference (RNAi) gene silencing technology for efficient and precise gene knockdown, Hassan teaches the known, routine method of reducing gene expression in plants CRISPR/Cas-mediated gene editing that targets exons in detail, and the exons of the glycine max beta amyrin synthase gene are known and annotated. Incorporation of the method taught by Arora and Hassan and sequence taught by GenBank Accession No. NM_001249662.2 into the plant taught by Takagi could be achieved by one having ordinary skill in the art without encountering any special technical difficulties. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Takagi, Arora, and Hassan and target any of the exons including exons 2, 4, and 7 using CRISPR because Arora teaches CRISPR is an alternative method to RNAi that allows for efficient and precise gene knockdown, and it would be obvious to use one known functional alternative knockdown/knockout method over another for the same purpose, especially given that CRISPR is more efficient and precise and can overcome limitations of the RNAi method as taught by Arora (p. 14). Furthermore, mutations in exons, especially earlier exons, have a higher chance of resulting in knockout or loss of function as taught by Hassan (p. 1138). Hassan also provides methods to delete ranges of nucleotides (e.g. 1-80 bp) including those instantly claimed (Fig. 1E). For these reasons, the instantly claimed plant and method of producing it is obvious in view of the prior art.
Claim 91 is also obvious as a function of inherency because the obvious plant produced in view of Takagi, Arora, Hassan, and GenBank Accession No. NM_001249662.2 comprising the CRISPR-mediated knockout mutation in the GmBAS1 gene would reasonably be expected to produce seeds that carry the mutation as such inherently have decreased BAS expression and the total saponin content or DDMP saponin content is reduced by at least 75% in the plant or plant part as compared to a control plant or plant part without said mutation.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takagi (Takagi, K., Nishizawa, K., Hirose, A., Kita, A., & Ishimoto, M. (2011). Manipulation of saponin biosynthesis by RNA interference-mediated silencing of β-amyrin synthase gene expression in soybean. Plant cell reports, 30(10), 1835-1846.), Arora (Arora, L., & Narula, A. (2017). Gene editing and crop improvement using CRISPR-Cas9 system. Frontiers in plant science, 8, 1932.), Hassan (Hassan, M. M., Zhang, Y., Yuan, G., De, K., Chen, J. G., Muchero, W., ... & Yang, X. (2021). Construct design for CRISPR/Cas-based genome editing in plants. Trends in Plant Science, 26(11), 1133-1152.), GenBank Accession No. NM_001249662.2 (Glycine max beta-amyrin synthase (AMS1), mRNA, published online 04/29/2021), and GenBank Accession No. NC_038243.1 (GenBank Accession No. NC_038243.1, Glycine max cultivar Williams 82 chromosome 7, Glycine_max_v2.1, whole genome shotgun sequence, published online 09/06/2018).
Regarding claim 5, Takagi teaches transforming soybean plants with RNAi vectors targeting GmBAS1 that silence GmBAS1 expression and reduce saponin content in soybean plants compared to controls (title, abstract, p. 1841 right column).
However, Takagi does not explicitly teach wherein said plant or plant part comprises a non-natural genetic mutation that decreases the BAS activity, wherein the plant or plant part comprises any of the specified mutations recited in claim 5.
In analogous art, Arora teaches CRISPR is a function alternative to RNAi to reduce/ eliminate gene expression, and CRISPR has replaced the RNA interference (RNAi) gene silencing technology for efficient and precise gene knockdown (p. 14). In other analogous art, Hassan teaches about CRISPR/Cas-base genome editing in plants (title), and efficient genome editing has been achieved in many dicot and monocot species using diverse CRISPR-Cas systems for fundamental research and crop improvement and the application of CRISPR-Cas technology in plants has been increased dramatically over the past few years (p. 1133). Hassan specifically teaches designing gRNAs to target exons, especially early exons, for generating knockouts/ loss of function via indels, and many software tools are available to help users design effective gRNAs (p. 1133, 1138, and Fig. 1). In other analogous art, GenBank Accession No. NM_001249662.2 teaches a Glycine max beta-amyrin synthase gene, and also teaches the full length genomic sequence spans positions 132,978- 141,358 on GenBank Accession No. NC_038243.2 which comprises a sequence that is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 1 (see link to GeneID:547702 in the GenBank reference, and see alignment below). Furthermore, GenBank Accession No. NM_001249662.2 further teaches that nucleotides 4191 through 4195 of instant SEQ ID NO: 1 fall within the coding region of the beta-amyrin synthase gene at positions 1073-1077.
Query 4115 CACAGGAAGATCTTTACTATCCCCATCCTTTGATACAAGACCTAATATGGGATAGTTTAT 4174
|| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 997 CAAAGGAAGATCTTTACTATCCCCATCCTTTGATACAAGACCTAATATGGGATAGTTTAT 1056
Query 4175 ACATATTCACTGAACCGCTACTTACTCGTTGGCCTTTCAACAAGTTGATTAGAGAAAAGG 4234
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1057 ACATATTCACTGAACCGCTACTTACTCGTTGGCCTTTCAACAAGTTGATTAGAGAAAAGG 1116
Query 4235 CCCTTCAAGTAACTATGAAACATATTCATTATGAAGATGAGACTAGTCGATACATAACCA 4294
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1117 CCCTTCAAGTAACTATGAAACATATTCATTATGAAGATGAGACTAGTCGATACATAACCA 1176
Query 4295 TTGGTTGTGTGGAAAAGGT 4313
|||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1177 TTGGTTGTGTGGAAAAGGT 1195
Using a basic online translation tool, the 5 bp deletion would be predicted to cause a frameshift mutation in the protein sequence that also generates a premature stop codon.
It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of as taught by Takagi to include the limitations of Arora, Hassan, and GenBank Accession No. NM_001249662.2 to arrive at the instantly claimed method with a reasonable expectation of success because Takagi teaches reducing beta amyrin synthase and saponin content in soybean plants via RNAi-mediated gene silencing, Arora teaches CRISPR has replaced the RNA interference (RNAi) gene silencing technology for efficient and precise gene knockdown, Hassan teaches the known, routine method of reducing gene expression in plants CRISPR/Cas-mediated gene editing that targets exons in detail, and the exons of the glycine max beta amyrin synthase gene are known and annotated. Incorporation of the method taught by Arora and Hassan and sequence taught by GenBank Accession No. NM_001249662.2 into the plant taught by Takagi could be achieved by one having ordinary skill in the art without encountering any special technical difficulties. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Takagi, Arora, and Hassan and target any of the exons including exons using CRISPR because Arora teaches CRISPR is an alternative method to RNAi that allows for efficient and precise gene knockdown, and it would be obvious to use one known functional alternative knockdown/knockout method over another for the same purpose, especially given that CRISPR is more efficient and precise and can overcome limitations of the RNAi method as taught by Arora (p. 14). Furthermore, mutations in exons, especially earlier exons, have a higher chance of resulting in knockout or loss of function as taught by Hassan (p. 1138). Hassan also provides methods to delete ranges of nucleotides (e.g. 1-80 bp) including those instantly claimed (Fig. 1E). For these reasons, the instantly claimed plant is obvious in view of the prior art.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takagi, Arora, Hassan, and GenBank Accession No. NM_001249662.2 as applied to claims 22 and 24 above, and further in view of GenBank Accession No. NC_038243.1 (GenBank Accession No. NC_038243.1, Glycine max cultivar Williams 82 chromosome 7, Glycine_max_v2.1, whole genome shotgun sequence, published online 09/06/2018).
Regarding claim 25, Takagi, Arora, Hassan, and GenBank Accession No. NM_001249662.2 teach the limitations of claims 22 and 24 as set forth in the previous obviousness rejection. The teachings of Takagi, Arora, Hassan, and GenBank Accession No. NM_001249662.2 as they are applied to claims 22 and 24 are set forth previously herein and are incorporated by reference.
However, Takagi does not explicitly teach wherein the plant or plant part comprises any of the specified mutations recited in claim 25.
It is reiterated that in analogous art, Arora teaches CRISPR is a function alternative to RNAi to reduce/ eliminate gene expression, and CRISPR has replaced the RNA interference (RNAi) gene silencing technology for efficient and precise gene knockdown (p. 14). In other analogous art, Hassan teaches about CRISPR/Cas-base genome editing in plants (title), and efficient genome editing has been achieved in many dicot and monocot species using diverse CRISPR-Cas systems for fundamental research and crop improvement and the application of CRISPR-Cas technology in plants has been increased dramatically over the past few years (p. 1133). Hassan specifically teaches designing gRNAs to target exons, especially early exons, for generating knockouts/ loss of function via indels, and many software tools are available to help users design effective gRNAs (p. 1133, 1138, and Fig. 1). In other analogous art, GenBank Accession No. NM_001249662.2 teaches a Glycine max beta-amyrin synthase gene, and also teaches the full length genomic sequence of NM_001249662.2 spans positions 132,978- 141,358 on GenBank Accession No. NC_038243.2 which comprises a sequence that is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 1 (see link to GeneID:547702 in the GenBank reference, and see alignment below). Furthermore, GenBank Accession No. NM_001249662.2 further teaches that nucleotides 4191 through 4195 of instant SEQ ID NO: 1 fall within the coding region of the beta-amyrin synthase gene at positions 1073-1077.
Query 4115 CACAGGAAGATCTTTACTATCCCCATCCTTTGATACAAGACCTAATATGGGATAGTTTAT 4174
|| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 997 CAAAGGAAGATCTTTACTATCCCCATCCTTTGATACAAGACCTAATATGGGATAGTTTAT 1056
Query 4175 ACATATTCACTGAACCGCTACTTACTCGTTGGCCTTTCAACAAGTTGATTAGAGAAAAGG 4234
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1057 ACATATTCACTGAACCGCTACTTACTCGTTGGCCTTTCAACAAGTTGATTAGAGAAAAGG 1116
Query 4235 CCCTTCAAGTAACTATGAAACATATTCATTATGAAGATGAGACTAGTCGATACATAACCA 4294
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1117 CCCTTCAAGTAACTATGAAACATATTCATTATGAAGATGAGACTAGTCGATACATAACCA 1176
Query 4295 TTGGTTGTGTGGAAAAGGT 4313
|||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1177 TTGGTTGTGTGGAAAAGGT 1195
Using a basic online translation tool, the 5 bp deletion would be predicted to cause a frameshift mutation in the protein sequence that also generates a premature stop codon.
It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of as taught by Takagi to include the limitations of Arora, Hassan, and GenBank Accession No. NM_001249662.2 to arrive at the instantly claimed method with a reasonable expectation of success because Takagi teaches reducing beta amyrin synthase and saponin content in soybean plants via RNAi-mediated gene silencing, Arora teaches CRISPR has replaced the RNA interference (RNAi) gene silencing technology for efficient and precise gene knockdown, Hassan teaches the known, routine method of reducing gene expression in plants CRISPR/Cas-mediated gene editing that targets exons in detail, and the exons of the glycine max beta amyrin synthase gene are known and annotated. Incorporation of the method taught by Arora and Hassan and sequence taught by GenBank Accession No. NM_001249662.2 into the plant taught by Takagi could be achieved by one having ordinary skill in the art without encountering any special technical difficulties. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Takagi, Arora, and Hassan and target any of the exons including exons using CRISPR because Arora teaches CRISPR is an alternative method to RNAi that allows for efficient and precise gene knockdown, and it would be obvious to use one known functional alternative knockdown/knockout method over another for the same purpose, especially given that CRISPR is more efficient and precise and can overcome limitations of the RNAi method as taught by Arora (p. 14). Furthermore, mutations in exons, especially earlier exons, have a higher chance of resulting in knockout or loss of function as taught by Hassan (p. 1138). Hassan also provides methods to delete ranges of nucleotides (e.g. 1-80 bp) including those instantly claimed (Fig. 1E). For these reasons, the instantly claimed method is obvious in view of the prior art.
Alignments
Alignment of SEQ ID NO: 1 with genomic sequence of the soybean beta-amyrin synthase cDNA:
Query 1 ATGTGGAGGCTGAAGATAGCAGATGGAGGAAATGATCCATACATATTCAGCACAAACAAT 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 133052 ATGTGGAGGCTGAAGATAGCAGATGGAGGAAATGATCCATACATATTCAGCACAAACAAT 133111
Query 61 TTCGTTGGGAGGCAGACATGGGAGTTTGATCCTGAAGCAGGCAGTCCAGAGGAACGGGCC 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 133112 TTCGTTGGGAGGCAGACATGGGAGTTTGATCCTGAAGCAGGCAGTCCAGAGGAACGGGCC 133171
Query 121 CAGGTTGAAGCAGCTCGTCAGCATTTCTACCACAACCGCTTCAAGGTCAAGCCCTGCGCT 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 133172 CAGGTTGAAGCAGCTCGTCAGCATTTCTACCACAACCGCTTCAAGGTCAAGCCCTGCGCT 133231
Query 181 GACCTCCTTTGGCGTTTTCAGGTACCCTACGTTACCTATCTATTTCCCAACTTAATTTAA 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 133232 GACCTCCTTTGGCGTTTTCAGGTACCCTACGTTACCTATCTATTTCCCAACTTAATTTAA 133291
Query 241 TTACTCTCTCTTCTATTCTTATTTGCCCTACGCGTAGGTTCTCAGAGAAAATAACTTCAA 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 133292 TTACTCTCTCTTCTATTCTTATTTGCCCTACGCGTAGGTTCTCAGAGAAAATAACTTCAA 133351
Query 301 ACAAACAATTCCTCGTGTGACTATAGAAGATGGAGAGGAAATCACATACCAAAAAGTCAC 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 133352 ACAAACAATTCCTCGTGTGACTATAGAAGATGGAGAGGAAATCACATACCAAAAAGTCAC 133411
Query 361 AAGCGCCGTCAGAAGGGGCGCACACCACCTTGCGGCACTGCAGACCTCTGATGGCCATTG 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 133412 AAGCGCCGTCAGAAGGGGCGCACACCACCTTGCGGCACTGCAGACCTCTGATGGCCATTG 133471
Query 421 GCCTGCTCAAATTGCAGGTCCTCTCTTCTTTCTTCCTCCTTTGGTAAGTACTCACTACTC 480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 133472 GCCTGCTCAAATTGCAGGTCCTCTCTTCTTTCTTCCTCCTTTGGTAAGTACTCACTACTC 133531
Query 481 ACTACATTAGTTTATCATCGTGTTTCTCTTTTATTAATTCCATCTCATAAATAACAAAAC 540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 133532 ACTACATTAGTTTATCATCGTGTTTCTCTTTTATTAATTCCATCTCATAAATAACAAAAC 133591
Query 541 TAAATCCATTTGATTCCAGTTTTGCTTAGGAGTAAAACTAATTCAAATGAATCAATCATA 600
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 133592 TAAATCCATTTGATTCCAGTTTTGCTTAGGAGTAAAACTAATTCAAATGAATCAATCATA 133651
Query 601 TTACTGAATCATGTTAGTGTACAAACACGCGCGCATTCACCTTACCTACTTTTATGTTTC 660
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 133652 TTACTGAATCATGTTAGTGTACAAACACGCGCGCATTCACCTTACCTACTTTTATGTTTC 133711
Query 661 TCTTGTAAGCTACTTTATGTTACTTCTGCCTTAATTAATAACATCCTAAACAtttttttG 720
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 133712 TCTTGTAAGCTACTTTATGTTACTTCTGCCTTAATTAATAACATCCTAAACATTTTTTTG 133771
Query 721 GAttatttgtctctttaattctattatagtcattttttcatttcgtatagtttatatttt 780
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 133772 GATTATTTGTCTCTTTAATTCTATTATAGTCATTTTTTCATTTCGTATAGTTTATATTTT 133831
Query 781 agtttttttttattcttagtttatattttaattttttttaattttgaaagtgatattttt 840
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 133832 AGTTTTTTTTTATTCTTAGTTTATATTTTAATTTTTTTTAATTTTGAAAGTGATATTTTT 133891
Query 841 agttcctataatttatattttaattatcttttaattcatggtaaataaaatataaaaata 900
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 133892 AGTTCCTATAATTTATATTTTAATTATCTTTTAATTCATGGTAAATAAAATATAAAAATA 133951
Query 901 attaattataaattcttaactattttttattacaaattatcttgcaataaattaattata 960
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 133952 ATTAATTATAAATTCTTAACTATTTTTTATTACAAATTATCTTGCAATAAATTAATTATA 134011
Query 961 aattatttgttaatatttttataattaattataataaaaaatattaattatattttgatg 1020
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 134012 AATTATTTGTTAATATTTTTATAATTAATTATAATAAAAAATATTAATTATATTTTGATG 134071
Query 1021 ataatgactaaaataaaattaaaatataaaatacaagattaaaaaaaactactttaaaat 1080
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 134072 ATAATGACTAAAATAAAATTAAAATATAAAATACAAGATTAAAAAAAACTACTTTAAAAT 134131
Query 1081 tatatggattaaaatagaattaaaatgtaaattataaagaataaaaatatCATTTTCTTT 1140
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 134132 TATATGGATTAAAATAGAATTAAAATGTAAATTATAAAGAATAAAAATATCATTTTCTTT 134191
Query 1141 TACCTAAATGaaaaaaaaaattaaaatataaattataaggattaaaatattattttcaaa 1200
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 134192 TACCTAAATGAAAAAAAAAATTAAAATATAAATTATAAGGATTAAAATATTATTTTCAAA 134251
Query 1201 taactaaaaagtataaattataaaattataaagaataaataaataattattTTCTTTTTG 1260
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 134252 TAACTAAAAAGTATAAATTATAAAATTATAAAGAATAAATAAATAATTATTTTCTTTTTG 134311
Query 1261 TTTCAAGATATCCTAAACATACGCTTCATTGTtatatatatatataATCCAAATAAAACC 1320
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 134312 TTTCAAGATATCCTAAACATACGCTTCATTGTTATATATATATATAATCCAAATAAAACC 134371
Query 1321 AATATGACCAGTTTAAGCTAGTGGGTAGGCGCATATTAAAATAAAAAACACGAattatta 1380
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 134372 AATATGACCAGTTTAAGCTAGTGGGTAGGCGCATATTAAAATAAAAAACACGAATTATTA 134431
Query 1381 ttattattattattattattattattattattattattattattattattattatatGTT 1440
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 134432 TTATTATTATTATTATTATTATTATTATTATTATTATTATTATTATTATTATTATATGTT 134491
Query 1441 TTAAAGAACTCTGTCCTCAATCATTGTCTAATATAAGTTATTTGTTCATCAACAATCGAG 1500
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 134492 TTAAAGAACTCTGTCCTCAATCATTGTCTAATATAAGTTATTTGTTCATCAACAATCGAG 134551
Query 1501 ATAGTAATCAAATCAGTTAGAAATGTTGATATTGCATTTTATATCAATGTTTATATGCTT 1560
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 134552 ATAGTAATCAAATCAGTTAGAAATGTTGATATTGCATTTTATATCAATGTTTATATGCTT 134611
Query 1561 TTATTGTTTAATCTTTACATCTTCAAATTTATTTAAGATATGAGGACAAAATAAATAAAA 1620
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 134612 TTATTGTTTAATCTTTACATCTTCAAATTTATTTAAGATATGAGGACAAAATAAATAAAA 134671
Query 1621 TGAAAGGCATGTTGGGATAAGAAGAaatttttaattagcaaaaaaatagttatttctaaa 1680
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 134672 TGAAAGGCATGTTGGGATAAGAAGAAATTTTTAATTAGCAAAAAAATAGTTATTTCTAAA 134731
Query 1681 ataattttttattttattcgattaaatttttttacaacaaaatttagatataaatatcta 1740
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 134732 ATAATTTTTTATTTTATTCGATTAAATTTTTTTACAACAAAATTTAGATATAAATATCTA 134791
Query 1741 gatttttttGTTTGATTCTTTAATTTAAATGAAAATTTTATCTCACTAATTTATGTCAAT 1800
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 134792 GATTTTTTTGTTTGATTCTTTAATTTAAATGAAAATTTTATCTCACTAATTTATGTCAAT 134851
Query 1801 ATTTAATGTAAACTTTTATCATGTAAATGATTGATGTAAAATTCTAATTTTGATTACAAT 1860
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 134852 ATTTAATGTAAACTTTTATCATGTAAATGATTGATGTAAAATTCTAATTTTGATTACAAT 134911
Query 1861 AATATaaaaaaaaGACTGTTTCGTAGGTTTGACGTTTTTAATACATTTTAAAATTTTACG 1920
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 134912 AATATAAAAAAAAGACTGTTTCGTAGGTTTGACGTTTTTAATACATTTTAAAATTTTACG 134971
Query 1921 TCAAATCAATATTAGATGCGCAAAATTCAGATTGGACGTGGATCTACACGCACGTAGCGT 1980
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 134972 TCAAATCAATATTAGATGCGCAAAATTCAGATTGGACGTGGATCTACACGCACGTAGCGT 135031
Query 1981 TAATGACGAGGGTGTTGGCATAAATAAGAAATATACAAAAATGAAAGACGTCACTATCAT 2040
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 135032 TAATGACGAGGGTGTTGGCATAAATAAGAAATATACAAAAATGAAAGACGTCACTATCAT 135091
Query 2041 TATCTAAAATGGATAGTTTACAGGCTTGTTGATCATAATAATTTATTGGATTAATTAGtt 2100
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 135092 TATCTAAAATGGATAGTTTACAGGCTTGTTGATCATAATAATTTATTGGATTAATTAGTT 135151
Query 2101 tttttttAGTATTTATAAAATTTTAAATTTCAAGTATTAGTCTCTATaaaaaaaaTTATT 2160
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 135152 TTTTTTTAGTATTTATAAAATTTTAAATTTCAAGTATTAGTCTCTATAAAAAAAATTATT 135211
Query 2161 TAGTCTCATTAATTTTATTGCTCGTATTAATTTCTGAGCTAAAATTTTCTCTTATTGCCT 2220
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 135212 TAGTCTCATTAATTTTATTGCTCGTATTAATTTCTGAGCTAAAATTTTCTCTTATTGCCT 135271
Query 2221 ATTCTTAGATCCTTCTCTCTGGACTAATTATAAACAATAAAAATAAACAATACACCCAAA 2280
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 135272 ATTCTTAGATCCTTCTCTCTGGACTAATTATAAACAATAAAAATAAACAATACACCCAAA 135331
Query 2281 AATTAGAGGCAGTTCTTTATGTCAATTCTATACAATAAATCCTCAGTAAGCTCATAGTAT 2340
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 135332 AATTAGAGGCAGTTCTTTATGTCAATTCTATACAATAAATCCTCAGTAAGCTCATAGTAT 135391
Query 2341 ACTCTTTTaaaaaaaTACAAGTAATCACTTTCGTATTCTCTGACCAAATTTACTATCAAT 2400
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 135392 ACTCTTTTAAAAAAATACAAGTAATCACTTTCGTATTCTCTGACCAAATTTACTATCAAT 135451
Query 2401 TTAATTTTTAAATAATAATAATTATTAGAGAGTATAGATAAATTAGCTGATGATGCATGT 2460
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 135452 TTAATTTTTAAATAATAATAATTATTAGAGAGTATAGATAAATTAGCTGATGATGCATGT 135511
Query 2461 CTGGGATATATCAATTTTGTGaatattaaaaataaaataaaattatacattgataaaata 2520
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 135512 CTGGGATATATCAATTTTGTGAATATTAAAAATAAAATAAAATTATACATTGATAAAATA 135571
Query 2521 agataataattttacatcatcataacaaatcatTATTATGATAAGtttattaatttttat 2580
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 135572 AGATAATAATTTTACATCATCATAACAAATCATTATTATGATAAGTTTATTAATTTTTAT 135631
Query 2581 aataactatcttaataatcatactaataatgaattataactatcttaataattcatatGA 2640
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 135632 AATAACTATCTTAATAATCATACTAATAATGAATTATAACTATCTTAATAATTCATATGA 135691
Query 2641 ACAATGAATTATAATTATTAGATGTAATGTAAAattattttagattgtcagtacattgat 2700
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 135692 ACAATGAATTATAATTATTAGATGTAATGTAAAATTATTTTAGATTGTCAGTACATTGAT 135751
Query 2701 tattaaatttttatttttattttttttAAAGAAATTAGAAAATTGAAATTAAATTAAATA 2760
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 135752 TATTAAATTTTTATTTTTATTTTTTTTAAAGAAATTAGAAAATTGAAATTAAATTAAATA 135811
Query 2761 TGCAGCTTAGGTAATaaaaaaaTTAATATCCTTGGTCTCTTTTTTACGGAACTAAACTTA 2820
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 135812 TGCAGCTTAGGTAATAAAAAAATTAATATCCTTGGTCTCTTTTTTACGGAACTAAACTTA 135871
Query 2821 TAAAAGAATGAAATAGGGATTTATTCATTAACAGAATAATTCAGGTCATCATTTTATGCC 2880
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 135872 TAAAAGAATGAAATAGGGATTTATTCATTAACAGAATAATTCAGGTCATCATTTTATGCC 135931
Query 2881 ATACTCGACCATTAAATGAACATAAAAACTTAGTTATTGTACATGAAATTGAAAATGATC 2940
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 135932 ATACTCGACCATTAAATGAACATAAAAACTTAGTTATTGTACATGAAATTGAAAATGATC 135991
Query 2941 ACTATAATTAAGAATCCAAAATTATTTTCATTTTTTGTTTGCTCACAAGTACTCCTCTTT 3000
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 135992 ACTATAATTAAGAATCCAAAATTATTTTCATTTTTTGTTTGCTCACAAGTACTCCTCTTT 136051
Query 3001 TTTACATAATCATGAAATATCTCAGATATTTTGAACATCATATATATAAAATTCAAGTTC 3060
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 136052 TTTACATAATCATGAAATATCTCAGATATTTTGAACATCATATATATAAAATTCAAGTTC 136111
Query 3061 ATTATGCATATGCAATAACAAACATTAATTTTTACTTGTTGAAAATATTGCAGGTTTTTT 3120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 136112 ATTATGCATATGCAATAACAAACATTAATTTTTACTTGTTGAAAATATTGCAGGTTTTTT 136171
Query 3121 GTATGTATATTACAGGAAATCTTGAATCAGTATTTCCAGAAGAACATCGCAAAGAAATTC 3180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 136172 GTATGTATATTACAGGAAATCTTGAATCAGTATTTCCAGAAGAACATCGCAAAGAAATTC 136231
Query 3181 TTCGTTACACATATTATCACCAGGTATAATTATTCAATCTTAAGATACATTTGCTTAATC 3240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 136232 TTCGTTACACATATTATCACCAGGTATAATTATTCAATCTTAAGATACATTTGCTTAATC 136291
Query 3241 AAACATAATATAGAGAAACAAAATGTCAAATTTCTTGTATCTTTTAAACTTGTTGTACTT 3300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 136292 AAACATAATATAGAGAAACAAAATGTCAAATTTCTTGTATCTTTTAAACTTGTTGTACTT 136351
Query 3301 GTTTAACCATGAAGTTTATAATCTATTCATTGCAACAATAAATAATTAATATTAGCCCTT 3360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 136352 GTTTAACCATGAAGTTTATAATCTATTCATTGCAACAATAAATAATTAATATTAGCCCTT 136411
Query 3361 TTGTGCTTTCATTTAATTAAAGAATGAAGACGGAGGATGGGGACTACACATAGAGGGTCA 3420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 136412 TTGTGCTTTCATTTAATTAAAGAATGAAGACGGAGGATGGGGACTACACATAGAGGGTCA 136471
Query 3421 TAGCACTATGTTTTGTACTGCACTGAACTATATATGCATGCGAATGCTTGGAGAAGGACC 3480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 136472 TAGCACTATGTTTTGTACTGCACTGAACTATATATGCATGCGAATGCTTGGAGAAGGACC 136531
Query 3481 TAATGGAGGTCATGACAATGCTTGTGCTAGAGCAAGAAAGTGGATTCGAGATCATGGTGG 3540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 136532 TAATGGAGGTCATGACAATGCTTGTGCTAGAGCAAGAAAGTGGATTCGAGATCATGGTGG 136591
Query 3541 TGTAACACATATACCTTCATGGGGAAAAACTTGGCTTTCGGTATTATTCTTTTTTATATG 3600
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 136592 TGTAACACATATACCTTCATGGGGAAAAACTTGGCTTTCGGTATTATTCTTTTTTATATG 136651
Query 3601 AATACAAATACAAAAACTAATGAAACTATGATGTGTACTATTCATTTAAATGGATCTTGC 3660
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 136652 AATACAAATACAAAAACTAATGAAACTATGATGTGTACTATTCATTTAAATGGATCTTGC 136711
Query 3661 TCTTGTAGATACTCGGTGTATTTGATTGGTGCGGAAGCAACCCAATGCCCCCAGAGTTTT 3720
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 136712 TCTTGTAGATACTCGGTGTATTTGATTGGTGCGGAAGCAACCCAATGCCCCCAGAGTTTT 136771
Query 3721 GGATCCTTCCATCTTTTCTTCCTATGCATCCAGGTAGATTTAATTAATTTTATTTTGTCA 3780
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 136772 GGATCCTTCCATCTTTTCTTCCTATGCATCCAGGTAGATTTAATTAATTTTATTTTGTCA 136831
Query 3781 CTCTGTTTGGAATGATATATATTTAAATTGGTGAATATACAATATTTAATCATTAAATCT 3840
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 136832 CTCTGTTTGGAATGATATATATTTAAATTGGTGAATATACAATATTTAATCATTAAATCT 136891
Query 3841 CACTTCCACCTTAACTATTGTAGCTAAGATGTGGTGTTACTGTCGATTGGTATACATGCC 3900
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 136892 CACTTCCACCTTAACTATTGTAGCTAAGATGTGGTGTTACTGTCGATTGGTATACATGCC 136951
Query 3901 TATGTCTTACTTATATGGGAAGAGGTTTGTGGGTCCAATCACACCACTCATCTTACAATT 3960
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 136952 TATGTCTTACTTATATGGGAAGAGGTTTGTGGGTCCAATCACACCACTCATCTTACAATT 137011
Query 3961 AAGAGAAGAGTTGTTTACTCAACCTTATGAAAAAGTTAATTGGAAGAAAGCGCGTCACCA 4020
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 137012 AAGAGAAGAGTTGTTTACTCAACCTTATGAAAAAGTTAATTGGAAGAAAGCGCGTCACCA 137071
Query 4021 ATGTGCAAAGGTGAAAGACATATTTAATTAATCACAATGTGTGTGTGCACATATCTTTTT 4080
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 137072 ATGTGCAAAGGTGAAAGACATATTTAATTAATCACAATGTGTGTGTGCACATATCTTTTT 137131
Query 4081 TGCTATGAAAATGATAGTCGTTCATTATGTCAATCACAGGAAGATCTTTACTATCCCCAT 4140
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 137132 TGCTATGAAAATGATAGTCGTTCATTATGTCAATCACAGGAAGATCTTTACTATCCCCAT 137191
Query 4141 CCTTTGATACAAGACCTAATATGGGATAGTTTATACATATTCACTGAACCGCTACTTACT 4200
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 137192 CCTTTGATACAAGACCTAATATGGGATAGTTTATACATATTCACTGAACCGCTACTTACT 137251
Query 4201 CGTTGGCCTTTCAACAAGTTGATTAGAGAAAAGGCCCTTCAAGTAACTATGAAACATATT 4260
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 137252 CGTTGGCCTTTCAACAAGTTGATTAGAGAAAAGGCCCTTCAAGTAACTATGAAACATATT 137311
Query 4261 CATTATGAAGATGAGACTAGTCGATACATAACCATTGGTTGTGTGGAAAAGGTAGGTGTC 4320
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 137312 CATTATGAAGATGAGACTAGTCGATACATAACCATTGGTTGTGTGGAAAAGGTAGGTGTC 137371
Query 4321 ATAACAATAATGCATATTGAttttttttATCCTTATGAGTAAAATAAACTTTTTATTTTC 4380
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 137372 ATAACAATAATGCATATTGATTTTTTTTATCCTTATGAGTAAAATAAACTTTTTATTTTC 137431
Query 4381 CTTTTCAAGAGGGAATTCATTCAAATATGATACTAAAATGCATATAttttttttCCAGGT 4440
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 137432 CTTTTCAAGAGGGAATTCATTCAAATATGATACTAAAATGCATATATTTTTTTTCCAGGT 137491
Query 4441 TTTATGTATGCTTGCTTGTTGGGTGGAAGATCCAAACGGAGATGCTTTCAAGAAGCATCT 4500
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 137492 TTTATGTATGCTTGCTTGTTGGGTGGAAGATCCAAACGGAGATGCTTTCAAGAAGCATCT 137551
Query 4501 TGCAAGGGTCCCAGATTACTTATGGGTTTCTGAAGATGGAATGACCATGCAGGTATACGC 4560
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 137552 TGCAAGGGTCCCAGATTACTTATGGGTTTCTGAAGATGGAATGACCATGCAGGTATACGC 137611
Query 4561 GTGTGGGCACGTGCTATTATAACCAATTAGATACATTAATTATTTAATTAGTTTATTGAT 4620
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 137612 GTGTGGGCACGTGCTATTATAACCAATTAGATACATTAATTATTTAATTAGTTTATTGAT 137671
Query 4621 GCACTTATCTATATAATGCAGAGTTTTGGTAGCCAAGAATGGGATGCTGGCTTTGCTGTT 4680
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 137672 GCACTTATCTATATAATGCAGAGTTTTGGTAGCCAAGAATGGGATGCTGGCTTTGCTGTT 137731
Query 4681 CAAGCTTTGCTTGCCACTAACATAATTGAAGAAATTGGTCCTACGTTTGCAAAAGGACAT 4740
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 137732 CAAGCTTTGCTTGCCACTAACATAATTGAAGAAATTGGTCCTACGTTTGCAAAAGGACAT 137791
Query 4741 GATTTCATCAAGAAGTCTCAGGTTTGCTTAATATTTTTATAAGTATATAAAAGAATCCCA 4800
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 137792 GATTTCATCAAGAAGTCTCAGGTTTGCTTAATATTTTTATAAGTATATAAAAGAATCCCA 137851
Query 4801 GATCTTCTTCCTTCTAGTTATGGAGCAGAAATTCCCTAATAAACCTAGGTTTATCCAGAT 4860
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 137852 GATCTTCTTCCTTCTAGTTATGGAGCAGAAATTCCCTAATAAACCTAGGTTTATCCAGAT 137911
Query 4861 TGTACAATTAACTAATTAAGATATTTAAAATCCCTAAATCTTATTTACAGGGTGATCGAA 4920
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 137912 TGTACAATTAACTAATTAAGATATTTAAAATCCCTAAATCTTATTTACAGGGTGATCGAA 137971
Query 4921 TAAACTAAATAAAAACTATATAACTAATTACTTACTAATTCACCTAGCTACATAGTATTA 4980
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 137972 TAAACTAAATAAAAACTATATAACTAATTACTTACTAATTCACCTAGCTACATAGTATTA 138031
Query 4981 GTTGTAACTAGTATAATTATATTTTTGAATTGAAATGCATATTTATAATTGATTACTAAG 5040
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 138032 GTTGTAACTAGTATAATTATATTTTTGAATTGAAATGCATATTTATAATTGATTACTAAG 138091
Query 5041 TTGGTGTTTAACTATTTATTAGAGTATTGAATAATATGGTTGTTGTCTATATCTAGTAGT 5100
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 138092 TTGGTGTTTAACTATTTATTAGAGTATTGAATAATATGGTTGTTGTCTATATCTAGTAGT 138151
Query 5101 AATGAACTAGCATTTTCATTTTGTAGGCGAAGGATAACCCTTTTGGAGATTTTTATGAAT 5160
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 138152 AATGAACTAGCATTTTCATTTTGTAGGCGAAGGATAACCCTTTTGGAGATTTTTATGAAT 138211
Query 5161 TGGCATTCTTATTTTATAGGTGAAGGATAATCCTTTTGGAGATTTTAAAAGTATGCATCG 5220
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 138212 TGGCATTCTTATTTTATAGGTGAAGGATAATCCTTTTGGAGATTTTAAAAGTATGCATCG 138271
Query 5221 TCATATTTCTAAAGGGTCTTGGACATTCTCTGATCAAGACCATGGATGGCAAGTTTCTGA 5280
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 138272 TCATATTTCTAAAGGGTCTTGGACATTCTCTGATCAAGACCATGGATGGCAAGTTTCTGA 138331
Query 5281 TTGCACTGCAGAAGGTTTAAAGGTAGCCAACAACTTAGGTCATAAACAACTTAATCTAAA 5340
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 138332 TTGCACTGCAGAAGGTTTAAAGGTAGCCAACAACTTAGGTCATAAACAACTTAATCTAAA 138391
Query 5341 GCTTTGTTAATGATCACAACAAATATATGTTAATTTAACTAAAATTTTTGTGTTGTAGTG 5400
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 138392 GCTTTGTTAATGATCACAACAAATATATGTTAATTTAACTAAAATTTTTGTGTTGTAGTG 138451
Query 5401 TTGTCTACTTCTATCAATGTTGCCACCAGAGATTGTGGGAGAAAAGATGGAACCTGAAAG 5460
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 138452 TTGTCTACTTCTATCAATGTTGCCACCAGAGATTGTGGGAGAAAAGATGGAACCTGAAAG 138511
Query 5461 ATTATACGATTCAGTCAATGTCTTGTTGTCGCTTCAGGCAAGTACCATTAAGTTTAGAGA 5520
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 138512 ATTATACGATTCAGTCAATGTCTTGTTGTCGCTTCAGGCAAGTACCATTAAGTTTAGAGA 138571
Query 5521 AACGATTTATGTTATGAAATATTTTATAAAAAATTGTCTATAAATTGATAAAGGTTGGCA 5580
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 138572 AACGATTTATGTTATGAAATATTTTATAAAAAATTGTCTATAAATTGATAAAGGTTGGCA 138631
Query 5581 ACTAATGTTGATATAATCAGCTGTTTTTTCAAATCCAACACCACCTCATTTGTTCATGAT 5640
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 138632 ACTAATGTTGATATAATCAGCTGTTTTTTCAAATCCAACACCACCTCATTTGTTCATGAT 138691
Query 5641 TTGTGAAATTGGTTTTGTACAATATTACAATTCTCTTAAACTTATGTCCATATCCTTTTA 5700
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 138692 TTGTGAAATTGGTTTTGTACAATATTACAATTCTCTTAAACTTATGTCCATATCCTTTTA 138751
Query 5701 ATTAACCAATCATCAATCAACTAATGGCCCCTTTTCTTTGTTACTTAATATTTGATCAAT 5760
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 138752 ATTAACCAATCATCAATCAACTAATGGCCCCTTTTCTTTGTTACTTAATATTTGATCAAT 138811
Query 5761 AATAAGTTAGGGTTGTACAAAGGACTTTGATCATTGATGCtttatttacttttactacca 5820
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 138812 AATAAGTTAGGGTTGTACAAAGGACTTTGATCATTGATGCTTTATTTACTTTTACTACCA 138871
Query 5821 aatttatttttaactaaacaacattttttttATTGCAGAGTAAAAAAGGTGGTTTAGCAG 5880
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 138872 AATTTATTTTTAACTAAACAACATTTTTTTTATTGCAGAGTAAAAAAGGTGGTTTAGCAG 138931
Query 5881 CATGGGAGCCTGCAGGAGCTCAAGAGTGGTTAGAAGTAAGTATTAAATTAATTAATAATG 5940
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 138932 CATGGGAGCCTGCAGGAGCTCAAGAGTGGTTAGAAGTAAGTATTAAATTAATTAATAATG 138991
Query 5941 CAACACGTATGTATTTATAAATTGATaaaaaaaaGTACTTGATTAATAAACTAATTAACT 6000
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 138992 CAACACGTATGTATTTATAAATTGATAAAAAAAAGTACTTGATTAATAAACTAATTAACT 139051
Query 6001 TTGTTGGTGATTCTTAGTTACTCAATCCCACAGAATTTTTTGCGGACATTGTAGTTGAAC 6060
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 139052 TTGTTGGTGATTCTTAGTTACTCAATCCCACAGAATTTTTTGCGGACATTGTAGTTGAAC 139111
Query 6061 ATGAATATGTTGAGTGCACTGGATCTGCAATCCAAGCTTTAGTTTTGTTCAAGAAGCTAT 6120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 139112 ATGAATATGTTGAGTGCACTGGATCTGCAATCCAAGCTTTAGTTTTGTTCAAGAAGCTAT 139171
Query 6121 ATCCAGGACATAGGAAGAAAGAGATAGAAAATTTCATTACCAATGCAGTTCGATTCCTTG 6180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 139172 ATCCAGGACATAGGAAGAAAGAGATAGAAAATTTCATTACCAATGCAGTTCGATTCCTTG 139231
Query 6181 AAGATACACAAACAGCTGATGGTTCATGGTATGGAAATTGGGGAGTTTGCTTCACTTATG 6240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 139232 AAGATACACAAACAGCTGATGGTTCATGGTATGGAAATTGGGGAGTTTGCTTCACTTATG 139291
Query 6241 GCTCTTGGTTTGCACTTGGAGGTCTAGCAGCTGCTGGTAAGACTTACACCAATTGTGCTG 6300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 139292 GCTCTTGGTTTGCACTTGGAGGTCTAGCAGCTGCTGGTAAGACTTACACCAATTGTGCTG 139351
Query 6301 CCATTCGCAAAGCCGTTAAATTTCTACTTACAACACAAAGAGAGGACGGTGGATGGGGAG 6360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 139352 CCATTCGCAAAGCCGTTAAATTTCTACTTACAACACAAAGAGAGGACGGTGGATGGGGAG 139411
Query 6361 AGAGTTATCTTTCAAGCCCAAAAAAGGTTTGTAGCTGAATGGTTATTACTGAATTACCAT 6420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 139412 AGAGTTATCTTTCAAGCCCAAAAAAGGTTTGTAGCTGAATGGTTATTACTGAATTACCAT 139471
Query 6421 TCTTCAACTTCATTGGGAATTAATGATAATAGTAATAATGTCTTACTAAATGAAAATAAT 6480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 139472 TCTTCAACTTCATTGGGAATTAATGATAATAGTAATAATGTCTTACTAAATGAAAATAAT 139531
Query 6481 GCAGATATATGTACCTCTAGAAGGAAGCCGATCAAATGTTGTACATACAGCATGGGCTCT 6540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 139532 GCAGATATATGTACCTCTAGAAGGAAGCCGATCAAATGTTGTACATACAGCATGGGCTCT 139591
Query 6541 TATGGGACTAATTCATGCTGGACAGGTTCGTTCTTAATTTGTGTTTGTGTATATTTGATT 6600
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 139592 TATGGGACTAATTCATGCTGGACAGGTTCGTTCTTAATTTGTGTTTGTGTATATTTGATT 139651
Query 6601 ATAGGTCTACTTCATTGTGAATTAAATTTCAAAATAGtttttttttCCCCTCTTCATTTT 6660
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 139652 ATAGGTCTACTTCATTGTGAATTAAATTTCAAAATAGTTTTTTTTTCCCCTCTTCATTTT 139711
Query 6661 TAAATTCCTATATACAGGCGGATAGAGACCCCATGCCTCTTCACCGTGCTGCAAAGTTGC 6720
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 139712 TAAATTCCTATATACAGGCGGATAGAGACCCCATGCCTCTTCACCGTGCTGCAAAGTTGC 139771
Query 6721 TCATTAATTCTCAGTTGGAAGAGGGTGATTGGCCCCAACAGGTGTATATCAATCCTTtaa 6780
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 139772 TCATTAATTCTCAGTTGGAAGAGGGTGATTGGCCCCAACAGGTGTATATCAATCCTTTAA 139831
Query 6781 attaaaaaatgtcccgtatttgtgtacatgcttaactaaataaataaataaaaaagaaat 6840
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 139832 ATTAAAAAATGTCCCGTATTTGTGTACATGCTTAACTAAATAAATAAATAAAAAAGAAAT 139891
Query 6841 taacttatttagcaataaattaaaatcagatcttagaaaaaaaGACATAGGTCGATACCA 6900
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 139892 TAACTTATTTAGCAATAAATTAAAATCAGATCTTAGAAAAAAAGACATAGGTCGATACCA 139951
Query 6901 TTTGGGACAAGACTTCAGTGCAACAATTCAGATGCCTTGGGTGTTTTAAAATCAAAATTA 6960
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 139952 TTTGGGACAAGACTTCAGTGCAACAATTCAGATGCCTTGGGTGTTTTAAAATCAAAATTA 140011
Query 6961 AAGTTTGACCTAGCTAAAGAAATTGAAAGTTGATAGATGCTATTGATGTGAAATTCTAAT 7020
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 140012 AAGTTTGACCTAGCTAAAGAAATTGAAAGTTGATAGATGCTATTGATGTGAAATTCTAAT 140071
Query 7021 TTTAATTGGAAAATAATTCCAAAACGTAAAATACAACATTTAAGTTTTGTGGACAAAGTT 7080
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 140072 TTTAATTGGAAAATAATTCCAAAACGTAAAATACAACATTTAAGTTTTGTGGACAAAGTT 140131
Query 7081 ATTTCtttaaaattttgcttgaactagtattttagtttgtttttataataggattaattt 7140
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 140132 ATTTCTTTAAAATTTTGCTTGAACTAGTATTTTAGTTTGTTTTTATAATAGGATTAATTT 140191
Query 7141 ttattttatataattataattcataataaataaatatgttataattaaaatttataattt 7200
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 140192 TTATTTTATATAATTATAATTCATAATAAATAAATATGTTATAATTAAAATTTATAATTT 140251
Query 7201 ataataaataaagatatttaaatataaaaattataatttgaatttataataatcaattta 7260
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 140252 ATAATAAATAAAGATATTTAAATATAAAAATTATAATTTGAATTTATAATAATCAATTTA 140311
Query 7261 aattGTATGGTAGGTGTTAAGTGTATTTTATATTTTCAAGACAATAAATGCATTTATTAT 7320
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 140312 AATTGTATGGTAGGTGTTAAGTGTATTTTATATTTTCAAGACAATAAATGCATTTATTAT 140371
Query 7321 TGTATTTAATAATTCAGTCGTTCCATAATAAATATTAGAAGAAAAATAAATTCTAAAATA 7380
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 140372 TGTATTTAATAATTCAGTCGTTCCATAATAAATATTAGAAGAAAAATAAATTCTAAAATA 140431
Query 7381 AGTGTTATTTATACTATTAGTGCATACACTTTTTCTCTAACTGCTAATGCTTGCAATTCA 7440
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 140432 AGTGTTATTTATACTATTAGTGCATACACTTTTTCTCTAACTGCTAATGCTTGCAATTCA 140491
Query 7441 TATGCAATACTCTTTGTTTTATTTTGATTAACCTTTAGAGaaaaaaaTTGACACAATATT 7500
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 140492 TATGCAATACTCTTTGTTTTATTTTGATTAACCTTTAGAGAAAAAAATTGACACAATATT 140551
Query 7501 TTAGAAAATACAATTAATAATTTAGATTTCATAAAAATTGTTATGTAATTTCCTAATCCT 7560
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 140552 TTAGAAAATACAATTAATAATTTAGATTTCATAAAAATTGTTATGTAATTTCCTAATCCT 140611
Query 7561 AATATGTCAATGTATTTCATATTAATTAGATTATCTCTCATCTATACTTTTTTATTTTCT 7620
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 140612 AATATGTCAATGTATTTCATATTAATTAGATTATCTCTCATCTATACTTTTTTATTTTCT 140671
Query 7621 CACTCTACATTTATTGATTAATGAAGaaaaaaaaaGTAATTCTTCATTGGTTTTGTAAAA 7680
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 140672 CACTCTACATTTATTGATTAATGAAGAAAAAAAAAGTAATTCTTCATTGGTTTTGTAAAA 140731
Query 7681 TGACAATCAAAACAAtttttttCTAAAACATCAATTAAAATGAAATGGAAGGAGTAAAAT 7740
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 140732 TGACAATCAAAACAATTTTTTTCTAAAACATCAATTAAAATGAAATGGAAGGAGTAAAAT 140791
Query 7741 CAAAGTCTTTAAAACTTTGTCGATACGAGAATTTCAACTTCCAATGTAATCAAAACTTGA 7800
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 140792 CAAAGTCTTTAAAACTTTGTCGATACGAGAATTTCAACTTCCAATGTAATCAAAACTTGA 140851
Query 7801 TATAAAAATATTAATAtttttttAATTTAGGAAAATGACAGAAAAGATTTATTATTAATT 7860
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 140852 TATAAAAATATTAATATTTTTTTAATTTAGGAAAATGACAGAAAAGATTTATTATTAATT 140911
Query 7861 GTATTTTGTAAGCAAAATGAAAATTATGCTCTAGATTGAGTATTGTTTCTTATTGTTGTG 7920
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 140912 GTATTTTGTAAGCAAAATGAAAATTATGCTCTAGATTGAGTATTGTTTCTTATTGTTGTG 140971
Query 7921 ACCTACTTTTGGCAGGAAATCACGGGAGTATTCATGAAAAATTGCATGTTGCATTATCCA 7980
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 140972 ACCTACTTTTGGCAGGAAATCACGGGAGTATTCATGAAAAATTGCATGTTGCATTATCCA 141031
Query 7981 ATGTACAGAGATATTTATCCAATGTGGGCTCTAGCTGAATATCGAAGGCGGGTTCCATTG 8040
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 141032 ATGTACAGAGATATTTATCCAATGTGGGCTCTAGCTGAATATCGAAGGCGGGTTCCATTG 141091
Query 8041 CCTTCCACTGAAGTTTAA 8058
||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 141092 CCTTCCACTGAAGTTTAA 141109
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues beginning on p. 8 of remarks dated 01/20/2026 the
following arguments:
Claims 1, 2, 4, 19, 22, 24, 32, 33, 46, 52, and 90-96 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as allegedly being obvious over Osbourn (US-20030177518-A1), Hassan (Hassan et al., 2021 Trends in Plant Science 26(11), 1133-1152), GenBank (GenBank Accession No. NM_001249662.2), and as evidenced by Chen (Chen et al. 2023 Nature Communications 14(1), 7101). Osbourn is cited as allegedly disclosing beta-amyrin synthase-encoding nucleic acids and reducing beta-amyrin synthase expression in a plant by use of a ribozyme, which can catalyze the site-specific cleavage of RNA, primarily in oat beta amyrin synthase. The Examiner acknowledges that Osbourn does not disclose wherein the non-natural mutation is located at least partially in a nucleic acid region of exon 2, 4, or 7 of a Glycine max BASI gene. Hassan is cited as disclosing CRISPR/Cas-based genome editing in plants. Genbank is cited as disclosing a Glycine max beta-amyrin synthase gene that includes exons 2, 4, and 7. Chen is cited as disclosing that beta-amyrin synthase is the first step in saponin biosynthesis. The Examiner states that it would have been obvious to modify Osbourn to include the features of Hassan and Genbank to arrive at the instantly claimed method with a reasonable expectation of success. Applicant respectfully disagrees to the extent the rejection can be applied to the amended claims.
Independent claims 1 and 22, as amended, specify that the total saponin content or DDMP saponin content is reduced by at least 75% in the plant or plant part as compared to a control plant or plant part without said mutation. Claim 1 recites a plant or plant part comprising a non-natural genetic mutation at least partially in exon 2, 4, or 7 of a Glycine max BAS1 gene and reduced level or activity of BAS and reduced saponin content. Claim 22 recites a method of decreasing saponin content in a plant or plant part by introducing a genetic mutation that decreases beta-amyrin synthase (BAS) activity to locate at least partially in exon 2, 4, or 7 of a Glycine max BAS] gene. None of the cited references disclose, suggest, or predict a plant or plant part of claim 1 or the method of claim 22, individually or in combination, at least because the cited references do not disclose all elements of the present claims, and one skilled in the art would not have combined the cited references with a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at the present claims.
Osbourn, directed primarily to the oat (Avena strigosa) beta-amyrin synthase gene, does not disclose a plant or plant part having a non-natural genetic mutation in any beta-amyrin synthase gene, or a method of decreasing saponin content in a plant or plant part by introducing a genetic mutation into any beta-amyrin synthase gene. Instead, Osbourn' s method for reducing beta-amyrin synthase activity relies exclusively on post-transcriptional mechanisms that leave the genomic DNA sequence intact. For example, paragraph [0106] of Osbourn states that "[t]he sequence information disclosed herein may be used for the down-regulation of expression of genes e.g. using anti-sense technology . .. ; sense regulation [co-suppression] . . .. Further options for down regulation of gene expression include the use of ribozymes, e.g. hammerhead ribozymes, which can catalyse the site-specific cleavage of RNA, such as mRNA."1 Osbourn does not disclose, suggest, or predict a plant or plant part comprising a non-natural genetic mutation in a Glycine max BAS1 gene, much less a non-natural genetic mutation specifically in exon 2, 4, or 7 of a Glycine max BAS1 gene, as presently claimed. Further, Osbourn provides no disclosure of the extent of saponin reduction in a plant or plant part, such as 0% decrease or the mg/g value. Accordingly, Osbourn does not provide any guidance or reasonable expectation of success that would lead one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a viable plant or plant part having a non-natural mutation in exons 2, 4, or 7 of a Glycine max BAS1 gene and having reduced total saponin or DDMP saponin content, reduced by at least 75% relative to a control plant or plant part without the mutation, as presently claimed.
Hassan, Genbank, and Chen do not cure this deficiency. Hassan provides a general review of CRISPR/Cas construct design for plant genome editing but does not mention any beta- amyrin synthase gene and does not disclose or suggest any mutation in the Glycine max BAS] gene. Hassan' s disclosure is a general principle of gRNA design, and does not provide any specific guidance directed to beta-amyrin synthase (in particular a Glycine max BAS1 gene) or saponin reduction. Hassan does not disclose or suggest how introducing a mutation at the specific exon of the Glycine max BAS1 gene would reduce saponin content in the plant or plant part. Genbank only provides the annotated nucleotide sequence of the Glycine max beta-amyrin synthase (AMS1) mRNA, including the locations of exons 1-15. While Genbank discloses the existence of exons 2, 4, and 7, it provides no teaching or suggestion to introduce a mutation in these specific exons, or that mutations in these specific exons would preferentially result in any particular level of saponin reduction, let alone the at least 7500 reduction as presently claimed. The bare sequence listing of Genbank, even combined with Osbourn or Hassan, does not provide any motivation or reasonable expectation of success for arriving at a plant or plant part having a non-natural mutation specifically in exons 2, 4, or 7 of a Glycine max BAS] gene and having the total saponin content or DDMP saponin content that is reduced by at least 75% as compared to a control plant or plant part, as presently claimed. Chen is cited only as evidence that beta-amyrin synthase is the first step in saponin biosynthesis. Chen describes a complex multi-enzyme pathway for saponin biosynthesis that includes, in addition to beta-amyrin synthase, multiple cytochrome P450 monoxygenases (e.g., C28, C16, and C23 oxidases), cellulose synthase-like glucuronosyltransferases, galactosyltransferases, xylosyltransferases, fucosyltransferases, and UDP-sugar biosynthesis enzymes. Chen provides no disclosure or suggestion that targeting beta- amyrin synthase would be preferable to targeting any of these downstream enzymes for purposes of reducing saponin content. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art, even if motivated to reduce saponin content in a plant, would have no reason to select the beta-amyrin synthase gene over any of the numerous other enzymatic steps in the pathway. Further, Chen provides no disclosure relating specifically to the Glycine max BAS1 gene. Thus, Chen provides no motivation to select a Glycine max BAS1 gene and further select its specific exon to introduce mutations.
In sum, the cited references, individually or in combination, provide no guidance for specifically selecting the Glycine max BAS1 gene, and further specifically selecting exons 2, 4,or 7 of the Glycine max BAS1 gene, among 15 possible exons, multiple introns, or regulatory regions of the gene, to introduce a mutation in a plant or plant part with any reasonable expectation of achieving at least 75% reduction in total saponin content or DDMP saponin content.
This argument has been fully considered and is found not persuasive for
the following reason(s):
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. That is, Applicant’s primary argument is that Osbourn does not teach, disclose, or otherwise render obvious to produce a viable plant or plant part having a non-natural mutation in exons 2, 4, or 7 of a Glycine max BAS1 gene and having reduced total saponin or DDMP saponin content, reduced by at least 75% relative to a control plant or plant part without the mutation, as presently claimed. A new rejection under 35 USC 103 had been made where Takagi is the primary reference, and Takagi teaches reducing BAS1 expression in Glycine max reduces saponin content as claimed in claims 1 and 22. The remaining references teach CRISPR could have been used as a functional alternative to RNAi for the same purpose. For these reasons, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant argues beginning on p. 11 of remarks dated 01/20/2026 the
following arguments:
The unpredictability of achieving a specific phenotypic result (e.g., at least 75%
reduction in total saponin or DDMP saponin content) from mutations in a particular gene or in a particular exon is well recognized in the art. Not all mutations result in loss-of-function phenotypes, and the degree of functional impairment can vary widely depending on the gene to which the mutation is introduced, and the location of the mutation within the gene. None of Osbourn, Hassan, GenBank, or Chen allows one of ordinary skill in the art to predict that introducing mutations in exons 2, 4, or 7 of Glycine max BASI would achieve the specific functional outcome as presently claimed.
In contrast, the instant application demonstrates that a plant or plant part specifically comprising a mutation in exon 2, 4, or 7 of the Glycine max BAS1 gene achieves remarkable and unexpected levels of total saponin reduction or DDMP saponin reduction that would have been unexpected from the cited references. As described in Example 4 and FIG. 5 of the specification, an R100W mutation, located in exon 2 of the Glycine max BASI gene, demonstrated approximately 77% reduction in total saponin content (from 2.88 mg/g to 0.67 mg/g) and approximately 78% reduction in DDMP saponin content (from 2.14 mg/g to 0.48 mg/g). A G220E mutation, located in exon 4 of the Glycine max BASI gene, demonstrated greater than 97% reduction in total saponin content (from 2.88 mg/g to 0.05 mg/g) and greater than 99% reduction in DDMP saponin content (from 2.14 mg/g to 0.004 mg/g) in soybean seed relative to control seeds without the mutation. A 5 bp deletion of SEQ ID NO: 1, located in exon 7, demonstrated greater than 97% reduction in total saponin content (from 6.84 mg/g to 0.20 mg/g) in soybean seeds relative to control seeds. These results, demonstrating that mutations in exons 2, 4, and 7 of the Glycine max BASI gene achieved greater than 75% reduction in total saponin and DDMP saponin content, and in some cases greater than 97% in total saponin content and greater than 99% reduction in DDMP saponin content, are unexpected in view of the cited references and rebut any prima facie case of obviousness.
This argument has been fully considered and is found not persuasive for
the following reason(s):
This is not found persuasive. With regard to Applicant’s argument that Applicant has offered evidence of unexpected and unobvious results, pursuant to MPEP 716.02(b), the evidence relied upon should establish "that the differences in results are in fact unexpected and unobvious and of both statistical and practical significance." Ex parte Gelles, 22 USPQ2d 1318, 1319 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992) (Mere conclusions in appellants’ brief that the claimed polymer had an unexpectedly increased impact strength "are not entitled to the weight of conclusions accompanying the evidence, either in the specification or in a declaration."); Ex parte C, 27 USPQ2d 1492 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992) (Applicant alleged unexpected results with regard to the claimed soybean plant, however there was no basis for judging the practical significance of data with regard to maturity date, flowering date, flower color, or height of the plant.). In the instant case, Applicant alleges unexpected levels of total saponin reduction or DDMP saponin reduction that would have been unexpected from the cited references. However, the mutations that would be expected to cause out of frame mutation and early stop codons in the gene and encoded protein, e.g. the example of 5 bp deletion of SEQ ID NO: 1 located in exon 7 that demonstrated greater than 97% reduction in total saponin content (from 6.84 mg/g to 0.20 mg/g) in soybean seeds relative to control seeds, is not unexpected or unobvious. This is because alternative methods (RNAi vs CRISPR) to knockout a GmBAS1 gene (i.e. also called GmAMS1) of which the sequence(s) is/are known and readily available would reasonably be expected to produce similar outcomes. Because RNAi silencing of GmBAS1 in soybean produced plants and plant parts with saponin levels as claimed and evidenced, using gene editing methods such as CRISPR to delete nucleotides of the known sequence to introduce a pre-mature stop codon and a truncated protein is routine in the art and would also reasonably be expected to produce similar, or even improved, results. As for the R100W and G220E mutations, these do appear unexpected and unobvious because there is no teaching that would direct the ordinary artisan to make these substitutions and expect at least 75% reduction in saponin.
Further, even if Applicant can make such a showing, MPEP 716.02(c) provides that the evidence of unexpected results must be weighed against evidence supporting prima facie obviousness in making a final determination of the obviousness of the claimed invention. MPEP 716.02(c) directs the examiner to MPEP 716.01(d), which establishes that although the record may establish evidence of secondary considerations which are indicia of nonobviousness, the record may also establish such a strong case of obviousness that the objective evidence of nonobviousness is not sufficient to outweigh the evidence of obviousness. Newell Cos. v. Kenney Mfg. Co., 864 F.2d 757, 769, 9 USPQ2d 1417, 1427 (Fed. Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 814 (1989); Richardson-Vicks, Inc., v. The Upjohn Co., 122 F.3d 1476, 1484, 44 USPQ2d 1181, 1187 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (showing of unexpected results and commercial success of claimed ibuprofen and pseudoephedrine combination in single tablet form, while supported by substantial evidence, held not to overcome strong prima facie case of obviousness). The showing, when made, must outweigh the rationale in support of a finding of prima facie obviousness provided in the 103 rejection(s). Here, with respect to mutations that would be expected to produce out of frame mutations and early stop codons, the evidence does not outweigh the rationale in support of a finding of prima facie obviousness provided in the 103 rejection(s). This is because the 103 rejection is strong, showing GmBAS1 silencing reduces saponin content within the argued ranges, and knocking out the genes via mutations in the known sequences would be expected to have similar results. In view of the foregoing, Applicant’s evidence is not deemed to outweigh the basis for the rejection. As for the R100W and G220E mutations, these do appear to outweigh the basis for rejection as there is not teaching that would suggest these specific mutations could lead to over 75% reduction in saponin content. However, because the claims with the specific substitution mutations also encompass the predictable frameshift mutations as alternatives, the evidence as a whole does not outweigh the basis for rejection and the claims remain rejected under 35 USC 103.
Finally, MPEP 716.02(d) provides that whether the unexpected results are the result of unexpectedly improved results or a property not taught by the prior art, the "objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support." In other words, the showing of unexpected results must be reviewed to see if the results occur over the entire claimed range. In re Clemens, 622 F.2d 1029, 1036, 206 USPQ 289, 296 (CCPA 1980). In this case, the scope of the claims appears commensurate with the evidence.
Applicant argues beginning on p. 12 of remarks dated 01/20/2026 the
following arguments:
Claim 97 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Osbourn,
Hassan, and GenBank as applied to claims 1 and 52 above, and further in view of Vernoud (Vernoud et al. 2020 Legume Perspectives, Issue 18, Session 5). The Examiner has acknowledged that Osbourn, Hassan, and GenBank do not teach feed. Vernoud is cited as allegedly disclosing a pea mutant line that no longer expresses beta-amyrin synthase and has decreased saponin content, which will be used to develop pea varieties for the human food market. The Examiner states that it would have been obvious to modify the invention of Osbourn, Hassan, and GenBank to include the features of Vernoud to arrive at the instantly claimed method. Applicant respectfully disagrees to the extent the rejection can be applied to the amended claims.
Initially, Vernoud discloses a pea variety with decreased saponin content for the human food market, not for feeds. Vernoud teaches that, while grain legume production in Europe is currently dominated by the demand for animal feed, new varieties, e.g., low saponin varieties, optimized for human consumption are needed. Thus, Vernoud teaches away from low saponin plant varieties used for feed. Based on Vernoud, one skilled in the art would be motivated against using the plant composition produced from a plant with decreased BAS activity for feed.
Applicant further submits that claim 97 ultimately depends from claim 1, and includes all features of claim 1. Claim 1 as amended is not obvious over Osbourn, Hassan, and GenBank as discussed above, and thus, claim 97 is not obvious over Osbourn, Hassan, and GenBank. Vernoud does not cure this deficiency. Vernoud does not mention Glycine max BASI gene, and does not disclose, suggest, or predict a plant or plant part comprising a non-natural genetic mutation located at least partially in a nucleic acid region of exon 2, 4, or 7 of a Glycine max BASI gene and having reduced expression or activity of Glycine max BASI gene and reduced saponin content, as recited in claim 1. Thus, claim 97 is not obvious over Osbourn, Hassan, GenBank, and Vernoud.
In view of the foregoing, claim 97 is not obvious over Osbourn, Hassan, GenBank, and further in view of Vernoud.
This argument has been fully considered and is found not persuasive for
the following reason(s):
First, it is noted that because feed is not defined by the instant disclosure, “feed” as claimed in claim 97 is not limited to animal feed as argued above. Furthermore, as stated in the new 103 rejection above, a soybean seed is considered in and of itself “feed” since soybean seed may be used directly for human and animal consumption. Additionally, Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 97 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument (i.e. Osbourn and Vernoud are not used in the new 103 rejection). For these reasons, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Conclusion and Inquiries
No claims are allowed.
JESSICA N. STOCKDALE
Examiner
Art Unit 1663
/JESSICA NICOLE STOCKDALE/Examiner, Art Unit 1663
/CHARLES LOGSDON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1662