DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9, 11-14, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smirnov (online article).
With respect to claim 1, Smirnov discloses a grille guard apparatus, comprising:
a first member;
a second member forming a shape having:
a first side that is parallel with a second side; and
a first arch that is opposite to a second arch as shown below in the images taken from the first image of Smirnov:
[AltContent: textbox (third member)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (fifth member)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (side of the fourth member)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (arch of a fourth member)][AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: ]
[AltContent: textbox (first member)]
[AltContent: textbox (second member)][AltContent: ]
[AltContent: textbox (second arch)][AltContent: ]
[AltContent: textbox (first arch)][AltContent: textbox (first side)][AltContent: textbox (second side)][AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
a third member coupled with the first arch and the third member to extend perpendicular to the first side to couple with an arch of a fourth member: and
a fifth member coupled with the first side and the fifth member to extend parallel with the third member to couple with a side of the fourth member that is parallel to the first side:
wherein at least one of the first member or the second member is coupled with a vehicle (coupled to Rivian 6x6 pickup truck as shown in Smirnov).
With respect to claim 2, the first member disclosed by Smirnov is capable of being coupled with a frame of the vehicle (note, that this limitation does not actually limit the grille guard but is instead, a statement of intended use); and
the second member coupled with the first member as can be seen in the above images.
With respect to claim 3, the first member disclosed by Smirnov is capable of being coupled with a frame of the vehicle (note, that this limitation does not actually limit the grille guard but is instead, a statement of intended use); and
the second member supported by the first member as can be seen in the above images.
With respect to claim 4, Smirnov discloses that the shape of the second member circumscribes a headlight of the vehicle, the headlight forming a second shape that corresponds to the shape of the second member as shown in the first image of Smirnov.
With respect to claim 5, Smirnov discloses that the second member supported by the first member (as shown in the above images), the shape of the second member surrounding a first headlight of the vehicle (as shown in the first image of Smirnov), the first headlight forming a second shape; and
the fourth member having a third shape surrounding a second headlight of the vehicle (while this is not clearly shown in the first image of Smirnov, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that Rivian makes vehicles with symmetrical headlights and that grille guards are designed to symmetrically guard the headlights which would result in the fourth member surrounding the second headlight).
With respect to claim 6, Smirnov discloses the first member being coupled with the first arch of the second member to support the second member (as indicated in the above images).
With respect to claim 7, Smirnov discloses the shape of the second member surrounding a first headlight of the vehicle (as shown in the first image of Smirnov); and
the fourth member forming a second shape, the second shape of the fourth member surrounding a second headlight of the vehicle (while this is not clearly shown in the first image of Smirnov, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that Rivian makes vehicles with symmetrical headlights and that grille guards are designed to symmetrically guard the headlights which would result in the fourth member surrounding the second headlight).
With respect to claim 9, Smirnov discloses a sixth member that curves around an end of the vehicle towards at least one of a passenger side of the vehicle or a driver side of the vehicle as shown below in the image taken from the first image of Smirnov:
[AltContent: textbox (sixth member)][AltContent: ][AltContent: ]
With respect to claim 11, Smirnov discloses vehicle, comprising:
a first member;
a second member forming a shape having:
a first side that is parallel with a second side; and
a first arch that is opposite to a second arch as shown below in the images taken from the first image of Smirnov:
[AltContent: textbox (arch of a fourth member)][AltContent: textbox (side of the fourth member)][AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (third member)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (fifth member)][AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: ]
[AltContent: textbox (first member)]
[AltContent: textbox (second member)][AltContent: ]
[AltContent: textbox (second arch)][AltContent: ]
[AltContent: textbox (first arch)][AltContent: textbox (first side)][AltContent: textbox (second side)][AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
a third member coupled with the first arch and the third member to extend perpendicular to the first side to couple with an arch of a fourth member: and
a fifth member coupled with the first side and the fifth member to extend parallel with the third member to couple with a side of the fourth member that is parallel to the first side:
wherein at least one of the first member or the second member is coupled with a vehicle (coupled to Rivian 6x6 pickup truck as shown in Smirnov).
With respect to claim 12, Smirnov discloses that the shape of the second member circumscribes a headlight of the vehicle, the headlight forming a second shape that corresponds to the shape of the second member as shown in the first image of Smirnov.
With respect to claim 13, Smirnov discloses that the second member supported by the first member (as shown in the above images), the shape of the second member surrounding a first headlight of the vehicle (as shown in the first image of Smirnov), the first headlight forming a second shape; and
the fourth member having a third shape surrounding a second headlight of the vehicle (while this is not clearly shown in the first image of Smirnov, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that Rivian makes vehicles with symmetrical headlights and that grille guards are designed to symmetrically guard the headlights which would result in the fourth member surrounding the second headlight).
With respect to claim 14, Smirnov discloses the first member being coupled with the first arch of the shape of the second member to support the second member (as indicated in the above images).
With respect to claim 21, Smirnov discloses a sixth member that curves around an end of the vehicle towards at least one of a passenger side of the vehicle or a driver side of the vehicle as shown below in the image taken from the first image of Smirnov:
[AltContent: textbox (sixth member)][AltContent: ][AltContent: ]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smirnov (online forum), as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Fretz et al. (US 2011/0006553).
With respect to claim 10, Smirnov discloses the claimed grille guard apparatus except for a first component coupled to a frame of the vehicle on a passenger side of the vehicle, the first component comprising an opening; a second component coupled to the frame of the vehicle on a driver side of the vehicle, the second component comprising an opening; and the first member, comprising: a first vertical portion that extends from the second member forming the stadium shape through the opening of the first component; the second vertical portion that extends from the fourth member of the grille guard apparatus forming a second shape through the opening of the second component; and a portion that extends from an end of the first vertical portion to an end the second vertical portion that is perpendicular to the first vertical portion and the second vertical portion.
However, Fretz et al. teaches a similar grille guard apparatus comprising a first component coupled to a frame 16 of the vehicle on a passenger side of the vehicle (Fretz et al., paragraph [0027]), the first component comprising an opening 114 (see Fig. 2B of Fretz et al.) as shown below in the image taken from Fig. 3 of Fretz:
[AltContent: textbox (first component)][AltContent: ]
a second component coupled to the frame 16 of the vehicle on a driver side of the vehicle, the second component comprising an opening 114 (see Fig. 2B of Fretz) as shown below in the image taken from Fig. 3 of Fretz et al:
[AltContent: textbox (second component)][AltContent: ]
and
the first member, comprising:
a first vertical portion that extends from the second member through the opening 114 of the first component as shown below in the image taken from Fig. 5 of Fretz et al.:
[AltContent: textbox (second vertical portion)][AltContent: textbox (first vertical portion)][AltContent: ][AltContent: ]
a second vertical portion that extends from a fourth member of the grille guard apparatus forming a second shape through the opening 114 of the second component (as indicated above); and
a portion 96 that extends from an end of the first vertical portion to an end the second vertical portion that is perpendicular to the first vertical portion and the second vertical portion (as shown in Fig. 3 of Fretz et al.).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to combine the teaching of Fretz et al. with the grille guard apparatus disclosed by Smirnov for the advantage of providing a space and a mounting surface for attaching a winch 150 to the grille guard apparatus and vehicle (Fretz et al., paragraphs [0031] and [0034]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-7, 9-14, and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the reference or combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Daniel J Colilla/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612