DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 10-14, and 16-18 dated 06/04/2026 are considered in this office action. Hence, claims 1-2, 4-8, 10-14, and 16-18 are pending examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The office thanks the application for filing to terminal disclaimer to overcome the double patenting rejection.
In regard to 103 rejection, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s assertion. The applicant argues a) Sun, in view of Wang, Yeshurun, Getman, and Mclaughlin, fails to teach "[implementing] autonomous movement corresponding to SAE automation level 4 or level 5." The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s assertion. The prior art Sun reference clearly teaches when the threat is detected it notifies the primary and other vehicles to activate multiple autonomous function which equates for SAE level 4 or 5 and which reads on the pending claimed limitations.
Secondly the applicant argues b) Sun, in view of Wang, Yeshurun, Getman, and Mclaughlin, fails to disclose "wherein the at least one computer system is configured to generate text or voice data to communicate with a human regarding operations of the vehicle, vessel, or aircraft." Again, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s assertion. However, due to new amendments, the examiner is now citing Sun prior art which teaches generate text or voice data (image data is being interpreted as text data) to communicate with a human regarding operations of the vehicle.
The examiner believes he has responded to all the arguments presented by the applicant at this time. However, if the applicant believes that the examiner has missed any arguments to respond, the applicant is invited to call the examiner directly to expedite the process.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-8, 12-14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (US 2019/0227555) in view of Wang et al. (“Towards a Theoretical Framework of Autonomous Systems Underpinned by Intelligence and Systems Sciences”, IEEE/CAA JOURNAL OF AUTOMATICA SINICA, VOL. 8, NO. 1, JANUARY 2021) and in further view of Yeshurun (US 2018/0341262A1) and in further view of Getman (US20210229805A1) and in further view of Mclaughlin et al. (US20230023246A1) and here in after will be referred as Sun, Wang, Yeshuru, Getman and Mclaughlin respectively.
Regarding Claim 1, Sun teaches a self-aware mobile system (Fig .1 #12) comprising: a vehicle, vessel, or aircraft (#12) comprising:
at least one communication device (#16) configured to transmit and receive data to communicate with at least one autonomous sensor platform (#20) (Para [0034] Line 1-4: As shown, the primary road vehicle 12 is associated with and in communication with an aerial drone 20 through a transmitter/receiver, i.e., transceiver 16, located on the primary road vehicle 12. The exemplary primary road vehicle 12 also includes a processor/control unit 18),
and at least one computer system (#18) configured to receive data from the at least one autonomous sensor platform (Para [0078] Line 1-9: “At action block 660 the aerial drone communicates to the road vehicle data associated with the object, such as an image and/or other information, i.e., location, lane number, direction, static or moving, velocity, rate of acceleration, etc., of the other road user, i.e., and/or the location. In exemplary embodiments, communicating data associated with the object and/or the location to the road vehicle includes transmitting the data to a processor onboard the road vehicle.”)
and generate data to implement autonomous movement corresponding to SAE automation level 4 or level 5 using the received data (Para [0079] Line 6-12 “If a risk of collision exists for the road vehicle and the other road user or object, then at action block 680 the aerial drone communicates a warning to the road vehicle to warn a driver or to active an automated braking or steering maneuver for an automated road vehicle. In other words, the data associated with the object and/or the location is utilized to operate the road vehicle.”)
wherein the atleast one computer system is configured to generate text or voice data to communicate with a human regarding operations of the vehicle, vessel or aircraft (Para [0050]: In a semi-automated/semi-operator driven process, at action block 140, the action of observing the situation 100 is again performed by capturing images with the aerial drone and the method continues at action block 142 by communicating the captured images from the aerial drone to a processor onboard the primary road vehicle. At action block 144, a primary user in the primary road vehicle reviews the images to identify the situation. For example, the processor onboard the primary road vehicle may present the capture images for review by the primary user in the primary road vehicle, such as on a heads up display (HUD), a center stack screen, or another visual display within the primary road vehicle.”)
Wang teaches processing in accordance with a Hierarchical Intelligence Model (Pages 54-56: Fig 2 and Fig .3 produced below : “A hierarchical intelligence model (HIM) shown in Fig. 2 is created for revealing the levels of intelligence and their difficulty for implementation in computational intelligence based on the abstract intelligence (αI) theory [24]. In the HIM, the levels of intelligence are aggregated from reflexive, imperative, adaptive, autonomous, and cognitive intelligence with 16 categories of intelligent behaviors. Types of system intelligence across the HIM layers may be formally described in Definition 6 using the pattern of stimulus/event-driven behaviors as summarized in the Appendix.”))
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sun to incorporate the teachings of Wang to include a Hierarchical Intelligence Model incorporating an Autonomous Human Behavior Model to operate the vehicle autonomously. Doing so would make the optimize the driving operation of the vehicle.
Yeshurun teaches the vehicle, vessel, or aircraft is a military or tactical vehicle (Para [0031]: “The system 10 is configured to facilitate active protection of a target such as a vehicle 12, which may be a tank, a personnel carrier, a marine vehicle, an airborne vehicle, etc., from an incoming threat.” See also Para [0043] : “The UAV 14 may be configured to transmit data gathered by the surveillance equipment 20 to the platform controller and/or the UAV controller for further processing (i.e., to identify the type of or specific threat, and/or to identify whether the threat's trajectory, and assess the likelihood of it impacting the vehicle and/or where on the vehicle the impact is likely to occur). The surveillance equipment 20 may comprise one or more of an optical sensor, infrared sensor, a motion sensor, a thermal sensor, and a pulse-Doppler radar. The surveillance equipment 20 may additionally or alternatively comprise any other device which is suitable to facilitate detection of an oncoming threat.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sun, Wang to incorporate the teachings of Yeshurun to include the vehicle, vessel, or aircraft is a military or tactical vehicle. Doing so would optimize the operation of providing security and threat detection in the military operations.
Getman teaches wherein the vehicle, vessel, or aircraft includes at least two attachments for a charging point and/or a refueling point (Para [0138]: “FIG. 5 illustrates how a forward door 54 a can assist in drone takeoff. A rearward door 54 b can be completely opened. Then, the forward door 54 a moves so that it is only partly opened. Its unopened portion may block wind to permit the drone 10 to have more stable lift off conditions. The respective docking systems 16 and 22 of the vehicle 20 and the drone 10 may utilize, for example, docking mechanisms that employ magnetic charging contacts 56 and/or magnetic feet 58 that also serve as part of the respective external charging station 26 and the on-board charge-receiving system 36. The charging contacts 56 may be flush with the surface of a landing pad 60 of the docking system 16, or they may be recessed (or elevated) to provide for a more stability while docked (or accessibility during docking).”)
Getman also teaches wherein the at least one computer system receives the data from the at least one autonomous sensor platform via at least one communications link (Para [0141] : “The drone 10 may also include a communication system, such as a mobile or cellular system. A communication system may additionally or alternatively include one or more of visual (strobe frequency, Morse code, binary), thermal, audio, tactical chemical signals, laser, lidar, or radar. The communication system may relay instructions and data to a discrete remote device, such as a vehicle computer, a stationary computing system, an artificial intelligence system, a cell phone, or other device equipped to receive communications. Some specific examples of communication with remote devices are provided later.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sun, Wang and Yeshuran to incorporate the teachings of Getman to include the vehicle, vessel, or aircraft includes at least two attachments for a charging point and/or a refueling point and the at least one computer system receives the data from the at least one autonomous sensor platform via at least one communications link. Doing so would optimize the operation of providing security and threat detection in the military operations.
Mclaughlin teaches wherein the at least one communications link is encrypted to provide secure communications for the at least one computer system and/or the at least one autonomous sensor platform (Para [0043]: “FIG. 6 illustrates a schematic diagram 100 which represents one example of the software architecture showing how the UAV 14 may be controlled and monitored by a human operator. The flight controller 102 and camera payload 106 of UAV 14 may communicate via encrypted RF communication wirelessly through an on-board wireless RF radio 104 directly with a wireless RF radio 114 contained within the base station 12. The base station 12 may further incorporate a video encoder 116 which may receive video data transmitted from the camera payload 106 of the UAV 14. The video encoder 116 may transmit the video data to the on-board computer 108 in the base station 12 and specifically to a server 112 contained within that utilizes Transport Layer Security (TLS) certificates to establish secure web sockets to enable encrypted communications. The on-board computer 108 may also contain an API server 110 which may also receive the data received from the flight controller 102 of the UAV 14”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sun, Wang, Yeshuran and Getman to incorporate the teachings of Mclaughlin to include the at least one communications link is encrypted to provide secure communications for the at least one computer system and/or the at least one autonomous sensor platform. Doing so would optimize the operation of providing security and threat detection in the military operations.
Similarly Claims 7 and 13 are rejected on the similar rational.
Regarding Claim 2, Sun in view of Wang, in further view of Yeshurun, in further view of Getman in further view of Mclaughlin teaches the system of claim 1, Sun teaches wherein the at least one autonomous sensor platform is an unmanned aerial vehicle (Para [0035] #20 Fig 1 “An exemplary aerial drone 20 may be an unmanned quadrotor helicopter (“quadcoptor”) that is lifted and propelled by four rotors 22. An exemplary aerial drone 20 is paired with the primary road vehicle 12 to communicate information to and receive information from the primary road vehicle 12.”).
Similarly Claims 8 and 14 are rejected on the similar rational.
Regarding Claim 4, Sun in view of Wang, in further view of Yeshurun, in further view of Getman in further view of Mclaughlin teaches the system of claim 3.
Yeshurun teaches wherein the generated data is generated by logic and algorithmic machine learning to detect threat patterns based on an environment of the military or tactical vehicle (Para [0072] : “It will be appreciated that the UAVs 14 and/or platform 16, when carrying out any operation (described herein or otherwise), may be configured to utilize statistical data, based on data gathered from some or all of the other elements of the system 10 or of other systems, in order to progressively improve their performance of one or more task. (Such improvements are often referred to as machine learning.) These improvements may relate to identification of threats, neutralizing threats, optimization of one or more of its operations, and/or any other suitable task.”).
Similarly Claims 10 and 16 are rejected.
Regarding Claim 5, Sun in view of Wang, in further view of Yeshurun, in further view of Getman in further view of Mclaughlin teaches the system of claim 3.
Yeshurun teaches wherein the military or tactical vehicle is a single vehicle however it would have been obvious to optimize the similar technology to provide threat protection for a convoy or swarm of the vehicle as the military mission normally require multiple vehicles to travel together in a convoy setting to complete a mission.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sun, Wang and Yeshurun to incorporate the teachings of obvious optimization to include the military or tactical vehicle is part of a multi-vehicle swarm and the generated data provides combination and coordination with multiple units and levels of units. Doing so would optimize the operation of providing security and threat detection in the military operations.
Similarly Claims 11 and 17 are rejected.
Regarding Claim 6, Sun in view of Wang, in further view of Yeshurun, in further view of Getman in further view of Mclaughlin teaches the system of claim 1.
Walimbe teaches wherein the at least one autonomous sensor platform is a ground drone (“The UGV is able to place counter-IED charges and deliver remote sensors, making it an ideal fit for the US Army’s objective of extended tunnel mapping”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sun and Wang to incorporate the teachings of Walimbe to include ground drone as autonomous sensor platform. Doing so would optimize the vehicle operation.
Similarly Claims 12 and 18 are rejected on the similar rational.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABDHESH K JHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668