DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Martinez et al.(US Publication 2006/0205833) in view of Ishida as evidenced by Wikipedia.
Martinez et al. discloses a method of making a polyethylene foam comprising extruding a foamable layer comprising a mix of an ethylene/ α-olefin interpolymer(OBC)(Abstract) and another polymer which can be LDPE or LLDPE or a combination thereof.[0137] The ratio of interpolymer to polyethylene is from 1:99 to 99:1.[0135] The foam can be irradiated by beta rays to cure it[0163] and then foamed.[0144] The foam has a density of 10-150 kg/m3.(Abstract) The reference does not disclose the melt flow index of the LDPE or LLDPE. Ishida et al. is directed to a similar process and discloses that the LDPE has a melt flow rate of 2g/10 minutes and the LLDPE has a melt flow index of 0.8g/10 minutes(example 1). It does not disclose what temperature this is measured at. Wikipedia teaches that melt flow rates for polyethylene are measured at 190C. One in the art would understand that the melt flow rate of Ishida et al. was measured at 190C since Wikipedia indicates this is the temperature melt flow rate for polyethylene is measured. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to use LDPE with a melt flow rate of 2g/10 minutes and LLDPE with a melt flow of 0.8 g/10 minutes as the LDPE and LLDPE in Martinez et al. since Ishida et al. discloses that LDPE and LLDPE with a melt flow rate in that range is used in a similar process.
Regarding claims 2, 3, and 21, a ratio of 1:99-99:1 includes both claimed ranges. Absent unexpected results, it would have been within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the ratio and pick any ratio within that range.
Regarding claim 4, Martinez et al. discloses the foam contains a chemical blowing agent[0138] in an amount of 0.1-20wt%.[0140]
Regarding claim 5, Martinez et al. discloses using 0-5 wt.% antioxidant.[0168]
Regarding claims 6-9, Martinez et al. discloses it is known to include processing aids, colorants, etc. in foamable compositions.[0013] It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to include processing aids, anti-blocking agents, colorants, and decomposition suppressants in the foamable materials in the ranges claimed since these appear to be well-known and conventional materials which are added to foamable material in well-known and conventional amounts and thus are considered obvious absent unexpected results particularly considering specific compositions are not listed, indicating these materials are well-known and conventional to those in the art
Regarding claim 10, Martinez et al. discloses the interpolymer has a melt index of 0.01-2000 g/10 minutes.[0095] One in the art would appreciate that since all the components have a melt flow in the claimed range, the foamable material would also have one in the claimed range.
Regarding claim 12, Martinez et al. discloses the foam can be closed cell with a cell size of 0.5-5 mm.([0132]-[0133])
Regarding claim 13, the foam can have a thickness of 1-100 mm.[0176]
Regarding claim 15, Martinez et al. does not disclose irradiating the foam more than once.[0163]
Claim(s) 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martinez et al., and Ishida et al. as evidenced by Wikipedia as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sieradzki et al.
Regarding claim 16, Martinez et al. does not disclose the degree to which the foam is cross-linked. Sieradzki et al. discloses the foamed layer is 20-75% cross-linked(Col. 13, ll. 41-44) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have similar degrees of cross-linking of the foam since it is intended to be used in the same ways.
Regarding claim 17, Martinez et al. discloses heating the foamable mixture but does not disclose how. Sieradzki et al. discloses heating using molten salt.(Col. 13, ll. 58) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to use molten salt to heat the foamable mixture in Martinez et al. since Sieradzki et al. discloses it is known to heat a similar mixture with molten salt thus a use of a known technique to improve a similar metho in the same way.
Regarding claims 18-20, Martinez et al. does not disclose the specifics of how the foam is used, only stating it is used in cushioning and automotive arts.[0002]. Sieradzki et al. discloses using foams in automotive and furniture(Col. 1, ll. 27-29) and applying pressure sensitive adhesive to both sides of the foam and attaching them to another layer to make a useable product.(Col. 17, ll. 40-58) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to use apply pressure sensitive adhesive to both sides of the foam and attach it to another layer or laminate since Sieradzki et al. is directed to making the same sorts of products and teaches this is how this type of foam is used. While Sieradzki et al. discloses applying a layer, not a laminate, one in the art wold appreciate that a laminate could be used when a multiple layer product was desired.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see response, filed 3/6/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 and 22 under Brigandi et al. and over Ishida et al. have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Martinez et al.
Conclusion
BARBARA J. MUSSER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1746
/BARBARA J MUSSER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746