DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is sent in response to the Applicant’s Communication received on 05/22/2026 for application number 18/194,336. The Office hereby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Specification, Drawings, Abstract, Oath/Declaration, IDS, and Claims.
Claims 1, 9, and 17 are amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
35 USC 101
In summary of pages 12 and 13 of the remarks section, the Applicant argues that as amended, independent claims 1, 9, and 17 are not directed to an abstract idea, but instead recite a concrete distributed computing protocol that imposes specific data-handling constraints across multiple computing parties. In other words, training data is fragmented so that no party can store complete plaintext data, mask data is constructed without reconstructing complete training data, and the claimed computation produces only a gradient fragment that cannot mathematically reconstruct a training gradient or model parameter. These limitations are not mathematical abstractions. Rather, they
define how computer systems must operate and interact, including what data can reside in memory and what outputs can be produced by the computation. The claims therefore regulate computer functionality in a distributed system, rather than merely reciting mental or mathematical processes. Even if the claims are deemed to involve mathematical concepts, they are integrated into a practical application. As amended, the claims apply any alleged mathematical operations within a specific technological context, e.g., jointly training a logistic regression model across multiple parties while preventing reconstruction of plaintext training data or gradients at any party. The distributed computing system is improved by enforcing these reconstruction limits. The amended claims further recite significantly more than any alleged judicial exception. In particular, they require fragment-based computation via a processor, enforced non-reconstruction of data and gradients, and model parameter updates performed using
cryptographically incomplete fragments. These are concrete technical limitations, not
conventional or routine mathematical steps.
After further consideration, in view of the amended claim limitations, the Examiner finds the Applicant’s argument persuasive. Therefore, the 35 USC 101 rejection is withdrawn.
35 USC 102
On page 14 of the remarks section, Applicant argues that independent claims 1, 9, and 17 recite limitations not disclosed by M1, including that the claimed computation produces only a gradient fragment that is mathematically insufficient, by itself, to reconstruct a training gradient or model parameter, and that no party reconstructs training data or gradients during joint training. By contrast, M1 discloses privacy-preserving machine learning using general secure computation techniques but does not teach or suggest that each party's computed gradient output be cryptographically or mathematically insufficient to reconstruct the gradient. Nor does M1 disclose a system in which all parties are prohibited from reconstructing training data or gradients at any time.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Reference M1 does indeed teach “a gradient fragment that is mathematically insufficient, by itself, to reconstruct a training gradient or model parameter, and that no party reconstructs training data or gradients during joint training”. In paragraph 0038, M1 teaches “The term "secret sharing" can refer to any one of various techniques that can be used to store a data item on a set of training computers such that each training computer cannot determine the value of the data item on its own. As examples, the secret sharing can involve splitting a data item up into shares that require a sufficient number (e.g., all) of training computers to reconstruct and/or encryption mechanisms where decryption requires collusion among the training computers”. For further clarification, in M1’s disclosure, the data held by each party is mathematically insufficient to reconstruct training data, model parameters, or gradients because multiple parties are needed for reconstruction. Furthermore, although appears to be disclosed invention, the feature “a system in which all parties are prohibited from reconstructing training data or gradients at any time” is not explicitly cited in the claimed limitations. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Therefore, the 35 USC 102 rejection is maintained.
35 USC 103
On page 14 of the remarks section, Applicant argues that M2 teaches privacy-preserving machine learning by introducing interactive cryptographic sub-protocols, including secure reconstruction using cryptographic techniques. M2 is silent with respect to fragment-only model updates and does not teach eliminating gradient reconstruction while still updating model parameters using mathematically insufficient gradient fragments. Accordingly, even if combined, M1 and M2 would not yield the claimed invention.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “to fragment-only model updates” and “eliminating gradient reconstruction while still updating model parameters using mathematically insufficient gradient fragments”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Therefore, the 35 USC 103 rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
35 USC 112(a)
At least, claims 1, 9, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. In this instant the applicant AMENDED claims 1, 9, and 17 had introduced new subject matter. Claims 1, 9, and 17 in-part recites: "such that no party stores a complete plaintext version of any of the three types of training data", “without reconstructing a complete plaintext version of any of the three types of training data at either party”, and “wherein the first gradient fragment is mathematically insufficient, by itself, to reconstruct a corresponding training gradient or the model parameter”. However, careful review of the specifications do not show sufficient support. Consistent with MPEP 2163.04, the (1) Applicant has not pointed out, and (2) it is not clear from reading the specification as articulated in the above mentioned paragraphs, where the amended claim limitations "such that no party stores a complete plaintext version of any of the three types of training data", “without reconstructing a complete plaintext version of any of the three types of training data at either party”, and “wherein the first gradient fragment is mathematically insufficient, by itself, to reconstruct a corresponding training gradient or the model parameter” are supported. In conclusion, here, the claims are amended claims, the support for the limitations are not apparent, and applicant has not pointed out where the limitations are supported.
35 USC 112(b)
The term “mathematically insufficient” in claims 1, 9, and 17 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “mathematically insufficient” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-9, 12-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mohassel et al. (WO 2018174873 A1), hereinafter M1.
Regarding claim 1, M1 teaches,
A computer-implemented method [Para 0013, Embodiments of the present invention provide methods, apparatuses, and s stems for implementing privacy-preserving machine learning], comprising: performing, by a first party of two parties using a processor and a memory [Para 0046, a set of clients C.sub.t, ..., C.sub.w want to train various models on their joint data. No assumptions are made on how the data is distributed among the clients. In particular, the data can be horizontally or vertically partitioned, or be secret-shared among the clients, e.g., as part of a previous computation. Thus, a database table can be distributed among clients before any training of a machine learning model starts. For example, some client may have some rows of the database table while another client has other rows; Para 0284, The interconnection via system bus can allow the central processor to communicate with each subsystem and to control the execution of a plurality of instructions from system memory or the storage device(s)], masking on three first-party fragments corresponding to three types of training data for a logistic regression model joint training by, respectively, using first fragments of three random numbers in a first fragment of a random array to obtain three first mask fragments [Para 0123, Given two shared matrices (A) and (B)… we take shared matrices (U), (V), (Z), where each element in U and V is uniformly random in Z2l, U has the same dimension as A, V has the same dimension as B… The idea of this generalization is that each element in matrix A is always masked by the same random element in U, while it is multiplied by different elements in B in the matrix multiplication],
wherein the logistic regression model joint training comprises the three types of training data: a sample characteristic (Para 0078, x), a sample label (Para 0078, y), and a model parameter (Para 0078, w; Para 0125, U) [Para 0078, The mini-batch SGD algorithm for logistic regression updates the coefficients in each iteration as follows:
w
≔
w
-
1
B
a
X
B
T
×
f
X
B
×
w
-
Y
B
], and
wherein each of the three types of training data is split into fragments that are distributed between the two parties [Para 0046, a database table can be distributed among clients before any training of a machine learning model starts. For example, some client may have some rows of the database table while another client has other rows. This is called horizontal partitioning. Or, one client may have some columns while others may have other columns. This is referred to as vertical partitioning] such that no party stores a complete plaintext version of any of the three types of training data [Para 0190, Various types of secret-sharing private data can be used, e.g., additive sharing; Note: the additive sharing methodology inherently teaches distributing fragments such that no party stores a plaintext version of the data];
sending, by the first party of two parties, the three first mask fragments to a second party, wherein the first fragment of the random array is a fragment, sent by a third party to the first party, of two-party fragments that are obtained by splitting values in the random array generated by the third party independently of the training data [Para 0123, Para 0123, Si computes (E)i = (A)I -(U)i and (F)i = (Β)i + (V)i and sends them to the other server. The idea of this generalization is that each element in matrix A is always masked by the same random element in U, while it is multiplied by different elements in B in the matrix multiplication; Para 0124, Applying the technique to linear regression, in each iteration, we assume the set of mini-batch indices B is public, and perform the update: (w) := (w) -
1
B
a
M
u
l
A
(
X
B
T
,
M
u
l
A
X
B
,
w
-
Y
B
)
. We further observe that one data sample will be used several times in different epochs, yet it suffices to mask it by the same random multiplication triplets; Para 0156, masked multiple times by different random vectors for each inner products. These masked values are transferred between the two parties in the secure computation protocol. In particular, the overhead compared to the protocols in Section IV is for linear and logistic regressions; Para 0059, a target ideal functionality Fml for machine learning protocols involving a trusted 3rd party can be defined for a system comprising clients C1; : : : ;Cm and servers S0; S1. For uploading data, input xi from Ci can be stored internally at the trusted third party. For computation, after input of function F from S0 or S1, (y1; : : : ; ym)=f(x1; : : : ; xm) can be computed, and yi sent to Ci. This step can be repeated multiple times with different functions];
constructing, by the first party of two parties, three pieces of mask data corresponding to the three types of training data by using the three first mask fragments and three second mask fragments received from the second party without reconstructing a complete plaintext version of any of the three types of training data at either party [Para 0125, the multiplication triplets (U), (V), (Z), (V’), (Ζ') are precomputed with the following property; U is an
n
×
d
matrix to mask the data X, V is a
d
×
t
matrix, each column of which is used to mask w in one iteration (forward propagation), and V’ is a
B
×
t
matrix wherein each column is used to mask the difference vector Y*-Y in one iteration (backward propagation). We then let
Z
i
=
U
B
i
×
V
i
a
n
d
Z
'
i
=
U
B
t
T
×
V
'
i
f
o
r
i
=
1
,
…
t
where M[i] denotes the ith column of the matrix M… One will notice the re-use of U, and thus the two sets of triplets are not independent of each other, but instead share a matrix; Para 0158, privacy preserving machine learning with client-aided multiplication triplets generation; Para 0190, Various types of secret-sharing private data can be used, e.g., additive sharing; Note: the additive sharing methodology inherently teaches the parties storing incomplete plaintext versions of the data at each party, so each party alone cannot reconstruct a complete plaintext version of the data]; and
performing, by the first party of two parties, a first calculation based on the three pieces of mask data and the first fragment of the random array to obtain only a first gradient fragment for updating a first-party fragment of the model parameter, wherein the first calculation is determined based on a Taylor expansion (Para 0163, polynomial approximation with different degrees… we select as many points on the logistic function as the degree of the polynomial) of a gradient calculation of a logistic regression model wherein the first gradient fragment is mathematically insufficient, by itself, to reconstruct a corresponding training gradient or the model parameter [Para 0123, we generalize the addition and multiplication operations on share values to shared matrices. Matrices are shared by applying ShrA to every element. Given two shared matrices (A) and (B), matrix addition can be computed non- interactively by letting (C)i = (A)i + (B)i for i
∈
{0,1}. To multiply two shared matrices, instead of using independent multiplication triplets (e.g., just multiplying two numbers), we take shared matrices (U), (V), (Z), where each element in U and V is uniformly random in Z2l , U has the same dimension as A, V has the same dimension as B… The idea of this generalization is that each element in matrix A is always masked by the same random element in U, while it is multiplied by different elements in B in the matrix multiplication; Para 0161, The polynomial might be close to the logistic function in certain intervals, but the tails are unbounded. If a data sample yields a very large input u to the activation function, f(u) will be far beyond the [0, 1] interval which affects accuracy of the model significantly in the backward propagation; Para 0162, computing the backward propagation can be performed in a variety of ways. For example, embodiments can use the same update function as the logistic function; Para 0163, compare the accuracy of the produced model using the new activation function and polynomial approximation with different degrees… we select as many points on the logistic function as the degree of the polynomial; Para 0197, The error term can include a gradient, which can correspond to all or part of a backward propagation term].
Regarding claim 4, M1 teaches the limitations of claim 1 including performing masking on three first-party fragments corresponding to the three types of training data by, respectively, using first fragments of three random numbers to obtain three first mask fragments (para 0123, as shown above).
M1 further teaches,
for any type of training data, performing masking on a first-party fragment of the type of training data by using a first fragment of a random number (Para 0123, U and V is uniformly random in Z2l) having a same dimension as the type of training data (Para 0123, U has the same dimension as A, V has the same dimension as B) to obtain a corresponding first mask fragment [Para 0123, Embodiments can use the mini-batch and vectorization techniques discussed in Section IT- A (see Equation 2). To achieve this, we generalize the addition and multiplication operations on share values to shared matrices. Matrices are shared by applying ShrA to every element. Given two shared matrices (A) and (B), matrix addition can be computed non- interactively by letting (C)i = (A)i + (B)i for i
∈
{0,1}. To multiply two shared matrices, instead of using independent multiplication triplets (e.g., just multiplying two numbers), we take shared matrices (U), (V), (Z), where each element in U and V is uniformly random in Z2l , U has the same dimension as A, V has the same dimension as B… The idea of this generalization is that each element in matrix A is always masked by the same random element in U, while it is multiplied by different elements in B in the matrix multiplication].
Regarding claim 5, M1 teaches the limitations of claim 1 including constructing three pieces of mask data corresponding to the three types of training data by using the three first mask fragments and three second mask fragments received from the second party (paras 0125 and 0158, as shown above).
M1 further teaches,
for any type of training data (Para 0123, shared matrices (A) and (B)), constructing corresponding mask data (Para 0123, Both servers reconstruct E and F) by using a first mask fragment and a second mask fragment of the type of training data [Para 0123, Embodiments can use the mini-batch and vectorization techniques discussed in Section IT- A (see Equation 2). To achieve this, we generalize the addition and multiplication operations on share values to shared matrices. Matrices are shared by applying ShrA to every element. Given two shared matrices (A) and (B), matrix addition can be computed non- interactively by letting (C)i = (A)i + (B)i for i
∈
{0,1}. To multiply two shared matrices, instead of using independent multiplication triplets (e.g., just multiplying two numbers), we take shared matrices (U), (V), (Z), where each element in U and V is uniformly random in Z2l , U has the same dimension as A, V has the same dimension as B, and
z
=
U
×
V
m
o
d
2
l
. Si computes (E)i = (A)i -(U)i and (F)i = (Β)i + (V)i and sends them to the other server. Both servers reconstruct E and F].
Regarding claim 6, M1 teaches the limitations of claim 1 including performing, by the first party of two parties, a first calculation based on the three pieces of mask data and the first fragment of the random array (paras 0123 and 0163, as shown above).
M1 further teaches,
the random array further comprises a fourth random number (Para 0124, random matrix (U); Para 0125, re-use of U); the three random numbers comprise a second random number corresponding to the model parameter; the three pieces of mask data comprise characteristic mask data (Para 0125, V’) corresponding to the sample characteristic (Para 0124, data samples (X)) [Para 0123, we take shared matrices (U), (V), (Z), where each element in U and V is uniformly random in Z2l , U has the same dimension as A, V has the same dimension as B, and
Z
=
U
×
V
m
o
d
2
l
; Para 0124, Therefore, in the offline phase, one shared nxd random matrix (U) is generated to mask the data samples (X); Para 0125, the multiplication triplets (U), (V), (Z), (V’), (Ζ') are precomputed with the following property; U is an
n
×
d
matrix to mask the data X, V is a
d
×
t
matrix, each column of which is used to mask w in one iteration (forward propagation), and V’ is a
B
×
t
matrix wherein each column is used to mask the difference vector Y*-Y in one iteration (backward propagation). We then let
z
i
=
U
B
i
×
V
i
a
n
d
Z
'
i
=
U
B
t
T
×
V
'
i
f
o
r
i
=
1
,
…
t
where M[i] denotes the ith column of the matrix M… One will notice the re-use of U, and thus the two sets of triplets are not independent of each other, but instead share a matrix]; and
after constructing the three pieces of mask data (Para 0125, U, V, and V’) corresponding to the three types of training data and before obtaining the first gradient fragment: determining a first product mask fragment corresponding to a product result of the second random number and the characteristic mask data based on a first fragment of the second random number, the characteristic mask data, and a first fragment of the fourth random number (
Z
i
=
U
B
i
×
V
i
a
n
d
Z
'
i
=
U
B
t
T
×
V
'
i
f
o
r
i
=
1
,
…
t
) [Para 0125, the multiplication triplets (U), (V), (Z), (V’), (Ζ') are precomputed with the following property; U is an
n
×
d
matrix to mask the data X, V is a
d
×
t
matrix, each column of which is used to mask w in one iteration (forward propagation), and V’ is a
B
×
t
matrix wherein each column is used to mask the difference vector Y*-Y in one iteration (backward propagation). We then let
Z
i
=
U
B
i
×
V
i
a
n
d
Z
'
i
=
U
B
t
T
×
V
'
i
f
o
r
i
=
1
,
…
t
where M[i] denotes the ith column of the matrix M… One will notice the re-use of U, and thus the two sets of triplets are not independent of each other, but instead share a matrix; Para 0197, The error term can include a gradient, which can correspond to all or part of a backward propagation term], and
sending the first product mask fragment to the second party [Para 0123, we generalize the addition and multiplication operations on share values to shared matrices. Matrices are shared by applying ShrA to every element. Given two shared matrices (A) and (B), matrix addition can be computed non- interactively by letting (C)i = (A)i + (B)i for i
∈
{0,1}. To multiply two shared matrices, instead of using independent multiplication triplets (e.g., just multiplying two numbers), we take shared matrices (U), (V), (Z), where each element in U and V is uniformly random in Z2l , U has the same dimension as A, V has the same dimension as B. and Z=UxV mod 2l. Si computes (E)i = (A)I -(U)i and (F)i = (Β)i + (V)i and sends them to the other];
constructing product mask data corresponding to the product result by using the first product mask fragment and a second product mask fragment corresponding to the product result received from the second party [Para 0125, the multiplication triplets (U), (V), (Z), (V’), (Ζ') are precomputed with the following property; U is an
n
×
d
matrix to mask the data X, V is a
d
×
t
matrix, each column of which is used to mask w in one iteration (forward propagation), and V’ is a
B
×
t
matrix wherein each column is used to mask the difference vector Y*-Y in one iteration (backward propagation). We then let
Z
i
=
U
B
i
×
V
i
a
n
d
Z
'
i
=
U
B
t
T
×
V
'
i
f
o
r
i
=
1
,
…
t
where M[i] denotes the ith column of the matrix M… One will notice the re-use of U, and thus the two sets of triplets are not independent of each other, but instead share a matrix; Para 0156, now it is masked multiple times by different random vectors for each inner products. These masked values are transferred between the two parties in the secure computation protocol]; and
further performing the first calculation based on the product mask data [Para 0156, now it is masked multiple times by different random vectors for each inner products. These masked values are transferred between the two parties in the secure computation protocol; Para 0163, compare the accuracy of the produced model using the new activation function and polynomial approximation with different degrees… we select as many points on the logistic function as the degree of the polynomial].
Regarding claim 7, M1 teaches the limitations of claim 1, including performing a first calculation based on the three pieces of mask data and the first fragment of the random array to obtain a first gradient fragment (paras 0123 and 0163, as shown above).
M1 further teaches,
the random array further comprises a plurality of additional values, and the plurality of additional values are values obtained by the third party by performing an operation based on the three random numbers [Para 0046, a set of clients C.sub.t, ..., C.sub.w want to train various models on their joint data. No assumptions are made on how the data is distributed among the clients. In particular, the data can be horizontally or vertically partitioned, or be secret-shared among the clients, e.g., as part of a previous computation. Thus, a database table can be distributed among clients before any training of a machine learning model starts. For example, some client may have some rows of the database table while another client has other rows; Para 0051, Each of data clients 210-212 store private data that they do not wish to share with the other data clients. In a setup phase, data clients 210-212 secret-share their private data among servers 230 and 240. Examples of secret-sharing include additive sharing, Boolean sharing, and Yao sharing, and may involve encryption. Each client can generate shares of its own private data and then send each share to one of the servers. Thus, servers 230 and 240 can collectively store all of the private data; Para 0123, Given two shared matrices (A) and (B)… we take shared matrices (U), (V), (Z), where each element in U and V is uniformly random in Z2l, U has the same dimension as A, V has the same dimension as B… The idea of this generalization is that each element in matrix A is always masked by the same random element in U, while it is multiplied by different elements in B in the matrix multiplication]; and
calculating gradient mask data corresponding to a training gradient based on the three pieces of mask data [Para 0125, the multiplication triplets (U), (V), (Z), (V’), (Ζ') are precomputed with the following property; U is an
n
×
d
matrix to mask the data X, V is a
d
×
t
matrix, each column of which is used to mask w in one iteration (forward propagation), and V’ is a
B
×
t
matrix wherein each column is used to mask the difference vector Y*-Y in one iteration (backward propagation); Para 0197, The error term can include a gradient, which can correspond to all or part of a backward propagation term];
calculating a first removal fragment for a mask in the gradient mask data based on the three pieces of mask data, the first fragments of three random numbers, and a first fragment of the plurality of additional values [Para 0132, The protocol assumes that the data-independent shared matrices (U), (V), (Z), (V’), (Ζ') are already generated in an offline phase. Besides multiplication and addition of shared decimal numbers, the protocol also multiplies the coefficient vector by
a
B
in each iteration. To make this operation efficient, we set
a
B
to be a power of 2, i.e.,
a
B
=
2
-
k
. Then the multiplication with
a
B
can be replaced by having the parties truncate k additional bits from their shares of the coefficients]; and
performing de-masking on the gradient mask data by using the first removal fragment to obtain the first gradient fragment (alternate limitation); or determining the first removal fragment as the first gradient fragment [Para 0132, The protocol assumes that the data-independent shared matrices (U), (V), (Z), (V’), (Ζ') are already generated in an offline phase. Besides multiplication and addition of shared decimal numbers, the protocol also multiplies the coefficient vector by
a
B
in each iteration. To make this operation efficient, we set
a
B
to be a power of 2, i.e.,
a
B
=
2
-
k
. Then the multiplication with
a
B
can be replaced by having the parties truncate k additional bits from their shares of the coefficients; Para 0125, the multiplication triplets (U), (V), (Z), (V’), (Ζ') are precomputed with the following property; U is an
n
×
d
matrix to mask the data X, V is a
d
×
t
matrix, each column of which is used to mask w in one iteration (forward propagation), and V’ is a
B
×
t
matrix wherein each column is used to mask the difference vector Y*-Y in one iteration (backward propagation); Para 0197, The error term can include a gradient, which can correspond to all or part of a backward propagation term].
Regarding claim 8, M1 teaches the limitations of claim 1.
M1 further teaches,
after obtaining the first gradient fragment: subtracting a product of a predetermined learning rate and the first gradient fragment from the first-party fragment of the model parameter as an updated first-party fragment of the model parameter [Para 0072,
α
is a learning rate… The phase to calculate the predicted output
y
i
*
=
x
i
∙
w
is called forward propagation, and the phase to calculate the change
α
y
i
*
-
y
i
x
i
j
is called backward propagation. In some embodiments, all values of coefficient vector w can be updated together in a single vectorized operation; Para 0073, With a mini-batch, the update function can be expressed in a vectorized form:
w
≔
w
-
1
B
α
X
B
T
×
(
X
B
×
w
-
Y
B
)
; Para 0197, The error term can include a gradient, which can correspond to all or part of a backward propagation term].
Regarding claim 9, M1 teaches,
A non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing one or more instructions executable by a computer system to perform operations [Para 0286, The software code may be stored as a series of instructions or commands on a computer readable medium for storage and-' or transmission. A suitable non-transitory computer readable medium ca include random access memory (RAM), a read only memory (ROM)], comprising: performing, by a first party of two parties using a processor and a memory [Para 0046, a set of clients C.sub.t, ..., C.sub.w want to train various models on their joint data. No assumptions are made on how the data is distributed among the clients. In particular, the data can be horizontally or vertically partitioned, or be secret-shared among the clients, e.g., as part of a previous computation. Thus, a database table can be distributed among clients before any training of a machine learning model starts. For example, some client may have some rows of the database table while another client has other rows; Para 0284, The interconnection via system bus can allow the central processor to communicate with each subsystem and to control the execution of a plurality of instructions from system memory or the storage device(s)], masking on three first-party fragments corresponding to three types of training data for a logistic regression model joint training by, respectively, using first fragments of three random numbers in a first fragment of a random array to obtain three first mask fragments [Para 0123, Given two shared matrices (A) and (B)… we take shared matrices (U), (V), (Z), where each element in U and V is uniformly random in Z2l, U has the same dimension as A, V has the same dimension as B… The idea of this generalization is that each element in matrix A is always masked by the same random element in U, while it is multiplied by different elements in B in the matrix multiplication],
wherein the logistic regression model joint training comprises the three types of training data: a sample characteristic (Para 0078, x), a sample label (Para 0078, y), and a model parameter (Para 0078, w; Para 0125, U) [Para 0078, The mini-batch SGD algorithm for logistic regression updates the coefficients in each iteration as follows:
w
≔
w
-
1
B
a
X
B
T
×
f
X
B
×
w
-
Y
B
], and
wherein each of the three types of training data is split into fragments that are distributed between the two parties [Para 0046, a database table can be distributed among clients before any training of a machine learning model starts. For example, some client may have some rows of the database table while another client has other rows. This is called horizontal partitioning. Or, one client may have some columns while others may have other columns. This is referred to as vertical partitioning] such that no party stores a complete plaintext version of any of the three types of training data [Para 0190, Various types of secret-sharing private data can be used, e.g., additive sharing; Note: the additive sharing methodology inherently teaches distributing fragments such that no party stores a plaintext version of the data];
sending, by the first party of two parties, the three first mask fragments to a second party, wherein the first fragment of the random array is a fragment, sent by a third party to the first party, of two-party fragments that are obtained by splitting values in the random array generated by the third party independently of the training data [Para 0123, Para 0123, Si computes (E)i = (A)I -(U)i and (F)i = (Β)i + (V)i and sends them to the other server. The idea of this generalization is that each element in matrix A is always masked by the same random element in U, while it is multiplied by different elements in B in the matrix multiplication; Para 0124, Applying the technique to linear regression, in each iteration, we assume the set of mini-batch indices B is public, and perform the update: (w) := (w) -
1
B
a
M
u
l
A
(
X
B
T
,
M
u
l
A
X
B
,
w
-
Y
B
)
. We further observe that one data sample will be used several times in different epochs, yet it suffices to mask it by the same random multiplication triplets; Para 0156, masked multiple times by different random vectors for each inner products. These masked values are transferred between the two parties in the secure computation protocol. In particular, the overhead compared to the protocols in Section IV is for linear and logistic regressions; Para 0059, a target ideal functionality Fml for machine learning protocols involving a trusted 3rd party can be defined for a system comprising clients C1; : : : ;Cm and servers S0; S1. For uploading data, input xi from Ci can be stored internally at the trusted third party. For computation, after input of function F from S0 or S1, (y1; : : : ; ym)=f(x1; : : : ; xm) can be computed, and yi sent to Ci. This step can be repeated multiple times with different functions];
constructing, by the first party of two parties, three pieces of mask data corresponding to the three types of training data by using the three first mask fragments and three second mask fragments received from the second party without reconstructing a complete plaintext version of any of the three types of training data at either party [Para 0125, the multiplication triplets (U), (V), (Z), (V’), (Ζ') are precomputed with the following property; U is an
n
×
d
matrix to mask the data X, V is a
d
×
t
matrix, each column of which is used to mask w in one iteration (forward propagation), and V’ is a
B
×
t
matrix wherein each column is used to mask the difference vector Y*-Y in one iteration (backward propagation). We then let
Z
i
=
U
B
i
×
V
i
a
n
d
Z
'
i
=
U
B
t
T
×
V
'
i
f
o
r
i
=
1
,
…
t
where M[i] denotes the ith column of the matrix M… One will notice the re-use of U, and thus the two sets of triplets are not independent of each other, but instead share a matrix; Para 0158, privacy preserving machine learning with client-aided multiplication triplets generation; Para 0190, Various types of secret-sharing private data can be used, e.g., additive sharing; Note: the additive sharing methodology inherently teaches the parties storing incomplete plaintext versions of the data at each party, so each party alone cannot reconstruct a complete plaintext version of the data]; and
performing, by the first party of two parties, a first calculation based on the three pieces of mask data and the first fragment of the random array to obtain only a first gradient fragment for updating a first-party fragment of the model parameter, wherein the first calculation is determined based on a Taylor expansion (Para 0163, polynomial approximation with different degrees… we select as many points on the logistic function as the degree of the polynomial) of a gradient calculation of a logistic regression model wherein the first gradient fragment is mathematically insufficient, by itself, to reconstruct a corresponding training gradient or the model parameter [Para 0123, we generalize the addition and multiplication operations on share values to shared matrices. Matrices are shared by applying ShrA to every element. Given two shared matrices (A) and (B), matrix addition can be computed non- interactively by letting (C)i = (A)i + (B)i for i
∈
{0,1}. To multiply two shared matrices, instead of using independent multiplication triplets (e.g., just multiplying two numbers), we take shared matrices (U), (V), (Z), where each element in U and V is uniformly random in Z2l , U has the same dimension as A, V has the same dimension as B… The idea of this generalization is that each element in matrix A is always masked by the same random element in U, while it is multiplied by different elements in B in the matrix multiplication; Para 0161, The polynomial might be close to the logistic function in certain intervals, but the tails are unbounded. If a data sample yields a very large input u to the activation function, f(u) will be far beyond the [0, 1] interval which affects accuracy of the model significantly in the backward propagation; Para 0162, computing the backward propagation can be performed in a variety of ways. For example, embodiments can use the same update function as the logistic function; Para 0163, compare the accuracy of the produced model using the new activation function and polynomial approximation with different degrees… we select as many points on the logistic function as the degree of the polynomial; Para 0197, The error term can include a gradient, which can correspond to all or part of a backward propagation term].
Claims 12-16 are non-transitory computer-readable medium claims that recite similar limitations to method claims 4-8, respectively. Therefore, the rejection of claims 12-16 follow the same rationale as the rejection for claims 4-8, respectively.
Regarding claim 17, M1 teaches,
A computer-implemented system [Para 0043, a privacy-preserving system for training neural networks], comprising: one or more computers [Para 0039, The present disclosure provides techniques for efficient implementation that allows multiple client computers]; and one or more computer memory devices interoperably coupled with the one or more computers and having tangible, non-transitory, machine-readable media storing one or more instructions [Para 0287, The software code may be stored as a series of instructions or commands on a computer readable medium for storage and-' or transmission. A suitable non-transitory computer readable medium ca include random access memory (RAM)] that, when executed by the one or more computers, perform one or more operations, comprising: performing, by a first party of two parties using a processor and memory [Para 0046, a set of clients C.sub.t, ..., C.sub.w want to train various models on their joint data. No assumptions are made on how the data is distributed among the clients. In particular, the data can be horizontally or vertically partitioned, or be secret-shared among the clients, e.g., as part of a previous computation. Thus, a database table can be distributed among clients before any training of a machine learning model starts. For example, some client may have some rows of the database table while another client has other rows; Para 0284, The interconnection via system bus can allow the central processor to communicate with each subsystem and to control the execution of a plurality of instructions from system memory or the storage device(s)], masking on three first-party fragments corresponding to three types of training data for a logistic regression model joint training by, respectively, using first fragments of three random numbers in a first fragment of a random array to obtain three first mask fragments [Para 0123, Given two shared matrices (A) and (B)… we take shared matrices (U), (V), (Z), where each element in U and V is uniformly random in Z2l, U has the same dimension as A, V has the same dimension as B… The idea of this generalization is that each element in matrix A is always masked by the same random element in U, while it is multiplied by different elements in B in the matrix multiplication],
wherein the logistic regression model joint training comprises the three types of training data: a sample characteristic (Para 0078, x), a sample label (Para 0078, y), and a model parameter (Para 0078, w; Para 0125, U) [Para 0078, The mini-batch SGD algorithm for logistic regression updates the coefficients in each iteration as follows:
w
≔
w
-
1
B
a
X
B
T
×
f
X
B
×
w
-
Y
B
], and
wherein each of the three types of training data is split into fragments that are distributed between the two parties [Para 0046, a database table can be distributed among clients before any training of a machine learning model starts. For example, some client may have some rows of the database table while another client has other rows. This is called horizontal partitioning. Or, one client may have some columns while others may have other columns. This is referred to as vertical partitioning] such that no party stores a complete plaintext version of any of the three types of training data [Para 0190, Various types of secret-sharing private data can be used, e.g., additive sharing; Note: the additive sharing methodology inherently teaches distributing fragments such that no party stores a plaintext version of the data];
sending, by the first party of two parties, the three first mask fragments to a second party, wherein the first fragment of the random array is a fragment, sent by a third party to the first party, of two-party fragments that are obtained by splitting values in the random array generated by the third party independently of the training data [Para 0123, Para 0123, Si computes (E)i = (A)I -(U)i and (F)i = (Β)i + (V)i and sends them to the other server. The idea of this generalization is that each element in matrix A is always masked by the same random element in U, while it is multiplied by different elements in B in the matrix multiplication; Para 0124, Applying the technique to linear regression, in each iteration, we assume the set of mini-batch indices B is public, and perform the update: (w) := (w) -
1
B
a
M
u
l
A
(
X
B
T
,
M
u
l
A
X
B
,
w
-
Y
B
)
. We further observe that one data sample will be used several times in different epochs, yet it suffices to mask it by the same random multiplication triplets; Para 0156, masked multiple times by different random vectors for each inner products. These masked values are transferred between the two parties in the secure computation protocol. In particular, the overhead compared to the protocols in Section IV is for linear and logistic regressions; Para 0059, a target ideal functionality Fml for machine learning protocols involving a trusted 3rd party can be defined for a system comprising clients C1; : : : ;Cm and servers S0; S1. For uploading data, input xi from Ci can be stored internally at the trusted third party. For computation, after input of function F from S0 or S1, (y1; : : : ; ym)=f(x1; : : : ; xm) can be computed, and yi sent to Ci. This step can be repeated multiple times with different functions];
constructing, by the first party of two parties, three pieces of mask data corresponding to the three types of training data by using the three first mask fragments and three second mask fragments received from the second party without reconstructing a complete plaintext version of any of the three types of training data at either party [Para 0125, the multiplication triplets (U), (V), (Z), (V’), (Ζ') are precomputed with the following property; U is an
n
×
d
matrix to mask the data X, V is a
d
×
t
matrix, each column of which is used to mask w in one iteration (forward propagation), and V’ is a
B
×
t
matrix wherein each column is used to mask the difference vector Y*-Y in one iteration (backward propagation). We then let
Z
i
=
U
B
i
×
V
i
a
n
d
Z
'
i
=
U
B
t
T
×
V
'
i
f
o
r
i
=
1
,
…
t
where M[i] denotes the ith column of the matrix M… One will notice the re-use of U, and thus the two sets of triplets are not independent of each other, but instead share a matrix; Para 0158, privacy preserving machine learning with client-aided multiplication triplets generation; Para 0190, Various types of secret-sharing private data can be used, e.g., additive sharing; Note: the additive sharing methodology inherently teaches the parties storing incomplete plaintext versions of the data at each party, so each party alone cannot reconstruct a complete plaintext version of the data]; and
performing, by the first party of two parties, a first calculation based on the three pieces of mask data and the first fragment of the random array to obtain only a first gradient fragment for updating a first-party fragment of the model parameter, wherein the first calculation is determined based on a Taylor expansion (Para 0163, polynomial approximation with different degrees… we select as many points on the logistic function as the degree of the polynomial) of a gradient calculation of a logistic regression model wherein the first gradient fragment is mathematically insufficient, by itself, to reconstruct a corresponding training gradient or the model parameter [Para 0123, we generalize the addition and multiplication operations on share values to shared matrices. Matrices are shared by applying ShrA to every element. Given two shared matrices (A) and (B), matrix addition can be computed non- interactively by letting (C)i = (A)i + (B)i for i
∈
{0,1}. To multiply two shared matrices, instead of using independent multiplication triplets (e.g., just multiplying two numbers), we take shared matrices (U), (V), (Z), where each element in U and V is uniformly random in Z2l , U has the same dimension as A, V has the same dimension as B… The idea of this generalization is that each element in matrix A is always masked by the same random element in U, while it is multiplied by different elements in B in the matrix multiplication; Para 0161, The polynomial might be close to the logistic function in certain intervals, but the tails are unbounded. If a data sample yields a very large input u to the activation function, f(u) will be far beyond the [0, 1] interval which affects accuracy of the model significantly in the backward propagation; Para 0162, computing the backward propagation can be performed in a variety of ways. For example, embodiments can use the same update function as the logistic function; Para 0163, compare the accuracy of the produced model using the new activation function and polynomial approximation with different degrees… we select as many points on the logistic function as the degree of the polynomial; Para 0197, The error term can include a gradient, which can correspond to all or part of a backward propagation term].
Claim 20 is a system claim that recites similar limitations to method claim 4. Therefore, the rejection of claim 20 follows the same rationale as the rejection for claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 10, 11, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over M1 in view of Mohassel et al. (SecureML: A System for Scalable Privacy-Preserving Machine Learning, published 2017), hereinafter M2.
Regarding claim 2, M1 teaches the limitations of claim 1.
M1 does not teach first party holds sample characteristic and second party holds sample label; and before obtaining three first mask fragments: splitting the sample characteristic into a corresponding first-party fragment and a corresponding second-party fragment by using a secret sharing technology, and sending the corresponding second-party fragment to the second party; and receiving, from the second party, a first-party fragment obtained by splitting the sample label by using the secret sharing technology.
M2 teaches,
first party (Sect II (B), para 4, Alice) holds sample characteristic (Sect II (B), para 4, x) and second party (Sect II (B), para 4, Bob) holds sample label (Sect II (B), para 4, y); and before obtaining three first mask fragments: splitting the sample characteristic into a corresponding first-party fragment (Sect II (B), para 4,
x
^
) and a corresponding second-party fragment (Sect II (B), para 4,
y
^
) by using a secret sharing technology (Sect II (B), para 4, garbling scheme), and sending the corresponding second-party fragment to the second party (Sect II (B), para 4, Bob obtains his encoded (garbled) input
y
^
); and receiving, from the second party, a first-party fragment obtained by splitting the sample label by using the secret sharing technology (Sect II (B), para 4, We can have Alice, Bob, or both learn an output by communicating the decoding table accordingly) [Sect II (B), para 4, Given such a garbling scheme, it is possible to design a secure two-party computation protocol as follows: Alice generates a random seed σ and runs the garbling algorithm for function f to obtain a garbled circuit GC. She also encodes her input
x
^
using σ and x as inputs to the encoding algorithm. Alice sends GC and
x
^
to Bob. Bob obtains his encoded (garbled) input
y
^
using an oblivious transfer for each bit of y. He then runs the evaluation algorithm on GC,
x
^
,
y
^
to obtain the garbled output
z
^
. We can have Alice, Bob, or both learn an output by communicating the decoding table accordingly].
M2 is analogous to the claimed invention as they both relate to privacy-preserving machine learning. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified M1’s teachings to incorporate the teachings of M2 and provide a garbling scheme in order to [M2, Sect II (B), para 3] satisfy standard security properties.
Regarding claim 3, M1-M2 teach the limitations of claim 2.
M1 further teaches,
wherein, before obtaining the three first mask fragments: after initializing, as an initialized model parameter, the model parameter [Para 0072, The SGD algorithm works as follows: w is initialized as a vector of random values or all 0s]: splitting the model parameter (Para 0123, share values) into a corresponding first-party fragment (Para 0123, U) and a corresponding second-party fragment (Para 0123, V); and sending the corresponding second-party fragment to the second party (Para 0123, sends them to the other) [Para 0123, we generalize the addition and multiplication operations on share values to shared matrices. Matrices are shared by applying ShrA to every element. Given two shared matrices (A) and (B), matrix addition can be computed non- interactively by letting (C)i = (A)i + (B)i for i
∈
{0,1}. To multiply two shared matrices, instead of using independent multiplication triplets (e.g., just multiplying two numbers), we take shared matrices (U), (V), (Z), where each element in U and V is uniformly random in Z2l , U has the same dimension as A, V has the same dimension as B. and Z=UxV mod 2l. Si computes (E)i = (A)I -(U)i and (F)i = (Β)i + (V)i and sends them to the other]; or (alternate limitation) receiving, from the second party, a first-party fragment obtained by splitting the initialized model parameter by using the secret sharing technology.
Claims 10 and 11 are non-transitory computer-readable medium claims that recite similar limitations to method claims 2 and 3, respectively. Therefore, the rejection of claims 10 and 11 follow the same rationale as the rejection for claims 2 and 3, respectively.
Claims 18 and 19 are system claims that recite similar limitations to method claims 2 and 3, respectively. Therefore, the rejection of claims 18 and 19 follow the same rationale as the rejection for claims 2 and 3, respectively.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SYED RAYHAN AHMED/Examiner, Art Unit 2126
/DAVID YI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2126