DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment/response filed on 12 September 2025, which has been entered and made of record.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112 are withdrawn in view of the claim amendments. However, new rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112 are introduced in response to the new claims.
Claims 53 and 54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 53 and 54 recite “the metadata comprising the geometrical constraint” in the last line, which lacks proper antecedent basis. Since the earlier-recited metadata is not described as comprising the geometrical constraint, the scope of the claim is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 53 and 54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fathi et al. (US 2018/0053347; hereinafter “Fathi”).
Regarding claim 53, Fathi discloses A method for generating a virtual 3D representation of a real-world structure (“generating verified wireframes corresponding to at least part of a structure,” abstract), the method comprising: receiving a plurality of ground-based lateral images (“The image-capture devices from which the 2D images are generated can be integrated into a device such as a smartphone,” para. 40; “ground-based (mobile) imagery,” para. 47) of a real-world rectangular-shaped sub-structure of a building comprising a plurality of rectangular-shaped sub-structures, wherein the sub-structures are each formed by walls (“typical residential building,” para. 55); identifying one or more landmarks in each image of the plurality of images, wherein each of the one or more landmarks is not a line (“a set of 2D and/or 3D features could be extracted and matched automatically among the different datasets,” para. 47); generating metadata from the one or more identified landmarks in each image of the plurality of images, wherein the metadata comprises a position of the identified landmarks (“The 2D digital images will at least partially overlap with regard to the relevant structural features,” para. 41; “perform automated feature extraction,” para. 90); providing geometric constraints for the one or more identified landmarks, wherein the geometric constraints comprise geometric-properties of the identified landmarks corresponding to the position of the identified landmarks (“different types of constraints could be loaded to the tool based on the current active module including: 1) a geometric constraint that enforces or limits connectivity of an object to other objects … constraints that describe relational connectivity (e.g., a floor object is enclosed by walls, a roof structure must be above ground plane, etc.),” para. 90; “A rule-based model can be implemented once the adjustment is completed so that the verified wireframe can be verified to be geometrically valid according to construction rules and conventions,” para. 93); correlating images of the plurality of images (“Point clouds derived from stereographic image capture methodologies,” para. 42; “Corresponding 2D features can be converted into 3D features using visual triangulation techniques,” para. 47); and generating the 3D representation based on: the identified landmarks in the plurality of images; the correlations between the images of the plurality of images; and the metadata comprising the geometrical constraint for the identified landmarks (the final generated 3D wireframe representation, e.g. Verified Wireframe 124 of Fig. 1, is based on the landmarks and constraints as discussed above).
Regarding claim 54, it is rejected using the same citations and rationales described in the rejection of claim 53.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 22, 25, 26, 33, 34, 36, 37, 40, 41, 48, 49, 51, 52, 55, 56, and 58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fathi et al. (US 2018/0053347; hereinafter “Fathi”) in view of Matsunobu et al. (US 2019/0333269; hereinafter “Matsunobu”).
Regarding claim 21, Fathi discloses A method for generating a virtual 3D representation of a real-world structure (“generating verified wireframes corresponding to at least part of a structure,” abstract), the method comprising: receiving a plurality of ground-based lateral images (“The image-capture devices from which the 2D images are generated can be integrated into a device such as a smartphone,” para. 40; “ground-based (mobile) imagery,” para. 47) of a real-world rectangular-shaped sub-structure of a building comprising a plurality of rectangular-shaped sub-structures, wherein the sub-structures are each formed by walls (“typical residential building,” para. 55); identifying one or more landmarks in each image of the plurality of images, wherein each of the one or more landmarks is not a line (“a set of 2D and/or 3D features could be extracted and matched automatically among the different datasets,” para. 47); generating metadata associated with each image of the plurality of images, wherein the metadata comprises a geometric constraint of each of the identified landmarks in each image of the plurality of images, wherein the geometric constraints comprise geometric properties including a position of the identified landmarks relative to the image the landmark is associated with (“different types of constraints could be loaded to the tool based on the current active module including: 1) a geometric constraint that enforces or limits connectivity of an object to other objects … constraints that describe relational connectivity (e.g., a floor object is enclosed by walls, a roof structure must be above ground plane, etc.),” para. 90); correlating images of the plurality of images (“Point clouds derived from stereographic image capture methodologies,” para. 42; “Corresponding 2D features can be converted into 3D features using visual triangulation techniques,” para. 47); generating the 3D representation based on: the identified landmarks in the plurality of images; the correlations between the images of the plurality of images; and the metadata comprising the geometrical constraint for the identified landmarks (the final generated 3D wireframe representation, e.g. Verified Wireframe 124 of Fig. 1, is based on the landmarks and constraints as discussed above); and validating the 3D representation, wherein validating the 3D representation comprises: performing a comparison of the 3D representation and a reference representation of the real-world structure, wherein the reference representation comprises one or more of: a digital image of the real-world structure, an outline of the real-world structure, a wireframe representation of the real-world structure, and a second 3D representation of the real-world structure (“projection or overlay of the unverified wireframe ... on or over at least one 2D image representation … verifying that at least the vertices of the unverified wireframe are or are not accurately matched or aligned with the corresponding vertices on the 2D image,” para. 31).
Fathi does not disclose calculating a reprojection error based on the comparison; and determining whether the 3D representation is valid by determining whether a value of the reprojection error is more or is less than a threshold value.
In the same art of generating 3D models, Matsunobu teaches calculating a reprojection error based on the comparison; and determining whether the 3D representation is valid by determining whether a value of the reprojection error is more or is less than a threshold value (“the reliability of the three-dimensional model may utilize, as an index, an error between a reprojection point which is obtained by reprojecting a three-dimensional point in the three-dimensional model onto an imaging plane of the multi-viewpoint image,” para. 29; “selects a model with a low reprojection error,” para. 107; “calculate reliability of each three-dimensional point based on a reprojection error of each three-dimensional point, and use only points having high reliability,” para. 130; a “low” reprojection error is considered a threshold).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Matsunobu to Fathi. The motivation would have been “to improve the accuracy of three-dimensional model” (Matsunobu, para. 26).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Fathi and Matsunobu renders obvious wherein the metadata further comprises a classification of the one or more identified landmarks (“an edge with a certain edge type cannot be connected to another edge with an edge type that does not conform to the first edge type,” para. 90; “a collection of smaller structure or elements (e.g., doors, windows, etc.) associated with a larger structure or element (e.g., the overall dimensions of a building) where information about such collection of smaller and larger structure or elements can be processed,” Fathi, para. 28).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Fathi and Matsunobu renders obvious generating a surface of the structure based on the identified landmarks (“3D reconstructions of structures or elements comprising planar surfaces,” Fathi, para. 39).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Fathi and Matsunobu renders obvious generating one or more other surfaces based on the identified landmarks (“3D reconstructions of structures or elements comprising planar surfaces,” Fathi, para. 39).
Regarding claim 33, the combination of Fathi and Matsunobu renders obvious generating a data map of correlations between the identified landmarks in different images of the plurality of images (“Point clouds derived from stereographic image capture methodologies,” Fathi, para. 42; “a set of 2D and/or 3D features could be extracted and matched automatically among the different datasets,” Fathi, para. 47).
Regarding claim 34, the combination of Fathi and Matsunobu renders obvious providing a scale for the 3D representation (“project dimensions on top of a wireframe or point cloud or other 3D structure,” Fathi, para. 153).
Regarding claims 36, 37, 40, 41, 48, and 49, they are rejected using the same citations and rationales described in the rejections of claims 21, 22, 25, 26, 33, and 34, respectively.
Regarding claims 51 and 52, they are rejected using the same citations and rationales described in the rejections of claims 21 and 36, respectively, except that claims 51 and 52 replace “a building comprising a plurality of rectangular-shaped sub-structures” with “the real-world structure,” which is rejected using the same citation.
Regarding claim 55, the combination of Fathi and Matsunobu renders obvious generating a plurality of outlines of the real-world structure; and generating the reference representation by combining the plurality of outlines or images depicting the outlines (“With the wireframe projected over the image or point cloud, endpoints and edges can be compared to features of the underlying 2D image or 3D representation,” Fathi, para. 163).
Regarding claim 56, the combination of Fathi and Matsunobu renders obvious wherein generating the reference representation comprises generating a wireframe representation of the real-world structure (“The 3D representation can comprise … surface mesh information, computer aided design (CAD) model information or building information modeling (BIM) model incorporating the structure or element of interest,” Fathi, para. 162; “the unverified wireframe is projected on the next 2D image or 3D representation. The comparison of the unverified wireframe can, in some implementations, continue until verification with all of the 2D images and/or 3D representation is complete,” Fathi, para. 164; a “surface mesh” teaches a Broadest Reasonable Interpretation of “wireframe”).
Regarding claim 58, the combination of Fathi and Matsunobu renders obvious wherein calculating the reprojection error comprises calculating reprojection errors for different portions of the 3D representation, wherein determining whether the 3D representation is valid comprises determining whether each of the different portions of the 3D representation is valid (“comparison by a user of the unverified wireframe with a portion or portions of one or more 2D images or point cloud of the structure or element of interest,” Fathi, para. 25; “fully or partially automated or manual wireframe verification and adjustment process … ensure that the verified wireframe is or is not an accurate model of all or part of the structure or element of interest,” Fathi, para. 31; “verification and adjustment of the corresponding portion of the wireframe,” Fathi, para. 64; “the reliability of the three-dimensional model may utilize, as an index, an error between a reprojection point which is obtained by reprojecting a three-dimensional point in the three-dimensional model onto an imaging plane of the multi-viewpoint image,” Matsunobu, para. 29; “an error between a part of the first three-dimensional model and a part of the second three-dimensional model,” Matsunobu, para. 30; see claim 21 for motivation to combine).
Claims 27 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Fathi and Matsunobu, and further in view of Keane (US 2019/0188337).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Fathi and Matsunobu does not disclose wherein the surfaces comprise one or more of a side of the sub-structure and a back of the sub-structure, wherein the one or more of the side of the sub-structure and the back of the sub-structure are not visible in the plurality of images.
In the same art of 3D reconstruction, Keane teaches wherein the surfaces comprise one or more of a side of the sub-structure and a back of the sub-structure, wherein the one or more of the side of the sub-structure and the back of the sub-structure are not visible in the plurality of images (“the entire external structure including siding, walls ... and/or the roof can be modeled using the techniques discussed herein, “ para. 25; “features within images and/or missing features within images may be catalogued (e.g., spatial cataloguing) within one or more databases for retrieval and/or analysis. For example, measurements of features (e.g., shape or size of component(s), shape or size of ridge, eave, rake, or the like, size of building(s), height of tree(s), footprint(s) of man-made or non-man made feature(s)) may be obtained,” para. 90).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Keane to the combination of Fathi and Matsunobu. The motivation would have been “to provide accuracy and/or precision for each model” (Keane, para. 124) and “to be more cost effective” (Keane, para. 3).
Regarding claim 42, it is rejected using the same citations and rationales described in the rejection of claim 27.
Claims 28-30, 35, 43-45, and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Fathi and Matsunobu in view of Colburn et al. (US 2020/0116493; hereinafter “Colburn”).
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Fathi and Matsunobu does not disclose correlating according to the metadata for each image.
In the same art of 3D reconstruction, Colburn teaches correlating according to the metadata for each image (“The determination of the relative positions of the images' viewing locations ... by successively identifying common features in two different images to determine their relative positions to each other ... and/or from metadata about acquisition of the images,” para. 10).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Colburn to the combination of Fathi and Matsunobu. The motivation would have been for “greater accuracy” (Colburn, para. 15).
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Fathi, Matsunobu, and Colburn renders obvious wherein the metadata comprises pose information of a camera associated with each of the images (“The determination of the relative positions of the images' viewing locations ... by successively identifying common features in two different images to determine their relative positions to each other ... and/or from metadata about acquisition of the images,” Colburn, para. 10; see claim 28 for motivation to combine).
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Fathi, Matsunobu, and Colburn renders obvious correlating according to the geometric constraints of the identified landmarks identified in each of the images (“automatically determining, for each room in the building, the relative position within the room of any image viewing locations, and the positions of any connecting passages in and/or out of the room, such as based at least in part on automated analysis of each such image to determine directions to multiple features in the room (e.g., corners, doorways, etc.),” Colburn, para. 11; “applying constraints of one or more types, including connecting passages between rooms,” Colburn, para. 13; see claim 28 for motivation to combine).
Regarding claim 35, the combination of Fathi and Matsunobu does not disclose wherein the scale is based on measurements of structural aspects within one image of the images.
In the same art of 3D reconstruction, Colburn teaches wherein the scale is based on measurements of structural aspects within one image of the images (“measure sizes in images of objects of known size, and use such information to estimate room width, length and/or height,” para. 14).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Colburn to the combination of Fathi and Matsunobu. The motivation would have been for “greater accuracy” (Colburn, para. 15).
Regarding claims 43-45 and 50, they are rejected using the same citations and rationales described in the rejections of claims 28-30 and 35, respectively.
Claim 57 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Fathi and Matsunobu, and further in view of Arora et al. (US 2015/0381968; hereinafter “Arora”).
Regarding claim 57, the combination of Fathi and Matsunobu does not disclose setting the threshold value based upon a category of the real-world structure, wherein different threshold values are associated with different categories of real-world structures.
In the same art of 3D reconstruction, Arora teaches setting the threshold value based upon a category of the real-world structure, wherein different threshold values are associated with different categories of real-world structures (“a cuboid shaped product … The closest points on the original point cloud are compared to the refined point cloud to estimate an error-in-fit, and compare against a threshold to determine whether the object is a cuboid or not,” para. 48; “cylindrically shaped product … The closest points of the original point cloud are compared to the refined point cloud to estimate an error-in-fit and, if the error-in-fit is greater than a threshold, it is declared a bottle,” para. 51; “If the error-in-fit for both cuboid and bottle is higher than their respective thresholds, we deem the object as a generic shape class,” par. 52).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Arora to the combination of Fathi and Matsunobu. The motivation would have been to “efficiently generate a 3D model” (Arora, para. 47) and “enhance the matching accuracy” (Arora, para. 59).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated any new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYAN MCCULLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611