Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper “functional approach” to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham. The key to supporting any rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is the clear articulation of the reason(s) why the claimed invention would have been obvious. The Supreme Court in KSR noted that the analysis supporting a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 should be made explicit.
EXEMPLARY RATIONALES
Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 17-18, 20, 1-6, 8-14, 16, 7, 15, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itzkovitz (US 12215898B2) alone or in view of He et al. (US 7718928B2)
Itzkovitz discloses in reference to claim:
17. A pressure cooker 100, comprising: a housing 110 including an outer chamber defined by an inner housing wall A of the housing 110; a crock 120 supported within the outer chamber of the housing, the crock including at least one side wall B and a bottom wall C defining a cooking chamber Z; a lid D removably secured to the housing and configured to seal the cooking chamber Z; a heating element (not shown), a first external vent 112/E disposed proximate a top of the housing 110; a second external vent 111/H disposed proximate a bottom of the housing; an air channel F extending between the first and second external vents, with a portion thereof extending proximate (see Fig. 3) the at least one side wall B of the crock 120; and a reversible fan 160/G coupled to the housing and in fluid communication with the air channel F.
Itzkovitz does not explicitly disclose the pressure cooker wherein the heating element is coupled to the housing and positioned opposite the bottom wall of the crock to heat the cooking chamber nor explicitly that a reversible fan selectively is operable in first and second modes, wherein in the first mode, the reversible fan is operable to draw first air external from the housing into the first external vent, communicate the first air through the air channel, and exhaust the first air out of the second external vent, and in the second mode, the reversible fan is operable to draw second air external from the housing into the second external vent, communicate the second air through the air channel, and exhaust the second air out of the first external vent.
However, Itzkovitz discloses:
(7) The pressure cooker 100 in FIGS. 1-3 may include a housing 110, a pressure pot 120, and a cooling system 130. As shown in FIGS. 2-3, the pressure pot 120 may be disposed in the housing 110. The cooling system 130 may be thermally coupled to the pressure pot 120 to cool the pressure pot 120. The cooling system 130 may be configured to cool the pressure pot 120 before cooking (e.g., to keep foods in the pot 120 cold to delay start time), after cooking (e.g., to cool foods in the pot 120, such as yogurt and any other foods), and/or during cooking (e.g., to effectively adjust temperature of foods in the pot 120). The pressure pot 120 may be configured to be covered and sealed by a lid 180. The pressure cooker 100 may further include a heater and a pressure sensor (both are not shown). The heater may heat the pressure pot 120. The pressure sensor may sense a pressure inside the pressure pot 120 such that the pressure inside the pressure pot 120 can be adjusted at a desired pressure.
(8) As shown in FIGS. 2-3, the housing 110 may include an air inlet 111 and an air outlet 112. In a nonlimiting example of FIGS. 2-3, the air inlet 111 may be located at a bottom of the housing 110, and the air outlet 112 may be located at an upper side of the housing 110. In the present embodiment, the air outlet 112 may include a plurality of holes that are arranged in a circumferential direction of the housing 110. The configurations, including the locations, of the air inlet and the air outlet may not be limited to the configurations shown in FIGS. 2-3, and may be different from those in FIGS. 2-3.
(9) Further, the pressure cooker 100 may include an air passage 150 and a fan 160. The air passage 150 may be located in the housing 110 such that heat of the pressure pot 120 is transferred to air in the air passage 150. In this embodiment, the heat of the pressure pot 120 may be transferred to the air in the air passage 150 via the cooling system 130. The air passage 150 may be in communication with each of the air inlet 111 and the air outlet 112. In an example of FIGS. 2-3, a part of the air passage 150 may be defined by an air shroud 170. The air shroud 170 may be disposed between the air passage 150 and the pressure pot 120.
(10) The fan 160 may blow the air from the air inlet 111 to the air outlet 112 through the air passage 150. In one embodiment, the fan 160 may be disposed, for example, without limitation, under a bottom of the pressure pot 120.
Regarding the configuration of the inlet vent and the outlet vents, Itzkovitz makes it clear that the inlet and outlet vents can be positioned differently. To the skilled artisan, the different positions would obviously include the reversal of the inlet and outlet positions, i.e. wherein the inlet is positioned at the top portion of the device and the outlet at the bottom portion. Further note that Itzkovitz teaches the fan may blow air from inlet to outlet. The artisan having the knowledge, creativity and common sense that is brought to bear when considering combinations and modifications of prior art would have found it obvious to provide a reversible fan such that the user can easily redirect the air flow as desired without the need to physically change the positions of the inlet and outlet.
Regarding the provision of the heating element being coupled to the housing and positioned opposite the bottom wall of the crock to heat the cooking chamber, it is noted that this claimed configuration is a common configuration that would have been obvious to one of skill in the art as evidenced by He. He discloses a pressure cooking vessel similar to the Itzkovitz device and having a heating element being coupled to a housing and positioned opposite the bottom wall of a crock to heat the cooking chamber.
Regarding claims 1 and 9, the above discussion applies mutatis mutandis.
18. The pressure cooker of claim 17, further comprising a controller coupled to the heating element and the reversible fan, wherein the controller is configured to activate the heating element during a pressure cooking operation and to activate the reversible fan in the first mode during a depressurization portion of the pressure cooking operation to cool the at least one side wall of the crock and accelerate depressurization of the crock.
See Fig. 3 of Itzkovitz showing the air flow. Also note Itzkovitz discloses the use of the cooling system (which includes the fan and airflow) to “effectively adjust temperatures of foods in the pot 120. As such one of skill would find it obvious to provide a controller connected with the fan and heater to facilitate “effectively adjusting the temperature of the foods in the pot 120” through the use of the fan and air passage and the heater.
(11) In this embodiment, as shown in FIG. 2, the cooling system 130 may include a first heatsink 131, a second heatsink 132, and a heat transfer module (which may be referred to as a thermoelectric module) 133, and the cooling system 130 may be referred to as a thermoelectric cooler. The first heatsink 131 may be configured to draw heat from the pressure pot 120. The second heatsink 132 may be configured to dissipate the heat into the air passage 150. The heat transfer module 133 may include a cold side and a hot side. The cold side of the heat transfer module (or thermoelectric module) 133 may be thermally coupled to the first heatsink 131. The hot side of the heat transfer module (or thermoelectric module) 133 may be thermally coupled to the second heatsink 132. The heat transfer module 133 may transfer the heat from the first heatsink 131 to the second heatsink 132.
20. The pressure cooker of claim 17, further comprising a controller coupled to the heating element and the reversible fan, wherein the controller is configured to activate the heating element during a cooking operation and to activate the reversible fan in the second mode during at least a portion of the cooking operation to draw air past the heating element and upwardly through the air channel to heat the at least one side wall of the crock. See Fig. 3 of Itzkovitz showing the air flow. Also note Itzkovitz discloses the use of the cooling system (which includes the fan and airflow) to “effectively adjust temperatures of foods in the pot 120. As such one of skill would find it obvious to provide a controller to facilitate “effectively adjusting the temperature of the foods in the pot 120” through the use of the fan and air passage and the heater.
(9) Further, the pressure cooker 100 may include an air passage 150 and a fan 160. The air passage 150 may be located in the housing 110 such that heat of the pressure pot 120 is transferred to air in the air passage 150. In this embodiment, the heat of the pressure pot 120 may be transferred to the air in the air passage 150 via the cooling system 130. The air passage 150 may be in communication with each of the air inlet 111 and the air outlet 112. In an example of FIGS. 2-3, a part of the air passage 150 may be defined by an air shroud 170. The air shroud 170 may be disposed between the air passage 150 and the pressure pot 120.
Regarding claim:
1. A pressure cooker, comprising: a housing including an outer chamber defined by an inner housing wall of the housing; a crock supported within the outer chamber of the housing, the crock including at least one side wall and a bottom wall defining a cooking chamber; a lid removably secured to the housing and configured to seal the cooking chamber; a heating element coupled to the housing and positioned opposite the bottom wall of the crock to heat the cooking chamber; a first external vent disposed proximate a top of the housing; a second external vent disposed proximate a bottom of the housing; an air channel extending between the first and second external vents; and a fan coupled to the housing and in fluid communication with the air channel to draw air external from the housing into the first external vent, communicate the air downwardly through the air channel, and exhaust the air out of the second external vent. See discussion of claim 17 mutatis mutandis.
2. The pressure cooker of claim 1, wherein the housing further includes an outer housing wall and the air channel F is disposed between the inner housing wall A and the outer housing wall 110. See discussion of claim 17 mutatis mutandis.
3. The pressure cooker of claim 2, wherein the air channel is a first air channel and the pressure cooker further comprises a second air channel R disposed between the inner housing wall and the at least one side wall of the crock 120 and in fluid communication with the fan through air shroud 170. See discussion of claim 17 mutatis mutandis.
4. The pressure cooker of claim 1, wherein the air channel R is disposed between the inner housing wall and the at least one side wall of the crock. See discussion of claim 17 mutatis mutandis.
5. The pressure cooker of claim 1, further comprising a filter disposed proximate one of the first and second external vents to filter air entering or exiting the housing. Note that the use of filters at inlet or outlet vents of air passages is common in the art and one of skill would find it obvious to include the filters at either the inlet or outlet so as to modify the flow of air either to slow or muffle the airflow as needed.
6. The pressure cooker of claim 1, further comprising a controller coupled to the heating element and the fan, wherein the controller is configured to activate the heating element during a pressure cooking operation and to activate the fan during a depressurization portion of the pressure cooking operation to cool the at least one side wall of the crock and accelerate depressurization of the crock. See claim 18 mutatis mutandis
8. The pressure cooker of claim 1, wherein the pressure cooker further comprises a cooling system configured to cool the at least one side wall of the crock, and the fan is reversible to selectively draw air past the heating element and upwardly through the air channel to heat the at least one side wall of the crock after the at least one side wall has been cooled by the cooling system. See claim 20 mutatis mutandis
9. A pressure cooker, comprising: a housing including an outer chamber defined by an inner housing wall of the housing; a crock supported within the outer chamber of the housing, the crock including at least one side wall and a bottom wall defining a cooking chamber; a lid removably secured to the housing and configured to seal the cooking chamber; a heating element coupled to the housing and positioned opposite the bottom wall of the crock to heat the cooking chamber; first and second external vents in fluid communication with the outer chamber of the housing; and a fan coupled to the housing and in fluid communication with the first and second external vents, the fan configured to draw air external from the housing into the first external vent, communicate the air into the interior chamber of the housing and along the side wall of the crock, and exhaust the air out of the second external vent. See claim 17 mutatis mutandis
10. The pressure cooker of claim 9, wherein the fan is reversible to selectively generate upward or downward airflow through the interior chamber of the housing. See claim 17 mutatis mutandis
11. The pressure cooker of claim 9, wherein the first external vent is disposed proximate a top of the housing and the second external vent is disposed proximate a bottom of the housing such that the fan generates downward airflow through the interior chamber of the housing. See claim 17 mutatis mutandis
12. The pressure cooker of claim 9, wherein the housing further includes: an outer housing wall; and an air channel disposed between the inner housing wall and the outer housing wall and in fluid communication with the fan. See claim 17 mutatis mutandis
13. The pressure cooker of claim 9, further comprising a filter disposed proximate one of the first and second external vents to filter air entering or exiting the housing. See claim 5 mutatis mutandis
14. The pressure cooker of claim 9, further comprising a controller coupled to the heating element and the fan, wherein the controller is configured to activate the heating element during a pressure cooking operation and to activate the fan during a depressurization portion of the pressure cooking operation to cool the at least one side wall of the crock and accelerate depressurization of the crock. See claim 18 mutatis mutandis
16. The pressure cooker of claim 9, further comprising a controller coupled to the heating element and the fan, wherein the controller is configured to activate the heating element during a cooking operation and to activate the fan during at least a portion of the cooking operation to draw air past the heating element and upwardly through the interior chamber to heat the at least one side wall of the crock. See claim 20 mutatis mutandis
7. The pressure cooker of claim 1, further comprising a controller coupled to the heating element and the fan, wherein the controller is configured to activate the heating element during a non-pressurized cooking operation and to activate the fan during at least a portion of the non-pressurized cooking operation to draw smoke and/or steam generated during the non-pressurized cooking operation into the first external vent.
Note that Itzkovitz discloses activating the fan to draw air in through the inlet, the intention to draw in smoke or steam generated from cooking does not add any structural distinction. Note again that Itzkovitz suggests that the inlet 111 and 112 may be reversed. Such a modification would place the inlet vent at the top portion of the cooking device wherein smoke /steam from cooking would be drawn in to the inlet vent.
15. The pressure cooker of claim 9, further comprising a controller coupled to the heating element and the fan, wherein the controller is configured to activate the heating element during a non-pressurized cooking operation and to activate the fan during at least a portion of the non-pressurized cooking operation to draw smoke and/or steam generated during the non-pressurized cooking operation downwardly into the interior chamber.
Note that Itzkovitz discloses activating the fan to draw air in through the inlet, the intention to draw in smoke or steam generated from cooking does not add any structural distinction. Note again that Itzkovitz suggests that the inlet 111 and 112 may be reversed. Such a modification would place the inlet vent at the top portion of the cooking device wherein smoke /steam from cooking would be drawn in to the inlet vent.
19. The pressure cooker of claim 17, further comprising a controller coupled to the heating element and the reversible fan, wherein the controller is configured to activate the heating element a non-pressurized cooking operation and to activate the reversible fan in the first mode during at least a portion of the non-pressurized cooking operation to draw smoke and/or steam generated during the non-pressurized cooking operation downwardly into the air channel.
Note that Itzkovitz discloses activating the fan to draw air in through the inlet, the intention to draw in smoke or steam generated from cooking does not add any structural distinction. Note again that Itzkovitz suggests that the inlet 111 and 112 may be reversed. Such a modification would place the inlet vent at the top portion of the cooking device wherein smoke /steam from cooking would be drawn in to the inlet vent.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/THOR S CAMPBELL/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3761
tsc