DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claims 1, 5-7, 11-13, and 17-18 have been amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 8, 12, 13, 14, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalantari (US 20230266434 A1) in view of Kalantari (US 20260140253 A1); hereinafter Kalantari2.
Regarding claim 1, Kalantari teaches a method for a user equipment (UE) to perform sensing, the method comprising:
receiving, from a serving base station (BS), information related to transmitting a sensing signal ([0032] The NW may reserve but not allocate uplink or downlink resources, e.g., with the uplink resources equivalent to UL Sounding Reference Signals (SRS) and the downlink resources equivalent to DL Channel State Information Reference Signals (CSI-RS), and configure the radar-enabled UE to transmit a sensing signal in the reserved time/frequency/spatial resources during the relevant UL/DL phases of mmWave TDD. The NW may coordinate the resources, e.g., time/frequency/spatial separation, for the UEs that are vulnerable to interference from radar sensing by the radar-enabled UE.), wherein the information provides:
information related to the sensing signal ([0039] The NW can schedule the resources and power of the communication and sensing during uplink and/or downlink to enable radar sensing in desired directions, which are restricted. FIG. 2 depicts an example resource reservation approach. In FIG. 2, the NW reserves T/F/spatial resources during uplink or downlink phases of the TDD to enable radar and communication coexistence.),
parameters related to a transmission power control including a maximum allowed transmission power for sensing ([0026] The NW controls the radar signal power to enable radar sensing through potentially interfering beams of the radar-enabled UE. The NW can signal transmission power limits to the radar-enabled UE(s) such that the radar signal will not cause interference during uplink and/or downlink phases of the TDD.),
a time domain resource including a periodicity ([0033] The NW can allocate resources to a specific interfering radar-enabled UE in the following ways: [0034] Standing permission: The radar-enabled UE receives a pre-grant from the NW that allows radar sensing in time and frequency domain patterns unless the NW specifically mentions that it is not being allowed. The radar-enabled UE is performing a radar sweep (Fig. 5), thus the time domain resources include a periodicity. [0036] One-time permission (more specific): The radar-enabled UE regularly receives pre-scheduling information (time and frequency) from network in advance when radar transmission is allowed. Pre-scheduling can be based on a request from the radar-enabled device, e.g., desired periodicity and sensing bandwidth.),
a frequency domain resource including a transmission bandwidth [0036] One-time permission (more specific): The radar-enabled UE regularly receives pre-scheduling information (time and frequency) from network in advance when radar transmission is allowed. Pre-scheduling can be based on a request from the radar-enabled device, e.g., desired periodicity and sensing bandwidth. [0119] In some scenarios, predictable radar operation opportunities are desirable. The NW may reserve a certain subset of T/F/spatial resources for radar operation, e.g., some symbols in slots where PDSCH could otherwise have been transmitted.), and
information related to spatial transmission restriction ([0051] The NW may use the acquired knowledge in step 0 to indicate restricted and unrestricted beam directions for radar sensing during DL phase of TDD to avoid interference toward surrounding UEs. For example, beam directions pointing in the directions of a few nearby UEs may be excluded but the rest of the directions may be included in the sweep.);
determining, based on reception of the information related to transmitting the sensing signal, parameters for transmitting the sensing signal including:
a transmission power ([0069] If the radar-enabled UE knows the power limit of its best beam toward the NW, it can apply the same power level when sending radar signal through its other beams. In a more advanced approach, the UE can use the beam training data to estimate the SRS power limit on its beams. [0142] For example, in conjunction with performing a radar beam sweep during a DL phase of operation by the network 10, the device 12 adapts its radar transmissions to…reduce its radar-signal transmission power in one or more radar beam directions.),
a time and frequency resource ([0032] The NW may…configure the radar-enabled UE to transmit a sensing signal in the reserved time/frequency/spatial resources during the relevant UL/DL phases of mmWave TDD. The UE determines the time and frequency resources based on the configuration from the NW.), and
a spatial filter ([0002] Antenna panels can be installed in different locations within a UE and face different directions. In addition, each antenna panel generates different beams depending on the spatial filtering used. [0051] The NW may use the acquired knowledge in step 0 to indicate restricted and unrestricted beam directions for radar sensing during DL phase of TDD to avoid interference toward surrounding UEs. For example, beam directions pointing in the directions of a few nearby UEs may be excluded but the rest of the directions may be included in the sweep. [0142] For example, in conjunction with performing a radar beam sweep during a DL phase of operation by the network 10, the device 12 adapts its radar transmissions to avoid transmitting in one or more radar beam direction 30);
transmitting, based on determined parameters for transmitting the signal, the sensing signal ([0142] For example, in conjunction with performing a radar beam sweep during a DL phase of operation by the network 10, the device 12 adapts its radar transmissions to avoid transmitting in one or more radar beam direction 30 and/or reduce its radar-signal transmission power in one or more radar beam directions.);
receiving, from the serving BS, communication data (Fig. 4,5 and 7, [0139] While the devices 32 may be of the same type as the device 12, the different reference numbers provide clarity for discussing operations of the device 12 as a radar-enabled device, with respect to the potential for its radar transmissions to interfere with the reception network communication signals—Downlink (DL) signals—at one or more other wireless communication devices 32. So device 32 is receiving communication data from the serving BS);
determining an interference channel from the UE to the other UE, resulting from reception of the sensing signal from the other UE while receiving the communication data from the serving BS ([0137] The device 12 is an example of a radar-enabled UE and the devices 32 are example of other UEs that are potentially vulnerable to DL reception interference from the radar-enabled UE. [0139] For example, a radar transmission by the device 12 that is coincident with DL transmission targeting another device 32 may interfere with reception of the DL transmission at the other device 32. In this respect, the device 12 is configured to perform radar transmissions along one or more radar beam directions 30, with example directions 30-1 through 30-5 shown by way of example. [0141] FIG. 4 suggests that radar transmissions by the device 12 in one or more radar beam directions 30 may interfere with DL reception operations at respective other devices 32); and
transmitting information related to the determined interference channel to the serving BS or the other UE ([0083] For example, the NW node receives interference mitigation capabilities, e.g. information about the UEs' capabilities to cancel, null, or at least reduce interference and thus also interference caused by the radar sensing, from the surrounding UEs.).
Kalantari does not teach determining, from another UE, the sensing signal.
Kalantari2 in the same field of endeavor of radar sensing in wireless communications teaches determining, from another UE, the sensing signal ([0043] To determine whether there are any neighboring devices 32 vulnerable to interference from radar transmissions by the device 12, in at least one embodiment the processing circuitry 60 is configured to perform, via the communication circuitry 50, a radar beam sweep through the plurality of radar beam directions 30 using a defined transmission power, and receive feedback information indicating whether or what extent the radar transmissions comprised in the radar beam sweep were detected by one or more other wireless communication devices 32. For example, the feedback indicates signal-strength measurements made by the other devices 32 on reference signal transmissions made by the device 12 during the radar beam sweep. The radar beam sweep uses the radar beam directions 30 or uses beam directions that correspond to them—e.g., each beam direction used for the sweep directionally aligns with a radar beam direction 30.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kalantari2 with the teachings of Kalantari. The motivation to do so would have been to allow the radar-enabled UE and the proximate (surrounding) UEs to cooperate to mitigate the radar interference without need for network assistance (Kalantari2 [0087])
Regarding claim 2, Kalantari teaches the method of claim 1, wherein:
the information related to the spatial transmission restriction includes one or more restricted spatial directions for transmitting the sensing signal ([0024] In one embodiment, the NW first identifies the “restricted” and “unrestricted” beams of the radar-enabled UE and then performs one of the following techniques to avoid radar interference at the NW (during uplink) and/or other UEs (during downlink): [0039] The NW can schedule the resources and power of the communication and sensing during uplink and/or downlink to enable radar sensing in desired directions, which are restricted. [0051] The NW may use the acquired knowledge in step 0 to indicate restricted and unrestricted beam directions for radar sensing during DL phase of TDD to avoid interference toward surrounding UEs.), and
determining parameters for transmitting the sensing signal including the spatial filter further comprises determining parameters for transmitting the sensing signal including the spatial filter by avoiding the one or more restricted spatial directions for transmitting the sensing signal ([0051] For example, beam directions pointing in the directions of a few nearby UEs may be excluded but the rest of the directions may be included in the sweep.)
Regarding claim 6, Kalantari teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
sensing an object based on at least one of the sensing signal transmitted by the UE or the sensing signal from the other UE ([0005] As used herein, the term “radar” refers to a type of sensing in which one or more radiofrequency signals are transmitted (by one or more transmitters) into a sensing environment, and reflections of those signals are received (by one or more receivers). An analysis of the received reflection signals provides information about objects that the signals reflected off of in the sensing environment.).
Regarding claim 7, Kalantari teaches a user equipment (UE) for performing sensing, the UE comprising:
A transceiver (Fig. 7; communication circuitry 50) configured to receive, from a serving base station (BS), sensing information related to transmitting a sensing signal ([0032] The NW may reserve but not allocate uplink or downlink resources, e.g., with the uplink resources equivalent to UL Sounding Reference Signals (SRS) and the downlink resources equivalent to DL Channel State Information Reference Signals (CSI-RS), and configure the radar-enabled UE to transmit a sensing signal in the reserved time/frequency/spatial resources during the relevant UL/DL phases of mmWave TDD. The NW may coordinate the resources, e.g., time/frequency/spatial separation, for the UEs that are vulnerable to interference from radar sensing by the radar-enabled UE.),
wherein the information provides:
information related to the sensing signal ([0039] The NW can schedule the resources and power of the communication and sensing during uplink and/or downlink to enable radar sensing in desired directions, which are restricted. FIG. 2 depicts an example resource reservation approach. In FIG. 2, the NW reserves T/F/spatial resources during uplink or downlink phases of the TDD to enable radar and communication coexistence.),
parameters related to a transmission power control including a maximum allowed transmission power for sensing ([0026] The NW controls the radar signal power to enable radar sensing through potentially interfering beams of the radar-enabled UE. The NW can signal transmission power limits to the radar-enabled UE(s) such that the radar signal will not cause interference during uplink and/or downlink phases of the TDD.),
a time domain resource including a periodicity ([0033] The NW can allocate resources to a specific interfering radar-enabled UE in the following ways: [0034] Standing permission: The radar-enabled UE receives a pre-grant from the NW that allows radar sensing in time and frequency domain patterns unless the NW specifically mentions that it is not being allowed. The radar-enabled UE is performing a radar sweep (Fig. 5), thus the time domain resources include a periodicity. [0036] One-time permission (more specific): The radar-enabled UE regularly receives pre-scheduling information (time and frequency) from network in advance when radar transmission is allowed. Pre-scheduling can be based on a request from the radar-enabled device, e.g., desired periodicity and sensing bandwidth.),
a frequency domain resource including a transmission bandwidth [0036] One-time permission (more specific): The radar-enabled UE regularly receives pre-scheduling information (time and frequency) from network in advance when radar transmission is allowed. Pre-scheduling can be based on a request from the radar-enabled device, e.g., desired periodicity and sensing bandwidth. [0119] In some scenarios, predictable radar operation opportunities are desirable. The NW may reserve a certain subset of T/F/spatial resources for radar operation, e.g., some symbols in slots where PDSCH could otherwise have been transmitted.), and
information related to spatial transmission restriction ([0051] The NW may use the acquired knowledge in step 0 to indicate restricted and unrestricted beam directions for radar sensing during DL phase of TDD to avoid interference toward surrounding UEs. For example, beam directions pointing in the directions of a few nearby UEs may be excluded but the rest of the directions may be included in the sweep.);
determine, based on reception of the information related to transmitting the sensing signal, parameters for transmitting the sensing signal including:
a transmission power ([0069] If the radar-enabled UE knows the power limit of its best beam toward the NW, it can apply the same power level when sending radar signal through its other beams. In a more advanced approach, the UE can use the beam training data to estimate the SRS power limit on its beams. [0142] For example, in conjunction with performing a radar beam sweep during a DL phase of operation by the network 10, the device 12 adapts its radar transmissions to…reduce its radar-signal transmission power in one or more radar beam directions.),
a time and frequency resource ([0032] The NW may…configure the radar-enabled UE to transmit a sensing signal in the reserved time/frequency/spatial resources during the relevant UL/DL phases of mmWave TDD. The UE determines the time and frequency resources based on the configuration from the NW.), and
a spatial filter ([0002] Antenna panels can be installed in different locations within a UE and face different directions. In addition, each antenna panel generates different beams depending on the spatial filtering used. [0051] The NW may use the acquired knowledge in step 0 to indicate restricted and unrestricted beam directions for radar sensing during DL phase of TDD to avoid interference toward surrounding UEs. For example, beam directions pointing in the directions of a few nearby UEs may be excluded but the rest of the directions may be included in the sweep. [0142] For example, in conjunction with performing a radar beam sweep during a DL phase of operation by the network 10, the device 12 adapts its radar transmissions to avoid transmitting in one or more radar beam direction 30); and
wherein the transmitter is configured to transmit, based on determined parameters for transmitting the signal, the sensing signal ([0142] For example, in conjunction with performing a radar beam sweep during a DL phase of operation by the network 10, the device 12 adapts its radar transmissions to avoid transmitting in one or more radar beam direction 30 and/or reduce its radar-signal transmission power in one or more radar beam directions.); and
receive, from the serving BS, communication data (Fig. 4,5 and 7, [0139] While the devices 32 may be of the same type as the device 12, the different reference numbers provide clarity for discussing operations of the device 12 as a radar-enabled device, with respect to the potential for its radar transmissions to interfere with the reception network communication signals—Downlink (DL) signals—at one or more other wireless communication devices 32. So device 32 is receiving communication data from the serving BS);
determine an interference channel from the UE to the other UE, resulting from reception of the sensing signal from the other UE while receiving the communication data from the serving BS ([0137] The device 12 is an example of a radar-enabled UE and the devices 32 are example of other UEs that are potentially vulnerable to DL reception interference from the radar-enabled UE. [0139] For example, a radar transmission by the device 12 that is coincident with DL transmission targeting another device 32 may interfere with reception of the DL transmission at the other device 32. In this respect, the device 12 is configured to perform radar transmissions along one or more radar beam directions 30, with example directions 30-1 through 30-5 shown by way of example. [0141] FIG. 4 suggests that radar transmissions by the device 12 in one or more radar beam directions 30 may interfere with DL reception operations at respective other devices 32), and
wherein the transceiver is configured to transmit information related to the determined interference channel to the serving BS or the other UE ([0083] For example, the NW node receives interference mitigation capabilities, e.g. information about the UEs' capabilities to cancel, null, or at least reduce interference and thus also interference caused by the radar sensing, from the surrounding UEs.).
Kalantari does not explicitly teach wherein the processor is configured to determine, from another UE, the sensing signal.
Kalantari2 in the same field of endeavor of radar sensing in wireless communications teaches wherein the transceiver is configured to transmit information related to the determined interference channel to the serving BS or the other UE ([0043] To determine whether there are any neighboring devices 32 vulnerable to interference from radar transmissions by the device 12, in at least one embodiment the processing circuitry 60 is configured to perform, via the communication circuitry 50, a radar beam sweep through the plurality of radar beam directions 30 using a defined transmission power, and receive feedback information indicating whether or what extent the radar transmissions comprised in the radar beam sweep were detected by one or more other wireless communication devices 32. For example, the feedback indicates signal-strength measurements made by the other devices 32 on reference signal transmissions made by the device 12 during the radar beam sweep. The radar beam sweep uses the radar beam directions 30 or uses beam directions that correspond to them—e.g., each beam direction used for the sweep directionally aligns with a radar beam direction 30.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kalantari2 with the teachings of Kalantari. The motivation to do so would have been to allow the radar-enabled UE and the proximate (surrounding) UEs to cooperate to mitigate the radar interference without need for network assistance (Kalantari2 [0087]).
Regarding claim 8, Kalantari teaches the UE of claim 7, wherein:
the information related to the spatial transmission restriction includes one or more restricted spatial directions for transmitting the sensing signal ([0024] In one embodiment, the NW first identifies the “restricted” and “unrestricted” beams of the radar-enabled UE and then performs one of the following techniques to avoid radar interference at the NW (during uplink) and/or other UEs (during downlink): [0039] The NW can schedule the resources and power of the communication and sensing during uplink and/or downlink to enable radar sensing in desired directions, which are restricted. [0051] The NW may use the acquired knowledge in step 0 to indicate restricted and unrestricted beam directions for radar sensing during DL phase of TDD to avoid interference toward surrounding UEs.), and
the processor is configured to determine parameters for transmitting the sensing signal including the spatial filter by determining parameters for transmitting the sensing signal including the spatial filter by avoiding the one or more restricted spatial directions for transmitting the sensing signal ([0051] For example, beam directions pointing in the directions of a few nearby UEs may be excluded but the rest of the directions may be included in the sweep.)
Regarding claim 12, Kalantari teaches the UE of claim 7, wherein:
the processor is configured to sense an object based on at least one of the sensing signal transmitted by the UE or the sensing signal from the other UE ([0005] As used herein, the term “radar” refers to a type of sensing in which one or more radiofrequency signals are transmitted (by one or more transmitters) into a sensing environment, and reflections of those signals are received (by one or more receivers). An analysis of the received reflection signals provides information about objects that the signals reflected off of in the sensing environment.).
Regarding claim 13, Kalantari teaches a base station (BS) (Fig. 7 radio network node 22) configured to transmit to a user equipment (UE), information related to transmitting a sensing signal ([0032] The NW may reserve but not allocate uplink or downlink resources, e.g., with the uplink resources equivalent to UL Sounding Reference Signals (SRS) and the downlink resources equivalent to DL Channel State Information Reference Signals (CSI-RS), and configure the radar-enabled UE to transmit a sensing signal in the reserved time/frequency/spatial resources during the relevant UL/DL phases of mmWave TDD. The NW may coordinate the resources, e.g., time/frequency/spatial separation, for the UEs that are vulnerable to interference from radar sensing by the radar-enabled UE.), wherein the information provides:
information related to the sensing signal ([0039] The NW can schedule the resources and power of the communication and sensing during uplink and/or downlink to enable radar sensing in desired directions, which are restricted. FIG. 2 depicts an example resource reservation approach. In FIG. 2, the NW reserves T/F/spatial resources during uplink or downlink phases of the TDD to enable radar and communication coexistence.),
parameters related to a transmission power control including a maximum allowed transmission power for sensing ([0026] The NW controls the radar signal power to enable radar sensing through potentially interfering beams of the radar-enabled UE. The NW can signal transmission power limits to the radar-enabled UE(s) such that the radar signal will not cause interference during uplink and/or downlink phases of the TDD.),
a time domain resource including a periodicity ([0033] The NW can allocate resources to a specific interfering radar-enabled UE in the following ways: [0034] Standing permission: The radar-enabled UE receives a pre-grant from the NW that allows radar sensing in time and frequency domain patterns unless the NW specifically mentions that it is not being allowed. The radar-enabled UE is performing a radar sweep (Fig. 5), thus the time domain resources include a periodicity. [0036] One-time permission (more specific): The radar-enabled UE regularly receives pre-scheduling information (time and frequency) from network in advance when radar transmission is allowed. Pre-scheduling can be based on a request from the radar-enabled device, e.g., desired periodicity and sensing bandwidth.),
a frequency domain resource including a transmission bandwidth [0036] One-time permission (more specific): The radar-enabled UE regularly receives pre-scheduling information (time and frequency) from network in advance when radar transmission is allowed. Pre-scheduling can be based on a request from the radar-enabled device, e.g., desired periodicity and sensing bandwidth. [0119] In some scenarios, predictable radar operation opportunities are desirable. The NW may reserve a certain subset of T/F/spatial resources for radar operation, e.g., some symbols in slots where PDSCH could otherwise have been transmitted.), and
information related to spatial transmission restriction ([0051] The NW may use the acquired knowledge in step 0 to indicate restricted and unrestricted beam directions for radar sensing during DL phase of TDD to avoid interference toward surrounding UEs. For example, beam directions pointing in the directions of a few nearby UEs may be excluded but the rest of the directions may be included in the sweep.);
wherein parameters for transmission of the sensing signal are determined based on reception of the information related to transmitting the sensing signal, the parameters including:
a transmission power ([0069] If the radar-enabled UE knows the power limit of its best beam toward the NW, it can apply the same power level when sending radar signal through its other beams. In a more advanced approach, the UE can use the beam training data to estimate the SRS power limit on its beams. [0142] For example, in conjunction with performing a radar beam sweep during a DL phase of operation by the network 10, the device 12 adapts its radar transmissions to…reduce its radar-signal transmission power in one or more radar beam directions.),
a time and frequency resource ([0032] The NW may…configure the radar-enabled UE to transmit a sensing signal in the reserved time/frequency/spatial resources during the relevant UL/DL phases of mmWave TDD. The UE determines the time and frequency resources based on the configuration from the NW.), and
a spatial filter ([0002] Antenna panels can be installed in different locations within a UE and face different directions. In addition, each antenna panel generates different beams depending on the spatial filtering used. [0051] The NW may use the acquired knowledge in step 0 to indicate restricted and unrestricted beam directions for radar sensing during DL phase of TDD to avoid interference toward surrounding UEs. For example, beam directions pointing in the directions of a few nearby UEs may be excluded but the rest of the directions may be included in the sweep. [0142] For example, in conjunction with performing a radar beam sweep during a DL phase of operation by the network 10, the device 12 adapts its radar transmissions to avoid transmitting in one or more radar beam direction 30);
the transceiver is configured to receive, based on determined parameters for transmission of the sensing signal, the sensing signal (Fig. 7 shows the BS is receiving the radar signal.), and
transmit, to the UE, communication data (Fig. 4,5 and 7, [0139] While the devices 32 may be of the same type as the device 12, the different reference numbers provide clarity for discussing operations of the device 12 as a radar-enabled device, with respect to the potential for its radar transmissions to interfere with the reception network communication signals—Downlink (DL) signals—at one or more other wireless communication devices 32. So device 32 is receiving communication data from the serving BS),
wherein an interference channel from the UE to the other UE, resulting from reception of the sensing signal from the other UE while receiving the communication data from the serving BS, is determined ([0137] The device 12 is an example of a radar-enabled UE and the devices 32 are example of other UEs that are potentially vulnerable to DL reception interference from the radar-enabled UE. [0139] For example, a radar transmission by the device 12 that is coincident with DL transmission targeting another device 32 may interfere with reception of the DL transmission at the other device 32. In this respect, the device 12 is configured to perform radar transmissions along one or more radar beam directions 30, with example directions 30-1 through 30-5 shown by way of example. [0141] FIG. 4 suggests that radar transmissions by the device 12 in one or more radar beam directions 30 may interfere with DL reception operations at respective other devices 32), and
wherein the transceiver is configured to receive information related to the determined interference channel to the serving BS or the other UE ([0083] For example, the NW node receives interference mitigation capabilities, e.g. information about the UEs' capabilities to cancel, null, or at least reduce interference and thus also interference caused by the radar sensing, from the surrounding UEs.).
Kalantari does not teach wherein the sensing signal from another UE is determined.
Kalantari2 in the same field of endeavor of radar sensing in wireless communications teaches wherein the sensing signal from another UE is determined ([0043] To determine whether there are any neighboring devices 32 vulnerable to interference from radar transmissions by the device 12, in at least one embodiment the processing circuitry 60 is configured to perform, via the communication circuitry 50, a radar beam sweep through the plurality of radar beam directions 30 using a defined transmission power, and receive feedback information indicating whether or what extent the radar transmissions comprised in the radar beam sweep were detected by one or more other wireless communication devices 32. For example, the feedback indicates signal-strength measurements made by the other devices 32 on reference signal transmissions made by the device 12 during the radar beam sweep. The radar beam sweep uses the radar beam directions 30 or uses beam directions that correspond to them—e.g., each beam direction used for the sweep directionally aligns with a radar beam direction 30.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kalantari2 with the teachings of Kalantari. The motivation to do so would have been to allow the radar-enabled UE and the proximate (surrounding) UEs to cooperate to mitigate the radar interference without need for network assistance (Kalantari2 [0087])
Regarding claim 14, Kalantari teaches the BS of claim 13, wherein the information related to the spatial transmission restriction includes one or more restricted spatial directions for transmitting the sensing signal ([0024] In one embodiment, the NW first identifies the “restricted” and “unrestricted” beams of the radar-enabled UE and then performs one of the following techniques to avoid radar interference at the NW (during uplink) and/or other UEs (during downlink): [0039] The NW can schedule the resources and power of the communication and sensing during uplink and/or downlink to enable radar sensing in desired directions, which are restricted. [0051] The NW may use the acquired knowledge in step 0 to indicate restricted and unrestricted beam directions for radar sensing during DL phase of TDD to avoid interference toward surrounding UEs.), and
the parameters for transmission of the sensing signal including the spatial filter are determined, for the spatial filter, by avoiding the one or more restricted spatial directions for transmitting the sensing signal ([0051] For example, beam directions pointing in the directions of a few nearby UEs may be excluded but the rest of the directions may be included in the sweep.)
Regarding claim 19, Kalantari teaches the method of claim 1, wherein: the information related to the spatial transmission restriction includes a maximum allowed transmission power restriction on one or more spatial directions ([0039] The NW can schedule the resources and power of the communication and sensing during uplink and/or downlink to enable radar sensing in desired directions, which are restricted. [0054] The radar-enabled UE may have no “unrestricted” beams toward a desired sensing area during one of the TDD phases. A lower radar sensing power can change a beam from “restricted” into “unrestricted”. The UE may lack the knowledge to coordinate this, but the NW can use the sensed interference either by own measurements or through UE measurement reports and/or the knowledge of the surrounding UEs to estimate the allowed power of the radar signal and inform the radar-enabled UE. [0067] Assuming channel symmetry in uplink and downlink, the NW can request RSRP measurements from the radar-enabled UE and estimate the pathloss to the radar-enabled UE using the feedback from the UE. The NW uses this information to signal allowed power level of different beam directions for sensing during uplink phase of TDD. Since the power restriction only relates to specific beam directions, the NW may use means to identify and exchange information about radar sensing beam direction (panels and beams within panels) and corresponding allowed power levels. [0161] configuring the one or more aspects of radar sensing comprises determining spatial restrictions for the radar-enabled UE, the spatial restrictions excluding certain beam directions with respect to beam-based radar scanning by the radar-enabled UE and/or restricting transmit power in certain beam directions with respect to the beam-based radar scanning by the radar-enabled UE.)
Regarding claim 20, Kalantari teaches the UE of claim 7, wherein: the information related to the spatial transmission restriction includes a maximum allowed transmission power restriction on one or more spatial directions ([0039] The NW can schedule the resources and power of the communication and sensing during uplink and/or downlink to enable radar sensing in desired directions, which are restricted. [0054] The radar-enabled UE may have no “unrestricted” beams toward a desired sensing area during one of the TDD phases. A lower radar sensing power can change a beam from “restricted” into “unrestricted”. The UE may lack the knowledge to coordinate this, but the NW can use the sensed interference either by own measurements or through UE measurement reports and/or the knowledge of the surrounding UEs to estimate the allowed power of the radar signal and inform the radar-enabled UE. [0067] Assuming channel symmetry in uplink and downlink, the NW can request RSRP measurements from the radar-enabled UE and estimate the pathloss to the radar-enabled UE using the feedback from the UE. The NW uses this information to signal allowed power level of different beam directions for sensing during uplink phase of TDD. Since the power restriction only relates to specific beam directions, the NW may use means to identify and exchange information about radar sensing beam direction (panels and beams within panels) and corresponding allowed power levels. [0161] configuring the one or more aspects of radar sensing comprises determining spatial restrictions for the radar-enabled UE, the spatial restrictions excluding certain beam directions with respect to beam-based radar scanning by the radar-enabled UE and/or restricting transmit power in certain beam directions with respect to the beam-based radar scanning by the radar-enabled UE.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 9, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalantari in view of Kalantari2; further in view of Fan (US 20220210667 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Kalantari in view of Kalantari2 teaches the method of claim 1 but does not teach further comprising:
receiving information related to uplink data transmission, wherein:
determining parameters for transmitting the sensing signal including the spatial filter further comprises determining parameters for transmitting the sensing signal including the spatial filter for both transmission of the sensing signal and transmission of the uplink data, and
transmitting the sensing signal further comprises transmitting the sensing signal spatially multiplexed with the uplink data based on the spatial filter for both transmission of the sensing signal and transmission of the uplink data.
Fan, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications, teaches receiving information related to uplink data transmission ([0104] S503: The network device sends downlink control information (DCI) to the terminal device), wherein:
determining parameters for transmitting the sensing signal including the spatial filter further comprises determining parameters for transmitting the sensing signal including the spatial filter for both transmission of the sensing signal and transmission of the uplink data ([0104] The DCI includes an SRS resource indicator (SRI) field and a transmitted precoding matrix indicator (TPMI) field. M SRS resources used for uplink data transmission are jointly determined by using the SRI field and the TPMI field, and M is an integer greater than or equal to 1 and less than or equal to N. Alternatively, this may be described as that the SRI field and the TPMI field are used to jointly determine M SRS resources used for uplink data transmission. [0109] In this embodiment of this application, one SRS resource corresponds to one beam. Therefore, by determining the SRS resources to use for the uplink transmission, the UE is determining the beam(s) (spatial filter(s)) to use for the uplink transmission.), and
transmitting the sensing signal further comprises transmitting the sensing signal spatially multiplexed with the uplink data based on the spatial filter for both transmission of the sensing signal and transmission of the uplink data ([0121] S702: The terminal device sends an SRS based on the configuration information. [0122] For example, still using the foregoing example, the terminal device may send an SRS #0 based on a configuration information of the SRS #0 resource. The terminal device sends an SRS #1 based on a configuration of the SRS #1 resource. [0135] S704: The terminal device performs uplink data transmission by using a single beam/a plurality of beams. [0136] The terminal device may perform single-beam or multi-beam uplink data transmission based on an indication of the DCI. [0132] When the value of the SRI field is 0, and the quantity of antenna ports of the precoding matrix indicated by the TPMI field is equal to a quantity of antenna ports of the SRS #0 resource, it indicates that uplink data transmission is performed by using the SRS #0 resource. [0133] When the value of the SRI field is 1, and the quantity of antenna ports of the precoding matrix indicated by the TPMI field is equal to a quantity of antenna ports of the SRS #1 resource, it indicates that uplink data transmission is performed by using the SRS #1 resource. Therefore, the sensing signal can be sent on SRS #0 and the uplink data can be sent on SRS #1, for example, spatially multiplexed from each other based on the spatial filter (beam) for each transmission.).
It would have been obvious to combine the uplink data transmission method of Fan with the co-existence operations involving radar-enabled user equipments of Kalantari in view of Kalantari2 to perform uplink transmission of SRS and uplink data spatially multiplexed with each other. The motivation to do so would have been to perform uplink data transmission by using the beams corresponding to the plurality of SRS resources, to implement multi-beam uplink data transmission and improve a capacity and coverage of uplink transmission. (Fan, [0137]).
Regarding claim 9, Kalantari in view of Kalantari2 teaches the UE of claim 7 but does not teach wherein the transceiver is configured to:
receive information related to uplink data transmission,
the processor is configured to determine parameters for transmitting the sensing signal including the spatial filter further comprises determining parameters for transmitting the sensing signal including the spatial filter for both transmission of the sensing signal and transmission of the uplink data, and
the transceiver is configured to transmit the sensing signal further comprises transmitting the sensing signal spatially multiplexed with the uplink data based on the spatial filter for both transmission of the sensing signal and transmission of the uplink data.
Fan, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications, teaches receive information related to uplink data transmission ([0104] S503: The network device sends downlink control information (DCI) to the terminal device), wherein:
the processor is configured to determine parameters for transmitting the sensing signal including the spatial filter further comprises determining parameters for transmitting the sensing signal including the spatial filter for both transmission of the sensing signal and transmission of the uplink data ([0104] The DCI includes an SRS resource indicator (SRI) field and a transmitted precoding matrix indicator (TPMI) field. M SRS resources used for uplink data transmission are jointly determined by using the SRI field and the TPMI field, and M is an integer greater than or equal to 1 and less than or equal to N. Alternatively, this may be described as that the SRI field and the TPMI field are used to jointly determine M SRS resources used for uplink data transmission. [0109] In this embodiment of this application, one SRS resource corresponds to one beam. Therefore, by determining the SRS resources to use for the uplink transmission, the UE is determining the beam(s) (spatial filter(s)) to use for the uplink transmission.), and
the transceiver is configured to transmit the sensing signal further comprises transmitting the sensing signal spatially multiplexed with the uplink data based on the spatial filter for both transmission of the sensing signal and transmission of the uplink data ([0121] S702: The terminal device sends an SRS based on the configuration information. [0122] For example, still using the foregoing example, the terminal device may send an SRS #0 based on a configuration information of the SRS #0 resource. The terminal device sends an SRS #1 based on a configuration of the SRS #1 resource. [0135] S704: The terminal device performs uplink data transmission by using a single beam/a plurality of beams. [0136] The terminal device may perform single-beam or multi-beam uplink data transmission based on an indication of the DCI. [0132] When the value of the SRI field is 0, and the quantity of antenna ports of the precoding matrix indicated by the TPMI field is equal to a quantity of antenna ports of the SRS #0 resource, it indicates that uplink data transmission is performed by using the SRS #0 resource. [0133] When the value of the SRI field is 1, and the quantity of antenna ports of the precoding matrix indicated by the TPMI field is equal to a quantity of antenna ports of the SRS #1 resource, it indicates that uplink data transmission is performed by using the SRS #1 resource. Therefore, the sensing signal can be sent on SRS #0 and the uplink data can be sent on SRS #1, for example, spatially multiplexed from each other based on the spatial filter (beam) for each transmission.).
It would have been obvious to combine the uplink data transmission method of Fan with the co-existence operations involving radar-enabled user equipments of Kalantari in view of Kalantari2 to perform uplink transmission of SRS and uplink data spatially multiplexed with each other. The motivation to do so would have been to perform uplink data transmission by using the beams corresponding to the plurality of SRS resources, to implement multi-beam uplink data transmission and improve a capacity and coverage of uplink transmission. (Fan, [0137]).
Regarding claim 15, Kalantari in view of Kalantari2 teaches the BS of claim 13 but does not teach wherein the transceiver is configured to transmit information related to uplink data transmission, the parameters for transmission of the sensing signal including the spatial filter are determined, for the spatial filter, for both transmission of the sensing signal and transmission of the uplink data, and the sensing signal is spatially multiplexed with the uplink data based on the spatial filter for both transmission of the sensing signal and transmission of the uplink data.
Fan, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications, teaches wherein the transceiver is configured to transmit information related to uplink data transmission, ([0104] S503: The network device sends downlink control information (DCI) to the terminal device),
the parameters for transmission of the sensing signal including the spatial filter are determined, for the spatial filter, for both transmission of the sensing signal and transmission of the uplink data ([0104] The DCI includes an SRS resource indicator (SRI) field and a transmitted precoding matrix indicator (TPMI) field. M SRS resources used for uplink data transmission are jointly determined by using the SRI field and the TPMI field, and M is an integer greater than or equal to 1 and less than or equal to N. Alternatively, this may be described as that the SRI field and the TPMI field are used to jointly determine M SRS resources used for uplink data transmission. [0109] In this embodiment of this application, one SRS resource corresponds to one beam. Therefore, by determining the SRS resources to use for the uplink transmission, the UE is determining the beam(s) (spatial filter(s)) to use for the uplink transmission.), and
the sensing signal is spatially multiplexed with the uplink data based on the spatial filter for both transmission of the sensing signal and transmission of the uplink data ([0121] S702: The terminal device sends an SRS based on the configuration information. [0122] For example, still using the foregoing example, the terminal device may send an SRS #0 based on a configuration information of the SRS #0 resource. The terminal device sends an SRS #1 based on a configuration of the SRS #1 resource. [0135] S704: The terminal device performs uplink data transmission by using a single beam/a plurality of beams. [0136] The terminal device may perform single-beam or multi-beam uplink data transmission based on an indication of the DCI. [0132] When the value of the SRI field is 0, and the quantity of antenna ports of the precoding matrix indicated by the TPMI field is equal to a quantity of antenna ports of the SRS #0 resource, it indicates that uplink data transmission is performed by using the SRS #0 resource. [0133] When the value of the SRI field is 1, and the quantity of antenna ports of the precoding matrix indicated by the TPMI field is equal to a quantity of antenna ports of the SRS #1 resource, it indicates that uplink data transmission is performed by using the SRS #1 resource. Therefore, the sensing signal can be sent on SRS #0 and the uplink data can be sent on SRS #1, for example, spatially multiplexed from each other based on the spatial filter (beam) for each transmission.).
It would have been obvious to combine the uplink data transmission method of Fan with the co-existence operations involving radar-enabled user equipments of Kalantari in view of Kalantari2 to perform uplink transmission of SRS and uplink data spatially multiplexed with each other. The motivation to do so would have been to perform uplink data transmission by using the beams corresponding to the plurality of SRS resources, to implement multi-beam uplink data transmission and improve a capacity and coverage of uplink transmission. (Fan, [0137]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalantari in view of Kalantari2; further in view of Abotabl (US 20220338255 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Kalantari in view of Kalantari2 teaches the method of claim 1, but does not teach further comprising:
transmitting information related to the determined spatial filter to the serving BS.
Abotabl, in the same field of endeavor of channel sensing for full-duplex sidelink communications, teaches transmitting information related to the determined spatial filter to the serving BS ([0070] The UE 115 may report feedback that indicates precoding weights (information related to the determined spatial filter) for one or more beam directions, and the feedback may correspond to a configured number of beams across a system bandwidth or one or more sub-bands. The base station 105 may transmit a reference signal (e.g., a cell-specific reference signal (CRS), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS)), which may be precoded or unprecoded. The UE 115 may provide feedback for beam selection, which may be a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) or codebook-based feedback (e.g., a multi-panel type codebook, a linear combination type codebook, a port selection type codebook) (information related to the determined spatial filter). Although these techniques are described with reference to signals transmitted in one or more directions by a base station 105, a UE 115 may employ similar techniques for transmitting signals multiple times in different directions (e.g., for identifying a beam direction for subsequent transmission or reception by the UE 115) or for transmitting a signal in a single direction (e.g., for transmitting data to a receiving device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the channel sensing methods of Abotabl to the co-existence operations involving radar-enabled user equipments of Kalantari in view of Kalantari2 to provide information related to the determined spatial filter to the serving BS. The motivation to do so would have been to determine a beam direction determined to have a highest signal strength, highest signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), or otherwise acceptable signal quality based on listening according to multiple beam directions. (Abotabl, [0071]).
Regarding claim 10, Kalantari in view of Kalantari2 teaches the UE of claim 7, but does not teach wherein the transceiver is configured to transmit information related to the determined spatial filter to the serving BS.
Abotabl, in the same field of endeavor of channel sensing for full-duplex sidelink communications, teaches the transceiver is configured to transmit information related to the determined spatial filter to the serving BS ([0070] The UE 115 may report feedback that indicates precoding weights (information related to the determined spatial filter) for one or more beam directions, and the feedback may correspond to a configured number of beams across a system bandwidth or one or more sub-bands. The base station 105 may transmit a reference signal (e.g., a cell-specific reference signal (CRS), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS)), which may be precoded or unprecoded. The UE 115 may provide feedback for beam selection, which may be a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) or codebook-based feedback (e.g., a multi-panel type codebook, a linear combination type codebook, a port selection type codebook) (information related to the determined spatial filter). Although these techniques are described with reference to signals transmitted in one or more directions by a base station 105, a UE 115 may employ similar techniques for transmitting signals multiple times in different directions (e.g., for identifying a beam direction for subsequent transmission or reception by the UE 115) or for transmitting a signal in a single direction (e.g., for transmitting data to a receiving device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the channel sensing methods of Abotabl to the co-existence operations involving radar-enabled user equipment of Kalantari in view of Kalantari2 to provide information related to the determined spatial filter to the serving BS. The motivation to do so would have been to determine a beam direction determined to have a highest signal strength, highest signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), or otherwise acceptable signal quality based on listening according to multiple beam directions. (Abotabl, [0071]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalantari in view of Kalantari2; further in view of Abotabl (US 20220338255 A1) and Fakoorian (US 20220029670 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Kalantari in view of Kalantari2; teaches the BS of claim 13 but does not teach wherein the transceiver is configured to receive information related to the determined spatial filter from the UE, and the BS is configured to use the information related to the determined spatial filter for sensing signal interference cancellation in receiving an uplink (UL) signal from the other UE.
Abotabl, in the same field of endeavor of channel sensing for full-duplex sidelink communications, teaches wherein the transceiver is configured to receive information related to the determined spatial filter from the UE ([0070] The UE 115 may report feedback that indicates precoding weights (information related to the determined spatial filter) for one or more beam directions, and the feedback may correspond to a configured number of beams across a system bandwidth or one or more sub-bands. The base station 105 may transmit a reference signal (e.g., a cell-specific reference signal (CRS), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS)), which may be precoded or unprecoded. The UE 115 may provide feedback for beam selection, which may be a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) or codebook-based feedback (e.g., a multi-panel type codebook, a linear combination type codebook, a port selection type codebook) (information related to the determined spatial filter). Although these techniques are described with reference to signals transmitted in one or more directions by a base station 105, a UE 115 may employ similar techniques for transmitting signals multiple times in different directions (e.g., for identifying a beam direction for subsequent transmission or reception by the UE 115) or for transmitting a signal in a single direction (e.g., for transmitting data to a receiving device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the channel sensing methods of Abotabl to the co-existence operations involving radar-enabled user equipments of Kalantari in view of Kalantari2 to provide information related to the determined spatial filter to the serving BS. The motivation to do so would have been to determine a beam direction determined to have a highest signal strength, highest signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), or otherwise acceptable signal quality based on listening according to multiple beam directions. (Abotabl, [0071]).
Abotabl does not teach the BS is configured to use the information related to the determined spatial filter for sensing signal interference cancellation in receiving an uplink (UL) signal from another UE.
Fakoorian, in the same field of endeavor of cross-interface interference management in wireless communications teaches the BS is configured to use the information related to the determined spatial filter for sensing signal interference cancellation in receiving an uplink (UL) signal from another UE (The base station 502 may receive the transmission configuration and/or at least one RS, and the base station 502 may determine a transmission scheme and/or precoder for the TX PC5 UE 506 that mitigates interference on the interference channel 516 to the reception of uplink communication by the base station 502 on the Uu link 512. The base station 502 may then transmit the transmission scheme and/or precoder information (e.g., PMI) to the TX PC5 UE 506 so that the TX PC5 UE 506 can transmit on the PC5 link 514 with reduced interference on the interference channel 516.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the interference management methods of Fakoorian with the co-existence operations involving radar-enabled user equipments of Kalantari in view of Kalantari2 and channel sensing methods of Abotabl to use the information related to the determined spatial filter for sensing signal interference cancellation. The motivation to do so would have been to manage (e.g., mitigate or avoid) interference arising through resources commonly used on the same and/or different interfaces. (Fakoorian, [0079]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalantari in view of Kalantari2; further in view of Ibrahim (US 20220014954 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Kalantari in view of Kalantari2 teaches the method of claim 1, but does not teach further comprising:
receiving information related to a downlink reference signal from the serving BS;
determining interference in reception at the serving BS of an uplink data transmission from the UE using a channel from the UE to the serving BS due to sensing signal transmission from the other UE; and
transmitting interference channel state information to the serving BS.
Ibrahim, in the same field of endeavor of cross link interference in wireless communications, teaches receiving information related to a downlink reference signal from the serving BS (Fig. 16 [0115] At 1602, the UE may receive, from a base station, a configuration for one or more CSI-IM resources in the BWP. The CSI-IM resources configuration may notify the UE 1502 the CSI-IM resources that the base station 1504 may configure in the downlink BWP in the full-duplex mode and instruct the UE 1502 to measure the interference components in the configured CSI-IM resources.);
determining interference in reception at the serving BS of an uplink data transmission from the UE using a channel from the UE to the serving BS due to sensing signal transmission from the other UE ([0118] The UE may measure at least one interference component in the CSI-IM resources based on the UL reference signal that the aggressor UE and/or the UE transmit concurrently with the CSI-IM resources in the time domain.); and
transmitting interference channel state information to the serving BS (Fig. 16 [0122] At 1612, the UE may receive a control signal for reporting the CLI report. In some aspects, generating the CLI report may be triggered by a control signal for the CLI report. The control signal may instruct the UE to generate and transmit the CLI report. The UE may generate the CLI report in response to the measurement of at least one interference component in the CSI-IM resources being above the threshold value.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the method and apparatus for CLI reporting of Ibrahim with the co-existence operations involving radar-enabled user equipments of Kalantari in view of Kalantari2 to determining interference in a channel from the UE to the serving BS due to sensing signal transmission in reception of an uplink data transmission from another UE. The motivation to do so would have been to provide self-interference mitigation and improve isolation, such as greater than 50 dB. (Ibrahim, [0076]).
Regarding claim 11, Kalantari in view of Kalantari2 teaches the UE of claim 7, but does not teach wherein:
the transceiver is configured to receive information related to a downlink reference signal from the serving BS;
the processor is configured to determine interference in reception at the serving BS of an uplink data transmission from the UE using a channel from the UE to the serving BS due to sensing signal transmission from the other UE, and
the transceiver is configured to transmit interference channel state information to the serving BS.
Ibrahim, in the same field of endeavor of cross link interference in wireless communications, teaches the transceiver is configured to receive information related to a downlink reference signal from the serving BS (Fig. 16 [0115] At 1602, the UE may receive, from a base station, a configuration for one or more CSI-IM resources in the BWP. The CSI-IM resources configuration may notify the UE 1502 the CSI-IM resources that the base station 1504 may configure in the downlink BWP in the full-duplex mode and instruct the UE 1502 to measure the interference components in the configured CSI-IM resources.);
the processor is configured to determine interference in in reception at the serving BS of an uplink data transmission from the UE using a channel from the UE to the serving BS due to sensing signal transmission from the other UE ([0118] The UE may measure at least one interference component in the CSI-IM resources based on the UL reference signal that the aggressor UE and/or the UE transmit concurrently with the CSI-IM resources in the time domain.); and
the transceiver is configured to transmit interference channel state information to the serving BS (Fig. 16 [0122] At 1612, the UE may receive a control signal for reporting the CLI report. In some aspects, generating the CLI report may be triggered by a control signal for the CLI report. The control signal may instruct the UE to generate and transmit the CLI report. The UE may generate the CLI report in response to the measurement of at least one interference component in the CSI-IM resources being above the threshold value.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the method and apparatus for CLI reporting of Ibrahim with the co-existence operations involving radar-enabled user equipments of Kalantari in view of Kalantari2 to determining interference in a channel from the UE to the serving BS due to sensing signal transmission in reception of an uplink data transmission from another UE. The motivation to do so would have been to provide self-interference mitigation and improve isolation, such as greater than 50 dB. (Ibrahim, [0076]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalantari in view of Kalantari2; further in view of Fakoorian (US 20220029670 A1) and Ibrahim (US 20220014954 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Kalantari in view of Kalantari2 teaches the BS of claim 13, but does not teach wherein:
the transceiver is configured to transmit information related to a downlink reference signal to the UE;
interference in reception at the serving BS of an uplink data transmission from the UE using a channel from the UE to the BS due to sensing signal transmission from the other UE is determined,
the transceiver is configured to receive interference channel state information from the UE, and
the BS is configured to use the information related to the determined spatial filter for sensing signal interference cancellation in receiving an uplink (UL) signal from another UE.
Ibrahim, in the same field of endeavor of cross link interference in wireless communications, teaches the transceiver is configured to transmit information related to a downlink reference signal to the UE (Fig. 16 [0115] At 1602, the UE may receive, from a base station, a configuration for one or more CSI-IM resources in the BWP. The CSI-IM resources configuration may notify the UE 1502 the CSI-IM resources that the base station 1504 may configure in the downlink BWP in the full-duplex mode and instruct the UE 1502 to measure the interference components in the configured CSI-IM resources.);
interference in reception at the serving BS of an uplink data transmission from the UE using a channel from the UE to the BS due to sensing signal transmission from the other UE is determined ([0118] The UE may measure at least one interference component in the CSI-IM resources based on the UL reference signal that the aggressor UE and/or the UE transmit concurrently with the CSI-IM resources in the time domain.); and
the transceiver is configured to receive interference channel state information from the UE (Fig. 16 [0122] At 1612, the UE may receive a control signal for reporting the CLI report. In some aspects, generating the CLI report may be triggered by a control signal for the CLI report. The control signal may instruct the UE to generate and transmit the CLI report. The UE may generate the CLI report in response to the measurement of at least one interference component in the CSI-IM resources being above the threshold value.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the method and apparatus for CLI reporting of Ibrahim with the co-existence operations involving radar-enabled user equipments of Kalantari in view of Kalantari2 to determining interference in a channel from the UE to the serving BS due to sensing signal transmission in reception of an uplink data transmission from another UE. The motivation to do so would have been to provide self-interference mitigation and improve isolation, such as greater than 50 dB. (Ibrahim, [0076]).
Ibrahim does not teach the BS is configured to use the information related to the determined spatial filter for sensing signal interference cancellation in receiving an uplink (UL) signal from another UE.
Fakoorian, in the same field of endeavor of cross-interface interference management in wireless communications teaches the BS is configured to use the information related to the determined spatial filter for sensing signal interference cancellation in receiving an uplink (UL) signal from another UE (The base station 502 may receive the transmission configuration and/or at least one RS, and the base station 502 may determine a transmission scheme and/or precoder for the TX PC5 UE 506 that mitigates interference on the interference channel 516 to the reception of uplink communication by the base station 502 on the Uu link 512. The base station 502 may then transmit the transmission scheme and/or precoder information (e.g., PMI) to the TX PC5 UE 506 so that the TX PC5 UE 506 can transmit on the PC5 link 514 with reduced interference on the interference channel 516.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the interference management methods of Fakoorian with the co-existence operations involving radar-enabled user equipments of Kalantari in view of Kalantari2 and the method and apparatus for CLI reporting of Ibrahim to use the information related to the determined spatial filter for sensing signal interference cancellation. The motivation to do so would have been to manage (e.g., mitigate or avoid) interference arising through resources commonly used on the same and/or different interfaces. (Fakoorian, [0079]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalantari in view of Kalantari2 further in view of Fakoorian (US 20220029670 A1) and Ibrahim (US 20220014954 A1) and Zhang (US 20210351832 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Kalantari in view of Kalantari2 teaches the BS of claim 31, but does not teach wherein:
the transceiver is configured to transmit information related to an uplink reference signal from the other UE;
interference channel from the UE to the other UE due to sensing signal transmission in reception of a downlink data transmission from the BS at the other UE is determined,
the transceiver is configured to receive interference channel state information to the BS or the other UE.
Fakoorian, in the same field of endeavor of cross-interface interference management in wireless communications teaches
the transceiver is configured to transmit information related to an uplink reference signal from another UE ([0088] The base station 402 may transmit, to the Uu UE 404, configuration information indicating the at least one resource and/or the at least one RS.)
interference channel from the UE to said another UE due to sensing signal transmission in reception of a downlink data transmission from the BS at the other UE in determined ([0083] Referring to the first example environment 400, a potential scenario of UE-to-UE interference is illustrated. Specifically, the first PC5 UE 406 may transmit on the PC5 link 414 to the second PC5 UE 408, and in so doing, may cause interference to the Uu UE 404 configured to receive downlink communication from the base station 402 on the Uu link 412. [0086] However, the first PC5 UE 406 may first detect the interference channel 416 in order to determine whether to transmit on the PC5 link 414 or refrain from (e.g., delay) transmitting on the PC5 link 414. Thus, RSs may be transmitted such that the first PC5 UE 406 is able to receive those RSs in order to detect the interference channel 416. [0092] The first PC5 UE 406 may detect the interference channel 416 based on the at least one RS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the interference management methods of Fakoorian with the co-existence operations involving radar-enabled user equipments of Kalantari in view of Kalantari2 to detect interference in a channel. The motivation to do so would have been to manage (e.g., mitigate or avoid) interference arising through resources commonly used on the same and/or different interfaces. (Fakoorian, [0079]).
Fakoorian does not explicitly teach the transceiver is configured to receive interference channel state information to the BS or the other UE, and when the interference channel state information is received by the BS, the BS is configured to forward the interference channel state information to the other UE.
Ibrahim in the same field of endeavor of cross link interference in wireless communications teaches the transceiver is configured to receive interference channel state information to the BS or the other UE ([Fig. 16 [0122] At 1612, the UE may receive a control signal for reporting the CLI report. In some aspects, generating the CLI report may be triggered by a control signal for the CLI report. The control signal may instruct the UE to generate and transmit the CLI report. The UE may generate the CLI report in response to the measurement of at least one interference component in the CSI-IM resources being above the threshold value.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the method and apparatus for CLI reporting of Ibrahim with the co-existence operations involving radar-enabled user equipments of Kalantari in view of Kalantari2 and the interference management methods of Fakoorian to determine interference channel from the UE to the other UE due to sensing signal transmission in reception of a downlink data transmission from the serving BS at the other UE. The motivation to do so would have been to provide self-interference mitigation and improve isolation, such as greater than 50 dB. (Ibrahim, [0076]).
Ibrahim does not teach when the interference channel state information is received by the BS, the BS is configured to forward the interference channel state information to the other UE.
Zhang in the same field of endeavor of beam pair selection in wireless communications teaches when the interference channel state information is received by the BS, the BS is configured to forward the interference channel state information to the other UE ([0094] For example, the base station may determine an uplink interference measurement based at least in part on an IMR of the UE, a CSI-RS report of the UE, or another transmission received from the UE or another UE. In some aspects, the base station may provide the uplink interference measurement to the UE, and the UE may perform SINR reporting based at least in part on the uplink interference measurement.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the beam pair selection method of Zhang with the co-existence operations involving radar-enabled user equipments of Kalantari in view of Kalantari2 and the interference management methods of Fakoorian and the method and apparatus for CLI reporting of Ibrahim to share the interference channel state information with the other UE. The motivation to do so would have been to improve performance at the base station, thereby increasing throughput and improving utilization of computing and communication resources by taking into account the uplink interference measurement for selection of an UL/DL beam pair. (Zhang, [0094]).
Conclusion
/NANCY SIXTO/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/GARY MUI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2465