DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1 recites, in relevant part, “a distal opening at a distal end of the projection; a proximal end with a proximal opening; a fluid pathway that extends between the distal opening and the proximal opening, wherein the fluid pathway extends inside the projection’ a valve disposed inside the projection and having a closed configuration that closes the distal opening of the fluid pathway and an open configuration that opens the distal opening of the fluid pathway” [emphasis added]. The claim defines the distal opening at a distal end of the projection, and a fluid pathway extending between the distal opening and the proximal opening. While it appears that the claim is referring to a single distal opening, the claim language “the distal opening of the fluid pathway” is not consistent with the prior limitation which describes the distal opening at a distal end “of the projection”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19, 24, 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fangrow (US 10,697,570).
Regarding claim 19, Fangrow discloses medical connector (figs. 50, 50A) comprising: a housing having: an outer wall; a first opening; a second opening; and a fluid pathway between the first opening and the second opening; and a hollow projection that defines an interior cavity that forms a portion of the fluid pathway, the projection disposed inward of the outer wall to form a cavity between the projection and the outer wall; a valve 1117 disposed inside the projection, the valve having a closed position with an end of the valve substantially flush with an end of the projection to close the fluid pathway (fig. 50) and an open position with the end of the valve recessed inside the projection to open the fluid pathway (fig. 52); and a cover disposed in the cavity between the projection and the outer wall (fig. 52), wherein the cover has a first configuration with the cover disposed substantially flush with the end of the valve and substantially flush with the end of the projection (fig. 50A). See Figs. 50, 50A, 52 annotated below.
Regarding claim 24, Fangrow discloses that the cover is configured to be pushed along an exterior of the projection when a second medical connection is coupled to the medical connector (see fig. 52 above).
Regarding claim 25, Fangrow discloses that the cover is configured to form a seal with a housing 1468 of the second medical connector (Fig. 50A).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-18, 30-38 are allowed.
Claims 20-23, 26-30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the breakaway medical connector as claimed could not be found and was not suggested by the prior art of record, particularly the first engagement features, a breakaway member comprising second engagement features that engage the first engagement features, and a coupling interface configured to couple to a second medical connector and to position the second medical connector to open the valve when the second medical connector is coupled to the breakaway member when the second engagement features are engaged with the first engagement features, and wherein the first engagement features and the second engagement features are configure to disengage if a force above a threshold pulls the breakaway member in a distal direction, to thereby provide a breakaway disconnection, in combination with the features of the invention, substantially as claimed.
Similarly, the prior art fails to teach a method of using a breakaway connector comprising the steps of detaching the breakaway member and the second medical connector from the main body of the first medical connector by pulling the second connector away from the first connector, wherein the breakaway member remains coupled to the second medical connector after the detachment, and reattaching the breakaway member to the main body of the first medical connector without needing a tool, in combination with the features of the invention, substantially as claimed.
Breakaway connectors are known in the art as taught by Hallisey et al (US 10,569,073) for example, however, the prior art fails to teach the valve, the first and second engagement features and the coupling interface as claimed.
Conclusion
LAURA A. BOUCHELLE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3783
/LAURA A BOUCHELLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783