DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgement is made to applicant’s amendment of claim 1. Accordingly, claims 1-12 remain pending and are the claims addressed and examined below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 5, filed 02/27/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 4-7, 9, and 11-12 under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Wang et al. (US 20170279109 A1). Wang discloses HKUST-1, MOF-177 and ZIF- 8 as MOFs that may be included in a cathode.
Applicant's arguments filed 02/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant's argument that Xu utilizes MOFs to improve ion conductivity rather than gas adsorption during thermal runaway, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US 20200185788 A1) in view of Wang et al. (US 20170279109 A1).
With regards to claim 1, Xu teaches a positive electrode for a rechargeable lithium battery (¶ 0096), comprising: a positive electrode current collector and a positive electrode active material layer on one surface or two opposing surfaces of the positive electrode current collector (¶ 0072). In ¶ 0030, Xu also teaches a positive electrode active material that is a nickel-based oxide. Xu goes on to teach that the positive electrode active material layer comprises: a metal organic framework (MOF) of HKUST-1 (¶ 0074, ¶ 0079 - ¶ 0080). However, Xu does not teach that a metal organic framework of ZIF-8, MOF-177, or a combination thereof.
In a similar field of endeavor, Wang teaches lithium metal oxide composites suitable for use as electrode materials such as a cathode in lithium-ion batteries (¶ 0038). Wang teaches that such composite may be prepared from metal-organic frameworks (MOFs) (¶ 0039). Similar to Xu, Wang teaches that the MOF may be HKUST-1 (¶ 0061). Wang goes on to teach MOF-177 and ZIF- 8 as other examples the MOF may be selected from (¶ 0061). Wang also teaches that any combination of the MOFs may be used (¶ 0061).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the rt, at the time the invention was effectively filed to substitute the HKUST-1 MOF taught by Xu with an MOF such as ZIF- 8 taught by Wang as there are no unpredictable results. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
With regards to claim 2, Xu teaches the positive electrode of claim 1, wherein: the positive electrode active material that is the nickel-based oxide comprises a lithium composite oxide represented by Chemical Formula 1: Chemical Formula 1 LiaNixM1yM2zO2+b wherein, in Chemical Formula 1, 0.9≤a≤1.3, 0.3≤x≤1, 0≤y≤0.7, 0≤z≤0.1, -0.1≤b≤0.1, M1 is at least one element selected from Co, Mn, or Al, and M2 is at least one element selected from Al, B, Ce, Co, Cr, F, Mg, Mn, Mo, Nb, P, S, Ti, V, W, or Zr (¶ 0030). However, Xu does not teach that x+y+z=1.
As discussed earlier, Wang teaches lithium metal oxide composites suitable for use as electrode materials such as a cathode (¶ 0038). Wang teaches LiNiO2 as an example of such lithium metal oxide (¶ 0048). In this case, Wang teaches that a = 1, b = 0, y = 0, z = 0 and x = 1, making x+y+z=1. This falls within the range of the claimed invention.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed to try a material such as LiNiO2 as taught by Wang as this is within the range taught by Xu and will therefore predictably yield a suitable material for a cathode.
With regards to claim 3, Xu in view of wang teaches the positive electrode of claim 2. Xu teaches the positive electrode wherein: the positive electrode active material that is the nickel-based oxide includes an NCM-based positive electrode active material wherein, in Chemical Formula 1, M1 includes Co and Mn; M2 is at least one element selected from Al, B, Ce, Cr, F, Mg, Mo, Nb, P, S, Ti, V, W, or Zr; 0.9≤a≤1.3; 0.7≤x≤1; 0<y≤0.3, and 0≤z≤0.1, an NCA-based positive electrode active material wherein, in Chemical Formula 1, M1 includes Co and Al; M2 is at least one element selected from B, Ce, Cr, F, Mg, Mn, Mo, Nb, P, S, Ti, V, W, or Zr; 0.9≤a≤1.3; 0.7≤x≤1; 0<y≤0.3, and 0≤z≤0.1, an NiMn-based positive electrode active material wherein, in Chemical Formula 1, M1 includes Mn; M2 is at least one element selected from Al, B, Ce, Cr, F, Mg, Mo, Nb, P, S, Ti, V, W, or Zr; 0.9≤a≤1.3; 0.5≤x≤1; 0<y≤0.5; and 0≤z≤0.1, or a combination thereof (¶ 0030).
With regards to claim 4, Xu teaches that a content of the metal organic framework based on the total amount of the positive electrode active material layer is about 0.1 wt% to about 40 wt% (¶ 0100).
With regards to claim 5, Xu teaches that a content of the positive electrode active material based on the total amount of the positive electrode active material layer is about 55 wt% to about 98 wt% (¶ 0100).
With regards to claim 6, Xu teaches that the positive electrode active material layer further comprises a binder, a conductive material, or a combination thereof (¶ 0010).
With respect to claim 7, Xu teaches that the metal organic framework is included in an amount of about 0.05 wt% to about 40 wt%, the positive electrode active material is included in an amount of about 55 wt% to about 98 wt%, the binder is included in an amount of about 1 wt% to about 5 wt%, and the conductive material is included in an amount of about 1 wt% to about 5 wt% based on the total amount of the positive electrode active material layer (¶ 0100).
With regards to claim 9, Xu teaches that a loading amount of the positive electrode active material layer is about 1 mg/cm2 to about 80 mg/cm2 per area of one surface of the positive electrode current collector (¶ 0100).
With regards to claim 11, Xu in view of Wang teaches the lithium battery of claim 1. Xu also teaches a rechargeable lithium battery comprising the positive electrode for a rechargeable lithium battery of claim 1 (¶ 0020, ¶ 0096, and claim 19).
With regards to claim 12, Xu in view of Wang teaches the rechargeable lithium battery of claim 11. Xu teaches the rechargeable lithium battery comprises an assembly in which the positive electrode for a rechargeable lithium battery; a separator; and a negative electrode are sequentially stacked (¶ 0020).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US 20200185788 A1) in view of Wang et al. (US 20170279109 A1) as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Suyama (US 20190089008 A1).
With regards to claim 8, Xu teaches the positive electrode of claim 1. Additionally, Xu
teaches that the electrode is calendered to a thickness of about 60 μm (¶ 0100). However, Xu does not specifically teach that a thickness of the positive electrode active material layer is about 1 μm to about 200 μm, prompting one of ordinary skill in the art to look to prior art.
In a similar field of endeavor, Suyama teaches a positive electrode for a secondary lithium battery. Suyama teaches the positive electrode wherein: a thickness of the positive electrode active material layer is about 1 μm to about 100 μm (¶ 0093). This is within the claimed range.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to adjust the thickness of the positive electrode active material layer taught by Xu to a thickness within the range taught by Suyama; This would predictably yield an effective positive electrode.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US 20200185788 A1) in view of Wang et al. (US 20170279109 A1) as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Sanada (US 20130065119 A1).
With regards to claim 10, Xu teaches the positive electrode of claim 1. Xu does not teach that the positive electrode active material layer is patterned in the form of a plurality of circles, stripes, rings, or a combination thereof.
In a similar field of endeavor, Sanada teaches a positive electrode for a lithium-ion secondary battery (¶ 0011). Sanada teaches that the positive electrode active material layer is patterned in the form of a plurality of stripes (¶ 0039, ¶ 0083, ¶ 0087 and Fig. 2). In ¶ 0093, Sanada teaches that when the electrode is formed with the pattern, it is possible to achieve large capacity and excellent charge-discharge performance.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the positive electrode active material taught by modified Xu to include a pattern as taught by Sanada as this would predictably improve the capacity and charge-discharge performance of the battery.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUNSUYADOR MUGEESATU YUSIF/Examiner, Art Unit 1743
/GALEN H HAUTH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1743