DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment received on March 27, 2026:
Claims 1-20 are pending;
The objection to claim 20 set forth in the previous Office Action is withdrawn in light of the amendment;
The 102 rejections set forth in the previous Office Action to claims 1-5 are withdrawn in light of the amendment;
The 102 rejection to claims 16-19 set forth in the previous Office Action to stands as modified in light of the amendment.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed November 17, 2025 has been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered as to the merits. It is noted that U.S. Patent No. 10,461,010 (Yoshihara et al.) appears to be drawn to a materially distinct invention to the instant invention. In particular, this cited document is directed semiconductor devices rather than battery modules/packs. Clarification as to the relevance of this citation is requested.
With respect to foreign language references with no translation of the document: “If no translation is submitted, the examiner will consider the information in view of the concise explanation and insofar as it is understood on its face, e.g., drawings, chemical formulas, English language abstracts, in the same manner that non-English language information in Office search files is considered by examiner in conducting searches.” See MPEP §609.04(a)(II) (D) and 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(ii).
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
The specification does not appear to provide sufficient antecedent basis for claim 20 as it applies to amended claim 16l Claim 16 has been amended such that it is directed to a different embodiment. Notably, claim 16 was originally drawn to the 3rd bus bar electrically connected to cells of both the first and second sets of battery cells. Fig. 14 teaches of a third bus bar 1224 that is electrically connected to first and second cells 1238a and 1238b. This connection was what was previously encompassed by original claim 20 which only recited three bus bars and that the third bus bar is electrically connected to both first and second cells (consistent with the embodiment of Fig. 14). Claim 16 has since been amended to now recite a 4th bus bar, thus 2 bus bars at a first end (1st and 2nd bus bars) and 2 bus bars at a second end (3rd and 4th bus bars). This configuration corresponds to a different embodiment from that of Fig. 14, see Fig. 6. In the alternative embodiment, 624a and 624b are 1st and 2nd bus bars at the first end and 624c and 624d are 3rd and 4th bus bars at the second end. When 3rd and 4th bus bars are provided at a second end, the 3rd bus bar is only electrically connected to a first set of battery cells and the 4th bus bar is only electrically connected to a second set of battery cells. When 3rd and 4th bus bars are present in the manner recited in claim 16, this design prohibits the 3rd bus bar electrically connected to first and second cell sets as recited in claim 20. In light of the amendment to base claim 16, claim 20 does not then appear to have sufficient antecedent basis in the specification as reasoned above. This objection may be overcome by cancelling claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 20 is indefinite as it appears to no longer agree with claim 16 which has been amended such that it is directed to a different embodiment. Notably, claim 16 was originally drawn to the 3rd bus bar electrically connected to cells of both the first and second sets of battery cells. Fig. 14 teaches of a third bus bar 1224 that is electrically connected to first and second cells 1238a and 1238b. This connection was what was previously encompassed by original claim 20 which only recited three bus bars and that the third bus bar is electrically connected to both first and second cells (consistent with the embodiment of Fig. 14). Claim 16 has since been amended to now recite a 4th bus bar, thus 2 bus bars at a first end (1st and 2nd bus bars) and 2 bus bars at a second end (3rd and 4th bus bars). This configuration corresponds to a different embodiment from that of Fig. 14, see Fig. 6. In the alternative embodiment, 624a and 624b are 1st and 2nd bus bars at the first end and 624c and 624d are 3rd and 4th bus bars at the second end. When 3rd and 4th bus bars are provided at a second end, the 3rd bus bar is only electrically connected to a first set of battery cells and the 4th bus bar is only electrically connected to a second set of battery cells. When 3rd and 4th bus bars are present in the manner recited in claim 16, this design prohibits the 3rd bus bar electrically connected to first and second cell sets as recited in claim 20.
This rejection may be overcome by cancelling claim 20.
Claims 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “a fifth battery cell” and “a sixth battery cell”. However the exact number of cells of claim 4 are unclear as to whether or not the terms are meant to define the number of cells (noting that claim 1 previously recited “first” through “fourth” battery cells but has since been amended to remove the recitation of “third” and “fourth” battery cells). It is unclear then whether claim 4 is meant to limit only to four battery cells (first, second, fifth and sixth as explicitly recited) or six battery cells (first, second, with fifth and sixth inherently requiring a third and fourth battery cell present as well). Claims 5-9 are dependent upon claim 4 and do not remedy this issue (this issue further exacerbated by claim 6, reciting a seventh and eighth battery cell, while claim 1 no longer recites a third and fourth battery cell). Therefore, claims 5-9 are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 4 is further unclear, as claim 1 has been amended to recite “a third portion” (see claim 1, ll. 13) and it is unclear whether the third portion of claim 4 is the same of different third portion as already recited in amended claim 4. If the third portion is different, then the subsequent recitation of the phrase “the third portion” thereafter is further unclear as to which third portion, the claim is referring to. Claims 5-9 are dependent upon claim 4 and do not remedy this issue. Therefore, claims 5-9 are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 7 is unclear as to whether the second conductor layer of claim 7 is the same or different as claim 1 now recites a second conductor layer. If the conductor layer is different, it should not be referenced by the same term “second” as claim 1 already recites a second conductor layer.
Claim 8 is dependent upon claim 7 and do not remedy this issue. Therefore, claim 8 is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Barton et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0212222).
As to claim 12, Barton discloses a conductor layer in Fig. 8 comprising:
a first interconnect portion configured to electrically coupled to a first terminal of a first battery cell in a first column of battery cells,
a second interconnect portion configured to electrically coupled to a second terminal of a second battery cell in the first column of battery cells and electrically coupled in parallel the first battery cell and the second battery cell,
a third interconnect portion configured to electrically coupled to a third terminal of a third battery cell in the first column of battery cells and electrically coupled in parallel the third battery cell with the first battery cell and the second battery cell, and
a fourth interconnect portion configured to electrically coupled to a fourth terminal of a fourth battery cell in a second column different from the first column of battery cells and electrically coupled in parallel the fourth battery cell with the first battery cell, the second battery cell, and third battery cell (See annotated Fig. 8 below).
As to claim 13, the conductor layer further comprising a fifth
interconnect portion configured to electrically coupled to a fifth terminal of a fifth battery cell in the first column and electrically coupled in series the fifth battery cell with the first battery cell (see annotated Fig. 8 below).
As to claim 14, the conductor layer further comprising a sixth interconnect portion configured to electrically coupled to a sixth terminal of a sixth battery cell in the second column and electrically coupled in series the sixth battery cell with the first battery cell (see annotated Fig. 8 below).
As to claim 15, each of the first terminal, the second terminal, the third terminal, and the fourth terminal is a positive terminal, and each of the fifth terminal and the sixth terminal is a negative terminal. As portions 808 are taught to be connected to the positive terminals of underlying battery cells and portions 808 are taught to be connected to the negative terminal can of underlying battery cells.
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0113884).
As to claim 16, Yang discloses a battery comprising:
A current collector assembly that covers a first set of battery cells and a second set of battery cells, the current collector assembly comprising:
a first end;
a second end opposite the first end (see annotated Fig. 2 below);
a first set of conductor layers and a second set of conductor layers, wherein:
the first set of conductor layers 230 is electrically coupled to a first set of battery cells, and
the second set of conductor layers 230 is electrically coupled to a second set of battery cells (Figs. 9-10);
a first bus bar positioned at the first end and electrically coupled to the first set of battery cells;
a second bus bar positioned at the first end and electrically coupled to the second set of battery cells;
Yang further teaches that for each array of cells, the connector assembly shown in more detail in Fig. 11 permits connection of each end bus bar to both positive terminals 254 and negative terminals 256. Therefore, the first bus bar is electrically connected to positive terminals of the first cells via connector 254 and the second bus bar is electrically connected to negative terminals via connector 256; and
a third bus bar positioned at the second end and electrically coupled to the first set of battery cells and a fourth bus bar positioned at the second end and electrically coupled to the second set of battery cells (see annotated Fig. 32 below).
As to claim 17, the first set of conductor layers comprises a first conductor layer 250 electrically coupled to a first set of four battery cells of the first set of battery cells, and
The second set of conductor layers comprises a second conductor layer 250 electrically coupled to a second set of four battery cells of the second set of battery cells (see annotated Fig. 10 below).
As to claim 18, the first set of four battery cells are in separate columns of the first set of battery cells; and
the second set of four battery cells are in separate columns of the second set of battery cells (see annotated Fig. 10 below shown for one cell group but applied to each of the array of cell groups of Yang).
As to claim 19, the first bus bar is electrically coupled to the first set of four battery cells, and the second bus bar is electrically coupled to the second set of four battery cells (see annotated Fig. 8 below).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 27, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to claims 12-15, as to Ferber and Babinot, the amendment and Applicant’s arguments are considered persuasive.
Each of Ferber and Babinot teach of other designs which appear similar to other embodiments of the instant invention such as Fig. 4 but neither teach nor suggest the conductor layer design configured in the manner recited in at least claim 12 to electrically couple to certain battery terminals and cells in certain columns (the invention of claim 12 most closely embodied in Fig. 15 of the instant invention).
However, claims 12-15 remain rejected under Barton as discussed above.
With respect to claim 16, Applicant argues that Yang fails to disclose first and second bus bars that couple electrically to respective negative and positive terminals.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Yang teaches of different embodiments, including the embodiment noted above. Yang further teaches that for each array of cells, the connector assembly shown in more detail in Fig. 11 permits connection of each end bus bar to both positive terminals 254 and negative terminals 256. Therefore, the first bus bar is electrically connected to positive terminals of the first cells via connector 254 and the second bus bar is electrically connected to negative terminals via connector 256.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-3 and 10-11 are allowed (claims 4-9 would be allowable for at least the same reasons upon resolution of the outstanding 112 issues above).
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: with respect to claims 1-3 and 10-11 (and potentially claims 4-9), none of the cited prior art of record, alone or in combination, are held to reasonably teach, suggest or render obvious the current collector assembly of at least claim 1 comprising the particular first and second conductor layers therein.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GREGG CANTELMO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725