DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho ’818 (US 2014/0014818 A1) in view of Kishi (US 8,115,837 B2).
Claim 1, Cho ’818 teaches a detector (image sensor 30; Fig. 4A), comprising:
a plurality of first pixels, each first pixel configured to convert radiation into an electrical signal (active pixels; paragraph 0035);
a plurality of second pixels (dark pixels; paragraph 0035);
a plurality of data lines coupled to the first pixels and the second pixels (column line COL for each column of pixel blocks; paragraph 0094 and Fig. 7); and
control logic configured to combine a signal from one of the second pixels with an electrical signal from one of the first pixels (data from dark pixels are used in combination with data from active pixels to generate compensated data; paragraph 0067 and Fig. 4C);
but is silent regarding
wherein electrical connections of each of the second pixels are different from electrical connections of the first pixels such that for each of the second pixels a number of switches and a number of electrical connections between the second pixel and electrical lines coupled to the second pixel are the same as each of the first pixels and the second pixel does not include a sensor.
Kishi teaches wherein electrical connections of each of the second pixels are different from electrical connections of the first pixels (see unit pixel 801 outputting a pixel signal; Fig. 2 and col. 6, lines 62-67) such that for each of the second pixels a number of switches (see switches of unit pixel 801 of Fig. 2 and dummy pixel of Fig. 3B) and a number of electrical connections between the second pixel and electrical lines coupled to the second pixel are the same as each of the first pixels (unit pixel 801 and dummy pixel of Fig. 3B each have four connections to electrical lines. Switch 905 of Fig. 3B is connected to signal output line 808, see dummy pixel 814 of Fig. 2) and the second pixel does not include a sensor (dummy pixel of Fig. 3B eliminates the photodiode; see col. 7, lines 57-61).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have used the teaching of Kishi with that of Cho ’818 in order to reduce noise from the light signals output from the pixels (see col. 3, lines 36-46 of Kishi).
Claim 2, Cho ’818 further teaches the detector of claim 1, wherein:
each of the first pixels (active pixel 70A) comprises:
a sensor (photodiode PD; Fig. 7A); and
a switch electrically connected between the sensor and an associated one of the data lines (select transistor SX between photodiode PD and column line COL; paragraph 0090 and Fig. 7A).
Claim 3, Cho ’818 further teaches the detector of claim 1, wherein:
each of the first pixels (active pixel 70A) comprises:
a sensor (photodiode PD; Fig. 7A); and
a switch electrically connected between the sensor and an associated one of the data lines (select transistor SX between photodiode PD and column line COL; paragraph 0090 and Fig. 7A).
Claim 5, Cho ’818 further teaches wherein:
the first pixels and the second pixels are disposed in rows and columns of an array (see Fig. 1); and
each row of the array includes at least one of the first pixels and at least one of the second pixels (see column OB pixel blocks 12a, 12b; Fig. 1 and paragraph 0036).
Claim 6, Cho ’818 further teaches wherein:
at least one group of the second pixels form one of the columns of the array (see column OB pixel blocks 12a, 12b; Fig. 1 and paragraph 0036).
Claim 7, Cho ’818 further teaches wherein:
the second pixels are disposed in multiple groups (see groups of column OB pixel blocks 12a, 12b; Fig. 1 and paragraph 0036); and
each group of the second pixels forms a corresponding one of the columns of the array (see column OB pixel blocks 12a, 12b; Fig. 1 and paragraph 0036).
Claim 8, Cho ’818 further teaches wherein:
each second pixel of a row of the array is offset along the row of the array from at least one second pixel in another row of the array (see embodiment of Fig. 2B wherein dark pixels are offset between rows).
Claim 9, Cho ’818 further teaches wherein:
the second pixels have a substantially uniform density across the array (see embodiment of Fig. 2A wherein one dark pixel is distributed for each unit pixel block throughout the entire pixel array).
Claim 10, Cho ’818 further teaches wherein:
the data lines comprise first data lines and a second data line (see COL lines; Figs. 7 and 10);
the first data lines are coupled to the first pixels (see Fig. 7);
the second data line is coupled to the second pixels
the second data line is disposed in parallel with and along a corresponding one of the first data lines (see arrangement of the array of active and dark pixels in Fig. 2A); and
the control logic is configured to adjust electrical signals from the first pixels based on electrical signals received through the second data line (compensation circuit 36 estimates dark current from dark pixels and performs compensation of dark current on each active pixel; paragraph 0101).
Claim 11, Cho ’818 further teaches wherein:
the control logic is configured to combine the electrical signal from one of the first pixels with a signal based on interpolating signals from at least two of the second pixels (multiple dark pixels are used to interpolate the dark current estimation used to produce compensated image data; see paragraph 0097-0101 and Figs. 4C and 9).
Claim 12, Cho ’818 further teaches wherein:
the first pixels and the second pixels are disposed in rows and columns of an array (see Fig. 1);
each row of the array includes more than one of the first pixels and more than one of the second pixels (see active pixels 11b and column OB pixel blocks 12a, 12b; Fig. 1 and paragraph 0036); and
for each first pixel of a row, the control logic is configured to combine the electrical signal from the first pixel with a combination of electrical signals from at least two of the second pixels of the row (dark current compensation is calculated for each active pixel; paragraph 0067. Dark current compensation is performed by interpolating multiple dark pixels; paragraph 0096-0099).
Claim 13, Cho ’818 further teaches wherein:
each of the second pixels has electrical connections to reduce the electrical signal due to radiation conversion relative to a neighboring one of the first pixels on one of the data lines coupled to the respective second pixel (see Fig. 6A wherein each dark pixel comprises a transfer transistor TX60A connected to ground, such that the photocharge cannot be transferred to sensing node SN1; paragraph 0083, 0087).
Claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho ’818 (US 2014/0014818 A1) in view of Kishi (US 8,115,837 B2), and further in view of Mori (US 2014/0252241 A1).
Claim 14, Cho ’818 in view of Kishi teaches the detector of claim 1, but does not expressly teach wherein:
data lines coupled to the second pixels are not coupled to the first pixels.
Mori teaches first pixels (pixels of photodetecting section 10; Fig. 2 and paragraph 0052) and second pixels (pixels of dummy photodetecting section 11; Fig. 2 and paragraph 0053), wherein data lines coupled to the second pixels are not coupled to the first pixels (column wiring Lbias is coupled to dummy photodiodes but are not coupled to the sensing pixels P of the photodetecting section, see Figs. 2 and 3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teaching of Mori with that of the cited prior art in order to suppress noise charges entering into the photodetection section to reduce overall noise of the generated image (see paragraph 0010 of Mori).
Claim 15, Mori further teaches wherein:
for each of the data lines coupled to the second pixels, a number of second pixels coupled to that data line is less than a number of first pixels coupled to an associated data line that is coupled to first pixels (see embodiment of Fig. 7, wherein only one dummy pixel portion is provided for a row, and the array of photosensitive regions is M x N, wherein M and N are integers not less than 2; paragraph 0059, 0105).
Claim(s) 16, 17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi (US 2022/0247950 A1) in view of Cho ’920 (US 2021/0218920 A1)
Claim 16, Takahashi teaches a method comprising:
receiving a plurality of first signals from first pixels (signals from imaging pixels 201-1; paragraph 0096) configured to convert radiation into electrical signals through a first set of data lines (image signals are output to column line 701-1, 701-2; paragraph 0100 and Fig. 8);
receiving a second signal through a data line of a second set of data lines (column lines 701-3, 701-4 for outputting optical black pixels; see Fig. 8) other than the first set of data lines (column line 701-4 receives an output from optical black pixels 201-3; paragraph 0102 and Fig. 8), and
combining the at least one second signal with the first signals to generate modified first signals (signals from black pixels 201-3 are used to correct black level of the imaging pixels; see paragraph 0103 and correction table of Fig. 14).
Takahashi is silent regarding wherein the data line of the second set of data lines is:
not coupled to any pixels; or
is coupled to a second pixel with electrical connections that are different from electrical connections of the first pixels such that a number of electrical connections to the second pixel is different from a number of electrical connections to each of the first pixels.
Cho ’920 teaches wherein a data line of a second set of data lines (dummy lines DL1 to DLn; paragraph 0032) is:
not coupled to any pixels (see Fig. 2); or
is coupled to a second pixel with electrical connections that are different from electrical connections of the first pixels such that a number of electrical connections to the second pixel is different from a number of electrical connections to each of the first pixels; and
combining the at least one second signal with the first signals to generate modified first signals (subtractor 60 compensates noise from first digital signals d1 to dm using second digital signal Δd derived from dummy lines DL1 to DLn; paragraph 0030-0031).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have used the teaching of Cho ’920 with that of Takahashi in order to reduce noise in a digital image sensor (see paragraph 0004-0006 of Cho ’920).
Claim 17, Takahashi further teaches wherein:
the data line of the second set of data lines is a first data line (column line 701-3); and
for at least one row of an array including the first pixels, the first data line of the second set of data lines is different from a second data line of the second set of data lines 3of another row (see rows and corresponding column lines 701-1 to 701-4 of Fig. 8).
Claim 19, Takahashi teaches a detector, comprising:
control logic for receiving first signals from first pixels (signals from imaging pixels 201-1; paragraph 0096) configured to convert radiation into electrical signals through a first set of data lines (image signals are output to column line 701-1, 701-2; paragraph 0100 and Fig. 8);
the control logic further for receiving a second signal through a data line of a second set of the plurality of data lines other than the first set of the data lines (column lines 701-3, 701-4 for outputting optical black pixels; see Fig. 8),
the control logic further for combining the second signal with the first signals to generate modified first signals (signals from black pixels 201-3 are used to correct black level of the imaging pixels; paragraph 0103 and correction table of Fig. 14).
Takahashi is silent regarding wherein the at least one data line of the second set is:
not coupled to any pixels; or
coupled to a second pixel with electrical connections that are different from electrical connections of the first pixels such that a plurality of gate lines is associated with the first pixels such that a transistor of each of the first pixels is electrically connected to a corresponding one of the gate lines and a corresponding transistor of the second pixel is disconnected from any gate line.
Cho ’920 teaches wherein a data line of a second set of data lines (dummy lines DL1 to DLn; paragraph 0032) is:
not coupled to any pixels (see Fig. 2); or
coupled to a second pixel with electrical connections that are different from electrical connections of the first pixels such that a plurality of gate lines is associated with the first pixels such that a transistor of each of the first pixels is electrically connected to a corresponding one of the gate lines and a corresponding transistor of the second pixel is disconnected from any gate line.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have used the teaching of Cho ’920 with that of Takahashi in order to reduce noise in a digital image sensor (see paragraph 0004-0006 of Cho ’920).
Claim(s) 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi (US 2022/0247950 A1) in view of Cho ’920 (US 2021/0218920) and further in view of Cho ’818 (US 2014/0014818 A1).
Claim 18, Takahashi in view of Cho ’920 teaches the method of claim 16, but is silent regarding wherein combining the second signal with the first signals to generate the modified first signals comprises:
interpolating multiple second signals to generate an interpolated second signal for each of the first signals; and
combining each of the first signals with a corresponding interpolated second signal.
Cho ’818 teaches wherein combining the second signal with the first signals to generate the modified first signals comprises:
interpolating multiple second signals to generate an interpolated second signal for each of the first signals (paragraph 0095); and
combining each of the first signals with a corresponding interpolated second signal (multiple dark pixels are used to interpolate the dark current estimation used to produce compensated image data; see paragraph 0097-0101 and Figs. 4C and 9).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teaching of Cho ’818 with that of the cited prior art in order to perform compensation of both global dark current and local dark current, thereby increasing the picture quality of an image (see paragraph 0127 of Cho ’818).
Claim 20, Takahashi in view of Cho ’920 teaches the detector of claim 19, but is silent regarding wherein the control logic is further configured for:
interpolating multiple second signals to generate an interpolated second signal for each of the first signals; and
combining each first signal with a corresponding interpolated second signal.
Cho ’818 teaches wherein the means for combining the at least one second signal with the first signals to generate the modified first signals comprises:
interpolating multiple second signals to generate an interpolated second signal for each of the first signals; and
combining each first signal with a corresponding interpolated second signal (multiple dark pixels are used to interpolate the dark current estimation used to produce compensated image data; see paragraph 0097-0101 and Figs. 4C and 9).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teaching of Cho ’818 with that of the cited prior art in order to perform compensation of both global dark current and local dark current, thereby increasing the picture quality of an image (see paragraph 0127 of Cho ’818).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 attached.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHIAWEI CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637