DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Species (A1) in the reply filed on 07/24/2026 is acknowledged.
Upon further consideration, the species (A1) through (A5) and the species (A11), wherein at least one of X9, X11, and X20 is N, are merged into a new species (B1), because it was found no burden to search those species together. Note that the species (A11), wherein each of X9, X11, and X20 is C, have remained as a distinct species. Updated species are as follows.
(B1) a group consisting of:
,
,
,
,
,
,
,
, wherein at least one of X9, X11, and X20 is N, and
, wherein at least one of X9, X11, and X20 is N.
(B2) a group consisting of:
(B3) a group consisting of:
(B4) a group consisting of:
(B5) a group consisting of:
(B6) a group consisting of:
(B7) a group consisting of:
, wherein X9, X11, and X20 are each C.
(B8) a group consisting of:
(B9) a group consisting of:
(B10) a group consisting of:
(B11) a group consisting of:
(B12) a group consisting of:
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, and 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lim et al. (KR 20210137267 A, the original document is referred to for figures and tables and the English translation is referred to for remainder body of the patent, hereafter Lim).
Regarding claims 1-3, 5, 7, and 9-16, Lim discloses a compound of Formula 1 ([0007]) used for an organic light emitting device ([0017]) and exemplifies a compound (the 13th compound in [0131], hereafter Compound A).
The Compound A has identical structure as Applicant’s compound comprising a first ring, wherein the first ring is formed by connecting a plurality of chemical groups (i.e. triazine, carbazole, naphthalene, and benzene), wherein the plurality of chemical groups comprises a first, a second, and a third chemical moieties selected from group A (i.e. carbazole, triazine, or naphthalene), wherein the plurality of ring atoms of the first ring comprises at least three or four atoms of fused- or non-fused 6 membered ring (i.e. carbazole, triazine, or naphthalene), wherein carbazole is a hole transporting moiety; and triazine is an electron transporting moiety, meeting all the limitations of claims 1-3, 5, and 7.
With respect to claim 9, the Compound A of Lim reads on the first structural formula of claim 9, as shown below.
, wherein (RA, RE) are each alkenyl and joined together to form a ring, meeting all the limitations of claim 9.
With respect to claims 10-11, the Compound A of Lim reads on the structural formula of claim 10, as shown below.
, wherein L is a linker comprising one or more aryl; and RA through RE are each hydrogen, meeting all the limitations of claims 10-16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (KR 20210137267 A, the original document is referred to for figures and tables and the English translation is referred to for remainder body of the patent).
Regarding claim 4, Lim discloses a compound of Formula 1 ([0007]) used for an organic light emitting device ([0017]) and exemplifies a compound (the 13th compound in [0131], hereafter Compound A). The Compound A of Lim reads on all the features of the compound of claim 1 as outlined above.
In the Compound A of Lim, the group at the position corresponding to A1 is not naphthalene; however, Lim does teach that A1 can be an unsubstituted arylene group ([0014]; page 5 of the English translation) and exemplifies naphthalene as the arylene group ([0039], [0061]; pages 8 and 11 of the English translation).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Compound A of Lim by substituting the phenylene at the position corresponding to A1 of Formula 1 of Lim with naphthalene, as taught by Lim.
The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Substitution of phenylene with naphthalene at the position corresponding to A1 of Formula 1 would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B). There are finite number of exemplified arylene groups ([0037]-[0039]; page 8, paragraphs 1-3 of the English translation). The selection of naphthalene as the arylene group at the position A1 of Formula 1 would have been one from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(E).
The modification provides Modified compound of Lim (1).
Regarding claim 6, Lim discloses a compound of Formula 1 ([0007]) used for an organic light emitting device ([0017]) and exemplifies a compound (the 13th compound in [0131], hereafter Compound A). The Compound A of Lim reads on all the features of the compound of claim 1 as outlined above.
In the Compound A of Lim, the group at the position corresponding to A2 is not dibenzofuran; however, Lim does teach that A2 can be an unsubstituted heterocyclic group ([0014]; page 5 of the English translation) and exemplifies dibenzofuran as the heterocyclic group ([0047]; pages 8 and 11 of the English translation; and see the last compound in [0131]).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Compound A of Lim by substituting the naphthalene at the position corresponding to A2 of Formula 1 of Lim with dibenzofuran, as taught by Lim.
The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Substitution of naphthalene with dibenzofuran at the position corresponding to A2 of Formula 1 would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B). There are finite number of exemplified compound having dibenzofuran at the position corresponding to A2 of Formula 1 ([0131]). The selection of dibenzofuran at the position A2 of Formula 1 would have been one from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(E).
The modification provides Modified compound of Lim (2).
Regarding claims 19-20, Lim discloses a compound of Formula 1 ([0007]) used for an organic light emitting device ([0017]) and exemplifies a compound (the 13th compound in [0131], hereafter Compound A). The Compound A of Lim reads on all the features of the compound of claim 1 as outlined above.
Lim does not disclose a specific organic light emitting device comprising the Compound A of Lim; however, Lim does teach the compound can be incorporated in an organic light emitting device ([0017], last paragraph on page 5).
Lim teaches the structure of an organic light emitting device comprising an anode, an emissive layer, and a cathode (Example 1 in [0225]-[0238]; and page 27-28 of the English translation).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Compound A of Lim by incorporating it into the emissive layer of an organic light emitting device, as taught by Lim.
The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Substitution of the emissive host materials of the compounds of Lim in the device of Lim would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides Modified organic light emitting device of Lim comprising an anode, an emissive layer (Compound A of Lim), and a cathode; wherein the organic light emitting device is a consumer product.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (KR 20210137267 A, the original document is referred to for figures and tables and the English translation is referred to for remainder body of the patent) in view of Li et al. (US 2002/0076576 A1, hereafter Li)
Regarding claim 8, Lim discloses a compound of Formula 1 ([0007]) used for an organic light emitting device ([0017]) and exemplifies a compound (the 13th compound in [0131], hereafter Compound A). The Compound A of Lim reads on all the features of the compound of claim 1 as outlined above.
The Compound A of Lim is not deuterated; however, Lim does teach that the substituent of the compound of Lim can be substituted by deuterium ([0013]-[0014], [0028]; page 5-6 of English translation).
Li discloses an organic compound used for an organic light emitting device (Abstract).
Li teaches that C-D bond is shorter than C-H bond such that the compound having C-D bonds is stronger and more stable, and react more slowly than the compound having C-H bonds, providing better thermal stability and longer lifetime ([0009]).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Compound A of Lim by substituting all the C-H bonds with C-D bonds, as taught by Lim and Liu.
The motivation of doing so would have been to provide stronger and more stable compound and provide the device with better thermal stability and longer lifetime based on the teaching of Li.
Furthermore, the modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material and method to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). The substitution of the substituents from hydrogen with deuterium in the compound of Formula 1 of Lim would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides Compound of Lim as modified by Li, which has identical structure as the Compound A of Lim except all the C-H bonds are replaced by C-D bonds.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (KR 20210137267 A, the original document is referred to for figures and tables and the English translation is referred to for remainder body of the patent) as applied to claim 19 above, further in view of Pang et al. (“A full-color, low-power, wearable display for mobile applications”, SPIE, 03/29/2012, hereafter Pang).
Regarding claim 20, the Modified organic light emitting device of Lim reads on all the features of claim 19 as outlined above, and the Compound A of Lim reads on all the features of claim 1 as outlined above.
The device comprises an anode, an emissive layer (Compound A of Lim), and a cathode; wherein the organic light emitting device is a consumer product.
Lim does not disclose a specific display comprising the Modified organic light emitting device of Lim.
Pang discloses a flexible display (“flexible active matrix OLED display” in Fig. 3) comprising an organic light emitting diode (“C: OLED” in Fig. 3).
Pang teaches the display device provide a full-color, low-power, wearable display for mobile application (title and abstract).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Modified organic light emitting device of Lim by incorporating it into a flexible display, as taught by Pang.
The motivation of doing so would have been to provide a full-color, low-power, wearable display for mobile application based on the teaching of Pang.
Furthermore, the modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material and method to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). The substitution of the organic light emitting devices in a flexible display would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides a flexible display of Lim as modified by Pang comprising the Modified organic light emitting diode of Lim, wherein the flexible display is a consumer product.
Claims 1-7, 9-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolohan et al. (US 2020/0168812 A1, hereafter Wolohan) in view of Kim et al. (US 2023/0139045 A1, hereafter Kim).
Regarding claims 1-7, 9-16, and 18-20, Wolohan discloses a compound of Formula I ([0015]) used for an organic light emitting device ([0026]) and exemplifies a compound (the 4th compound on page 26, hereafter Compound B).
In the Compound B of Wolohan, the substituent of the carbazole at the position corresponding to RA of Formula 1 (see the part enclosed by a dashed box in the figure above) and the substituent of the phenyl at the position corresponding to R4 (see the part enclosed by a circle in the figure above) are each hydrogen and not joined to form a ring; however, Wolohan does teach that any two substituents can be joined or fused together to form a ring ([0025]).
Kim discloses a cyclized compound used for an organic light emitting device ([0002], [0007]).
Kim teaches that cyclization of a molecule provides limited movement of a molecule, which results in small structural changes in the excited state and limited side reaction pathway for the molecule such that the OLED device comprising the compound provides high efficiency and long life span ([0258]).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Compound B of Wolohan by joining the position-1’ carbon of the carbazole at the position corresponding to RA with the position 2”-carbon of the carbazole at the position corresponding to R4 of Formula I of Wolohan, as taught by Wolohan and Kim.
The motivation of doing so would have been to provide limited movement of the molecule and smaller structural changes in the excited state such that the side reaction pathway in the excited state is limited and the OLED device comprising the compound provides high efficiency and long life span, based on the teaching of Kim.
Furthermore, the modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material and method to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). The substitution of the substituents (i.e. from separated substituents to joined substituents) in the compound of Formula I of Wolohan would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides Compound of Wolohan as modified by Kim (1).
The Compound of Wolohan as modified by Kim has similar structure as the claimed compound (i.e. the second compound of claim 18). The only difference is that the substitution position of the carbazole group at the position corresponding to RA of Formula I is substituted to the position-3 of the ring A while the claimed compound requires to be position 2; however, Wolohan does teach that the substituent RA can be substituted to any position of the ring A in the compound of Formula I. Furthermore, the Compound of Wolohan as modified by Kim (1) is a position isomer of the claimed compound. For the position isomer, see MPEP 2144.09 I and 2144.09 II.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Compound of Wolohan as modified by Kim (1) by substituting the substitution position of the carbazole group at the position corresponding to RA of Formula I from the position 3 to the position 2 of the ring A of Formula I, as taught by Wolohan.
The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material and method to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). The substitution of the substitution positions of the substituent RA in the compound of Formula I of Wolohan would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B). There are finite number of substitution positions for the RA in the ring A. The selection of position 2 in the ring A would have been one from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(E).
The modification provides Compound of Wolohan as modified by Kim (2) which has identical structure as the Claimed compound (see the structure in the figure above), meeting all the limitations of claims 1-7, 9-16, and 18.
Wolohan in view of Kim does not disclose an organic light emitting device and a consumer product comprising the Compound of Wolohan as modified by Kim (2); however, Wolohan does teach an organic light emitting device comprising an anode, an organic layer comprising the compound of Wolohan, and a cathode ([0105]) and a consumer product comprising the organic light emitting device ([0120]-[0122]).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Compound of Wolohan as modified by Kim (2) by incorporating it into the organic layer of an organic light emitting device and incorporating the organic light emitting device into a consumer product, as taught by Wolohan.
The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material and method to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). The substitution would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides Organic light emitting device of Wolohan as modified by Kim comprising an anode, an organic layer containing the Compound of Wolohan as modified by Kim (2), and a cathode, meeting all the limitations of claim 19.
The modification also provides a consumer product comprising the Organic light emitting device of Wolohan as modified by Kim, meeting all the limitations of claim 20.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolohan et al. (US 2020/0168812 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 2023/0139045 A1) as applied to claims 1-7, 9-16, and 18-20 above, further in view of Li et al. (US 2002/0076576 A1).
Regarding claim 8, the Compound of Wolohan as modified by Kim (2) reads on all the features of claim 1 as outlined above.
The compound is not substituted by deuterium; however, Wolohan does teach that each substituents in the compound of Wolohan can be substituted by deuterium ([0024], [0052]-[0072]).
Li discloses an organic compound used for an organic light emitting device (Abstract).
Li teaches that C-D bond is shorter than C-H bond such that the compound having C-D bonds is stronger and more stable, and react more slowly than the compound having C-H bonds, providing better thermal stability and longer lifetime ([0009]).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Compound of Wolohan as modified by Kim (2) by substituting all the C-H bond with C-D bond, as taught by Lim and Liu.
The motivation of doing so would have been to provide stronger and more stable compound and provide the device with better thermal stability and longer lifetime based on the teaching of Li.
Furthermore, the modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material and method to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). The substitution of the substituents from hydrogen with deuterium in the compound of Wolohan would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides Compound of Wolohan as modified by Kim and Li, which has identical structure as the Compound of Wolohan as modified by Kim (2) except that all the C-H bond is replaced with C-D bond.
Claims 1-2, 5, 7, 9-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over No et al. (US 2023/0150982 A1, hereafter No) in view of Kim et al. (US 2023/0139045 A1).
Regarding claims 1-2, 5, 7, 9-17, and 19-20, Wolohan discloses a compound of Formula 1 ([0009]) used for an organic light emitting device ([0007]) and exemplifies Compound 1-14 ([0151]).
In the Compound 1-14 of No, the substituent at the position corresponding to Ar1 (i.e. the carbon pointed by a white arrow in the figure above) is unsubstituted and not connected to the adjacent substituent corresponding to the Z1 (i.e. the carbon pointed by a black arrow in the figure above); however, No does teach that Ar1 can be a substituted C6 aryl group ([0010]; i.e. phenyl, see examples in [0151]); L1 can be an unsubstituted C6 arylene group (i.e. phenylene) ([0011]); Z1 can be a substituted C6 aryl group (i.e. phenyl) ([0012]); a and b can be each 1 ([0015]-[0016]). No teaches that the substituents of the substituted aryl can be C2 to C4 alkenyl, wherein two or more substituent can be linked ([0045]), indicating that substituents of adjacent aryl groups of Ar1 and Z can be linked to form a phenylene ring.
Kim discloses a cyclized compound used for an organic light emitting device ([0002], [0007]).
Kim teaches that cyclization of a molecule provides limited movement of a molecule, which results in small structural changes in the excited state and limited side reaction pathway for the molecule such that the OLED device comprising the compound provides high efficiency and long life span ([0258]).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Compound 1-14 of No by linking the benzene ring of one of carbazole group with the terminal phenyl group at the position corresponding to the Z1 of Formula 1 (i.e. the carbon atoms pointed by arrows in the figure above), as taught by No and Kim.
The motivation of doing so would have been to provide limited movement of the molecule and smaller structural changes in the excited state such that the side reaction pathway in the excited state is limited and the OLED device comprising the compound provides high efficiency and long life span, based on the teaching of Kim.
Furthermore, the modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material and method to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
The modification provides Compound of No as modified by Kim, which has identical structure as Applicant’s Compound-1-(R1)(R1)(R1)(R1)(L1)(a2)(b1) of claim 17, wherein the compound has structure of
, wherein Ri, Rj, Rk, and Rl are each R1
; L is L1,
; a is a2; and b is b1, meeting all the limitations of claims 1-2, 5, 7, 9-17.
No in view of Kim does not disclose an organic light emitting device and a consumer product comprising the Compound of No as modified by Kim; however, Wolohan does teach an organic light emitting device comprising an anode, an organic layer comprising the compound of No, and a cathode ([0018], [0157]).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Compound of No as modified by Kim by incorporating it into the organic layer of an organic light emitting device, as taught by No.
The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material and method to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). The substitution would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides Organic light emitting device of No as modified by Kim comprising an anode, an organic layer containing the Compound of No as modified by Kim, and a cathode, meeting all the limitations of claim 19.
An organic light emitting device is a display device as evidenced by No ([0003]). A display device is equated with a consumer product. The Organic light emitting device of No as modified by Kim is equated with a consumer product, meeting all the limitations of claim 20.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over No et al. (US 2023/0150982 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 2023/0139045 A1) as applied to claims 1-2, 5, 7, 9-17, and 19-20 above, further in view of Li et al. (US 2002/0076576 A1).
Regarding claim 8, the Compound of No as modified by Kim reads on all the features of claim 1 as outlined above.
The compound is not substituted by deuterium; however, No does teach that each substituents in the compound of No can be substituted by deuterium ([0009]-[0016], [0047]).
Li discloses an organic compound used for an organic light emitting device (Abstract).
Li teaches that C-D bond is shorter than C-H bond such that the compound having C-D bonds is stronger and more stable, and react more slowly than the compound having C-H bonds, providing better thermal stability and longer lifetime ([0009]).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Compound of No as modified by Kim by substituting all the C-H bond with C-D bond, as taught by No and Li.
The motivation of doing so would have been to provide stronger and more stable compound and provide the device with better thermal stability and longer lifetime based on the teaching of Li.
Furthermore, the modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material and method to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). The substitution of the substituents from hydrogen with deuterium in the compound of No would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides Compound of No as modified by Kim and Li, which has identical structure as the Compound of No as modified by Kim except that all the C-H bond is replaced with C-D bond.
Conclusion
/SEOKMIN JEON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786