DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed April 8, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application, with claims 14-20 being withdrawn. Applicant’s arguments and amendments to the claims have overcome the 101 rejections of claims 1-8 rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed January 12, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101). Claim 9 recites “a tracheal tube positioned in an airway of a patient” in lines 7-8, which encompasses a portion of the human body as part of the claimed system. In order to overcome this rejection, Examiner suggests amending the claim to recite “a tracheal tube configured to be positioned in an airway of a patient”. Claims 10-13 are rejected based on their dependence on claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20200376218 A1 (Mansfield et al.).
Regarding claim 1, Mansfield teaches a method for identifying airway collapse, the method comprising:
emitting, from an acoustic sensor, a series of acoustic pulses into a tracheal tube positioned in an airway of a patient ([0016] “An acoustic reflectometry system consists of an adapter connected to the proximal end of an ETT and to a monitor … detecting the returning acoustic reflections, or echoes, with the microphones,”);
detecting, by the acoustic sensor, echoes resulting from the series of acoustic pulses ([0040] “The acoustic reflectometry system tracks the time delay of this airway echo, estimating relative changes in the distance between the ETT tip and the airway echo region.”);
generating, based on the detected echoes, a time series of passageway sizes of the airway ([0039] “This echo, referred to as the ETT tip echo, is analyzed by the acoustic reflectometry system to estimate the passageway size (or effective diameter) around the ETT.”);
based on the time series of passageway sizes, detecting an airway collapse has occurred ([0093] “Possible collapsed lung (indicated by a significant change in the airway sonic reflection morphology, which is a composite of the reflection coming from both the left and right lungs—change one lung volume and the composite signal will change significantly)”); and
based on detecting the airway collapse has occurred, activating an airway collapse alarm ([0091] “Low volume alarm”).
Regarding claim 2, Mansfield teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the time series of passageway sizes are displayed on a monitor communicatively coupled to the acoustic sensor ([0016] “monitor”; Fig. 5; [0041] “the acoustic reflectometry system includes a device 122. that is a handheld, portable device with a display 124 that provides information about the endotracheal tube position, obstruction, and movement.”).
Regarding claim 3, Mansfield teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising generating dynamic characteristics of the airway collapse based on the time series of passageway sizes ([0038-0039] “The acoustic reflectometry system estimates the obstruction size from the echo amplitude and the obstruction location from the echo delay time.”; “This echo, referred to as the ETT tip echo, is analyzed by the acoustic reflectometry system to estimate the passageway size (or effective diameter) around the ETT.”).
Regarding claim 4, Mansfield teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the dynamic characteristics include at least one of a peak-to-baseline value, a baseline shift, or a baseline trend ([0029] “FIG. 3 is a diagrammatical view of the sound waves and respective echo signals (i.e., acoustic reflections) after encountering changes in cross sectional area in a tube”; [0039] “This echo, referred to as the ETT tip echo, is analyzed by the acoustic reflectometry system to estimate the passageway size (or effective diameter) around the ETT. A negative deflection echo indicates that the ETT is located in a passageway that has a larger cross sectional area than the ETT. This would be the. case for an EFT that is in the trachea. If this echo were to change to a positive deflection, it would indicate that the ETT is located in a passageway that has a smaller cross sectional area than the ETT. This may correspond to an ETT that is in the esophagus or bronchus or that it is clogged at the tip, for example, from mucus.”).
Regarding claim 5, Mansfield teaches the method of claim 4, further comprising generating an airway-compliance indicator based on at least the peak-to-baseline value ([0070] “The amount of pressure necessary to deliver the tidal volume is determined by the resistance and compliance of the patient and ventilator circuit, and may vary from breath to breath.”; [0105]).
Regarding claim 6, Mansfield teaches the method of claim 4, further comprising displaying one or more of the dynamic characteristics on at least one of a monitor communicatively coupled to the acoustic sensor or a ventilator communicatively coupled to the acoustic sensor ([0034] “The acoustic reflectometry system adapter 110 couples between the ETT 102 and the ventilator hose 112 as shown in FIG. 1.”; [0041] “the acoustic reflectometry system includes a device 122. that is a handheld, portable device with a display 124 that provides information about the endotracheal tube position, obstruction, and movement”).
Regarding claim 7, Mansfield teaches the method of claim 3 further comprising adjusting ventilation delivered to the patient based on one or more of the dynamic characteristics ([0067]; [0078-0079]; [0081] “the user may set the desired trachea pressure (above, at, or below a desired baseline pressure), and the ventilator controller, which is provided access to the P.sub.TRACHEA data from the acoustic reflectometry system, may automatically adjust the pressure support level setting on the ventilator to obtain the desired trachea pressure.”; [0117]).
Regarding claim 9, Mansfield teaches a system for detecting airway collapse, the system comprising:
an acoustic sensor comprising an acoustic receiver and an acoustic generator ([0016] “Embedded inside the adapter is a sound generator such as a miniature speaker, for example, and at least one receiver such as a microphone array, for example”);
a monitor communicatively coupled to the acoustic sensor ([0016] “An acoustic reflectometry system consists of an adapter connected to the proximal end of an ETT and to a monitor.”);
a processor ([0025] “The system also includes a reflectometry device having at least one processor”); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor ([0025] “a memory that is accessible to the processor for analyzing timings and amplitudes of the returning acoustic reflections”), cause the system to perform a set of operations comprising:
emitting, from the acoustic generator, a series of acoustic pulses into a tracheal tube positioned in an airway of a patient ([0016] “An acoustic reflectometry system consists of an adapter connected to the proximal end of an ETT and to a monitor … detecting the returning acoustic reflections, or echoes, with the microphones,”);
detecting, by the acoustic receiver, echoes resulting from the series of acoustic pulses reflecting from a tip of the tracheal tube ([0040] “The acoustic reflectometry system tracks the time delay of this airway echo, estimating relative changes in the distance between the ETT tip and the airway echo region.”);
generating, based on the detected echoes, a time series of passageway sizes of the airway ([0039] “This echo, referred to as the ETT tip echo, is analyzed by the acoustic reflectometry system to estimate the passageway size (or effective diameter) around the ETT.”);
based on at least one of the time series of passageway sizes, detecting an airway collapse has occurred ([0093] “Possible collapsed lung (indicated by a significant change in the airway sonic reflection morphology, which is a composite of the reflection coming from both the left and right lungs—change one lung volume and the composite signal will change significantly)”); and
displaying the time series of passageway size on the monitor ([0016] “monitor”; Fig. 5; [0041] “the acoustic reflectometry system includes a device 122. that is a handheld, portable device with a display 124 that provides information about the endotracheal tube position, obstruction, and movement.”).
Regarding claim 10, Mansfield teaches the system of claim 9, wherein the system further comprises a ventilator, and the monitor is integrated into the ventilator or is a stand-alone monitor separate from the ventilator ([0034] “The acoustic reflectometry system adapter 110 couples between the ETT 102 and the ventilator hose 112 as shown in FIG. 1.”; [0041] “the acoustic reflectometry system includes a device 122. that is a handheld, portable device with a display 124 that provides information about the endotracheal tube position, obstruction, and movement”).
Regarding claim 11, Mansfield teaches the system of claim 10, wherein the operations further comprise generating dynamic characteristics of the airway collapse based on the time series of passageway sizes, wherein the dynamic characteristics include at least one of a peak-to-baseline value, a baseline shift, or a baseline trend ([0029] “FIG. 3 is a diagrammatical view of the sound waves and respective echo signals (i.e., acoustic reflections) after encountering changes in cross sectional area in a tube”; [0039] “This echo, referred to as the ETT tip echo, is analyzed by the acoustic reflectometry system to estimate the passageway size (or effective diameter) around the ETT. A negative deflection echo indicates that the ETT is located in a passageway that has a larger cross sectional area than the ETT. This would be the. case for an EFT that is in the trachea. If this echo were to change to a positive deflection, it would indicate that the ETT is located in a passageway that has a smaller cross sectional area than the ETT. This may correspond to an ETT that is in the esophagus or bronchus or that it is clogged at the tip, for example, from mucus.”).
Regarding claim 12, Mansfield teaches the system of claim 11, wherein the operations further comprise, based on at least one of the dynamic characteristics, adjusting, by the ventilator, a pressure of delivered breathing gases to the patient ([0067]; [0078-0079]; [0081] “the user may set the desired trachea pressure (above, at, or below a desired baseline pressure), and the ventilator controller, which is provided access to the P.sub.TRACHEA data from the acoustic reflectometry system, may automatically adjust the pressure support level setting on the ventilator to obtain the desired trachea pressure.”; [0117]).
Regarding claim 13, Mansfield teaches the system of claim 9, wherein the operations further comprise, based on detecting the airway collapse has occurred, activating an airway-collapse alarm on the monitor ([0091] “Low volume alarm”; [0041] “the acoustic reflectometry system includes a device 122. that is a handheld, portable device with a display 124 that provides information about the endotracheal tube position, obstruction, and movement.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200376218 A1 (Mansfield et al.) in view of US 20190175852 A1 (Freeman et al.).
Regarding claim 8, Mansfield teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: detection of the airway collapse ([0093] “Possible collapsed lung (indicated by a significant change in the airway sonic reflection morphology, which is a composite of the reflection coming from both the left and right lungs—change one lung volume and the composite signal will change significantly)”).
Mansfield does not explicitly teach storing the time series of passageway sizes in a buffer; and storing the time series of passageway sizes in permanent memory.
However,
Freeman teaches storing the time series of passageway sizes in a buffer; and storing the time series of passageway sizes in permanent memory ([0037] “Volatile memory 225 may comprise a cache area for the temporary storage of data. Non-volatile memory 230 may further comprise an electrically erasable programmable read only memory (EEPROM), flash memory, and/or the like. In an embodiment, ventilation monitoring device 145 may use memory to store information and/or data including computer program code to implement one or more features of ventilation monitoring device 145”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the method disclosed in Mansfield to include storing the time series of passageway sizes in a buffer and permanent memory. One would have been motivated to make this modification because the temporary volatile memory and non-volatile memory may be used together with a tracheal tube and saving particular results to memory based on ventilation testing, as suggested by Freeman [0036, 0063].
Double Patenting
Claims 9-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 14-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11/696,993 in view of US 20210321939 A1 (Kent et al.).
Regarding claim 9, ‘993 teaches a system for detecting airway collapse, the system comprising:
an acoustic sensor comprising an acoustic receiver and an acoustic generator (Claims 14 – “a sound generator to emit sound waves into an endotracheal tube (“ETT”); at least one sound receiver to detect returning acoustic reflections”);
a monitor communicatively coupled to the acoustic sensor (Claim 14 – “display information that there is a possible mainstem bronchial intubation, a possible collapsed lung, a possible bronchial plug, or any combination thereof.”);
a processor (Claim 14 – “a reflectometry device having a controller”); and
emitting, from the acoustic generator, a series of acoustic pulses into a tracheal tube positioned in an airway of a patient (Claim 14 – “a sound generator to emit sound waves into an endotracheal tube (“ETT”)”);
detecting, by the acoustic receiver, echoes resulting from the series of acoustic pulses reflecting from a tip of the tracheal tube (Claim 14 – “at least one sound receiver to detect returning acoustic reflections; a reflectometry device having a controller for analyzing timings and amplitudes of the returning acoustic reflections to determine reflectometry data including a size of a passageway around an ETT tip, location and size of ETT obstructions relative movement of the ETT tip within a trachea, or any combination thereof;”);
generating, based on the detected echoes, a time series of passageway sizes of the airway (Claim 14 – “at least one sound receiver to detect returning acoustic reflections; a reflectometry device having a controller for analyzing timings and amplitudes of the returning acoustic reflections to determine reflectometry data including a size of a passageway around an ETT tip, location and size of ETT obstructions relative movement of the ETT tip within a trachea, or any combination thereof;”);
based on at least one of the time series of passageway sizes, detecting an airway collapse has occurred (Claim 14 – “a reflectometry device having a controller for analyzing timings and amplitudes of the returning acoustic reflections to determine reflectometry data including a size of a passageway around an ETT tip, location and size of ETT obstructions relative movement of the ETT tip within a trachea, or any combination thereof; and a ventilation device having a pressure sensor and a flow sensor in an airway circuit and being configured to: analyze data from the pressure sensor and the flow sensor; based on analyzing the data from the pressure sensor and the flow sensor, issue an alarm when a predetermined low volume flow is detected; in response to the alarm, determine, based on the reflectometry data, a possible cause of the low volume flow; and display information that there is a possible mainstem bronchial intubation, a possible collapsed lung, a possible bronchial plug, or any combination thereof.”); and
displaying the time series of passageway size on the monitor (Claim 14 – “display information that there is a possible mainstem bronchial intubation, a possible collapsed lung, a possible bronchial plug, or any combination thereof.”).
The claims of ‘993 do not explicitly teach memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the system to perform a set of operations.
However,
Kent teaches memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the system to perform a set of operations ([0085] “Each software module may include instructions that, when executed by the processor 410, may cause appliance 400 to perform the corresponding function. Thus, the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of memory 412 may include instructions for performing all or a portion of the operations described below with respect to FIG. 6”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the method taught by the claims of ‘993 to include a memory storing instructions. One would have been motivated to make this modification because the memory is capable of storing information corresponding to the patient’s respiratory functions and initiating treatment, as suggested by Kent ([0085]; [0257]).
Regarding claim 10, ‘993 teaches the system of claim 9, wherein the system further comprises a ventilator, and the monitor is integrated into the ventilator or is a stand-alone monitor separate from the ventilator (Claim 14 “A system for use of acoustic reflectometry in ventilation devices, the system comprising … a ventilation device having a pressure sensor and a flow sensor in an airway circuit … and display information that there is a possible mainstem bronchial intubation, a possible collapsed lung, a possible bronchial plug, or any combination thereof”).
Regarding claim 11, ‘993 teaches the system of claim 10, wherein the operations further comprise generating dynamic characteristics of the airway collapse based on the time series of passageway sizes, wherein the dynamic characteristics include at least one of a peak-to-baseline value, a baseline shift, or a baseline trend (Claim 14 “A system for use of acoustic reflectometry in ventilation devices, the system comprising: a sound generator to emit sound waves into an endotracheal tube (“ETT”); at least one sound receiver to detect returning acoustic reflections; a reflectometry device having a controller for analyzing timings and amplitudes of the returning acoustic reflections to determine reflectometry data including a size of a passageway around an ETT tip, location and size of ETT obstructions relative movement of the ETT tip \vi thin a trachea, or any combination thereof”; and Claim 16 “displaying a change in a size of the passageway detected distal of the ETT tip over time”).
Regarding claim 12, ‘993 teaches the system of claim 11.
The claims of ‘993 do not explicitly teach wherein the operations further comprise, based on at least one of the dynamic characteristics, adjusting, by the ventilator, a pressure of delivered breathing gases to the patient.
However,
Kent teaches wherein the operations further comprise, based on at least one of the dynamic characteristics, adjusting, by the ventilator, a pressure of delivered breathing gases to the patient ([0004]; [0255] “If the device 800 determines that a patient has lost central respiratory drive, the monitoring station may issue a special alert/alarm. This will notify the medical staff to begin ventilation, as stimulating the airway may not help in this instance.”; [0260] “The device 800 may also employ sensing capabilities so therapy is only delivered when necessary”; The ventilator is adjusted to provide pressurized air when the patient is experiencing respiratory issues, such as airway collapse.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the method taught by the claims of ‘993 to include adjusting the delivered ventilation. One would have been motivated to make this modification because the capability to determine respiratory issues, such as airway obstructions and collapse, to initiate the proper ventilation treatment eliminates the need for guesswork that could cause harm regarding the patient’s respiration in acute care settings, as suggested by Kent ([0004], [0109-110], [0253-0255]).
Regarding claim 13, ‘993 teaches the system of claim 9, wherein the operations further comprise, based on detecting the airway collapse has occurred, activating an airway-collapse alarm on the monitor (Claim 14 - “a ventilation device having a pressure sensor and a flow sensor in an airway circuit and being configured to: analyze data from the pressure sensor and the flow sensor; based on analyzing the data from the pressure sensor and the flow sensor, issue an alarm when a predetermined low volume flow is detected; in response to the alarm, determine, based on the reflectometry data, a possible cause of the low volume flow; and display information that there is a possible mainstem bronchial intubation, a possible collapsed lung, a possible bronchial plug, or any combination thereof.”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 8, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With respect to the 101 Rejections of Claims 9-13 in the Non-Final Office Action (See Page 7 of Applicant’s Response “Claim Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. § 101”), Applicant states that Applicant has amended claim 9 as suggested in the Office Action. The amendment to claim 9 on April 8, 2026 does not include any amendment remedying the 101 rejection of claim 9, as lines 7-8 in the amended claims recite “a tracheal tube positioned in an airway of a patient”, which encompasses a portion of the human body as part of the claimed system. As described above and in the Non-Final Rejection, Examiner suggests amending the claim to recite “a tracheal tube configured to be positioned in an airway of a patient”.
With respect to the 102 Rejections of in the Non-Final Office Action (See Page 7 of Applicant’s Response “Claim Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)”), Applicant argues that Mansfield does not teach generating a time series of passageway sizes as required by independent claims 1 and 9.
With respect to the 103 Rejections of in the Non-Final Office Action (See Page 8 of Applicant’s Response “Claim Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. § 103”), Applicant argues that claim 8 depends from claim 1 and Freeman fails to make up for the deficiencies of Mansfield.
With respect to the Double Patenting Rejections of in the Non-Final Office Action (See Page 8 of Applicant’s Response “Double Patenting”), Applicant argues that the claims of ‘993 do not teach determining an airway collapse based on a time series of passageway sizes.
MPEP § 2111 discusses proper claim interpretation, including giving claims their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification during examination. Under broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), the words of a claim must be given their plain meaning unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification, and it is improper to import claim limitations from the specification into the claim. The requirements for anticipation are discussed in MPEP § 2131.
Under BRI, time series data is a sequence of data points collected or recorded at successive points in time, meaning that a “time series of passageway sizes” is a collection of passageway size data over time. Mansfield teaches collecting passageway size data over time in [0039-0040], which describes how the changes in ETT tip echo is measured at different times to determine the passageway size. Additionally [0093] of Mansfield describes that possible collapse lung is indicated by a significant change in the airway sonic reflection morphology, which is based on the change of data collected from the airway over time. Therefore, Mansfield teaches the limitations of “generating, based on the detected echoes, a time series of passageway sizes of the airway”, and “based on the time series of passageway sizes, detecting an airway collapse as occurred” under BRI as required by claims 1 and 9.
Additionally, ‘993 describes a time series of passageway sizes under BRI. Claim 14 of ‘993 recites “analyzing times and amplitudes of the returning acoustic reflections to determine reflectometry data including a size of passageway”, which is time series data of passageway sizes as interpreted under BRI. Therefore, claims 9-13 of the present application remain rejected for obvious-type non-statutory double patenting.
Claims 1-13 are rejected because the rejection of claims 1 and 9 is proper and the prior art teaches or suggests all the features of these claims for the reasons described in the 102 Rejections, 103 Rejections, and Double Patenting Rejections.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EVELYN GRACE PARK/Examiner, Art Unit 3791 /TSE CHEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791