DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pg. 8-9, filed November 12th, 2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 6, and 14 under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Fish (US 12,181,054), hereinafter Fish.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-15, and 17-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, lines 9-10: “a valve seat disposed in the valve housing, the valve seat having a plurality of valve passages extending therethrough” should read “a valve seat disposed in the valve housing, the valve seat having a plurality of valve passages extending through the valve seat”
Claim 1, line 17: “depending of an axial position” should read “depending on an axial position”
Claim 6, lines 14-15: “a valve seat disposed in the valve housing, the valve seat having a plurality of valve passages extending therethrough” should read “a valve seat disposed in the valve housing, the valve seat having a plurality of valve passages extending through the valve seat”
Claim 6, line 22: “depending of an axial position” should read “depending on an axial position”
Claim 14, lines 14-15: “a valve seat disposed in the valve housing, the valve seat having a plurality of valve passages extending therethrough” should read “a valve seat disposed in the valve housing, the valve seat having a plurality of valve passages extending through the valve seat”
Claim 14, line 25: “depending of an axial position” should read “depending on an axial position”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 13, line 5: “expansion device “draws corresponding structure to the following recitation of the specification “an expansion device 28, such as an expansion valve, (Pg. 6, paragraph 38),” or equivalents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glamm (US Patent No. 4,750,337), hereinafter Glamm in view of (CN 110985707), hereinafter CN ‘707, Joo et al. (US Patent No. 9,920,965), hereinafter Joo, and Fish (US 12,181,054), hereinafter Fish.
Regarding claim 1, Glamm discloses a suction valve of a multiple-compressor heating ventilation and air conditioning (HVAC) system (Fig. 1, compressor sump pressure equalizing valve 30, refrigeration system 10), comprising:
a valve housing (Fig. 2, barrel 56) including:
a valve inlet conduit to direct a flow of refrigerant from a heat absorption heat exchanger of the HVAC system into the suction valve (Fig. 1, coupling portion 46, evaporator 26; Col. 4, lines 56-59, The refrigerant gas delivered to condenser 22 is condensed therein and is delivered through a metering device 24 to an evaporator 26 where it is vaporized in a heat exchange relationship with a source of heat; Col. 5, lines 19-21, Coupling portions 46, 48 and 50 of valve 30 define first, second and third valve apertures and are 20 brazed to suction lines 28, 32 and 34 respectively); and
a plurality of valve outlet conduits, each valve outlet conduit of the plurality of valve outlet conduits configured to direct the flow of refrigerant from the suction valve to a different compressor of the HVAC system (Fig. 2, Coupling portions 48 and 50; Col. 4, lines 63-65, suction gas is delivered through valve 30 to the interior of the shells of the compressors 12 and 14 through individual suction lines 32 and 34, respectively; Col. 5, lines 19-21, Coupling portions 46, 48 and 50 of valve 30 define first, second and third valve apertures and are 20 brazed to suction lines 28, 32 and 34 respectively);
a valve seat disposed in the valve housing (Fig. 2, spool 58);
wherein the valve seat is movable along a valve axis to selectably direct the flow of refrigerant to one or more compressors of the HVAC system depending on a position of the valve seat in the valve housing (Col. 6, lines 8-22, If, for example, motor-compressor 18 of compressor 14 draws more suction gas than motor-compressor 16 of compressor 12, an elevated pressure will develop within the shell of compressor 12. As the higher pressure begins to develop within the shell of compressor 12 it acts on face 66 of spool 58. The higher pressure in the shell of compressor 12 acts on face 66 of spool 58 so as to displace spool 58 in a direction which is away from the source of higher pressure, i.e. away from orifice 52 and end 78 of valve 30. The displacement of spool 58 away from end 78 of valve 30 and toward end 80 of valve 30 causes plug 60 to move so as to occlude and diminish the flow of suction gas through coupling portion 48 of valve 30 to the shell of compressor 12 which is at an elevated pressure).
However, Glamm does not disclose the valve seat having a plurality of valve passages extending therethrough; and
wherein the valve seat is both of movable along a valve axis and rotatable about the valve axis to selectably direct the flow of refrigerant.
CN ‘707 teaches a liner actuated valve that can be controlled via a controller, with a valve seat having a plurality of valve passages extending therethrough (Fig. 1, valve body 1, valve core 2, inner channel 9, motor 3; Pg. 5, paragraph 30, Of course, this embodiment of the multi-channel shunt valve should also be controller equipped with switch signal connected with the motor 3 the pump, the controller can directly purchase the product; the controller controls the pump switch and the motor 3 off can realize the core 2 the translation distance and the rotating angle of the control so as to realize different required of the inner passage 9 and the outer passage 8 connected to realize precise control. and corresponding to different inner channel 9 and outer channel 8 of the communication route can be set connected according to the requirement, the type selection of the specific setting of connection or controller to those skilled in the art it is easy to realize, the embodiment here specifically matching method or process); and
wherein the valve seat is both of movable along a valve axis and rotatable about the valve axis to selectably direct the flow of refrigerant (Fig. 1, motor 3, oil pump 4, piston rod 7, hinge rod 14; Pg. 5, paragraph 27, piston rod 7 sleeved with a fixed sleeve 13, fixed sleeve 13 and coupling 11 are connected by hinged connecting rod 14. under the action of hinged connecting rod 14, motor 3 rotates, it can drive the valve core 2 to rotate, while the piston rod of the oil cylinder 7 telescopic, it also can drive the transverse moving valve core 2, especially the core 2 laterally moves will not affect the rotation of the motor 3, and the motor 3 will not move transversely, in this embodiment shown in the accompanying drawings is move left and right direction. by a motor 3, pump 4 and the hinge rod 14, realizes the rotation and translation of the core 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the mechanically controlled valve of Glamm with the liner actuated valve that can be controlled via a controller, with a valve seat having a plurality of valve passages extending therethrough and wherein the valve seat is both of movable along a valve axis and rotatable about the valve axis to selectably direct the flow of refrigerant as taught by CN ‘707. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide a control valve core that is more flexible (CN ‘707, Abstract).
However, the system of Glamm controls the valve 30 mechanically via pressure difference (Glamm, Col. 6, lines 8-22, If, for example, motor-compressor 18 of compressor 14 draws more suction gas than motor-compressor 16 of compressor 12, an elevated pressure will develop within the shell of compressor 12. As the higher pressure begins to develop within the shell of compressor 12 it acts on face 66 of spool 58. The higher pressure in the shell of compressor 12 acts on face 66 of spool 58 so as to displace spool 58 in a direction which is away from the source of higher pressure, i.e. away from orifice 52 and end 78 of valve 30. The displacement of spool 58 away from end 78 of valve 30 and toward end 80 of valve 30 causes plug 60 to move so as to occlude and diminish the flow of suction gas through coupling portion 48 of valve 30 to the shell of compressor 12 which is at an elevated pressure).
Joo teaches electronic control of valves via sensors to manage oil concentration within a multiple-compressor HVAC system (Fig. 3, first oil level sensor 522, second oil level sensor 542; Fig. 4, controller 400; Fig. 5, steps S21-S29).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the suction valve of Glamm as modified to be controlled electronically via sensors instead of mechanically via pressure difference as taught by Joo. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because oil balancing of the plurality of compressors may be effectively maintained, the compressor may be improved in operation reliability (Joo, Col. 8, lines 37-39).
Moreover, Glamm as modified does not disclose wherein the plurality of valve passages are configured to direct the flow of refrigerant to two or more valve conduits of the plurality of valve outlet conduits from the valve inlet conduit depending of an axial position and a rotational position of the valve seat.
Fish teaches wherein the plurality of valve passages are configured to direct the flow of refrigerant to two or more valve conduits of the plurality of valve outlet conduits from the valve inlet conduit depending of a position of the valve seat (Fig. 1B, spool 10, first passageway 12, second passageway 13, inlet opening 15, first portion 15a, second portion 15b, first outlet opening 17, second outlet opening 18; Fig. 5A, housing inlet 21, first housing outlet 22, second housing outlet 23; Fig. 5B; Col. 8, lines 30-45, In FIG. SA, the spool 10 is extended to a first position, which is closest to the actuator 40. In this position, the housing inlet 21 is alignment with the first portion 15a. According, the fluid flows through the housing inlet 21 into the first passageway 12. Further, the inner wall of the spool 10 that separates the first passageway 12 and the second passageway 13 also prevents the flow of fluid through the second passageway 13. Furthermore, the second housing outlet 23 is not aligned with the second outlet opening 18. Conversely, the first housing outlet 22 is aligned with the first outlet opening 17. In fact, the first outlet opening 17 may overlap 100% of the first housing outlet 22, while the second outlet opening 18 may not overlap the second housing outlet 23 at all. Thus, in this position, 100% of the fluid flow, or nearly 100% of the fluid flow, is through the first passageway 12; Col. 8, lines 50-64, In FIG. 5B, the spool 10 is extended a second position away the actuator 40. In this position, the housing inlet 21 is alignment with the second portion 15b. According, the fluid flows through the housing inlet 21 into the second passageway 13. Further, the inner wall of the spool 10 that separates the first passageway 12 and the second passageway 13 also prevents the flow of fluid through the first passageway 12. Furthermore, the second housing outlet 23 is aligned with the second outlet opening 18. Conversely, the first housing outlet 22 is not aligned with the first outlet opening 17. In fact, the second outlet opening 18 may overlap 100% of the second housing outlet 23, while the first outlet opening 17 may not overlap the first housing outlet 22 at all. Thus, in this position, 100% of the fluid flow, or nearly 100% of the fluid flow, is through the second passageway 13).
Glamm as modified fails to teach wherein the plurality of valve passages are configured to direct the flow of refrigerant to two or more valve conduits of the plurality of valve outlet conduits from the valve inlet conduit depending of an axial position and a rotational position of the valve seat, however Fish teaches that it is a known method in the art of spool valves to include wherein the plurality of valve passages are configured to direct the flow of refrigerant to two or more valve conduits of the plurality of valve outlet conduits from the valve inlet conduit depending of a position of the valve seat. This is strong evidence that modifying Glamm as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. allowing an incoming flow to be divided into two separate flows, while maintaining a constant flow rate (Fish, Col. 13, lines 55-56)). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Glamm as modified by Fish and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of allowing an incoming flow to be divided into two separate flows, while maintaining a constant flow rate (Fish, Col. 13, lines 55-56).
Regarding claim 2, Glamm as modified discloses the suction valve of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), further comprising an actuator operably connected to the valve seat to move the valve seat to a selected position in the valve housing (CN ‘707; Fig. 1, motor 3, oil pump 4, piston rod 7, hinge rod 14; Pg. 5, paragraph 27, piston rod 7 sleeved with a fixed sleeve 13, fixed sleeve 13 and coupling 11 are connected by hinged connecting rod 14. under the action of hinged connecting rod 14, motor 3 rotates, it can drive the valve core 2 to rotate, while the piston rod of the oil cylinder 7 telescopic, it also can drive the transverse moving valve core 2, especially the core 2 laterally moves will not affect the rotation of the motor 3, and the motor 3 will not move transversely, in this embodiment shown in the accompanying drawings is move left and right direction. by a motor 3, pump 4 and the hinge rod 14, realizes the rotation and translation of the core 2). Further, the limitations of claim 2 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 3, Glamm as modified discloses the suction valve of claim 2 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 2 above), wherein the actuator is a motor (CN ‘707; Fig. 1, motor 3, oil pump 4, piston rod 7, hinge rod 14; Pg. 5, paragraph 27, piston rod 7 sleeved with a fixed sleeve 13, fixed sleeve 13 and coupling 11 are connected by hinged connecting rod 14. under the action of hinged connecting rod 14, motor 3 rotates, it can drive the valve core 2 to rotate, while the piston rod of the oil cylinder 7 telescopic, it also can drive the transverse moving valve core 2, especially the core 2 laterally moves will not affect the rotation of the motor 3, and the motor 3 will not move transversely, in this embodiment shown in the accompanying drawings is move left and right direction. by a motor 3, pump 4 and the hinge rod 14, realizes the rotation and translation of the core 2).
However, Glamm as modified does not explicitly disclose the actuator motor to be a stepper motor.
Fish teaches an actuator motor to be a stepper motor (Fig. 4A, actuator 40; Col. 8, lines 16-26, An actuator 40 may be in communication with the spool 10. In certain embodiments, the actuator 40 is in communication with the thin cylinder 11 that extends from the spool 10. In other embodiments, the actuator 40 may be in communication directly with the spool 10. The actuator 40 may be a stepper motor or any suitable motor that may translate the spool 10 linearly along its major axis. The actuator 40 may be in communication with a controller that controls the movement of the actuator 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the suction valve of Glamm as modified to substitute the generic actuator motor of Glamm as modified with the stepper motor of Fish to yield the predictable results of actuating the valve seat with increased precision to improve overall system efficiencies.
Regarding claim 5, Glamm as modified discloses the suction valve of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the valve seat includes:
a first plurality of valve ports disposed at a first side of the valve seat (See annotated Fig. 1 of CN ‘707 below, first plurality of valve ports A disposed on first side B of the valve core 2); and
a second plurality of valve ports disposed at a second side of the valve seat opposite the first side (See annotated Fig. 1 of CN ‘707 below, second plurality of valve ports C disposed on second side D of the valve core 2);
wherein the plurality of valve passages extend from the first plurality of valve ports to the second plurality of valve ports (See annotated Fig. 1 of CN ‘707 below, inner channel 9 is depicted to extend from the first plurality of valve ports A to the second plurality of valve ports C). Further, the limitations of claim 5 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Annotated Fig. 1 of CN’ 707
Regarding claim 6, Glamm discloses a heating ventilation and air conditioning (HVAC) system (Fig. 1, refrigeration system 10), comprising:
a plurality of compressors arranged in a fluidly parallel relationship (Fig. 1, first compressor 12, second compressor 14; Col. 4, lines 46-49, Referring initially to FIG. 1, refrigeration system 10 has a first compressor 12 and a second compressor 14 which are arranged in a manifolded, parallel arrangement);
a suction header to direct a flow a refrigerant to the plurality of compressors (Fig. 1, suction lines 32 and 34 are functionally equivalent to a suction header; Col. 4, lines 63-65, suction gas is delivered through valve 30 to the interior of the shells of the compressors 12 and 14 through individual suction lines 32 and 34, respectively); and
a suction valve disposed at the suction header (Fig. 1 of Glamm depicts compressor sump pressure equalizing valve 30 disposed in connection to suction lines 32 and 34), the suction valve including:
a valve housing (Fig. 2, barrel 56) including:
a valve inlet conduit to direct a flow of refrigerant from a heat absorption heat exchanger of the HVAC system into the suction valve (Fig. 1, coupling portion 46, evaporator 26; Col. 4, lines 56-59, The refrigerant gas delivered to condenser 22 is condensed therein and is delivered through a metering device 24 to an evaporator 26 where it is vaporized in a heat exchange relationship with a source of heat; Col. 5, lines 19-21, Coupling portions 46, 48 and 50 of valve 30 define first, second and third valve apertures and are 20 brazed to suction lines 28, 32 and 34 respectively); and
a plurality of valve outlet conduits, each valve outlet conduit of the plurality of valve outlet conduits configured to direct the flow of refrigerant from the suction valve to a different compressor of the plurality of compressors (Fig. 2, Coupling portions 48 and 50; Col. 4, lines 63-65, suction gas is delivered through valve 30 to the interior of the shells of the compressors 12 and 14 through individual suction lines 32 and 34, respectively; Col. 5, lines 19-21, Coupling portions 46, 48 and 50 of valve 30 define first, second and third valve apertures and are 20 brazed to suction lines 28, 32 and 34 respectively);
a valve seat disposed in the valve housing (Fig. 2, spool 58);
wherein the valve seat is movable along a valve axis to selectably direct the flow of refrigerant to one or more compressors of the HVAC system depending on a position of the valve seat in the valve housing (Col. 6, lines 8-22, If, for example, motor-compressor 18 of compressor 14 draws more suction gas than motor-compressor 16 of compressor 12, an elevated pressure will develop within the shell of compressor 12. As the higher pressure begins to develop within the shell of compressor 12 it acts on face 66 of spool 58. The higher pressure in the shell of compressor 12 acts on face 66 of spool 58 so as to displace spool 58 in a direction which is away from the source of higher pressure, i.e. away from orifice 52 and end 78 of valve 30. The displacement of spool 58 away from end 78 of valve 30 and toward end 80 of valve 30 causes plug 60 to move so as to occlude and diminish the flow of suction gas through coupling portion 48 of valve 30 to the shell of compressor 12 which is at an elevated pressure).
However, Glamm does not disclose the valve seat having a plurality of valve passages extending therethrough; and
wherein the valve seat is both of movable along a valve axis and rotatable about the valve axis to selectably direct the flow of refrigerant.
CN ‘707 teaches a liner actuated valve that can be controlled via a controller, with a valve seat having a plurality of valve passages extending therethrough (Fig. 1, valve body 1, valve core 2, inner channel 9, motor 3; Pg. 5, paragraph 30, Of course, this embodiment of the multi-channel shunt valve should also be controller equipped with switch signal connected with the motor 3 the pump, the controller can directly purchase the product; the controller controls the pump switch and the motor 3 off can realize the core 2 the translation distance and the rotating angle of the control so as to realize different required of the inner passage 9 and the outer passage 8 connected to realize precise control. and corresponding to different inner channel 9 and outer channel 8 of the communication route can be set connected according to the requirement, the type selection of the specific setting of connection or controller to those skilled in the art it is easy to realize, the embodiment here specifically matching method or process); and
wherein the valve seat is both of movable along a valve axis and rotatable about the valve axis to selectably direct the flow of refrigerant (Fig. 1, motor 3, oil pump 4, piston rod 7, hinge rod 14; Pg. 5, paragraph 27, piston rod 7 sleeved with a fixed sleeve 13, fixed sleeve 13 and coupling 11 are connected by hinged connecting rod 14. under the action of hinged connecting rod 14, motor 3 rotates, it can drive the valve core 2 to rotate, while the piston rod of the oil cylinder 7 telescopic, it also can drive the transverse moving valve core 2, especially the core 2 laterally moves will not affect the rotation of the motor 3, and the motor 3 will not move transversely, in this embodiment shown in the accompanying drawings is move left and right direction. by a motor 3, pump 4 and the hinge rod 14, realizes the rotation and translation of the core 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the mechanically controlled valve of Glamm with the liner actuated valve that can be controlled via a controller, with a valve seat having a plurality of valve passages extending therethrough and wherein the valve seat is both of movable along a valve axis and rotatable about the valve axis to selectably direct the flow of refrigerant as taught by CN ‘707. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide a control valve core that is more flexible (CN ‘707, Abstract).
However, the system of Glamm controls the valve 30 mechanically via pressure difference (Glamm, Col. 6, lines 8-22, If, for example, motor-compressor 18 of compressor 14 draws more suction gas than motor-compressor 16 of compressor 12, an elevated pressure will develop within the shell of compressor 12. As the higher pressure begins to develop within the shell of compressor 12 it acts on face 66 of spool 58. The higher pressure in the shell of compressor 12 acts on face 66 of spool 58 so as to displace spool 58 in a direction which is away from the source of higher pressure, i.e. away from orifice 52 and end 78 of valve 30. The displacement of spool 58 away from end 78 of valve 30 and toward end 80 of valve 30 causes plug 60 to move so as to occlude and diminish the flow of suction gas through coupling portion 48 of valve 30 to the shell of compressor 12 which is at an elevated pressure).
Joo teaches electronic control of valves via sensors to manage oil concentration within a multiple-compressor HVAC system (Fig. 3, first oil level sensor 522, second oil level sensor 542; Fig. 4, controller 400; Fig. 5, steps S21-S29).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the suction valve of Glamm as modified to be controlled electronically via sensors instead of mechanically via pressure difference as taught by Joo. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because oil balancing of the plurality of compressors may be effectively maintained, the compressor may be improved in operation reliability (Joo, Col. 8, lines 37-39).
Moreover, Glamm as modified does not disclose wherein the plurality of valve passages are configured to direct the flow of refrigerant to two or more valve conduits of the plurality of valve outlet conduits from the valve inlet conduit depending of an axial position and a rotational position of the valve seat.
Fish teaches wherein the plurality of valve passages are configured to direct the flow of refrigerant to two or more valve conduits of the plurality of valve outlet conduits from the valve inlet conduit depending of a position of the valve seat (Fig. 1B, spool 10, first passageway 12, second passageway 13, inlet opening 15, first portion 15a, second portion 15b, first outlet opening 17, second outlet opening 18; Fig. 5A, housing inlet 21, first housing outlet 22, second housing outlet 23; Fig. 5B; Col. 8, lines 30-45, In FIG. SA, the spool 10 is extended to a first position, which is closest to the actuator 40. In this position, the housing inlet 21 is alignment with the first portion 15a. According, the fluid flows through the housing inlet 21 into the first passageway 12. Further, the inner wall of the spool 10 that separates the first passageway 12 and the second passageway 13 also prevents the flow of fluid through the second passageway 13. Furthermore, the second housing outlet 23 is not aligned with the second outlet opening 18. Conversely, the first housing outlet 22 is aligned with the first outlet opening 17. In fact, the first outlet opening 17 may overlap 100% of the first housing outlet 22, while the second outlet opening 18 may not overlap the second housing outlet 23 at all. Thus, in this position, 100% of the fluid flow, or nearly 100% of the fluid flow, is through the first passageway 12; Col. 8, lines 50-64, In FIG. 5B, the spool 10 is extended a second position away the actuator 40. In this position, the housing inlet 21 is alignment with the second portion 15b. According, the fluid flows through the housing inlet 21 into the second passageway 13. Further, the inner wall of the spool 10 that separates the first passageway 12 and the second passageway 13 also prevents the flow of fluid through the first passageway 12. Furthermore, the second housing outlet 23 is aligned with the second outlet opening 18. Conversely, the first housing outlet 22 is not aligned with the first outlet opening 17. In fact, the second outlet opening 18 may overlap 100% of the second housing outlet 23, while the first outlet opening 17 may not overlap the first housing outlet 22 at all. Thus, in this position, 100% of the fluid flow, or nearly 100% of the fluid flow, is through the second passageway 13).
Glamm as modified fails to teach wherein the plurality of valve passages are configured to direct the flow of refrigerant to two or more valve conduits of the plurality of valve outlet conduits from the valve inlet conduit depending of an axial position and a rotational position of the valve seat, however Fish teaches that it is a known method in the art of spool valves to include wherein the plurality of valve passages are configured to direct the flow of refrigerant to two or more valve conduits of the plurality of valve outlet conduits from the valve inlet conduit depending of a position of the valve seat. This is strong evidence that modifying Glamm as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. allowing an incoming flow to be divided into two separate flows, while maintaining a constant flow rate (Fish, Col. 13, lines 55-56)). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Glamm as modified by Fish and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of allowing an incoming flow to be divided into two separate flows, while maintaining a constant flow rate (Fish, Col. 13, lines 55-56).
Regarding claim 7, Glamm as modified discloses the HVAC system of claim 6 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 6 above), comprising:
a controller to command movement of the valve seat in the valve housing (CN ‘707, Pg. 5, paragraph 30, Of course, this embodiment of the multi-channel shunt valve should also be controller equipped with switch signal connected with the motor 3 the pump, the controller can directly purchase the product; the controller controls the pump switch and the motor 3 off can realize the core 2 the translation distance and the rotating angle of the control so as to realize different required of the inner passage 9 and the outer passage 8 connected to realize precise control. and corresponding to different inner channel 9 and outer channel 8 of the communication route can be set connected according to the requirement, the type selection of the specific setting of connection or controller to those skilled in the art it is easy to realize, the embodiment here specifically matching method or process).
Glamm as modified discloses control of the mechanically actuated valve 30 based on system load and oil concentration (Glamm, Col 7, lines 3-9 and 32-38, When the load on system 10 is such that the operation of only one of the two manifolded compressors is required, a selected one of the compressors shuts down. Referring now to FIG. 3, it will be assumed that motor-compressor 16 of compressor 12 is designated to be shut down when the load on system 10 is insufficient to warrant the operation of both compressors 12 and 14…Further, because the pressure in the shell of the compressor 12 is higher than that found in the shell of compressor 14, oil is driven out of the sump found within the shell of non-operating compressor 12 through equalization conduit 3 unit the level of oil 38 with the shell of compressor 12 drops below the level at which oil level equalization conduit 36 opens into the shell of compressor 12).
However, Glamm as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller commands movement of valve seat based on detected load on the HVAC system and a detected oil circulation ratio through each compressor of the plurality of compressors.
Joo teaches wherein the controller commands changes to the flow control caused by the valves based on detected load on the HVAC system and a detected oil circulation ratio through each compressor of the plurality of compressors (Fig. 5, steps S21-S29; Col. 3, lines 48-52, Thus, according to performance or load of a system, the first compressor 520 may firstly or primarily operate, and then the second compressor 540 may additionally operate when the first compressor 520 does not have sufficient capacity).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reprogram the controller of Glamm as modified wherein the controller commands changes to the flow control caused by the valves based on detected load on the HVAC system and a detected oil circulation ratio through each compressor of the plurality of compressors as taught by Joo. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because oil balancing of the plurality of compressors may be effectively maintained, the compressor may be improved in operation reliability (Joo, Col. 8, lines 37-39).
Regarding claim 8, Glamm as modified discloses the HVAC system of claim 7 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 7 above), further comprising one or more sensors at each compressor of the plurality of compressors to determine the oil circulation ratio (Joo, Fig. 3, first oil level sensor 522, second oil level sensor 542; Col. 6, lines 14-22, Information detected by the first oil level sensor 522 or the second oil level sensor 542 may be transmitted to a controller 300. When the controller 300 receives the detected information from the first and second oil level sensors 522 and 542, the controller 300 may control the first to third valves 922, 942, and 962 according to the received information. The controller 300 may actively control a flow path of the collected oil and effectively achieve oil balancing by the above-described control). Further, the limitations of claim 8 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 9, Glamm as modified discloses the HVAC system of claim 6 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 6 above), further comprising an actuator operably connected to the valve seat to move the valve seat to a selected position in the valve housing (CN ‘707; Fig. 1, motor 3, oil pump 4, piston rod 7, hinge rod 14; Pg. 5, paragraph 27, piston rod 7 sleeved with a fixed sleeve 13, fixed sleeve 13 and coupling 11 are connected by hinged connecting rod 14. under the action of hinged connecting rod 14, motor 3 rotates, it can drive the valve core 2 to rotate, while the piston rod of the oil cylinder 7 telescopic, it also can drive the transverse moving valve core 2, especially the core 2 laterally moves will not affect the rotation of the motor 3, and the motor 3 will not move transversely, in this embodiment shown in the accompanying drawings is move left and right direction. by a motor 3, pump 4 and the hinge rod 14, realizes the rotation and translation of the core 2). Further, the limitations of claim 9 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 10, Glamm as modified discloses the HVAC system of claim 9 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 2 above), wherein the actuator is a motor (CN ‘707; Fig. 1, motor 3, oil pump 4, piston rod 7, hinge rod 14; Pg. 5, paragraph 27, piston rod 7 sleeved with a fixed sleeve 13, fixed sleeve 13 and coupling 11 are connected by hinged connecting rod 14. under the action of hinged connecting rod 14, motor 3 rotates, it can drive the valve core 2 to rotate, while the piston rod of the oil cylinder 7 telescopic, it also can drive the transverse moving valve core 2, especially the core 2 laterally moves will not affect the rotation of the motor 3, and the motor 3 will not move transversely, in this embodiment shown in the accompanying drawings is move left and right direction. by a motor 3, pump 4 and the hinge rod 14, realizes the rotation and translation of the core 2).
However, Glamm as modified does not explicitly disclose the actuator motor to be a stepper motor.
Fish teaches an actuator motor to be a stepper motor (Fig. 4A, actuator 40; Col. 8, lines 16-26, An actuator 40 may be in communication with the spool 10. In certain embodiments, the actuator 40 is in communication with the thin cylinder 11 that extends from the spool 10. In other embodiments, the actuator 40 may be in communication directly with the spool 10. The actuator 40 may be a stepper motor or any suitable motor that may translate the spool 10 linearly along its major axis. The actuator 40 may be in communication with a controller that controls the movement of the actuator 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the suction valve of the HVAC system Glamm as modified to substitute the generic actuator motor of Glamm as modified with the stepper motor of Fish to yield the predictable results of actuating the valve seat with increased precision to improve overall system efficiencies.
Regarding claim 12, Glamm as modified discloses the HVAC system of claim 6 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 6 above), wherein the valve seat includes:
a first plurality of valve ports disposed at a first side of the valve seat (See annotated Fig. 1 of CN ‘707 below, first plurality of valve ports A disposed on first side B of the valve core 2); and
a second plurality of valve ports disposed at a second side of the valve seat opposite the first side (See annotated Fig. 1 of CN ‘707 below, second plurality of valve ports C disposed on second side D of the valve core 2);
wherein the plurality of valve passages extend from the first plurality of valve ports to the second plurality of valve ports (See annotated Fig. 1 of CN ‘707 below, inner channel 9 is depicted to extend from the first plurality of valve ports A to the second plurality of valve ports C). Further, the limitations of claim 12 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 6 above.
Annotated Fig. 1 of CN’ 707
Regarding claim 13, Glamm as modified discloses the HVAC system of claim 6 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 6 above), further comprising:
a heat rejection heat exchanger fluidly connected to the plurality of compressors and located downstream of the plurality of compressors (Glamm, Fig 1, condenser 22; Col. 4, lines 52-55, Gas compressed by motor-compressors 16 and 18 is discharged into a common discharge line 20 in system 10 and is delivered therefrom into a condenser 22);
an expansion device fluidly connected to the heat rejection heat exchanger downstream of the heat rejection heat exchanger (Glamm, Fig. 1, metering device 24; Col. 4, line 56-59, The refrigerant gas delivered to condenser 22 is condensed therein and is delivered through a metering device 24 to an evaporator 26 where it is vaporized in a heat exchange relationship with a source of heat); and
a heat absorption heat exchanger fluidly connected to the expansion device downstream of the expansion device and upstream of the suction valve (Glamm, Fig. 1, evaporator 26; Col. 4, line 56-59, The refrigerant gas delivered to condenser 22 is condensed therein and is delivered through a metering device 24 to an evaporator 26 where it is vaporized in a heat exchange relationship with a source of heat).
Regarding claim 14, Glamm discloses a method of operating a suction valve of a heating ventilation and air conditioning (HVAC) system having a plurality of compressors (Fig. 1, compressor sump pressure equalizing valve 30, refrigeration system 10, first compressor 12, second compressor 14), comprising:
determining a load condition of the HVAC system (Col 7, lines 3-9, When the load on system 10 is such that the operation of only one of the two manifolded compressors is required, a selected one of the compressors shuts down. Referring now to FIG. 3, it will be assumed that motor-compressor 16 of compressor 12 is designated to be shut down when the load on system 10 is insufficient to warrant the operation of both compressors 12 and 14);
directing a flow of refrigerant to the suction valve (Col. 4, lines 53-56, suction gas is delivered through valve 30 to the interior of the shells of the compressors 12 and 14 through individual suction lines 32 and 34, respectively), the suction valve including:
a valve housing (Fig. 2, barrel 56) including:
a valve inlet conduit to direct a flow of refrigerant to the suction valve (Fig. 1, coupling portion 46, evaporator 26; Col. 4, lines 56-59, The refrigerant gas delivered to condenser 22 is condensed therein and is delivered through a metering device 24 to an evaporator 26 where it is vaporized in a heat exchange relationship with a source of heat; Col. 5, lines 19-21, Coupling portions 46, 48 and 50 of valve 30 define first, second and third valve apertures and are 20 brazed to suction lines 28, 32 and 34 respectively); and
a plurality of valve outlet conduits, each valve outlet conduit of the plurality of valve outlet conduits configured to direct the flow of refrigerant from the suction valve to a different compressor of the plurality of compressors (Fig. 2, Coupling portions 48 and 50; Col. 4, lines 63-65, suction gas is delivered through valve 30 to the interior of the shells of the compressors 12 and 14 through individual suction lines 32 and 34, respectively; Col. 5, lines 19-21, Coupling portions 46, 48 and 50 of valve 30 define first, second and third valve apertures and are 20 brazed to suction lines 28, 32 and 34 respectively);
a valve seat disposed in the valve housing (Fig. 2, spool 58); and
moving the valve seat of the suction valve to selectably direct the flow of refrigerant through one or more valve passages of plurality of valve passages to one or more compressors of the plurality of compressors based on the determined load condition of the HVAC system (Col. 6, lines 8-22, If, for example, motor-compressor 18 of compressor 14 draws more suction gas than motor-compressor 16 of compressor 12, an elevated pressure will develop within the shell of compressor 12. As the higher pressure begins to develop within the shell of compressor 12 it acts on face 66 of spool 58. The higher pressure in the shell of compressor 12 acts on face 66 of spool 58 so as to displace spool 58 in a direction which is away from the source of higher pressure, i.e. away from orifice 52 and end 78 of valve 30. The displacement of spool 58 away from end 78 of valve 30 and toward end 80 of valve 30 causes plug 60 to move so as to occlude and diminish the flow of suction gas through coupling portion 48 of valve 30 to the shell of compressor 12 which is at an elevated pressure; Col 7, lines 3-9, When the load on system 10 is such that the operation of only one of the two manifolded compressors is required, a selected one of the compressors shuts down. Referring now to FIG. 3, it will be assumed that motor-compressor 16 of compressor 12 is designated to be shut down when the load on system 10 is insufficient to warrant the operation of both compressors 12 and 14).
However, Glamm does not disclose the valve seat having a plurality of valve passages extending therethrough; and
wherein the valve seat is both of movable along a valve axis and rotatable about the valve axis to selectably direct the flow of refrigerant.
CN ‘707 teaches a liner actuated valve that can be controlled via a controller, with a valve seat having a plurality of valve passages extending therethrough (Fig. 1, valve body 1, valve core 2, inner channel 9, motor 3; Pg. 5, paragraph 30, Of course, this embodiment of the multi-channel shunt valve should also be controller equipped with switch signal connected with the motor 3 the pump, the controller can directly purchase the product; the controller controls the pump switch and the motor 3 off can realize the core 2 the translation distance and the rotating angle of the control so as to realize different required of the inner passage 9 and the outer passage 8 connected to realize precise control. and corresponding to different inner channel 9 and outer channel 8 of the communication route can be set connected according to the requirement, the type selection of the specific setting of connection or controller to those skilled in the art it is easy to realize, the embodiment here specifically matching method or process); and
wherein moving the valve seat includes:
moving the valve seat along a valve axis; and
rotating the valve seat about the valve axis (Fig. 1, motor 3, oil pump 4, piston rod 7, hinge rod 14; Pg. 5, paragraph 27, piston rod 7 sleeved with a fixed sleeve 13, fixed sleeve 13 and coupling 11 are connected by hinged connecting rod 14. under the action of hinged connecting rod 14, motor 3 rotates, it can drive the valve core 2 to rotate, while the piston rod of the oil cylinder 7 telescopic, it also can drive the transverse moving valve core 2, especially the core 2 laterally moves will not affect the rotation of the motor 3, and the motor 3 will not move transversely, in this embodiment shown in the accompanying drawings is move left and right direction. by a motor 3, pump 4 and the hinge rod 14, realizes the rotation and translation of the core 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the mechanically controlled valve of Glamm with the liner actuated valve that can be controlled via a controller, with a valve seat having a plurality of valve passages extending therethrough and wherein moving the valve seat includes moving the valve seat along a valve axis and rotating the valve seat about the valve axis as taught by CN ‘707. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide a control valve core that is more flexible (CN ‘707, Abstract).
However, the system of Glamm controls the valve 30 mechanically via pressure difference (Glamm, Col. 6, lines 8-22, If, for example, motor-compressor 18 of compressor 14 draws more suction gas than motor-compressor 16 of compressor 12, an elevated pressure will develop within the shell of compressor 12. As the higher pressure begins to develop within the shell of compressor 12 it acts on face 66 of spool 58. The higher pressure in the shell of compressor 12 acts on face 66 of spool 58 so as to displace spool 58 in a direction which is away from the source of higher pressure, i.e. away from orifice 52 and end 78 of valve 30. The displacement of spool 58 away from end 78 of valve 30 and toward end 80 of valve 30 causes plug 60 to move so as to occlude and diminish the flow of suction gas through coupling portion 48 of valve 30 to the shell of compressor 12 which is at an elevated pressure).
Joo teaches electronic control of valves via sensors to manage oil concentration within a multiple-compressor HVAC system (Fig. 3, first oil level sensor 522, second oil level sensor 542; Fig. 4, controller 400; Fig. 5, steps S21-S29).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the suction valve of Glamm as modified to be controlled electronically via sensors instead of mechanically via pressure difference as taught by Joo. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because oil balancing of the plurality of compressors may be effectively maintained, the compressor may be improved in operation reliability (Joo, Col. 8, lines 37-39).
Moreover, Glamm as modified does not disclose wherein the plurality of valve passages are configured to direct the flow of refrigerant to two or more valve conduits of the plurality of valve outlet conduits from the valve inlet conduit depending of an axial position and a rotational position of the valve seat.
Fish teaches wherein the plurality of valve passages are configured to direct the flow of refrigerant to two or more valve conduits of the plurality of valve outlet conduits from the valve inlet conduit depending of a position of the valve seat (Fig. 1B, spool 10, first passageway 12, second passageway 13, inlet opening 15, first portion 15a, second portion 15b, first outlet opening 17, second outlet opening 18; Fig. 5A, housing inlet 21, first housing outlet 22, second housing outlet 23; Fig. 5B; Col. 8, lines 30-45, In FIG. SA, the spool 10 is extended to a first position, which is closest to the actuator 40. In this position, the housing inlet 21 is alignment with the first portion 15a. According, the fluid flows through the housing inlet 21 into the first passageway 12. Further, the inner wall of the spool 10 that separates the first passageway 12 and the second passageway 13 also prevents the flow of fluid through the second passageway 13. Furthermore, the second housing outlet 23 is not aligned with the second outlet opening 18. Conversely, the first housing outlet 22 is aligned with the first outlet opening 17. In fact, the first outlet opening 17 may overlap 100% of the first housing outlet 22, while the second outlet opening 18 may not overlap the second housing outlet 23 at all. Thus, in this position, 100% of the fluid flow, or nearly 100% of the fluid flow, is through the first passageway 12; Col. 8, lines 50-64, In FIG. 5B, the spool 10 is extended a second position away the actuator 40. In this position, the housing inlet 21 is alignment with the second portion 15b. According, the fluid flows through the housing inlet 21 into the second passageway 13. Further, the inner wall of the spool 10 that separates the first passageway 12 and the second passageway 13 also prevents the flow of fluid through the first passageway 12. Furthermore, the second housing outlet 23 is aligned with the second outlet opening 18. Conversely, the first housing outlet 22 is not aligned with the first outlet opening 17. In fact, the second outlet opening 18 may overlap 100% of the second housing outlet 23, while the first outlet opening 17 may not overlap the first housing outlet 22 at all. Thus, in this position, 100% of the fluid flow, or nearly 100% of the fluid flow, is through the second passageway 13).
Glamm as modified fails to teach wherein the plurality of valve passages are configured to direct the flow of refrigerant to two or more valve conduits of the plurality of valve outlet conduits from the valve inlet conduit depending of an axial position and a rotational position of the valve seat, however Fish teaches that it is a known method in the art of spool valves to include wherein the plurality of valve passages are configured to direct the flow of refrigerant to two or more valve conduits of the plurality of valve outlet conduits from the valve inlet conduit depending of a position of the valve seat. This is strong evidence that modifying Glamm as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. allowing an incoming flow to be divided into two separate flows, while maintaining a constant flow rate (Fish, Col. 13, lines 55-56)). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Glamm as modified by Fish and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of allowing an incoming flow to be divided into two separate flows, while maintaining a constant flow rate (Fish, Col. 13, lines 55-56).
Regarding claim 15, Glamm discloses the method of claim 14 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 14 above).
However, Glamm as modified does not explicitly disclose further comprising:
determining an oil circulation ratio in the flow of refrigerant of each compressor of the plurality of compressors;
comparing the determined oil circulation ratio to a predetermined threshold; and
moving the valve seat to selectably direct the flow of refrigerant to one or more compressors of the plurality of compressors at which the oil circulation ratio is below the predetermined threshold.
Joo teaches further comprising:
determining an oil circulation ratio in the flow of refrigerant of each compressor of the plurality of compressors (Fig. 5, step S22);
comparing the determined oil circulation ratio to a predetermined threshold (Fig. 5, step S23); and
changing the refrigerant flow via valve control to selectably direct the flow of refrigerant to one or more compressors of the plurality of compressors at which the oil circulation ratio is below the predetermined threshold (Fig. 5, steps S24-S29).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Glamm as modified to include the steps or limitations of determining an oil circulation ratio in the flow of refrigerant of each compressor of the plurality of compressors; comparing the determined oil circulation ratio to a predetermined threshold; and moving the valve seat to selectably direct the flow of refrigerant to one or more compressors of the plurality of compressors at which the oil circulation ratio is below the predetermined threshold as taught by Joo. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because oil balancing of the plurality of compressors may be effectively maintained, the compressor may be improved in operation reliability (Joo, Col. 8, lines 37-39).
Regarding claim 17, Glamm as modified discloses the suction valve of claim 14 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the valve seat is moved via operation of an actuator operably connected to the valve seat (CN ‘707; Fig. 1, motor 3, oil pump 4, piston rod 7, hinge rod 14; Pg. 5, paragraph 27, piston rod 7 sleeved with a fixed sleeve 13, fixed sleeve 13 and coupling 11 are connected by hinged connecting rod 14. under the action of hinged connecting rod 14, motor 3 rotates, it can drive the valve core 2 to rotate, while the piston rod of the oil cylinder 7 telescopic, it also can drive the transverse moving valve core 2, especially the core 2 laterally moves will not affect the rotation of the motor 3, and the motor 3 will not move transversely, in this embodiment shown in the accompanying drawings is move left and right direction. by a motor 3, pump 4 and the hinge rod 14, realizes the rotation and translation of the core 2). Further, the limitations of claim 17 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 14 above.
Regarding claim 18, Glamm as modified discloses the method of claim 17 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 2 above), wherein the actuator is a motor (CN ‘707; Fig. 1, motor 3, oil pump 4, piston rod 7, hinge rod 14; Pg. 5, paragraph 27, piston rod 7 sleeved with a fixed sleeve 13, fixed sleeve 13 and coupling 11 are connected by hinged connecting rod 14. under the action of hinged connecting rod 14, motor 3 rotates, it can drive the valve core 2 to rotate, while the piston rod of the oil cylinder 7 telescopic, it also can drive the transverse moving valve core 2, especially the core 2 laterally moves will not affect the rotation of the motor 3, and the motor 3 will not move transversely, in this embodiment shown in the accompanying drawings is move left and right direction. by a motor 3, pump 4 and the hinge rod 14, realizes the rotation and translation of the core 2).
However, Glamm as modified does not explicitly disclose the actuator motor to be a stepper motor.
Fish teaches an actuator motor to be a stepper motor (Fig. 4A, actuator 40; Col. 8, lines 16-26, An actuator 40 may be in communication with the spool 10. In certain embodiments, the actuator 40 is in communication with the thin cylinder 11 that extends from the spool 10. In other embodiments, the actuator 40 may be in communication directly with the spool 10. The actuator 40 may be a stepper motor or any suitable motor that may translate the spool 10 linearly along its major axis. The actuator 40 may be in communication with a controller that controls the movement of the actuator 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the suction valve of the method Glamm as modified to substitute the generic actuator motor of Glamm as modified with the stepper motor of Fish to yield the predictable results of actuating the valve seat with increased precision to improve overall system efficiencies.
Regarding claim 19, Glamm as modified discloses the suction valve of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein a first valve passage of the plurality of valve passages is fluidly connected to a second valve passage of the plurality of valve passages (Fig. 1B, spool 10, first passageway 12, second passageway 13, inlet opening 15, first portion 15a, second portion 15b, first outlet opening 17, second outlet opening 18; Fig. 5A, housing inlet 21, first housing outlet 22, second housing outlet 23; Col. 5, lines 13-37, The first ends of the first passageway 12 and the second passageway 13 converge at an inlet opening 15. The inlet opening 15 has a first portion 15a and a second portion 15b, wherein the first end of the first passageway 12 comprises the first portion 15a, and the first end of the second passageway 13 comprises the second portion 15b. The first portion 15a and the second portion 15b may be equal in size. The midpoint of the inlet opening 15, passing perpendicularly through the spool 10, is denoted by dotted line 16. This midpoint also defines the boundary between the first portion 15a and the second portion 15b. In certain embodiments, inlet opening 15 may be oval in shape, formed by the slanted passageways converging together. As a result, the width of the inlet opening 15 (which is the direction perpendicular to dotted line 16) may be roughly twice the height of the inlet opening 15. Further, in certain embodiments, the inner wall that separates the two passageways as they converge extends so as to be flush with the outer surface of the spool 10. Further, the two passageways may meet at a line. In other words, as seen in FIGS. lA-1B, the cross-section of the spool 10 shows that the two passageways meet at a point, which is coplanar with the outer surface of the spool 10. In this way, the inner wall completely separates the two passageways
so that all flow may be diverted to one of the two passageways if desired). Further, the limitations of claim 19 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 20, Glamm as modified discloses the suction valve of claim 19 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 19 above), wherein the first valve passage directs a first portion of the flow of refrigerant to a first valve outlet conduit of the plurality of valve outlet conduits, and the second valve passage directs a second portion of the flow of refrigerant to a second valve outlet conduit of the plurality of valve outlet conduits (Fig. 1B, spool 10, first passageway 12, second passageway 13, inlet opening 15, first portion 15a, second portion 15b, first outlet opening 17, second outlet opening 18; Fig. 5A, housing inlet 21, first housing outlet 22, second housing outlet 23; Fig. 5B; Col. 8, lines 30-45, In FIG. SA, the spool 10 is extended to a first position, which is closest to the actuator 40. In this position, the housing inlet 21 is alignment with the first portion 15a. According, the fluid flows through the housing inlet 21 into the first passageway 12. Further, the inner wall of the spool 10 that separates the first passageway 12 and the second passageway 13 also prevents the flow of fluid through the second passageway 13. Furthermore, the second housing outlet 23 is not aligned with the second outlet opening 18. Conversely, the first housing outlet 22 is aligned with the first outlet opening 17. In fact, the first outlet opening 17 may overlap 100% of the first housing outlet 22, while the second outlet opening 18 may not overlap the second housing outlet 23 at all. Thus, in this position, 100% of the fluid flow, or nearly 100% of the fluid flow, is through the first passageway 12; Col. 8, lines 50-64, In FIG. 5B, the spool 10 is extended a second position away the actuator 40. In this position, the housing inlet 21 is alignment with the second portion 15b. According, the fluid flows through the housing inlet 21 into the second passageway 13. Further, the inner wall of the spool 10 that separates the first passageway 12 and the second passageway 13 also prevents the flow of fluid through the first passageway 12. Furthermore, the second housing outlet 23 is aligned with the second outlet opening 18. Conversely, the first housing outlet 22 is not aligned with the first outlet opening 17. In fact, the second outlet opening 18 may overlap 100% of the second housing outlet 23, while the first outlet opening 17 may not overlap the first housing outlet 22 at all. Thus, in this position, 100% of the fluid flow, or nearly 100% of the fluid flow, is through the second passageway 13). Further, the limitations of claim 20 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 19 above.
Conclusion
/DEVON MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 February 06th, 2026
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763