Election/Restrictions
Claims 7-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/05/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-6 and 13-18 in the reply filed on 01/05/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “protruding” in claims 6 and 18 is used in a manner inconsistent with the common definition of “to jut out from the surrounding surface.” In both claims the protrusion is being defined as 0 μm or less which is inconsistent with the common definition and the term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term. For the purposes of examination, the claim is being interpreted as the surface side of the side portion in the width direction being flat or having a slight indentation or dip.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 20210399278 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches an electrode plate for a secondary battery (0050) which comprises a current collector and an electrode active material where the active material contains a binder (0009). The electrode plate has sections of high binder content and low binder content (0013) where the ratio of high binder content to low binder content is in the range of 1.2:1 to 30:1 (fig. 2, 0016).
As the range of the ratio of binder content between an interfacial side portion and an interfacial center portion overlap with the instant application, It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art in view of routine experimentation and the optimization of ranges, see MPEP 2144.05. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches claim 1 as described above and further teaches the surface content of a side portion can be low and the interfacial content on the side portion can be high with a range of 1.2:1 to 30:1 (fig. 2, 0016).
As the range of the ratio of binder content between an interfacial side portion and a surface side portion overlap with the instant application, It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art in view of routine experimentation and the optimization of ranges, see MPEP 2144.05. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Regarding claim 3, Lee teaches claim 1 as described above and further teaches that only up to 98.5 wt% of an electrode is the active material, therefore, the other 1.5% must necessarily be a combination of binder and conductive additives which overlaps with range of .1% to 2% of the instant application (0054). Further, Lee teaches 2 parts by weight of a binder is used as an example which is a point within the range of .1% to 2% and the claim is therefore rendered obvious (0078).
Regarding claim 4, Lee teaches claim 1 as described above and further teaches that any binder commonly used in the art can be used and lists styrene-butadiene rubber as a binder (0057).
Regarding claim 5, Lee teaches claim 1 as described above and further teaches that the electrode can be either positive or negative (0050).
Regarding claim 6, Lee teaches claim 1 as described above and further teaches that the top side of the side portion of the electrode in the width direction is flat.
Regarding claim 13, Lee teaches a secondary battery and an electrode plate for a secondary battery (0050) which comprises a current collector and an electrode active material where the active material contains a binder (0009). The electrode plate has sections of high binder content and low binder content (0013) where the ratio of high binder content to low binder content is in the range of 1.2:1 to 30:1 (fig. 2, 0016).
As the range of the ratio of binder content between an interfacial side portion and an interfacial center portion overlap with the instant application, It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art in view of routine experimentation and the optimization of ranges, see MPEP 2144.05. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Regarding claim 14, Lee teaches claim 13 as described above and further teaches the surface content of a side portion can be low and the interfacial content on the side portion can be high with a high to low binder content range of 1.2:1 to 30:1 (fig. 2, 0016).
As the range of the ratio of binder content between an interfacial side portion and a surface side portion overlap with the instant application, It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art in view of routine experimentation and the optimization of ranges, see MPEP 2144.05. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Regarding claim 15, Lee teaches claim 13 as described above and further teaches that only up to 98.5 wt% of an electrode is the active material and the other 1.5% must necessarily be a combination of binder and conductive additives which overlaps with range of .1% to 2% of the instant application (0054). Further, Lee teaches 2 parts by weight of a binder is used as an example which is a point within the range of .1% to 2% and the claim is therefore rendered obvious (0078).
Regarding claim 16, Lee teaches claim 13 as described above and further teaches that any binder commonly used in the art can be used and lists styrene-butadiene rubber as a binder (0057).
Regarding claim 17, Lee teaches claim 13 as described above and further teaches that the electrode can be either positive or negative (0050).
Regarding claim 18, Lee teaches claim 13 as described above and further teaches that the top side of the side portion of the electrode in the width direction is flat (fig. 2).
Conclusion
/SEAN R. BROWN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1743
/ADAM J FRANCIS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728