Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 20210399278 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches an electrode plate for a secondary battery (0050) which comprises a current collector and an electrode active material where the active material contains a binder (0009). The electrode plate has sections of high binder content and low binder content (0013) where the ratio of high binder content to low binder content is in the range of 1.2:1 to 30:1 (fig. 2, 0016).
As the range of the ratio of binder content between an interfacial side portion and an interfacial center portion overlap with the instant application, It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art in view of routine experimentation and the optimization of ranges, see MPEP 2144.05. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Lee further teaches that the top side of the side portion of the electrode in the width direction is flat and therefore the protruding height is 0 microns.
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches claim 1 as described above and further teaches the surface content of a side portion can be low and the interfacial content on the side portion can be high with a range of 1.2:1 to 30:1 (fig. 2, 0016).
As the range of the ratio of binder content between an interfacial side portion and a surface side portion overlap with the instant application, It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art in view of routine experimentation and the optimization of ranges, see MPEP 2144.05. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Regarding claim 3, Lee teaches claim 1 as described above and further teaches that only up to 98.5 wt% of an electrode is the active material, therefore, the other 1.5% must necessarily be a combination of binder and conductive additives which overlaps with range of .1% to 2% of the instant application (0054). Further, Lee teaches 2 parts by weight of a binder is used as an example which is a point within the range of .1% to 2% and the claim is therefore rendered obvious (0078).
Regarding claim 4, Lee teaches claim 1 as described above and further teaches that any binder commonly used in the art can be used and lists styrene-butadiene rubber as a binder (0057).
Regarding claim 5, Lee teaches claim 1 as described above and further teaches that the electrode can be either positive or negative (0050).
Regarding claim 13, Lee teaches a secondary battery and an electrode plate for a secondary battery (0050) which comprises a current collector and an electrode active material where the active material contains a binder (0009). The electrode plate has sections of high binder content and low binder content (0013) where the ratio of high binder content to low binder content is in the range of 1.2:1 to 30:1 (fig. 2, 0016).
As the range of the ratio of binder content between an interfacial side portion and an interfacial center portion overlap with the instant application, It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art in view of routine experimentation and the optimization of ranges, see MPEP 2144.05. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Lee further teaches that the top side of the side portion of the electrode in the width direction is flat and therefore the protruding height is 0 microns.
Regarding claim 14, Lee teaches claim 13 as described above and further teaches the surface content of a side portion can be low and the interfacial content on the side portion can be high with a high to low binder content range of 1.2:1 to 30:1 (fig. 2, 0016).
As the range of the ratio of binder content between an interfacial side portion and a surface side portion overlap with the instant application, It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art in view of routine experimentation and the optimization of ranges, see MPEP 2144.05. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Regarding claim 15, Lee teaches claim 13 as described above and further teaches that only up to 98.5 wt% of an electrode is the active material and the other 1.5% must necessarily be a combination of binder and conductive additives which overlaps with range of .1% to 2% of the instant application (0054). Further, Lee teaches 2 parts by weight of a binder is used as an example which is a point within the range of .1% to 2% and the claim is therefore rendered obvious (0078).
Regarding claim 16, Lee teaches claim 13 as described above and further teaches that any binder commonly used in the art can be used and lists styrene-butadiene rubber as a binder (0057).
Regarding claim 17, Lee teaches claim 13 as described above and further teaches that the electrode can be either positive or negative (0050).
Response to Amendment
The cancellation of claims 6 and 18 make the 112(b) rejections of the prior office action moot.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6 and 13-18 filed 06/19/2026 have been considered but are not persuasive.
With regards to applicant’s argument that Lee is silent with respect to the technical problem of side ring formation and does not discuss a manufacturing method discussed in the present disclosure, this argument is not persuasive. The claims are directed towards an electrode product and not a method of manufacturing an electrode. That Lee does not teach the steps of formation taken by applicant is not germane to whether or not the product meets the claim. As discussed in the rejection previously set forth and repeated above, Lee teaches forming a flat electrode as evidenced by the figures. A flat electrode does not have a protruding height.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN R. BROWN/Examiner, Art Unit 1743
/GALEN H HAUTH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1743