DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the Applicant's arguments and amendments filed on 18 December 2025 in which claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references listed in the Information Disclosure Statement, filed on 06 October 2025, 09 January 2026 have been considered by the examiner (see attached PTO-1449 form or PTO/SB/08A and 08B forms).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (PG Pub US 2023/0052857 A1) in view of Choksi et al. (PG Pub US 2022/0110177 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 8, 15, Lee discloses a method, a method, and an apparatus.
one or more processors; and a non-transitory computer readable medium storing (figs. 2): a first identifier of a subscriber configured to grant access to a network of a first operator, a second identifier of the subscriber configured to grant access to a network of a second operator (“an electronic device (e.g., the electronic device 101 of FIG. 1) may read SIM information included in SIM 1 204 and SIM 2 205 by using a SIM module 203, and register the read SIM information in an IMS server 250 through a wireless communication module 192. In this case, the wireless communication module 192 may transmit first SIM information corresponding to SIM 1 204 to the IMS server 250 through LTE bearer 1 221 (e.g., a first communication path), and transmit second SIM information corresponding to SIM 2 205 to the IMS server 250 through LTE bearer 2 223 (e.g., a second communication path). When the electronic device 101 is turned on, the electronic device 101 may perform a process for configuring a communication path of a SIM mounted in each of SIM 1 204 and SIM 2 205” [0057], “The first SIM and the second SIM may different networks (e.g., LTE network 1 and LTE network 2) through which the communication service is provided. For example, LTE bearer 1 221 may be formed through LTE network 1, and LTE bearer 2 223 may be formed through LTE network 2” [0058]), the first identifier further configured to grant access to the network of the second operator (“The electronic device 101 may change the communication path 231 of the first SIM and the communication path 233 of the second SIM to LTE bearer 2 223 when there is a call request using the second SIM” [0062]), and
processor-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to: send a request to activate a user device on the network of the first operator according to the first identifier of the subscriber (“The wireless communication module 192 may identify and authenticate the electronic device 101 in a communication network, such as the first network 198 or the second network 199, using subscriber information (e.g., international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI)) stored in the subscriber identification module 196” [0043], “receive a call request using a first SIM. The call request may include call origination or call reception. For example, the processor 120 (e.g., the communication control module 310 of FIG. 3) may receive an input of a phone number of a counterpart electronic device (e.g., the electronic device 102 or the electronic device 104 of FIG. 1) from a user, receive a selection of a first SIM, and receive a selection of a dial button, so as to receive the call origination. Alternatively, the processor 120 may receive a request for a call to a phone number of the first SIM, from the counterpart electronic device (e.g., the electronic device 102 or the electronic device 104 of FIG. 1), or vice versa” [0085]);
determine, based on the request, a connection with a server, wherein the connection is configured for communication over a plurality of paths based on an identifier of the connection (“the call request may include a call origination request or a call reception request. Hereinafter, call origination is described as an example. A user (or a subscriber) may select a SIM to use for call origination from among two SIMs mounted in the electronic device 101 when the call origination is requested. For example, the user may input a phone number of a counterpart electronic device (e.g., the electronic device 102 or the electronic device 104 of FIG. 1), select a SIM to use to originate a call” [0092]);
determine, based on the identifier of the connection, a first subflow over a first path of the plurality of paths with the user device over the network of the first operator (“The processor 120 may perform operation 511 or operation 521 according to a SIM selected by the user. The processor 120 may perform operation 511 when a first SIM is selected by the user, and perform operation 521 when a second SIM is selected by the user” [0092], “the processor 120 (e.g., the communication path control module 320 of FIG. 3) may change (or configure) the first communication path of the second SIM to (or as) the second communication path. While the call is connected, the communication path corresponding to the second SIM may be configured as the first communication path by operation 511. In this case, the IMS server 250 may provide the communication service using the second SIM through the first communication path. According to an embodiment, once the call ends, the processor 120 may change the communication path of the second SIM to the original second communication path. The processor 120 according to various embodiments may maintain the first communication path, instead of changing the communication path of the second SIM, based on the user selection or the configuration of the electronic device 101” [0096], [0097]); and
send data over the first subflow (“the processor 120 (e.g., the call control module 310 of FIG. 3) may connect a call of the first SIM through the first communication path .. The IMS server 250 may provide the communication service corresponding to each of the first SIM and the second SIM through the first communication path” [0094]).
However, Lee does not explicitly disclose an identifier of the connection.
Nevertheless, Choksi discloses “the method 1000 receives a setup request from a UE at an MNO core network via an MNO access network. At operation 1004, the method 1000 determines, at the MNO core network and based on an identifier included in the setup request, the UE is associated with an MSO providing an H-MVNO core network” [0087].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an identifier of the connection because “In some dual-SIM scenarios (e.g., as depicted in FIG. 3), when the UE is in the MNO coverage area, the UE can be authenticated via both MNO and MSO SIM using the credentials provisioned in the MNO core network and the H-MVNO core network” [0087].
Regarding claims 2, 9, 16, Lee, Choksi discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Lee discloses receiving a command indicative of a reset of the first subflow; and based on the command indicative of the reset, determining a second subflow over a second path of the plurality of paths with the user device over the network of the second operator (“once the call ends, the processor 120 may change the communication path of the second SIM to the original second communication path” [0096], “configure a communication path of the second SIM as a second communication path (e.g., LTE bearer 2 223 of FIGS. 2A, 2B and/or 2C)” [0091]).
Regarding claims 3, 10, 17, Lee, Choksi discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Lee discloses determining the first subflow is based on the first identifier of the subscriber (“the call request may include a call origination request or a call reception request. Hereinafter, call origination is described as an example. A user (or a subscriber) may select a SIM to use for call origination from among two SIMs mounted in the electronic device 101 when the call origination is requested. For example, the user may input a phone number of a counterpart electronic device (e.g., the electronic device 102 or the electronic device 104 of FIG. 1), select a SIM to use to originate a call” [0092]).
Regarding claims 4, 11, 18, Lee, Choksi discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Lee discloses determining the second subflow is based on the second identifier of the subscriber (“the call request may include a call origination request or a call reception request. Hereinafter, call origination is described as an example. A user (or a subscriber) may select a SIM to use for call origination from among two SIMs mounted in the electronic device 101 when the call origination is requested. For example, the user may input a phone number of a counterpart electronic device (e.g., the electronic device 102 or the electronic device 104 of FIG. 1), select a SIM to use to originate a call” [0092]).
Regarding claims 5, 12, 19, Lee, Choksi discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Lee discloses determining a second subflow over a second path of the plurality of paths with the user device over the network of the second operator; and based on the determining the second subflow, receiving a command indicative of a reset of the first subflow (“the processor 120 (e.g., the call control module 310 of FIG. 3) may connect a call of the second SIM through the second communication path” [0098], “the processor 120 (e.g., the communication path control module 320 of FIG. 3) may configure the second communication path of the first SIM as the first communication path. While the call is connected, the communication path corresponding to the first SIM may be configured as the second communication path by operation 523. In this case, the IMS server 250 may provide a communication service using the first SIM through the second communication path. According to an embodiment, once the call ends, the processor 120 may change the communication path of the first SIM to the original first communication path. The processor 120 according to various embodiments may maintain the second communication path, instead of changing the communication path of the first SIM, based on the user selection or the configuration of the electronic device 101” [0100]).
Regarding claims 6, 13, 20, Lee, Choksi discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Lee discloses receiving the request according to the network of the first operator (“receiving a call originating request using the first SIM from the communication control module 310” [0068]).
Regarding claims 7, 14, Lee, Choksi discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Choksi discloses the first operator is a mobile network operator (MNO) and the second operator is a multiple system operator (MSO) (“the system includes an MNO 4G and/or 5G network (henceforth, MNO core network), with an MNO coverage area provided by an MNO access network to connect the UE to the MNO core network. The system also includes an MSO 4G and/or 5G network (henceforth, H-MVNO core network), with an H-MVNO coverage area provided by an H-MVNO access network” [0020]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants have argued regarding claim 1 that “Lee fails to further teach that the electronic device is registered, or activated, on the first network based on the second SIM information corresponding to the second SIM .. Lee is silent with regard to authenticating the electronic device on the first network based on the second SIM information or authenticating the electronic device on the second network based on the first SIM information” and “Choksi is devoid of any teaching or suggestion of "determining, a request to activate a user device on a network of a first operator according to a first identifier of a subscriber configured to grant access to a network of a second operator, a connection with the user device, [...] wherein the network of the first operator is accessible according to the first identifier of the subscriber."” (pages 8-9).
In response to Applicants’ argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Lee discloses “While the call is connected, the processor 120 may provide the communication service for each of the first SIM and the second SIM through the first communication path” [0089], “The processor 120 may register second SIM information in an IMS server (e.g., the IMS server 250 of FIGS. 2A, 2B and/or 2C) through the first communication path. In this case, the IMS server 250 may provide a communication service corresponding to the second SIM through the first communication path” [0093], “The processor 120 may register first SIM information in the IMS server (e.g., the IMS server 250 of FIGS. 2A, 2B and/or 2C) through the second communication path. In this case, the IMS server 250 may provide a communication service corresponding to the first SIM through the second communication path” [0097]. This shows that a second SIM information is used to authenticate the first network, or vice versa, that a first SIM information is used to authenticate the second network. Therefore, a combination of Lee and Choksi discloses the limitations of claim 1.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the reason to combine the references is because “In some dual-SIM scenarios (e.g., as depicted in FIG. 3), when the UE is in the MNO coverage area, the UE can be authenticated via both MNO and MSO SIM using the credentials provisioned in the MNO core network and the H-MVNO core network” [0087].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CHRISTINE DUONG FUQUA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2462
/CHRISTINE T DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462 02/12/2026