Claim Objections
Claim 5 objected to because of the following informalities: The phrase “plurality of illuminating device” should be plural. Examiner suggests rephrasing to “plurality of illuminating devices”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 objected to because of the following informalities: The phrase “the plurality of illuminating devices is configured to emit” contains a grammatical mistake. Examiner suggests rephrasing to “the plurality of illuminating devices are configured to emit”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 objected to because of the following informalities: The phrase “plurality of illuminating device” should be plural. Examiner suggests rephrasing to “plurality of illuminating devices”. The phrase “plurality of light emitting diode” should be plural. Examiner suggests rephrasing to “plurality of light emitting diodes”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 17 objected to because of the following informalities: The phrase “the plurality of illuminating devices is configured to emit” contains a grammatical mistake. Examiner suggests rephrasing to “the plurality of illuminating devices are configured to emit”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 7, 9, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20210379417 A1) in view of Kim (WO 2022220434 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a powered air filtration mask device comprising: a facial covering (paragraph 0046 “a rear side of the mask apparatus 1 is defined as a direction in which the rear surface of the mask apparatus 1 facing a user's face is disposed”); a filtration module (Figs. 5 and 6 where everything enclosed by caps 25 and 26 collectively define a filtration module); at least one controller device (paragraph 0251 "the control module 18 can include a processor, a controller, an electric circuit, an integrated circuit, or the like"); the facial covering comprising an aperture (paragraph 0140 “air suction ports 211 and 221 can be defined in the filter mounting portions 21 and 22”), and at least one support structure (paragraph 0050 "The mask body cover 20 can include a first filter mounting portion 21 and a second filter mounting portion 22"); the filtration module comprising an impeller, a duct housing, at least one motor (paragraph 0148 “the fan modules 16 and 17 can include a fan, a fan motor, and a fan housing accommodating the fan and the fan motor”), and a filter element (paragraph 0053 “a first filter cover 25 can be mounted on the first filter mounting portion 21, and a second filter cover 26 can be mounted on the second filter mounting portion 22. Filters 23 and [see FIG. 5] can be disposed inside the first filter mounting portion 21 and the second filter mounting portion 22”); the support structure being mounted within the aperture (paragraph 0140 "Air suction ports 211 and 221 can be defined in the filter mounting portions 21 and 22); the filtration module being integrated into the facial covering (paragraph 0275 “the plurality of electronic components are densely disposed within the limited space of the mask apparatus 1”; Fig. 5 the components 23 and 16 are disposed within the mask 1); the filtration module being mounted within the support structure (paragraph 0145 "The filters 23 and 24 can include a first filter 23 accommodated inside the first filter mounting portion 21 and a second filter 24 accommodated inside the second filter mounting portion 22"); the impeller and the motor being mounted within the duct housing (paragraph 0148 “the fan modules 16 and 17 can include a fan, a fan motor, and a fan housing accommodating the fan and the fan motor” where the fan housing is the duct housing); the impeller being operatively coupled to the motor, wherein the motor is used to drive a rotation of the impeller (paragraph 0250 “The control module 18 can be electrically connected to the power module 19, the fan modules 16 and 17, and the battery 13” where the power module 19 is the motor); the motor and the impeller being laterally offset from the filter element within the support structure (Fig. 5 where the fan module 16 and power module 19 are laterally offset from the filter 23); the filter element being in fluid communication with the impeller through the aperture (paragraph 0204 "The air passing through the first filter 23 can be suctioned into the first fan module 16 through the first air suction port 211"); and the controller device being electrically connected to the motor (paragraph 0155 "the control module 18 can be electrically connected to the power module 19, the fan modules 16 and 17, and the battery so as to be interlocked with each other” where the control module 18 is a controller device).
Lee is silent on the powered filtration mask device comprising: a covering fabric, the covering fabric comprising a first surface and a second surface; the first surface being positioned opposite to the second surface about the covering fabric; the aperture traversing through the covering fabric; and the duct housing being laterally mounted onto the support structure.
However, Kim teaches a mask device comprising a covering fabric, the covering fabric comprising a first surface and a second surface (Figs. 1 and 2 where 10 can be a first surface and 20 can be a second surface; page 6 paragraph 8 “the first filter 10 and the second filter 20 of the mask 1 may be made of a fabric having elasticity”); the first surface being positioned opposite to the second surface about the covering fabric (Fig. 2 where 11 is the first filter surface and 21 is the second filter surface and the two surfaces opposite to each other); the aperture traversing through the covering fabric (page 7 paragraph 3 “an inlet 25 formed to be in close contact with the face of the user H to suck outside air and an outlet 26 formed to discharge the bet. The inlet 25 may be disposed on one side of the second filter 20 and the outlet 26 may be disposed on the other side of the second filter 20”); and the duct housing being laterally mounted onto the support structure (Fig. 3 the first duct 210 is laterally mounted onto the supports 250).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Lee to include a covering fabric with a first and second surface positioned opposite to each other, an aperture traversing through the covering fabric, and the duct housing laterally mounted onto the support structure. The covering fabrics with multiple surfaces allow for easier mask maintenance and increased flexibility to adhere the mask to a user’s face (page 2 paragraph 9 “a mask that is easy to maintain and can be used hygienically, including replaceable front and rear filters”; page 2 paragraph 10 “the present invention provides a mask having flexibility that can be closely attached to the face in a slim structure utilizing the surface of the mask”). It would have been obvious for the aperture to traverse through the covering fabric to create fluid communication between the first and second surface and the duct housing being laterally mounted to the supports creates a secure fit for the impeller assembly to the rest of the mask.
Regarding claim 2, modified Lee teaches the mask device of claim 1.
Lee further teaches the filter element comprising a filter frame and a filtering media (Fig. 5 where 25 is the filter frame and 23 is the filtering media); the filter frame being perimetrically mounted within the support structure (paragraph 0139 "filter covers 25 and 26 can be mounted on edges of the filter mounting portions 21 and 22 in the state in which the filters 23 and 24 are accommodated); and the filtering media being releasably engaged within the filter frame (paragraph 0190 "The filters 23 and 24 can be replaced when the filter covers 25 and 26 are separated from the mask apparatus 1").
Regarding claim 7, modified Lee teaches the mask device of claim 1.
Lee further teaches wherein the impeller is positioned laterally offset from the first surface of the covering fabric and the filter element is positioned adjacent to the first surface of the covering fabric (Fig. 5 the mask body cover 20 can be the first surface and the filter element 23 is adjacent to the surface; Figs. 5 and 11 where the 16 and 17 can be the impeller which is disposed on mask body 10 which is laterally offset from the surface 20).
Regarding claim 9, modified Lee teaches the mask device of claim 1.
Lee further teaches wherein the support structure is positioned across the first surface and the second surface of the covering fabric (Fig. 8 filter mounting portion 22 on cover 20 and Fig. 10 where 110 is fan module mounting portion on mask body 10 thereby these support structures overlay on top of each other as shown in Fig. 5 creating an analogous support structure across the first and second surface).
Regarding claim 11, modified Lee teaches the mask device of claim 1.
Lee further teaches wherein rotation of the impeller within the duct housing forces a volume of air to traverse the duct housing between the first surface and the second surface of the facial covering (paragraph 0149 "for example, the fan can include a centrifugal fan that suctions air from the front side of the mask body cover 20 and discharges the air to the side of the mask body 10").
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20210379417 A1) in view of Kim (WO 2022220434 A1) as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Soo (KR 20220027330 A).
Regarding claim 3, modified Lee teaches the mask device of claim 1.
Modified Lee is silent on the controller device comprising a receptacle, a power supply and a control switch; the power supply being mounted within the receptacle; the control switch being laterally mounted onto the receptacle; and the power supply being electrically connected to the motor through the control switch.
However, Soo teaches a controller device comprising a receptacle, a power supply, and a control switch (page 7 paragraph 2 “the control module 160 includes a casing unit 161, a power supply unit 163, a controller 164, a button unit 165, and a latch unit 170"; Fig. 15 demonstrates the controller device); the power supply being mounted within the receptacle (Fig. 15, the power supply 163 is mounted within the controller device 160); the control switch being laterally mounted onto the receptacle (Fig. 1, the button unit 165 is mounted onto the casing unit 161, analogous to the control switch laterally mounted to the receptable); and the power supply being electrically connected to the motor through the control switch (page 7 paragraph 6 "as the button unit 165 is operated, the controller 164 controls the power supply unit 163 to supply power to the cosmetic light device 156").
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Lee to include a controller device with a receptable, power supply, and control switch. The controller allows the user to easily operate the device and control the power supply without disassembling the mask. It would have been obvious for the power supply unit to power a motor instead of the cosmetic light device 156 to have control of the impeller function via the controller.
Regarding claim 12, modified Lee teaches the mask device of claim 1.
Modified Lee is silent wherein the motor is mounted concentric to the impeller.
However, Soo teaches wherein the motor is mounted concentric to the impeller (page 8 paragraph 8 “the fan module 180 includes a fan motor 181 and a blade 183”; Fig. 16 shows motor 181 concentric to the blade 183).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Lee so that the motor is mounted concentric to the impeller. This can make the fan assembly more compact and conserve the limited space within the mask.
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20210379417 A1) in view of Kim (WO 2022220434 A1) as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Spector (US 20220409766 A1).
Regarding claim 4, modified Lee teaches the mask device of claim 1.
Modified Lee is silent on a plurality of illuminating devices; the plurality of illuminating devices being radially distributed around the duct housing; and the plurality of illuminating devices being electrically connected to the controller device.
However, Spector teaches a plurality of illuminating devices (paragraph 0045 "Inside housing 11 is a UV LED assembly 15, comprised of individual UV LED's 16, connected by a wire 17") being radially distributed around a duct housing (Fig. 2, the illuminating devices 16 are radially displaced around the housing 13) and the plurality of illuminating devices being electrically connected to the controller device (paragraph 0053 "The user can turn the LEDs on and off either though button 204 or through controller 221").
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Lee to include illuminating devices around the duct housing that are electrically connected to the controller device. The lights can increase the user’s visibility while wearing the mask in certain areas and the illuminating devices can also be configured to sanitize the mask through ultraviolet light (paragraph 0002 “the present invention relates to a sanitizing face mask which utilizes ultraviolet light to sterilize the wearer's exhalations as they are emitted from the mask”).
Regarding claim 5, modified Lee teaches the mask device of claim 4.
Spector further teaches wherein the plurality of illuminating device are LED (light emitting diode) assemblies (paragraph 0045 "Inside housing 11 is a UV LED assembly 15, comprised of individual UV LED's 16, connected by a wire 17").
Regarding claim 6, modified Lee teaches the mask device of claim 4.
Spector further teaches wherein the plurality of illuminating devices is configured to emit ultraviolet radiation into the duct housing (claim 1 "at least one ultraviolet (UV) light-source mounted in the housing so as to project UV light into the interior channel").
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20210379417 A1) in view of Kim (WO 2022220434 A1) as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Springer (US 20220331621 A1).
Regarding claim 8, modified Lee teaches the mask device of claim 1.
Modified Lee is silent on at least one connecting wire; the connecting wire being positioned between the controller device and the filtration module; and the connecting wire electrically connecting the controller device to the filtration module.
However, Springer teaches a connecting wire being positioned between the controller device and the filtration module (paragraph 0114 "as shown in FIG. 8, as discussed elsewhere herein, the remote control 300 may be attached to, and communicate with, the control/power unit 130 via remote control line 134" where the control unit 130 is integrated with PAPR unit 110 that included a filter unit 120) and the connecting wire electrically connecting the controller device to the filtration module (paragraph 0076 "modular breathing apparatus 100 includes a filter unit 120 removably connected to PAPR unit 110. PAPR unit 110 is connected to control/power unit 130 to form an integral unit"; the control line 134 connects with the control unit 130 and PAPR unit 110 which holds filter unit 120 thereby the remote control 300 can electrically connect with the filter unit 120 via control line 134).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Lee to include a connecting wire between the controller and filtration module that electrically connects the two. The controller allows the user to control the filtration module which may otherwise be inaccessible to the user (paragraph 0127 “in this configuration, the breathing apparatus may be for the most part inaccessible by the user, and the controls and/or indicators provided on the remote control 300 and/or HUD 500 can be especially helpful to the user wearing such apparatus”). It also allows the user to control possible filtration settings and receive associated alerts and feedback regarding the settings (claim 14 “comprising a remote control configured to control at least one of a power fan speed and user interface (UI) settings, and including at least one of a battery warning indicator, a clog warning indicator, an SCBA setting indicator, a PAPR setting indicator, an SCBA mode setting, or a PAPR mode setting”).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20210379417 A1) in view of Kim (WO 2022220434 A1) as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Bouchard (WO 2021223003 A1).
Regarding claim 10, modified Lee teaches the mask device of claim 1.
Modified Lee is silent wherein the impeller is a fan blade assembly configured for bidirectional air handling.
However, Bouchard teaches a fan blade assembly configured for bidirectional air handling (page 5 claim 14 “a bidirectional turbine [Figure 2, Item 7], with suction and propulsion on the same face of an object from a single motor which, provided with two rows of blades on a single axis, both sucks and propels the air”; the turbine is a singular impeller with varying fan blades orientations to perform the bidirectional air handling).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Lee to include a fan blade assembly configured for bidirectional air handling. This promotes more efficient airflow within the mask and allows the user to adapt the mask to their environment in different use situations by being able to draw air in and expel air out within the same mask. It can also better protect the user from various pathogens or viruses in the air that they are exposed to (page 5 claim 12 “filtering and sterilizing the air drawn around the user and propelling the air thus filtered and sterilized in his breathing zone, which, when worn in public places , especially in public transport, allows the user to avoid being a vector of interpersonal, interregional, intercontinental and international propagation of viruses and pathogens with transmission airborne, and this, in addition, to clean the air and protect against allergens and surrounding pollutants”).
Claims 13-14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20210379417 A1) in view of Kim (WO 2022220434 A1) and Soo (KR 20220027330 A).
Regarding claim 13, Lee teaches a powered air filtration mask device comprising: a facial covering (paragraph 0046 “a rear side of the mask apparatus 1 is defined as a direction in which the rear surface of the mask apparatus 1 facing a user's face is disposed”); a filtration module (Figs. 5 and 6 where everything enclosed by caps 25 and 26 collectively define a filtration module); at least one controller device (paragraph 0251 "the control module 18 can include a processor, a controller, an electric circuit, an integrated circuit, or the like"); the facial covering comprising an aperture (paragraph 0140 “air suction ports 211 and 221 can be defined in the filter mounting portions 21 and 22”), and at least one support structure (paragraph 0050 "The mask body cover 20 can include a first filter mounting portion 21 and a second filter mounting portion 22"); the filtration module comprising an impeller, a duct housing, at least one motor (paragraph 0148 “the fan modules 16 and 17 can include a fan, a fan motor, and a fan housing accommodating the fan and the fan motor”), and a filter element (paragraph 0053 “a first filter cover 25 can be mounted on the first filter mounting portion 21, and a second filter cover 26 can be mounted on the second filter mounting portion 22. Filters 23 and [see FIG. 5] can be disposed inside the first filter mounting portion 21 and the second filter mounting portion 22”); the support structure being mounted within the aperture (paragraph 0140 "Air suction ports 211 and 221 can be defined in the filter mounting portions 21 and 22); the filtration module being integrated into the facial covering (paragraph 0275 “the plurality of electronic components are densely disposed within the limited space of the mask apparatus 1”; Fig. 5 the components 23 and 16 are disposed within the mask 1); the filtration module being mounted within the support structure (paragraph 0145 "The filters 23 and 24 can include a first filter 23 accommodated inside the first filter mounting portion 21 and a second filter 24 accommodated inside the second filter mounting portion 22"); the impeller and the motor being mounted within the duct housing (paragraph 0148 “the fan modules 16 and 17 can include a fan, a fan motor, and a fan housing accommodating the fan and the fan motor” where the fan housing is the duct housing); the impeller being operatively coupled to the motor, wherein the motor is used to drive a rotation of the impeller (paragraph 0250 “The control module 18 can be electrically connected to the power module 19, the fan modules 16 and 17, and the battery 13” where the power module 19 is the motor); the motor and the impeller being laterally offset from the filter element within the support structure (Fig. 5 where the fan module 16 and power module 19 are laterally offset from the filter 23); the filter element being in fluid communication with the impeller through the aperture (paragraph 0204 "The air passing through the first filter 23 can be suctioned into the first fan module 16 through the first air suction port 211"), wherein the impeller is positioned along the first surface and the filter element is positioned along the second surface (Fig. 5 the mask body cover 20 can be the first surface and the filter element 23 is adjacent to the surface; Figs. 5 and 11 where the 16 and 17 can be the impeller which is positioned along mask body 10 which is a second surface).
Lee is silent on a covering fabric, the covering fabric comprising a first surface and a second surface; the first surface being positioned opposite to the second surface about the covering fabric; the aperture traversing through the covering fabric; and the duct housing being laterally mounted onto the support structure.
However, Kim teaches a mask device comprising a covering fabric, the covering fabric comprising a first surface and a second surface (Figs. 1 and 2 where 10 can be a first surface and 20 can be a second surface; page 6 paragraph 8 “the first filter 10 and the second filter 20 of the mask 1 may be made of a fabric having elasticity”); the first surface being positioned opposite to the second surface about the covering fabric (Fig. 2 where 11 is the first filter surface and 21 is the second filter surface and the two surfaces opposite to each other); the aperture traversing through the covering fabric (page 7 paragraph 3 “an inlet 25 formed to be in close contact with the face of the user H to suck outside air and an outlet 26 formed to discharge the bet. The inlet 25 may be disposed on one side of the second filter 20 and the outlet 26 may be disposed on the other side of the second filter 20”); and the duct housing being laterally mounted onto the support structure (Fig. 3 the first duct 210 is laterally mounted onto the supports 250).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Lee to include a covering fabric with a first and second surface positioned opposite to each other, an aperture traversing through the covering fabric, and the duct housing laterally mounted onto the support structure. The covering fabrics with multiple surfaces allow for easier mask maintenance and increased flexibility to adhere the mask to a user’s face (page 2 paragraph 9 “a mask that is easy to maintain and can be used hygienically, including replaceable front and rear filters”; page 2 paragraph 10 “the present invention provides a mask having flexibility that can be closely attached to the face in a slim structure utilizing the surface of the mask”). It would have been obvious for the aperture to traverse through the covering fabric to create fluid communication between the first and second surface and the duct housing being laterally mounted to the supports creates a secure fit for the impeller assembly to the rest of the mask.
Lee is silent on the controller device comprising a receptacle, a power supply and a control switch; the power supply being mounted within the receptacle; the control switch being laterally mounted onto the receptacle; and the power supply being electrically connected to the motor through the control switch.
However, Soo teaches a controller device comprising a receptacle, a power supply, and a control switch (page 7 paragraph 2 “the control module 160 includes a casing unit 161, a power supply unit 163, a controller 164, a button unit 165, and a latch unit 170"; Fig. 15 demonstrates the controller device); the power supply being mounted within the receptacle (Fig. 15, the power supply 163 is mounted within the controller device 160); the control switch being laterally mounted onto the receptacle (Fig. 1, the button unit 165 is mounted onto the casing unit 161, analogous to the control switch laterally mounted to the receptable); and the power supply being electrically connected to the motor through the control switch (page 7 paragraph 6 "as the button unit 165 is operated, the controller 164 controls the power supply unit 163 to supply power to the cosmetic light device 156").
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Lee to include a controller device with a receptable, power supply, and control switch. The controller allows the user to easily operate the device and control the power supply without disassembling the mask. It would have been obvious for the power supply unit to power a motor instead of the cosmetic light device 156 to have control of the impeller function via the controller.
Regarding claim 14, modified Lee teaches the mask device of claim 13.
Lee further teaches the filter element comprising a filter frame and a filtering media (Fig. 5 where 25 is the filter frame and 23 is the filtering media); the filter frame being perimetrically mounted within the support structure (paragraph 0139 "filter covers 25 and 26 can be mounted on edges of the filter mounting portions 21 and 22 in the state in which the filters 23 and 24 are accommodated); and the filtering media being releasably engaged within the filter frame (paragraph 0190 "The filters 23 and 24 can be replaced when the filter covers 25 and 26 are separated from the mask apparatus 1").
Regarding claim 20, modified Lee teaches the mask device of claim 13.
Modified Lee is silent wherein the motor is mounted concentric to the impeller.
However, Soo teaches wherein the motor is mounted concentric to the impeller (page 8 paragraph 8 “the fan module 180 includes a fan motor 181 and a blade 183”; Fig. 16 shows motor 181 concentric to the blade 183).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Lee so that the motor is mounted concentric to the impeller. This can make the fan assembly more compact and conserve the limited space within the mask.
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20210379417 A1) in view of Kim (WO 2022220434 A1) and Soo (KR 20220027330 A) as applied to claim 13 and in further view of Spector (US 20220409766 A1).
Regarding claim 15, modified Lee teaches the mask device of claim 13.
Modified Lee is silent on a plurality of illuminating devices; the plurality of illuminating devices being radially distributed around the duct housing; and the plurality of illuminating devices being electrically connected to the controller device.
However, Spector teaches a plurality of illuminating devices (paragraph 0045 "Inside housing 11 is a UV LED assembly 15, comprised of individual UV LED's 16, connected by a wire 17") being radially distributed around a duct housing (Fig. 2, the illuminating devices 16 are radially displaced around the housing 13) and the plurality of illuminating devices being electrically connected to the controller device (paragraph 0053 "The user can turn the LEDs on and off either though button 204 or through controller 221").
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Lee to include illuminating devices around the duct housing that are electrically connected to the controller device. The lights can increase the user’s visibility while wearing the mask in certain areas and the illuminating devices can also be configured to sanitize the mask through ultraviolet light (paragraph 0002 “the present invention relates to a sanitizing face mask which utilizes ultraviolet light to sterilize the wearer's exhalations as they are emitted from the mask”).
Regarding claim 16, modified Lee teaches the mask device of claim 13.
Spector further teaches wherein the plurality of illuminating device are LED (light emitting diode) assemblies (paragraph 0045 "Inside housing 11 is a UV LED assembly 15, comprised of individual UV LED's 16, connected by a wire 17").
Regarding claim 17, modified Lee teaches the mask device of claim 13.
Spector further teaches wherein the plurality of illuminating devices is configured to emit ultraviolet radiation into the duct housing (claim 1 "at least one ultraviolet (UV) light-source mounted in the housing so as to project UV light into the interior channel").
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20210379417 A1) in view of Kim (WO 2022220434 A1) and Soo (KR 20220027330 A) as applied to claim 13 and in further view of Springer (US 20220331621 A1).
Regarding claim 18, modified Lee teaches the mask device of claim 13.
Modified Lee is silent on at least one connecting wire; the connecting wire being positioned between the controller device and the filtration module; and the connecting wire electrically connecting the controller device to the filtration module.
However, Springer teaches a connecting wire being positioned between the controller device and the filtration module (paragraph 0114 "as shown in FIG. 8, as discussed elsewhere herein, the remote control 300 may be attached to, and communicate with, the control/power unit 130 via remote control line 134" where the control unit 130 is integrated with PAPR unit 110 that included a filter unit 120) and the connecting wire electrically connecting the controller device to the filtration module (paragraph 0076 "modular breathing apparatus 100 includes a filter unit 120 removably connected to PAPR unit 110. PAPR unit 110 is connected to control/power unit 130 to form an integral unit"; the control line 134 connects with the control unit 130 and PAPR unit 110 which holds filter unit 120 thereby the remote control 300 can electrically connect with the filter unit 120 via control line 134).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Lee to include a connecting wire between the controller and filtration module that electrically connects the two. The controller allows the user to control the filtration module which may otherwise be inaccessible to the user (paragraph 0127 “in this configuration, the breathing apparatus may be for the most part inaccessible by the user, and the controls and/or indicators provided on the remote control 300 and/or HUD 500 can be especially helpful to the user wearing such apparatus”). It also allows the user to control possible filtration settings and receive associated alerts and feedback regarding the settings (claim 14 “comprising a remote control configured to control at least one of a power fan speed and user interface (UI) settings, and including at least one of a battery warning indicator, a clog warning indicator, an SCBA setting indicator, a PAPR setting indicator, an SCBA mode setting, or a PAPR mode setting”).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20210379417 A1) in view of Kim (WO 2022220434 A1) and Soo (KR 20220027330 A) as applied to claim 13 and in further view of Bouchard (WO 2021223003 A1).
Regarding claim 19, modified Lee teaches the mask device of claim 13.
Modified Lee is silent wherein the impeller is a fan blade assembly configured for bidirectional air handling.
However, Bouchard teaches a fan blade assembly configured for bidirectional air handling (page 5 claim 14 “a bidirectional turbine [Figure 2, Item 7], with suction and propulsion on the same face of an object from a single motor which, provided with two rows of blades on a single axis, both sucks and propels the air”; the turbine is a singular impeller with varying fan blades orientations to perform the bidirectional air handling).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the product of Lee to include a fan blade assembly configured for bidirectional air handling. This promotes more efficient airflow within the mask and allows the user to adapt the mask to their environment in different use situations by being able to draw air in and expel air out within the same mask. It can also better protect the user from various pathogens or viruses in the air that they are exposed to (page 5 claim 12 “filtering and sterilizing the air drawn around the user and propelling the air thus filtered and sterilized in his breathing zone, which, when worn in public places , especially in public transport, allows the user to avoid being a vector of interpersonal, interregional, intercontinental and international propagation of viruses and pathogens with transmission airborne, and this, in addition, to clean the air and protect against allergens and surrounding pollutants”).
Conclusion
/AKHIL A JAYAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/KENDRA D CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785