DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to applicant’s amendments and arguments filed 01/13/2026. Claims 1-15 are currently pending for examination on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (WO 2021/225199 with English Machine Translation) (of record) in view of Ichikawa et al. (US 2018/0309281) (Ichikawa) (of record) and Buechling et al. (US 2022/0231436) (Buechling) (of record).
Regarding claim 1, Song discloses an electrical connector (title; abstract; [0029]) to connect terminals (4) of two adjacent battery modules (2) to one another in a power storage system (1) (see Fig. 1; [0028]-[0029]); the electrical connector comprises: a conductor bar (6), which is provided with two first through holes and is configured to be laid on the two terminals (4) of the two battery modules (2) (see Figs. 1 and 2; [0029]; [0031]); and two screws (7), each arranged through a first through of the conducting bar (6) and configured to be screwed into a threaded hole of a corresponding terminal (4) (see Figs. 2 and 4; [0051]). Song fails to explicitly disclose, however, that the electrical conductor comprises a retaining sheet, which is laid on the conductor bar (6) on the opposite side relative to the terminals (4) of the two battery modules (2) and has two second through holes, each aligned with a corresponding first through hole.
However, it is known in the art to configure conductor bars with multiple layers, including a top layer that suggests the claimed retaining sheet. For instance, Ichikawa teaches a similar electrical connector (title; abstract) to connect terminals (21A-21D) of two adjacent battery modules (2A-2D) to one another in a power storage system (1) (see Fig. 1; [0016]-[0018]); the electrical connector comprising: a conductor bar (3, 4), which is provided with two first through holes (51a) and is configured to be laid on the two terminals (21A-21D) of the two battery modules (2A-2D) (see Figs. 1-2; [0022]-[0024]), wherein the conducting bar (3, 4) comprises a plurality of laminated sheets (5), including a top sheet (5) (corresponding to the claimed retaining sheet), which is laid on the conductor bar (3, 4) on the opposite side relative to the terminals (21A-21D) of the two battery modules (2A-2D) and has two second through holes (51a), each aligned with a corresponding first through hole (51a) (see Fig. 3; [0022]-[0024]). Ichikawa further teaches that configuring the conductor bar (3, 4) to have these laminated sheets (5) helps the conductor bar (3, 4) to have the correct current-carrying capacity in consideration of a maximum current value flowing through the conductor bar (3, 4) ([0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the conductor bar disclosed by Song such that it has a plurality of laminated sheets (including a top retaining sheet), as taught by Ichikawa, because they would have had a reasonable expectation that doing so would allow for the conductor bar to have the correct current-carrying capacity relative to a maximum current value flowing through the conductor bar. Furthermore, given that the retaining sheet (Ichikawa: 5) is merely the top layer of the laminated conductor bar (Ichikawa: 3, 4) and that the second through holes (Ichikawa: 51a) are aligned with the first through holes (Ichikawa: 51a), it would have been obvious for each screw (Song: 7) in modified Song to be screwed into a corresponding second through hole (Ichikawa: 51a) as well as the first through hole.
As mentioned by applicant on pages 6 and 10 of the Remarks filed 01/13/2026, it is clear that modified Song discloses that there is some clearance between each screw (Song: 7) and the respective first through hole (Song: see Fig. 4). However, modified Song fails to explicitly mention this feature in the description of Figure 4.
Nonetheless, this configuration is still known in the art. For instance, Buechling teaches a similar electrical connector (1) to connect adjacent battery modules (title; abstract; [0010]), the electrical connector comprising: a conductor bar (12), which is provided with two through holes (63, 64) and two screws (4) which are arranged through the through holes (63, 64) (see Figs. 1-2; [0012]; [0032]). Buechling further teaches that the through holes (63, 64) have an oblong shape such that each screw (4) is screwed into a corresponding through hole (63, 64) with a clearance (see Fig. 1; [0032]). Buechling further teaches that configuring the conductor bar (12) in this way makes it possible to compensate for different distances between battery modules in a simple manner ([0033]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the through holes disclosed by modified Song such that each screw is screwed into a corresponding first through hole with a clearance, as taught by Buechling, because they would have had a reasonable expectation that doing so would make it possible to compensate for different distances between battery modules in a simple manner. Thus, modified Song satisfies all of the limitations in claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, modified Song discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Modified Song further discloses that the electrical connector comprises a shell (Song: 12), which is made of an electrically insulating material and is open at the top and at the bottom and contains, on the inside, the conductor bar (Song: 6) (Song: see Figs. 2 and 4; [0031]-[0032]; [0036]; [0014]). Furthermore, since modified Song includes the teachings from Ichikawa regarding the retaining sheet (Ichikawa: 5), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the shell (Song: 12) to also contain the retaining sheet (Ichikawa: 5). Thus, modified Song satisfies all of the limitations in claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, modified Song discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 2. Modified Song further discloses that the electrical connector comprises a lid (Song: 13), which is made of an electrically insulating material and is coupled to the shell (Song: 12) so as to close the shell (Song: 12) at the top (Song: see Figs. 2-3; [0031]-[0032]; [0037]; [0014]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Song discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 2. Modified Song further discloses that the conductor bar (Song: 6) is fastened to the terminals (Song: 4) via the screws (Song: 7) inside the shell (Song: 12) (Song: see Figs. 2 and 4; [0036]; [0051]). Furthermore, Buechling teaches that displacement of the screws (Buechling: 4) relative to the conductor bar (Buechling: 12) (and vice versa) is possible until the screws (Buechling: 4) are completely fastened to the respective battery module (Buechling: [0032]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the electrical connector in modified Song such that the conductor bar (Song: 6) is completely locked in the shell (Song: 12) via the screws (Song: 7), as taught by Buechling, and, hence, unable to make any movement relative to the shell (Song: 12) because they would have had a reasonable expectation that doing so would help to completely fasten the conductor bar (Song: 6) to the battery modules (Song: 2).
Regarding claim 5, modified Song discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 2. As set forth above, Ichikawa teaches that the retaining sheet (Ichikawa: 5) is the top layer of the laminated conductor bar (Ichikawa: 3, 4) (Ichikawa: see Fig. 3; [0022]-[0024]). Furthermore, since modified Song discloses that the entire conductor bar (Song: 6) is contained in the shell (Song: 12) (Song: see Figs. 2 and 4; [0036]; [0051]), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the retaining sheet (Ichikawa: 5) to also be contained within the shell (Song: 12). Finally, since modified Song includes the teachings from Buechling that displacement of the screws (Buechling: 4) and/or the conductor bar (Buechling: 12) in a plane perpendicular to the to a longitudinal axis of the screws (Buechling: 4) is possible due to the oblong shaped holes (Buechling: 63, 64) in the conductor bar (Buechling: 12) (Buechling: see Fig. 2; [0032]), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for modified Song to have satisfied the claimed limitation that the retaining sheet is able to make transverse movements.
Regarding claim 6, modified Song discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 2. Modified Song further discloses that the conductor bar (Song: 6) is fastened to the terminals (Song: 4) via the screws (Song: 7) inside the shell (Song: 12) (Song: see Figs. 2 and 4; [0036]; [0051]). Furthermore, Buechling teaches that displacement of the screws (Buechling: 4) relative to the conductor bar (Buechling: 12) (and vice versa) is possible until the screws (Buechling: 4) are completely fastened to the respective battery module (Buechling: [0032]). Therefore, given that the retaining sheet (Ichikawa: 5) is merely the top layer of the conductor bar (Ichikawa: 3, 4) (Ichikawa: see Fig. 3; [0022]-[0024]), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the electrical connector in modified Song such that the retaining sheet (Ichikawa: 5) is inserted inside the shell (Song: 12) so that it cannot be extracted from the shell (Song: 12) once it is coupled to the screws (Song: 7) when the screws (Song: 7) are completely fastened to the battery modules (Song: 2).
Regarding claim 11, modified Song discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 2. Modified Song further discloses that the shell (Song: 12) comprises at least one protuberance (Song: 32), which has an asymmetric position or conformation relative to the shell (Song: 12) and is configured to engage an opening (Song: 4a) of the power storage system (Song: 1) only when the shell (Song: 12) has one single predetermined orientation (Song: see Figs. 3-5; [0046]-[0050]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Song discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. As set forth above, Ichikawa teaches that the conductor bar (Ichikawa: 3, 4) consists of a plurality of sheets (Ichikawa: 5) identical to one another and overlapping one another (Ichikawa: see Fig. 3; [0022]-[0024]). Therefore, since modified Song includes the teachings from Ichikawa regarding the plurality of sheets (Ichikawa: 5) of the conductor bar (Ichikawa: 3, 4), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for modified Song to have satisfied all of the limitations in claim 12.
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (WO 2021/225199 with English Machine Translation) (of record) in view of Ichikawa et al. (US 2018/0309281) (Ichikawa) (of record) and Buechling et al. (US 2022/0231436) (Buechling) (of record) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Yamanaka (US 2020/0067211) (of record).
Regarding claims 7-10, modified Song discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 6. Modified Song fails to disclose, however, the claimed through slits as set forth in claims 7-10.
Yamanaka teaches a similar electrical connector (title; abstract) to connect terminals (7, 13) of two adjacent battery modules (5A, 10A) to one another in a power storage system (1) (see Figs. 1-3; [0055]-[0056]), the electrical connector comprising a conductor bar (33), a retaining sheet (22+23) arranged on top of the conductor bar (33), and a shell (31) made of an insulating material and containing the conductor bar (33) and the retaining sheet (22+23) (see Figs. 2-4; [0058]-[0062]; [0074]). Yamanaka further teaches that the shell (31) laterally has two through slits (45, 46) opposite one another through which the retaining sheet (22+23) can be inserted into the shell (31) (see Figs. 4-9; [0065]).Yamanaka further teaches that the retaining sheet (22+23) is longer than an inner space of the shell (31) so that the retaining sheet (22+23) can be arranged inside the shell (31) only be engaging, on both sides, the corresponding slits (45, 46) (see Figs. 4-9; [0065]), wherein, at two ends, the retaining sheet (22+23) has two appendages with a smaller width compared to a central part of the retaining sheet (22+23) (see Modified Figure 4 below), and wherein one of the through slits (45, 46) is misaligned relative to first through holes (55, 56) so that the retaining sheet (22+23), once it is inserted through the through slit (45, 46), has to be translated perpendicularly to the through slit (45, 46) in order to align second through holes (73, 83) in the retaining sheet (22+23) with the corresponding first through holes (55, 56) (see Figs. 7-8; [0091]-[0093]). Yamanaka further teaches that configuring the electrical connector in this way helps to suppress an operator from touching metal portions of fastenings during the insertion and removal of the retaining sheet (22+23) ([0124]-[0128]; [0010]).
Modified Figure 4, Yamanaka
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shell and the retaining sheet disclosed by modified Song such that they meet the claimed limitations in claims 7-10, as taught by Yamanaka, because they would have had a reasonable expectation that doing so would help to suppress an operator from touching metal portions of fastenings during the insertion and removal of the retaining sheet.
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (WO 2021/225199 with English Machine Translation) (of record) in view of Ichikawa et al. (US 2018/0309281) (Ichikawa) (of record) and Buechling et al. (US 2022/0231436) (Buechling) (of record) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhong (CN 208719102 U with English Machine Translation) (of record).
Regarding claims 13-15, modified Song discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Modified Song fails to disclose, however, that the screws (Song: 7) meet the claimed limitations in claims 13-15.
Zhong teaches a screw for use in a high power lithium battery (title; abstract). Zhong further teaches that the screw consists of a head (2) and of a cylindrical body (1), which projects from the head (2) and has an intermediate portion (5) without thread and arranged in contact with the head (2) and a threaded end portion (6) arranged on a side opposite the head (2) (see Figs. 1 and 2; [0036]), wherein the intermediate portion (5) without thread has a smaller diameter than a diameter of the threaded end portion (6) (see Figs. 1 and 2), and wherein the intermediate portion (5) without thread has a length that is about the same as the length of the threaded end portion (6) (see Figs. 1 and 2), suggesting the claimed range of a length that is at least the same as the length of the threaded end portion (6). Zhong further teaches that configuring the screw in this way improves the firmness of the connection between the screw and a power connector and improves the overall service life of the screw ([0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the screws disclosed by modified Song to meet all of the claimed limitations in claims 13-15, as taught by Zhong, because they would have had a reasonable expectation that doing so would improve the firmness of the connection between the screws and a power connector and would improve the overall service life of the screw.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 12/18/2025.
Applicant's arguments filed 01/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the combination of Song, Ichikawa, and Buechling used in the rejection of claim 1 fails to meet all of the claimed limitations, specifically the “mixed” situation in which the same screw is screwed into the corresponding second through hole of the retaining sheet and is arranged with a clearance through the corresponding first through hole of the conductor bar. Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, examiner notes that applicant’s alleged “mixed” scenario in claim 1 is one in which each screw is not screwed into the first through hole of the conductor bar because there is a clearance, but each screw is screwed into the second through hole of the retaining sheet because there is a lack of clearance between the screw and the retaining sheet. However, examiner notes that the limitations “arranged through the corresponding first through hole with a clearance” and “screwed into the corresponding second through hole” are not mutually exclusive and do not necessarily require a “mixed” situation because it is possible to screw a screw through a hole that has a clearance in one direction and no clearance in another direction. Indeed, this is explicitly shown in the instant application. The instant application states, “each through hole 11 of the retaining sheet 10 has a longitudinal size that is greater than the outer diameter of the thread of each screw 9 and a transverse size that is (slightly) smaller than the outer diameter of the thread of each screw 9 (hence, the screw 9 has to be screwed into the through hole 11 in order to be inserted into the through hole 11)” (see [0026] of the PGPub of the instant application; see also Modified Figure 5 below). Thus, it is possible for the claimed screw to be screwed into the second through hole of the retaining sheet while simultaneously having a clearance with the retaining sheet. Similarly, even though claim 1 requires that “each screw is arranged through the corresponding first through hole with a clearance,” this does not mean that the screw cannot also be screwed into the first through hole. Indeed, the term “arranged through” is a broad term that encompasses screwing. With this in mind, it is clear that the combination of Song, Ichikawa, and Buechling satisfies the claimed limitations. As set forth above, Song discloses two screws (Song: 7) arranged through holes of a conductor bar (Song: 6) (Song: see Figs. 2 and 4; [0051]). Ichikawa teaches a conductor bar (Ichikawa: 3, 4) which comprises a plurality of laminated sheets (Ichikawa: 5), wherein the top sheet (Ichikawa: 5) corresponds to the claimed retaining sheet. Thus, the combination of Song and Ichikawa suggests arranging the screws (Song: 7) through corresponding holes in the retaining sheet (Ichikawa: 5) and the rest of the conductor bar (Ichikawa: 5). Finally, Buechling teaches a conductor bar (Buechling: 12) which is provided with two through holes (Buechling: 63, 64) having an oblong shape such that each screw (Buechling: 4) has a clearance in a direction of displacement (Buechling: 18) while necessarily not having a clearance in a direction perpendicular to the direction of displacement (Buechling: 18) (Buechling: see Figs. 1-2; [0032]). Therefore, the combination of Song, Ichikawa, and Buechling teaches that each screw (Song: 7) is arranged through the first through hole of the conductor bar (Ichikawa: 5) and the second through hole of the retaining sheet (Ichikawa: 5) with a clearance (in the direction of displacement 18 taught by Buechling) while also being screwed into the first and second through holes (there being no clearance in the direction opposite the direction of displacement 18). Therefore, applicant’s arguments against the cited references are not persuasive, and the rejection in view of Song, Ichikawa, and Buechling still stands.
Modified Figure 5, Instant Application
As such, claims 1-15 stand rejected.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.C.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1749
/KATELYN W SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1749