DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a connecting device in claim 1 wherein connecting is a functional language with the term device being a generic placeholder.
The recited connecting device is interpreted as electrical electrodes as disclosed in the specification or its equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites a relative term “decorative” which renders the claim scope indefinite and vague.
Claim 5 lacks proper antecedent basis for “the inner face of the carbon element”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 8 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Philip et al (US 2015/0382403).
With respect to claim 1, Philip discloses the structure of the trim element claimed including at one support layer (6), at least one heating element (3) extending over a part of a face of the support layer, the heating element comprising at least one continuous carbon element (para 0013 and 0016) that extends from a first edge to a second edge, and a connecting device (shown by electrodes or busbars 4) connected to the resistive carbon element for electrically connecting to a source of current (power source). Also, see Figure 1.
With respect to claim 2, Philip discloses a layer (2a) as a decorative layer (para 0045) extending over an outer face of the support layer and covering the heating element.
With respect to claim 3, Philip discloses at least one protective layer (2b) that extends between the carbon element (3) and the decorative layer (2a) wherein the protective layer is made of a foam (para 0024) which is a non-woven material.
With respect to claims 4 and 5, Philip discloses the connecting device (4) including a first electrode and a second electrode each connected to the first edge and the second edge, respectively, of the carbon element for connecting the carbon heating element to the source of current/power (para 0022) wherein the electrodes are positioned flush with an inner face of the carbon element as illustrated in Figure 1. Also, see para 0043.
With respect to claim 7, Philip discloses the heating element (3) having an inner face and an outer face wherein the outer face is flush with the face of the support layer as illustrated in Figure 1.
With respect to claim 8, Philip discloses the method claimed including the structure of the trim element wherein the support layer is provided with the heating element placed thereon wherein the heating element and the support are assembled layer with the support layer that is shaped to encapsulate the heating element as illustrated in Figure 1.
With respect to claim 11, Philip discloses the connecting device connecting the heating element to a source of current/power to supply power to the heating element (para 0022).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Philip et al (US 2015/0382403) in view of Yi et al (US 2015/0044924).
Philip discloses the trim element claimed including the support layer, which is made of polyurethane, but does not disclose that the support layer is made of natural fibers in a polypropylene matrix.
Yi discloses it is known to provide a composite material that can be a matrix resin including polyurethane or polypropylene (para 0014) which such material is known to provide a light weight with a high strength in the art.
In view of Yi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Philip with the support layer that is made of natural fibers in polypropylene matrix that is known to provide a light and high strength material that would predicably provide a good mechanical strength to the trim element of Philip.
Claim(s) 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Philip et al (US 2015/0382403).
Philip discloses the method claimed except for explicitly disclosing assembling of the heating element to the support layer during or after a step of sizing the support layer.
Philip, however, discloses that the support layer is made to encapsulate (para 0010) the resistive heating element, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form and shape the support layer (6; having a corresponding shape into which the laminated heating element is encapsulated therein) during or after the support layer is sized so at to encapsulate the heating element as a matter of routine operations which would have been made from a finite number of identified or predictably solutions to form the encapsulated heating element as illustrated in Figure 1.
With respect to claim 10, Philip discloses the connecting device (electrodes) with the carbon element that forms the heating element wherein the heating element would have been formed before placing the heating element on the inner face of the support layer so that both carbon element and the connecting device can be predictably encapsulated by the support layer.
Conclusion
/SANG Y PAIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761